petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Grain-free diet provides high quality nutrition for your dogComplete and balanced nutrition for all breeds and life stages from puppies to adultsUnique single source protein and single source carbohydrate blend
Average Customer Rating:
4.803 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(239 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 239 reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
231 out of 239(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
pchtr8
from New Jersey
Our lab Ginger is 4 and has suffered with allergies for years. After many medications and sprays I finally thought to change her food. My friend recommend Natrual Balance and boy am I glad I listened! Within 2 weeks Ginger's coat is amazing - my mom even thought we were getting her groomed every week! My husband who thought I was crazy for changing her food finally gave in and said there was a big change in Ginger. I think this food even reduced her shedding! If your dog is biting and itching up a storm please try this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+35points
40of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog has eaten this food for 8yrs

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ajcplus3
from IL
I have gone to Petco store in dead of winter and they have been sold out of this food. So I am trying the repeat delivery to hopefully not have to worry about it. This dog food has been the best for my Rhodesian Ridgeback.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for food allergies

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
dsev
I switched to L.I.D. Natural Balance because my dog believed to have some kind of food allergy. However now due to some yeast growth I have recently switched to a grain-free food that is also potato-free. However, this is still a great product for dogs without skin sensitivities like yeast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoulSista
from Chicago, IL
Both my Yorkie and Min Pin love this stuff. Quality food for your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs LOVE it!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BowserandGraciesMom
from Jackson, MS
I wanted to upgrade my two labs to better nutrition. Was using a well known dog food that can be purchased at a grocery store. I started doing research on the nutritional aspect of their previous food and found it to have a rating of "D."
Research showed that Natural Balance L.I.D Grain -Free Potato and Duck rated A+ and the ingredients were just what the vet had ordered for one of my sensitive/allergy dogs. Hoping this food will add some life span to my adult dogs and they love mealtime!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Quality

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
JustPeanut
from Richmond, VA
I have had my little guy (nine year old male dachshund) on this specific food since he was a puppy. His coat is so shiny and soft due to this food. His health has been fantastic, and I attribute that to the food as well. Most of the time I also get the Natural Balance treats as well. I constantly receive positive comments on Peanut's coat and a huge part of that is what he is fed. Great food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product is great for sensitive eaters

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
AirMom
from Bismarck ND
I have tried various dog foods, from the most expensive to the least, over the years trying to find one that keeps his tummy calm, without success. The vet had indicated allergies to grains and beef - not easy to find food for a dog with allergies like that.
Discovering Natural Balance LID has been a blessing, it's on the higher end of the price scale but has eliminated the odors and mess at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food for A Dog with Allergies

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
EddieMan
from Cincinnati, OH
This food is wonderful for my am staff with allergies. He loves the flavor and has no issue with it. Unfortunately the manufacturer has decreased the amount of food, while keeping the cost the same. Will continue to buy however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for a dog with food allergies and a sensitive tummy

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
KittyCatAndThePups
from Las Cruces, NM
Bottom line: my dog has a food allergy, and after trying ~6 different brads, this one is the winner, mostly because it is a Limited Ingredient food [read below for more info] yet still reasonably priced. It's also easy on my dog's tummy, so she's WAY less gassy than she used to be.
After a year of monthly vet visits, expensive medication/shampoo, and finally a skin biopsy, my vet determined that my dog most likely has a food allergy. (She was very itchy and had balding patches on her face, ears, legs, and chest.) The Natural Balance LID Potato/Duck food only has one source of protein (and the protein is usually the allergen, according to my vet), which simplified my trial-and-error period of trying to figure out what my dog is allergic to. I didn't realize that most dog foods have some sort of chicken meal or byproduct in addition to the advertised protein (beef, salmon, lamb, etc), and (of course) it appears that chicken is what she's allergic to. Natural Balance's LID Potato/Duck food is completely chicken free, which is hard to find. It's also grain-free, which, for my pup at least, means much much less flatulence.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveGoldens3
from Salix, PA
Switched to this for my new puppy and 2 older Goldens. They all love it and good for all ages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergies!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
GusMommy
from St. Louis, MO
My dog has severe allergies and this food is perfect for him, he loves it and I love that it does not mess up his skin and hair!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for dog with sensitive GI tract

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
doxier
from Hemet, CA
I had been feeding a high quality dog food to my Dobie, but he had loose stools, much of the time. I talked with a number of people about the issue, vet etc..did no good...then I came across this dog food, and since I have been feeding him this food, no more GI issues...nice stools, small, good quality. Love the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance Potato and Duck

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
JAS3
from Virginia
My dog loves this food and I like the convenience of ordering it on line and having it delivered, for free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Nice not to have one more errand

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
RurouniKenshin
from Federal Way, WA
I'm pretty much housebound due to disability and my 1st of the month errands wear me out considerably as I have to use the Para-Transit. Being able to order my pup's food online is one less thing to have to do then. The tiny little lack is that while Petco carries her favorite brand and type, it doesn't carry it in the small bite size.(She's a 7 lbs poodle.) Very happy customer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunlight
from Austin
Our dogs coats are soft, shinny and has reduced itching. They love the food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Limited Ingredient Food

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paula64
from Boynton Beach, Fl
This product is wonderful for dogs who may have digestive issues. I feed it to my Rottweiler and my Cattle dog mix. They seem to LOVE it, and they have better elimination than with other foods. The Rottie in particular had loose stools with the other food I was feeding her, now they are well formed and she has less gas too. I want my pets to be healthy and happy and this food seems to fit that requirement.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance LID Dog Food

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tuxedoman
from Canada
I have a Golden Retriever that is 10 years old . She has been riddled with allergies her entire life. All of this LID dog food is amazing ! Good quality ingredients (like many foods out there today) but this food has kept her allergies "in check" for many years now. Both my dogs enjoy the flavour and look forward to their meal times !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yum, Yum, Yum

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
dudleydiestl
from ocean county NJ
Dudley loves Natural Balance. It's the only food that doesn't upset his stomach.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best food for my allergic cavalier.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louismom
from New york
This food is by far the only food that doesn't cause diarrhea. My Cavalier King Charles is 5 and half years old and he had always suffered from chronic diarrhea since he was a puppy, and it was when I switched to this food that I realized he was allergic to certain unknown ingredients. Ever since I switched to this food, his stool has been great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good short term elimination food

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
missouririverwaterdogs
from Helena MT
I wouldn't keep dogs on this long term. Also the protein is too low for my active Labs. They are getting quite fat on it now. Their fur is oily even after washing. They smell. It was a good food for awhile to give their body a rest from other dog foods but one vet I had in Nevada said it really isn't the type of food to keep a dog on, long term. It's good if you are trying to eliminate certain things from the diet. I see now that my dogs need to go on and try a more complete food in order to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>