petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food

Grain-free diet provides high quality nutrition for your dogComplete and balanced nutrition for all breeds and life stages from puppies to adultsUnique single source protein and single source carbohydrate blend
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(222 Reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 222 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
214 out of 222(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
pchtr8
from New Jersey
Our lab Ginger is 4 and has suffered with allergies for years. After many medications and sprays I finally thought to change her food. My friend recommend Natrual Balance and boy am I glad I listened! Within 2 weeks Ginger's coat is amazing - my mom even thought we were getting her groomed every week! My husband who thought I was crazy for changing her food finally gave in and said there was a big change in Ginger. I think this food even reduced her shedding! If your dog is biting and itching up a storm please try this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+33points
37of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best food for my allergic cavalier.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louismom
from New york
This food is by far the only food that doesn't cause diarrhea. My Cavalier King Charles is 5 and half years old and he had always suffered from chronic diarrhea since he was a puppy, and it was when I switched to this food that I realized he was allergic to certain unknown ingredients. Ever since I switched to this food, his stool has been great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good short term elimination food

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
missouririverwaterdogs
from Helena MT
I wouldn't keep dogs on this long term. Also the protein is too low for my active Labs. They are getting quite fat on it now. Their fur is oily even after washing. They smell. It was a good food for awhile to give their body a rest from other dog foods but one vet I had in Nevada said it really isn't the type of food to keep a dog on, long term. It's good if you are trying to eliminate certain things from the diet. I see now that my dogs need to go on and try a more complete food in order to thrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Natural balanced foods snubbed by my dogs!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Captainmax
from Roanoke. VA
My dogs seemed to prefer starving before eating Natural Balance dry dog food! I stuck with it for way too long. This really is NOT a good product and I don't understand how its getting good reviews.
My dogs are now on Orijen. Live and learn. I just wish I had made my dogs suffer this for so long!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LID required

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
chiefth
from Washngton Twp Warren County NJ
I feed this to my 12 year old dog regularly and have been for over 3 years. She requires an LID diet and does well on this product. She gets the dry as well as the canned food daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Natural Balance

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
reviewtohardtouse
Good food, my two dogs really like it. Low fat content.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves this food.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
srosengarten
from Hockessin, DE
We recently switched from a Blue Buffalo food simply to save a little money. We tried the Natural Balance LID Potato and Duck and my dog loved it! And we saved a little bit of money, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premo dog food

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melwv
from Morgantown WV
We have Labs, who are prone to food allegories. Natural Balance is a great choice because of the limited ingredients. When we put our 2 adult Labs on it they both lost weight (which they needed) and they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Balance L.I.D. Food Great for the Skin

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
TaraStan11
from Providence RI
A few years ago I rescued a pup from a poor situation, and he came to me with some awful skin allergies. After trying numerous things I read about Natural Balance L.I.D. foods and decided to give it a try. 4 years and counting and this is the only food I give my pups (adopted another rescue pup 2 years ago). Since we switched foods there have been no skin allergies, breakouts, hot spots or rashes. On top of that the dogs LOVE the food, and I find comfort knowing I am giving them natural food with limited ingredients. I recommended the Natural Balance brand, L.I.D. in particular to a friend at our local dog park who had a rescue pup who had similar issues with his skin and she also switched over to Natural Balance L.I.D. Within 2 weeks his skin had cleared up. I will forever be a spokesperson for this food. It may cost a little more upfront, but the money it saves me in vet bills, and the peace of mind that my pups feel great and are getting a healthy balanced diet is priceless :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
jdinkins
from Summerdale, AL
Natural Balance Potato and Duck formula is the greatest. After numerous trips (and money) to our vet, my gsd was diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome. So long story short I had to keep her on a vet recommended food, which costs a fortune. I decided to do a little research. That's when I found Natural Balance. In about a week her stool was firm, and no more problems! The greatest perk is that she actually loves the food. What more could I ask for. We wont be buying anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved the problems

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Smokinjo64
from Normal, IL
I have been using Natural Balance Potato and Duck for nearly 7 years now. I first purchased it because my Cocker Spaniel was constantly vomiting up his food. My vet recommended we try different foods with less ingredients to see if it was an allergy. Natural Balance fit the bill and was a mid-priced food. My Boston/Rat Terrier mix also had dry skin, so I chose the duck, hoping the oiliness of the duck would help. Sure enough, my Cocker stopped vomiting and my Boston/Rat mix no longer has dry skin. I wouldn't change to another brand if I have choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog loves it

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
SJ20109
from DC
My dog has serious food allergies and this food does not irritate him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dogs with sensitive stomachs

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
4cavaliers
from Houston, TX
I have 5 dogs - 4 Cavalier King Charles Spaniels and 1 Australian Cattle Dog (Blue Heeler). This is the only food I have found for all of my dogs and it is wonderful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hypo allergenic

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
NanBur
from Fair Oaks, CA
This product has made a big difference for my allergenic dog. I also like the fact that it is made in the USA. I no longer purchase anything that goes into my dog's mouth that is made outside of the good old USA even though it is more expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
SusieP
from Cambria, CA
I bought this as a less expensive alternative to the prescription food and it has worked out well. Both of my cocker spaniels have skin problems and our vet thinks they are caused from allergies. I believe the L.I.D. and grain free has helped somewhat. They still scratch some but not as much as before eating this. As a side effect, their digestion has improved and no more loose stools.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works! And it's a great deal

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
QueenMS
from Huntington Beach, CA
My Shih Tsu has major food allergies. The Vet recommended a nearly twice as expensive "Duck and Potato" food, to which he was not allergic. I tried the Natural Balance L.I.D. And it worked just as well. Since I am on a limited budget this was great news. Although I've never found the L.I.D. Line in a store, the very frequent free shipping discounts make buying on line a no brainer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

natural balance potato/duck dry dog food - apparently yummy....

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
chrisspy
from vienna, va
my chihuahua mix rescue puppy LOVES this brand/flavor of food! we - his parents - love it because it is relatively healthy (grain-free) and it comes in small bites size ensuring our little guy can eat it without fear of choking...all visiting doggie friends appear to LOVE our pup's chow as well so it must be universally yummy for all dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
doodlefan
from asheville. nc
I wanted a healthy dog food for the newest member of our family without breaking the bank. He looks forward to meal time and I feel confident that he is getting the nutrition he needs to be at his best. I like the limited ingrediants without alll the fillers that add no nutritional value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mollylover
from Salinas, CA
Delivery couldn't have been more convenient and the food has transformed my dogs life... Turns out she allergic to "cheap" dog food and this product is the answer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance L.I.D. Grain-Free Potato & Duck Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for the whole life of my dog

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bejayk
from Aurora, IL
Natural Balance dog food is a food that you can begin feeding to a puppy and progress all the way through life. My dog loves it and has maintained a very healthy weight thus far. The food is a little expensive but I feel that my dog is worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>