petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy

Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy

Pal around with your Petco pals with our Rope & Terry Dog ToysWe've taken a fun terry covered plush toy and added a super loud squeaker and an easy-grip rope body to make the perfect playmate for your dog
Average Customer Rating:
2.182 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
9
7 out of 22(32%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Review 1 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for dogs with teeth

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
just got his toy for my little dog and he has the head almost of in about 10 mins, i will never buy another toy like this at petco or any where else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

5 Minutes

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wellsboro, PA
Not a fan of this toy, my dog had it destroyed after 5 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy for the price

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Clermont, FL
Petco has great promotions and this was one of them. My dogs love to pay with sturdy toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love and hate

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I bought this product for my puppy, a sheltie. The toy did not last- he chewed a hole in several spots the first week. However, we recently adopted an older collie who started ripping out the coils around the dog. Now the two dogs play with each other- one grabbing the coil and the other grabbing the limbs. I think it held up okay for a dog toy, but I have seen better. I actually bought two more for each of my dogs to have soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product disappointed

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Within 20 minutes, my 10 pound Dachshund had torn the ear off of this toy. I don't expect the toys to last forever, but 20 minutes was disappointing. If your dog doesn't try to chew parts, you should be ok, but Dewey looks for ears, tails, etc. that he can chew off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have had this toy before and it lasted forever. This time the cording came off, the top half of the body disconnected from the rear part. This all happened on the first day. Very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for dogs with teeth!

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought this as a Christmas present for our little cocker mix. I thought it looked sturdy. Talk about misconceptions. She had the ropes undone in less time than it takes to type the words (they were only attached with dabs of hot glue). I quickly rewrapped them and stitched them with upholstery thread. She then played with it for about 20-25 minutes at which time we noticed that it had holes near the tail and on the head and that she was pulling the squeaker out. Bye-bye Christmas toy. I know she's a tough chewer but that was ridiculous. I'd sew it but I don't see how--the fabric itself has holes. So sad. It was so cute.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

rope comes loose

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from MN
Got two of these in a 1/2 price stocking today. Took only two hours of play from two small dogs to have ropes come loose. Too bad it is badly made - they love the long shape and playing with the toy together. It could use a better squeeky too, or even better, multiple squeekies.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fails the Durability Test

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
This would make a wonderful toy for any dog that does not have teeth.
My 8 mo. old weimaraner enjoyed playing with this toy briefly on Christmas morning. Within 45 minutes however, the two coils that are glued at one end had given way. After a few more hours, the hindquarters were open and stuffing was all over the family room. A pair of crew socks would be almost as much fun but far less expensive, and more durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for strong chewers

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield County, CT
I wish this toy was stronger, as my 5 month old Rottweiler puppy absolutely loved it. Shortly after we gave it to him though, he had managed to unravel the rope from around the body. I was able to rewrap it, but then he was able to rip off the ears and tail from the toy. I'd recommend this toy to perhaps a smaller dog, or a less agressive chewer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Puppies/Dogs that like to Chew

PostedJuly 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have two 13 week old labrador retrievers. I bought two of these. My one puppy is an aggressive chewer...she ended up biting a hole in the one end. After they chew on it for a while, the terry dog comes a apart and is a big stringy mess.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for teething puppies

PostedNovember 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I bought this for my dachshund terrier mix puppies at 6 weeks old because he wanted to chew on everything. It was his favorite toy because it had squeakers in both ends. We finally had to throw it away at 14 weeks because he had chewed holes in the butt area and was eating the stuff. Now I am going to get another one because it would very durable and a great toy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Dog Toy

PostedJune 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Maine
The Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy is a good toy for my dogs. I have three seven month old puppies that love it. It is tough and stands up to a lot of tugging. The ears and feet will get torn off after awhile, but shredding the rope belly takes a looooong time!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok toy

PostedJanuary 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield County, CT
I buy items with the assumption that at some point through wear and tear that they will get destroyed. I bought this item for my 8 week old Bichon Frise/Shih Tzu (Teddy Bear) named JaX. He has a few chew toys to choose from so this toy has lasted; he is 11 weeks today. I can see the stitching beginning to unravel a little bit and the terry cloth on the face is stringing a little. That doesn't make me feel like this is a terrible product. I am sure if he only had this one toy to play with, after three weeks it would be in terrible shape. JaX has a mixture of toys some more durable than others, but I wouldn't write this product off. Take your chances with it and if you don't appreciate how quickly your dog has destroyed it, if at all, you only spent a few bucks anyway!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't last

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
This toy didn't last for the 15 minute car ride home. The stitching came apart almost immediately, stitched it up at home. The tail came off, more stitches came apart - restitched it and will now give it to someone who has a dog that doesn't chew their toys.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loves it!

PostedMay 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
We bought our Standard Poodle puppy a red pooch pleaser and he loves it...we call it BOBO. Its the perfect size for his teeth and paws to get around and so far only the ear has come loose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Within 10 MINUTES!!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Philidelphia, PA
We had bought this gift as a Christmas present for our Mini Dachshund, Jade. Now, Jade can be quite the chewer but within 10 minutes half the stuffing was pulled out. I would not ever recomend this product unless your dog has no teeth!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Loved the toy but ripped in 2 weeks

PostedJanuary 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas
My Boston terrier pup loved this toy, this is the bribe we used to have him go up the stairs. So it wasn't his main toy but within 2 weeks he ripped the stitching from the upper part of the back end and started taking the stuffing out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great toy, poor quality

PostedDecember 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from TX
My dog loved the toy and it did last about 4 wks, but the ears and tail where ripped off withing a couple weeks. Then she took the hole that was created by the ripped off ear and pulled out all the stuffing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Red Ruff Rope & Terry Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from IL
We just got this toy and my boston terrier loves it. She has played with all day and it is still going strong. thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>