petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Grain-free diet provides high quality nutrition for your dogComplete and balanced nutrition for all breeds and life stages from puppies to adultsUnique single source protein and single source carbohydrate blend
Average Customer Rating:
4.802 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
5 stars
210
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
224 out of 232(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
pchtr8
from New Jersey
Our lab Ginger is 4 and has suffered with allergies for years. After many medications and sprays I finally thought to change her food. My friend recommend Natrual Balance and boy am I glad I listened! Within 2 weeks Ginger's coat is amazing - my mom even thought we were getting her groomed every week! My husband who thought I was crazy for changing her food finally gave in and said there was a big change in Ginger. I think this food even reduced her shedding! If your dog is biting and itching up a storm please try this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+34points
38of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for a dog with food allergies and a sensitive tummy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
KittyCatAndThePups
from Las Cruces, NM
Bottom line: my dog has a food allergy, and after trying ~6 different brads, this one is the winner, mostly because it is a Limited Ingredient food [read below for more info] yet still reasonably priced. It's also easy on my dog's tummy, so she's WAY less gassy than she used to be.
After a year of monthly vet visits, expensive medication/shampoo, and finally a skin biopsy, my vet determined that my dog most likely has a food allergy. (She was very itchy and had balding patches on her face, ears, legs, and chest.) The Natural Balance LID Potato/Duck food only has one source of protein (and the protein is usually the allergen, according to my vet), which simplified my trial-and-error period of trying to figure out what my dog is allergic to. I didn't realize that most dog foods have some sort of chicken meal or byproduct in addition to the advertised protein (beef, salmon, lamb, etc), and (of course) it appears that chicken is what she's allergic to. Natural Balance's LID Potato/Duck food is completely chicken free, which is hard to find. It's also grain-free, which, for my pup at least, means much much less flatulence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveGoldens3
from Salix, PA
Switched to this for my new puppy and 2 older Goldens. They all love it and good for all ages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergies!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
GusMommy
from St. Louis, MO
My dog has severe allergies and this food is perfect for him, he loves it and I love that it does not mess up his skin and hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for dog with sensitive GI tract

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
doxier
from Hemet, CA
I had been feeding a high quality dog food to my Dobie, but he had loose stools, much of the time. I talked with a number of people about the issue, vet etc..did no good...then I came across this dog food, and since I have been feeding him this food, no more GI issues...nice stools, small, good quality. Love the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Potato and Duck

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
JAS3
from Virginia
My dog loves this food and I like the convenience of ordering it on line and having it delivered, for free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Nice not to have one more errand

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
RurouniKenshin
from Federal Way, WA
I'm pretty much housebound due to disability and my 1st of the month errands wear me out considerably as I have to use the Para-Transit. Being able to order my pup's food online is one less thing to have to do then. The tiny little lack is that while Petco carries her favorite brand and type, it doesn't carry it in the small bite size.(She's a 7 lbs poodle.) Very happy customer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunlight
from Austin
Our dogs coats are soft, shinny and has reduced itching. They love the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Limited Ingredient Food

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paula64
from Boynton Beach, Fl
This product is wonderful for dogs who may have digestive issues. I feed it to my Rottweiler and my Cattle dog mix. They seem to LOVE it, and they have better elimination than with other foods. The Rottie in particular had loose stools with the other food I was feeding her, now they are well formed and she has less gas too. I want my pets to be healthy and happy and this food seems to fit that requirement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance LID Dog Food

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tuxedoman
from Canada
I have a Golden Retriever that is 10 years old . She has been riddled with allergies her entire life. All of this LID dog food is amazing ! Good quality ingredients (like many foods out there today) but this food has kept her allergies "in check" for many years now. Both my dogs enjoy the flavour and look forward to their meal times !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yum, Yum, Yum

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
dudleydiestl
from ocean county NJ
Dudley loves Natural Balance. It's the only food that doesn't upset his stomach.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best food for my allergic cavalier.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louismom
from New york
This food is by far the only food that doesn't cause diarrhea. My Cavalier King Charles is 5 and half years old and he had always suffered from chronic diarrhea since he was a puppy, and it was when I switched to this food that I realized he was allergic to certain unknown ingredients. Ever since I switched to this food, his stool has been great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good short term elimination food

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
missouririverwaterdogs
from Helena MT
I wouldn't keep dogs on this long term. Also the protein is too low for my active Labs. They are getting quite fat on it now. Their fur is oily even after washing. They smell. It was a good food for awhile to give their body a rest from other dog foods but one vet I had in Nevada said it really isn't the type of food to keep a dog on, long term. It's good if you are trying to eliminate certain things from the diet. I see now that my dogs need to go on and try a more complete food in order to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Natural balanced foods snubbed by my dogs!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Captainmax
from Roanoke. VA
My dogs seemed to prefer starving before eating Natural Balance dry dog food! I stuck with it for way too long. This really is NOT a good product and I don't understand how its getting good reviews.
My dogs are now on Orijen. Live and learn. I just wish I had made my dogs suffer this for so long!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LID required

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
chiefth
from Washngton Twp Warren County NJ
I feed this to my 12 year old dog regularly and have been for over 3 years. She requires an LID diet and does well on this product. She gets the dry as well as the canned food daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
reviewtohardtouse
Good food, my two dogs really like it. Low fat content.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves this food.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
srosengarten
from Hockessin, DE
We recently switched from a Blue Buffalo food simply to save a little money. We tried the Natural Balance LID Potato and Duck and my dog loved it! And we saved a little bit of money, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premo dog food

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melwv
from Morgantown WV
We have Labs, who are prone to food allegories. Natural Balance is a great choice because of the limited ingredients. When we put our 2 adult Labs on it they both lost weight (which they needed) and they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance L.I.D. Food Great for the Skin

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
TaraStan11
from Providence RI
A few years ago I rescued a pup from a poor situation, and he came to me with some awful skin allergies. After trying numerous things I read about Natural Balance L.I.D. foods and decided to give it a try. 4 years and counting and this is the only food I give my pups (adopted another rescue pup 2 years ago). Since we switched foods there have been no skin allergies, breakouts, hot spots or rashes. On top of that the dogs LOVE the food, and I find comfort knowing I am giving them natural food with limited ingredients. I recommended the Natural Balance brand, L.I.D. in particular to a friend at our local dog park who had a rescue pup who had similar issues with his skin and she also switched over to Natural Balance L.I.D. Within 2 weeks his skin had cleared up. I will forever be a spokesperson for this food. It may cost a little more upfront, but the money it saves me in vet bills, and the peace of mind that my pups feel great and are getting a healthy balanced diet is priceless :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
jdinkins
from Summerdale, AL
Natural Balance Potato and Duck formula is the greatest. After numerous trips (and money) to our vet, my gsd was diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome. So long story short I had to keep her on a vet recommended food, which costs a fortune. I decided to do a little research. That's when I found Natural Balance. In about a week her stool was firm, and no more problems! The greatest perk is that she actually loves the food. What more could I ask for. We wont be buying anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>