petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Training Clicker

Petco Dog Training Clicker

Loud and long-lasting clicker is an indispensable tool for obedience trainingIncludes a d-ring for hanging on your keychain or storing on your dog's leash or sports bag
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
45 out of 53(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Review 1 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Some issues, but I'm not complaining

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California
When I ordered these I didn't realize I would be getting as many as I did. I assume I was supposed to be getting 12 clickers, but mine came with 11. I tested them all out and one was broken. I'm not too upset about it because I assumed I was only getting sent 3 at most, so coming out with 10 is ok. They're all pretty loud, some are louder than others which is great in case the dog doesn't like how loud they are, I can swap it out for a quieter one. They seem breakable but that's ok, I don't think I'll need it for too long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice for training

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Phila pa
A good start to training your pup works good will recommend to others
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee, FL
Cheap clicker that gets the job done. Let the training begin!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It gets my dogs' attention, right now!

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Fork, CA
This is so much nicer than shouting to get their attention. Just a couple of clicks/chirps and they settle right down and stop their barking.
If you have small hands, it's a bit awkward to hold/click.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, ne
It works great for dogs!! It it not a waste of money it is worth it and it works!! I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LA
I find this clicker to be totally reliable and at such a cheap price, you can't go wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

clicker

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Knoxville TN
Great price. Clicker is loud and I do recommend this to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Chester, PA
Don't even spend the $1.00 on this. For my puppy, it didn't really do anything for her. She just ignored it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not necessary

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Fun little clicker but our dog trainer said it's not really necessary.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hearing Issues?

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
While this may work for some dogs, ours seems to be oblivious. He barely acknowledges the sound. It just doesn't work for our dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great.

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Camptonville, CA
It took only one day for one of my dogs to quite barking. The other one is taking a little bit longer. She barks out it about two times before she stops. I would recommend to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Training Aid!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bremerton, WA
Inexpensive, but perfectly effective! No need to spend $10 on a clicker; this model is the exact same as any other, the only difference being the external plastic case.
Comes on a key-ring; easy to hook to a carabiner.
Can be heard from far away.
A clicker (combined with food) and a spray bottle have been the only two effective means of training I have yet to try.
Recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to use a Clicker

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Manassas, VA
The advantage of this clicker is its low price, compared to others that do exactly the same thing. Low price? Buy several so one is always handy and not lost in the laundry.
What does it do? It makes a distinctive sound.
How to use it?
Pick a single use (Training marker, Call, Scary sound). Other things work better as a call, and a clicker doesn't stay scary for long.
To get the best use as a versatile training marker, find a "Clicker Training" book and at least skim it.
Basic training steps are to FIRST "charge the clicker". This is the process of getting your pet used to the sound and associating it with "good boy" and "that's what I wanted". This is done by letting pet sniff it, get used to it, then giving a favorite treat and simultaneously clicking. Do the treat/click rapid-fire until pet connects "click" with "I just earned a treat!" Then as you train, "click" when action is done to your satisfaction (like exactly when haunches hit the floor in a s"sit"). ALWAYS give a treat if you give a click (even if click was a mistake).
You can use clicker when "luring" a behavior, or when "shaping" a behavior. Luring is when you have the pet follow a treat through desired actions. Shaping is like the people game "you're getting warmer", with a click at bigger and bigger increments of closeness to your objective.
Why click instead of saying something? People are ALWAYS saying something, pets have a hard time knowing what is significant. Also, poeple-talk can be distracting, causing pet to "forget" what they just did.
This kind of training can be very rewarding for both pet and owner because it is exciting/challenging play and it facilitates actual pet-person communication. Pets respond afterwards with love and adoration. You just strengthened your bond!
Clickers are not very good to "untrain" nuisance barking, unless you know what you're doing. The clicker says "Yes!", not "No!". Many dogs see the clicker getting pulled out and they bark out of sheer joy and excitement, knowing the fun that follows.
If it seems too loud and scary at first, muffle it in cloth or expose it in a larger room or outside with less echo and more ambient noise.
Pets are more interested in treats when they are hungry. Dogs are more likely to work (train) when hungry. Clicker training also works with horses and cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N. California
A very inexpensive training aid and it works well. I have it on my key chain so it's always with me. I recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for parrots too!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
I bought this to clicker train my green cheek conure. Mine came in a blue and it's cheaper online then at my local petco store. I've been clicker and touch training my adult bird who came from a bird rescue. It's helping me communicate with my parrot.
With any animal try just click-treat, click-treat method to get them to associate the click with a reward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Clicker

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MD
We are taking a dog training class and needed spare clickers. Good and sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrified of it

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
My 8 month old Miniature Dachshund is so terrified of this. I've tried it both in the house and outside. Every time I've clicked it her tail goes between her legs, her head goes down, she lays down and looks like someone just screamed at her. I felt terrible. Won't be using this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-35points
12of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great training aid

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pullman, WA
This product helped me train my dog. It provided a swift feedback system that my dog associated with getting a reward for doing something correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for birds too!

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I know this product is marketed for use with dogs, but it works as an excellent parrot training tool as well. The click sound is much clearer than most of the more expensive products; for the price, it cannot be beat! My sun conure immediately took to training with this clicker, and learned a new trick in under 20 minutes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Dog Training Clicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Clicker

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Barcelona, Spain
This dog clicker is amazing, I've used on my dog and he is listening very well, I tought him how to be shy and limp. I would not recommend other dog clickers that are about $10. This has a very good price.
-Tahj37
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>