petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier

Our hands free, vest-style pet carrier pouch makes it easy for you and your pet to go together almost anywhere you goYour pet snuggles in the comfortable pouchFor you, the adjustable, padded shoulder straps cross in the back, and the waist strap ensures even weight distribution
Average Customer Rating:
3.788 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
24 out of 33(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Ruston, Louisiana
Now my thirteen-year old, toy poodle can join us again when I walk the dogs. He loves being close and cuddled. See, even old pups can learn new tricks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fairborn, Ohio
My dog weighs 11 lbs. but was too big for this carrier. It also pressed against his upper chest and made him cough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps my hands free!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from occidentel , calf
when you are walking more then one dog it is nice if one of them i can put one in a back pack ya ya ya ya ya love baren merry christmas all you pet lovers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
wasnt sure if this would work or not. we have a little 7.5 lb. rat terrier mix and wondered if she would fit and if she would ride in it and if it would be comfortable to haul her around in at the park and such. after many trials and trips to the park, we give this product a complete and absolute thumbs up!!!! the color was kinda confusing though( we wanted black). but we got our color in the mail and all is well. saves your lower back when transporting the leetle baby!!! BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

carrier ok

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from chicago
nice carrier, but too big for my 7 lb cat. as soon as i got it in the mail, excited to open and put my "baby" in it for a test drive. i put her in, she sank down in it and then immediately jumped out. great idea, maybe better for dogs than cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too small for a pug!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, CA
I have a 16 lbs Pug and the "medium" wqas way too small. It would have hardly fit a 10lbs dog. If you have a dog like a Pug- or any bigger-- this is way too small to bu useful. Buy a backpack instead and save lots of money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a 2lb puppy, and got the medium size. It works really well. The only advice is that for long walks you use it as a backpack as even a 2lb dog will pull down on neck and shoulder creating strain. My dog was calmer behind me than in front - she fell asleep!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet-a-Roo works!

PostedMay 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from West Hollywood, CA
My dog was comfortable with it from the beginning and it attracted positive attention when I used it while at the farmer's market. Works fairly well, although wish the bottom were a bit firmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Picture not accurate

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Shelley, Idaho
In the photo it makes the carrier look like it supports your dog comfortably, but it does not. When I put my dog inside of the carrier, the weight of her body pushes the bottom down, thereby tightening everything else up around her. She was unable to move, or get comfortable in the carrier. They make the carrier look like it holds it's shape with the dog inside, this however is not the case at all. If they would've made the shoulder straps connect to the front, outside corners of the carrier, then it would hold the shape correctly. That is of course only if they strengthen the bottom piece. I am an Mechanical Engineer, so I do know what I am talking about. I can't imagine they brought this thing to market w/o one either. Anyway, the whole point of me buying this thing was because my little 6 pound Pomeranian was diagnosed with arthritis in both hips. I wanted her to be more comfortable, than what I was providing by holding her in my arms, and putting pressure on her hips. Now, I even bought the medium sized one for my little dog, and she has no room to move around at all in this thing, and they say that it is for up to a twenty pound dog. I have a 14 pound Pomeranian as well, and he wouldn't fit in this thing. So, don't buy into their size chart either. I am going to return mine. It's a great idea, if they would build it properly with a stronger bottom to better hold the weight, and move the straps to the front corners, instead of the back ones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great...for well behaved pets!

PostedJune 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Westchester, New York
I have a cat that loves to be held close and this has been a real life saver! He is only 10 lbs but fits well in the medium - the small would be too small. I have used it to take him to many places and I have even left it on and just let him sleep in it. He seems to feel very secure and safe in his "pouch." If your pet was skittish or likely to run away I would NOT recommend this as it is not terribly secure. If you have a small, well-behaved pet this can be great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

med.Pet-a-roo carrier

PostedJune 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Crosby Tx
I have a york/chi mix. She is not going to get very big. Bella wieghts 5lbs. I bought her the med. carrier and she loves it. When she sees me put it on Bella comes running. I have some bigger dogs. So when we go outside she rides in her carrier to we get down the stairs. Then she gets out and walks. If she get tired of walking with the other dogs and it is time to back in she get back in the pack and she is ready to go. I know Bella loves it and so do I because I know she is safe in the pack when I'm getting ready to go outside . And the other dogs can't step on her and hurt her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

But not for dachshunds

PostedMay 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I purchased this for my 14 pound dachshund, who has trouble with long walks. Even though weight wise, it holds up to 20 pounds, my 14 pounder is too long to fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

petaroo

PostedApril 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bought this for my then 12# miniature long-haired dachsie. It worked for a brief time. 2# later she is too long and too heavy for this type of device. I think it's great for smaller and average length dogs. Mine will be returned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sizing not appropriate

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Grand Island, NE
We bought this to take our 8.5 pound shih tzu on the motorcycle. Even at 8.5 pounds she was too large for the size medium. Great product if you have a 4 pound dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smart Purchase

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
My pup wants to go with us everywhere even be with me sewing. She loved being in the carrier which gives her room but keeps her secure. Will be handy and helpful while traveling and on vacation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Extremely small sizes

PostedDecember 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
As most reviews note, the carriers are greately overrated for the size/weight of dogs they will accommodate.
Our 14 pound Bijon/poodle wouldn't fit in either style -- front or back.
I'd guess the realistic limit is closer to 10 pounds, not 20 -- maybe much less than that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Terrific puppy carrier

PostedAugust 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased the medium for my miniature Schnauzer puppy and he loves it. It's large enough for him to lie down in and the mesh sides allow him to see what's going on around him. He can also sit up and comfortably put his head over the side. It keeps him close to my chest which gives him a comfortable feeling when seeing new things. I initially purchased the small, because he's a small breed, but it was clearly too small even for an 8 week old pup. The medium size is designed for dogs up to 20lbs, but because the bottom is soft, I doubt it'll be comfortable for a 20lb dog, but we'll see. Anyway, it's a great way to keep my little guy close and has allowed me to take him into some stores that otherwise don't allow pets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Middleburg, FL
Me and my dog love the Pet-a-Roo carrier! I call it the 'puppy pouch' and when I ask her if she wants to get in the puppy pouch, she runs to where it is hanging and sits under it and waits for me to catch up, strap it on and put her in! She is a 12 lb minature long hair dachshund, so she has kinda out grown the pouch because she is so long, but she still loves it! When company comes over, I put her in there to keep her out from under their feet, it works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, CA
Nice quality, extra long fully adjustable straps, will fit 3xl person, our puppy loves going out in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet-A-Roo Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just does not work for us.

PostedMay 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have a six pound maltese. I often take him in a front carrier, and decided to purchase a new one for vacation.
I ordered the one for "medium" dogs after reading the reviews here online. I got it and it is just not built for him.
It did not give him the support he needed in a front pack.
I also got a green one that was not even shown in the ad.
In the long run the color made no difference, but it may have, had it fit our needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>