petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food

Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food

Specialized food for large dogs weighing more than 50 lbs.Chicken provides protein for healthy musclesOptimal ratios of protein and fat for ideal weightDry dog food supports joint health
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I have a 10 year old German Shorthaired Pointer.
She comes from a very successful (Westminster) GSP breeder, who fed her Purina Pro Plan and recommended I stick with that regimen. When she lived in the country and was very active, I fed her the Performance formula, but now I live in the city and, even with 3 good walks per day, regrettably, she doesn't get out as much, so I switched her to the Large Breed Focus formula about 4 years ago. She does so well on this food that everyone who stops me on the street to admire her (a daily event) thinks she is maybe 2-3 years old, tops! She has no arthritis, her coat is beautiful and shiny, her weight is consistent and perfect, she is sleek, vigorous and healthy, her digestion is excellent (no bad smells!) and I couldn't be happier with this food. I heartily recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product and Fast delivery

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CO
Have been feeding Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food to my lab for many years now. He loves it and no health problems. The delivery was in time, with discounts price was ok.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes, this is to "Right One"

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chi, IL
Sometimes I get the wrong one. OK, there are cheaper dog foods, There are more expensive ones. But, every time I make a mistake, my dog lets me know she what me to get Pro Plan Focus Large Breed. She eats Large Bred quickly and licks to bowl. Other foods sit in the bowl while she walks away. With Large Breed her coat is beautiful, her activity level is high, and her health and weight is perfect. Could not ask for more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro plan Focus

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Show Dogs doing well on Pro plan Focus for Large Breeds
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good dog food, our dogs LOVE it

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod
Its very tasty, thats what our dogs tell me anyway.
Even our cat will eat a kibble now and then if she manages to grab one, which is rare, as they never leave any in their dishes.
Yes, its good, tasty, and excellent food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs love it

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from York, PA
My 2 dogs love this food and have not had any issues with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I absolutely love this food!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Erie, PA
I have fed my german shepherd pro plan since she was a puppy because that is what the breeder recommended. I have no complaints at all! Never had a problem with her digestion, she loves it, her coat is beautiful, her teeth are nice and white... totally worth the extra money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Food

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hotlanta, Ga
The delivery service for repeat deliveries has been flawless. The Purina Pro Plan is the food my dog prefers, I have tried several other premium brands of dog food, with unsatisfactory results and always end up back with this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried SOOOO Many Foods

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
First let me say, I have tried at least 5 different types of food for my 1 yr old mixed Ridgeback that I felt bad for the poor little dude. Every other food I have tried including Organic food and Top of the line gave him horrid gas and diarrhea. I decided to try once more before going to the vet and came across ProPlan. I read through the ingredients and read reviews online and all positive so I decided to give it a whirl. Low and behold it worked! My 90 pound puppy no longer has gas or problems with bowel movements. He loves the food and has been on it for about 3 months. I'm so glad I switched! This stuff is awesome and healthy for him and my nose. ;o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easily digestible

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bedford NH
This is the only food I have found that my boxer/rotweiller will eat and can digest. It is nice not to have to wear a "gas mask" when we're trying to sleep! The only "bad" thing about it is that for large breed dogs, it only comes in one variety but that probably bothers me more than him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog tested - vet approved

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Poughquag, NY
Both of my big boys love this food- they were extremely picky eaters & turned their nose up at all other brand we tried. They have been on Pro Plan since they were puppies, so the transition to the large breed formula was easy...love that it has glucosamine, just a little extra help for their joints.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purina ProPlan

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Teaneck NJ
I appreciate the ability to order the large bag of Purina ProPlan for my greyhound without having to go to the store and lug the big bag in and out of my car. My greyhound loves the chicken flavor and big chunky niblets with or without water added. This is my second greyhound who never seems to tire of this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pedro Bay, AK
have expensive taste, they love this food. Because of the price I won't be buying it to often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used for 2 dogs

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, N.Y.
I fed Pro Plan to 2 different family dogs during the past 10-15 yrs.. Their coats and digestive systems remain healthy when eating Pro Plan. I used both puppy and adult food. I buy the largest bags available and now I order it on line. I don't have to load it into a shopping cart, trying to push it to the car in a snowy parking lot, etc.. CONVENIENCE makes a world of difference! Thanks PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves this food

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Allentown, pa
We have a 7 month old female German Shepherd.
The breeder recommended Pro Plan, so we started her on the large breed Pro Plan puppy formula and switched her over to adult Pro Plan at 4 months of age at the recommendation of our Veterinarian. Our dog loves the food, has no digestive issues, and always has firm stools. In addition, she is very active, has a great coat, and overall does very well with this food. Pro Plan has met all of our expectations and we will keep our dog on it through the various stages of her life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good price, free shipping

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kotzebue, AK
Loved being able to get my dog food shipped free to bush Alaska for free! Prise was good and service was great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does not contain the shredded variety

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
This product is not available at many pet supply stores, as Purina is distributing mostly the shredded variety. If you have a dog who does not need a specialty diet, this is a wonderful dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
This food is a little pricey but over all I can tell a real difference in my dog. He is a 2 year old half lab and half golden ret, and he took to this food great he prefers it over his old dog food. He has more energy and doesn't have to go outside as often, plus his overall structure and fur has greatly improved... I would say if you can afford to feed your dog great food this is the one I would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food, good price

PostedAugust 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Saint Paul, MN
Our retired racer was fresh off the track with a sensitive stomach, and we bought this by recommendation from his foster. He had absolutely no digestive issues with this food and had firmer stools within days. He eats this as fast as he eats his treats, and will stare at the pantry around dinnertime until he's fed. After a lot of research, some horror stories about a few other brands, and our own positive experience, we would definitely recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Plan Focus Large Breed Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog loved it!

PostedMarch 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I have a great dane and he loved it. I was feeding another premium dog food, thought i would switch to give him some variety. He loved it, alot of energy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>