petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Training Clicker

Petco Dog Training Clicker

Loud and long-lasting clicker is an indispensable tool for obedience trainingIncludes a d-ring for hanging on your keychain or storing on your dog's leash or sports bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
38 out of 44(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Review 1 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hearing Issues?

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
While this may work for some dogs, ours seems to be oblivious. He barely acknowledges the sound. It just doesn't work for our dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great.

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Camptonville, CA
It took only one day for one of my dogs to quite barking. The other one is taking a little bit longer. She barks out it about two times before she stops. I would recommend to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Training Aid!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bremerton, WA
Inexpensive, but perfectly effective! No need to spend $10 on a clicker; this model is the exact same as any other, the only difference being the external plastic case.
Comes on a key-ring; easy to hook to a carabiner.
Can be heard from far away.
A clicker (combined with food) and a spray bottle have been the only two effective means of training I have yet to try.
Recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to use a Clicker

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Manassas, VA
The advantage of this clicker is its low price, compared to others that do exactly the same thing. Low price? Buy several so one is always handy and not lost in the laundry.
What does it do? It makes a distinctive sound.
How to use it?
Pick a single use (Training marker, Call, Scary sound). Other things work better as a call, and a clicker doesn't stay scary for long.
To get the best use as a versatile training marker, find a "Clicker Training" book and at least skim it.
Basic training steps are to FIRST "charge the clicker". This is the process of getting your pet used to the sound and associating it with "good boy" and "that's what I wanted". This is done by letting pet sniff it, get used to it, then giving a favorite treat and simultaneously clicking. Do the treat/click rapid-fire until pet connects "click" with "I just earned a treat!" Then as you train, "click" when action is done to your satisfaction (like exactly when haunches hit the floor in a s"sit"). ALWAYS give a treat if you give a click (even if click was a mistake).
You can use clicker when "luring" a behavior, or when "shaping" a behavior. Luring is when you have the pet follow a treat through desired actions. Shaping is like the people game "you're getting warmer", with a click at bigger and bigger increments of closeness to your objective.
Why click instead of saying something? People are ALWAYS saying something, pets have a hard time knowing what is significant. Also, poeple-talk can be distracting, causing pet to "forget" what they just did.
This kind of training can be very rewarding for both pet and owner because it is exciting/challenging play and it facilitates actual pet-person communication. Pets respond afterwards with love and adoration. You just strengthened your bond!
Clickers are not very good to "untrain" nuisance barking, unless you know what you're doing. The clicker says "Yes!", not "No!". Many dogs see the clicker getting pulled out and they bark out of sheer joy and excitement, knowing the fun that follows.
If it seems too loud and scary at first, muffle it in cloth or expose it in a larger room or outside with less echo and more ambient noise.
Pets are more interested in treats when they are hungry. Dogs are more likely to work (train) when hungry. Clicker training also works with horses and cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N. California
A very inexpensive training aid and it works well. I have it on my key chain so it's always with me. I recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for parrots too!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
I bought this to clicker train my green cheek conure. Mine came in a blue and it's cheaper online then at my local petco store. I've been clicker and touch training my adult bird who came from a bird rescue. It's helping me communicate with my parrot.
With any animal try just click-treat, click-treat method to get them to associate the click with a reward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Clicker

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MD
We are taking a dog training class and needed spare clickers. Good and sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrified of it

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
My 8 month old Miniature Dachshund is so terrified of this. I've tried it both in the house and outside. Every time I've clicked it her tail goes between her legs, her head goes down, she lays down and looks like someone just screamed at her. I felt terrible. Won't be using this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-34points
10of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great training aid

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pullman, WA
This product helped me train my dog. It provided a swift feedback system that my dog associated with getting a reward for doing something correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for birds too!

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I know this product is marketed for use with dogs, but it works as an excellent parrot training tool as well. The click sound is much clearer than most of the more expensive products; for the price, it cannot be beat! My sun conure immediately took to training with this clicker, and learned a new trick in under 20 minutes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Clicker

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Barcelona, Spain
This dog clicker is amazing, I've used on my dog and he is listening very well, I tought him how to be shy and limp. I would not recommend other dog clickers that are about $10. This has a very good price.
-Tahj37
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive, loud, easy to use

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
BEST clicker I've used by far!!! Requires almost no pressure for a loud click that is instantly recognizable.
Don't forget to charge the clicker before using by clicking and treating!! The sounds have no intrinsic meaning to dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

little confusing

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from tennnessee
my dog loved it since i new how to use it. all you have to do is click and give a treat when your dog is correct. simple if you ask me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Only Clicker That Keeps On Clicking

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine, Planet Earth
Missus Olde Hippie was 46 back in 1995 when multiple sclerosis put her in a wheel chair. In 2000, she got a Golden pup, as a pet, but wondering about the possibilities. By the time he was 2, Rufus was beginning to anticipate her needs, sensing her body language, pressing his body against her hand, saying, "grab hold, I'll help you stand", and so much more. It was training time. I searched and found a simple figure of 8 halter, a padded strap that looped around his neck and his torso. And I picked up a cheap clicker at Petco. He caught on by the third click, and as her MS became Parkinson's Disease, her needs increased rapidly; and Rufus was always ahead of us, asking, how should I handle this new problem, and this new problem. Rufus died on her birthday, 2 years ago; he's in a Pet Semetary, a converted raised bed garden in the back yard. Pushing up the dozens of daisies I planted for him. By this time, the Parkinson's had confined MOH to a hospital bed in our living room, P.D. meds quit working after several years, so I needed another dog to help me help her. Long story short: The dog rescue network found 2 year old Mister Darcy, Great Pyrenees Mountain Dog, in a shelter in Georgia, and dozens of strangers chipped in to deliver him, 1000 miles away, to his 4th home. An unwanted shelter dog, he was at MOH's bedside 20 minutes after entering our home and he hasn't left MOH since. She is the herd that he was born to watch over, a million years of DNA told him just what to do. And the clicker? He figured that out by day's end. She wears it on a wrist band, and even when he's out back relieving himself, he hears that loud, rugged, Petco clicker and comes running. It's 10 years old now, but still sounds off loud and clear. We've tried the slick, submarine shaped versions, their sound varies from soft to medium, no two are alike, even from the same six pack. I'm thrilled to discover I can replace it, happy to pay the shipping, which is cheaper than the gas required to drive the 60 miles to Petco. The Famous Clicker Lady's contributions are beyond words, but she hasn't put her name on a clicker yet that matches the performance and durability of this old relic. MOH now has leukemia, she'll only need a clicker for another year or two, so whatever I order today oughta last her.
Meanwhile, support dog rescue,
support Mike Fox's PD Foundation,
and support . . . whoever needs you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better then the expensive advanced ones

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Hanover ma
Loughd! Better then advanced ones. I am an agility trainer and my dogs love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive Purchase - Great Reward!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Honduras
I'm not sure why people buy the more expensive training clickers. This one isn't fancy but it does the trick. My dog was trained to respond to it in MINUTES and he even responds from great distances with exciting, competing stimuli. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Clicker Ever!

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from SeaWorld, Orlando
I have the blue Petco clicker. This is a great product! The click is loud enough for your dog to hear it, and my Papillon and West Highland Terrier react to it. It's very good for training, and it is at a good price. They're quite small, but I can fit it in my hand and hold it. It also has a keyring so you can attatch it to something, or even hang it on a key rack. I recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for potty training!

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
this great for potty training your new puppy! it is very durable and has laster nearly five years now! Babies also love this sound, it's soo cute!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great clicker

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
gets the job done, very noisy, definitely gets your pet's attention!! great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT TRAINING TOOL!

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orange Park, FL
This is a great way to get your dogs attention with its distinctive sound. I only use for positive reimbursement and not for scare tactic to make her affraid of a command or bad habit. Along with a lot of "GOOD GIRL's" and a treat for a command, trianing becomes an easy task. She looks right at me waiting for my next command!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>