petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dental Fresh for Dogs

Dental Fresh for Dogs

Just add to your pet's drinking water for optimal oral healthDental Fresh protects teeth and gums, removes plaque and tartar, brightens teeth, and freshens breathMakes professional cleaning faster, easier, and gentler
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Review 1 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog can't taste it/works

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
ToydogMom
from Los Angeles, CA
Excellent addition to regular, at home, dental care.
Our dog is curious about what's going into the water dish & was hesistant at first but, got used to it right away.
Makes a huge difference after meals because it also seems to greatly minimize the aroma of dog food on the beard. I can't really smell the product but, can't smell doggie breath either.
Generous size bottle which is very important for long-haired dogs who need their water changed quite a bit more frequently.
Would purchase again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my dogs fresh breath

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveCandy
from Apple River, Il.
My dog is 14 yrs. old and started giving this to her when she was 10 and her breath had started getting foul. After a few days her breath was as fresh as when she was a young pup. LOVE this stuff!! I highly recommend it...wish I had started giving to her when she was young. Tried sprays, brushing her teeth and she hated it!! She ran when she saw me coming at her with it.
I have given several people some of the dental fresh for their dogs to try and they like it for their dogs breath as well Finally something that really works. Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Breath = Happy Breath!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
McFabulous
from Nshville, TN
I was very skeptical about this product. I have two Schnauzers and one of them has unbelievably bad breath even though they both receive a grain free, dry kibble diet. I purchased the smaller size and used the Dental Fresh each time I refilled their water dish. By the end of the bottle, my husband and I could tell a difference in the Schnauzer with the hideous breath! You have to give the product time to work and consistency in use is key. Buying the larger size this time around!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't believe the hype

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
APBmom
from Central NJ
Bought back on 11/08/11 for my mother in law dog due to his strong fish breathe. He did not want to drink it but my American pit bull did but refuse after a while. Mother in law dog is a poodle mix, so was waste of money. Better off giving dog dental treats and staying away from fish like food etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freshens breath fabulously

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sofiesmom
from Southern MD
My little Chi had awful fishy breath even tho I gave her the dental chews designed to freshen breath. Her trainer recommended this and I was very pleasantly surprised that it worked immediately. Her breath is great now. It is safe and helps with dental health as well. It is easy just add a tsp to each 8 oz of water each day. Definitely well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
gtg798y
Our little guy doesn't mind the taste of it at all, and the addition to his water daily truly helps to keep his teeth clean and breath fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only liquid freshener that works for my dog.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisys
from Weehawken, NJ
I ran out one day and the store didn't have this so I bought a lookalike product that didn't do a thing. Dentalfresh is just formulated better and I absolutely know that when my dog's face is close to people her breath is perfect. Since she loves to cozy up and be petted by every person she sees, this product enhances her life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does help

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
charmer1
from Roaring Spring
I have little dogs and I keep their oral health up to date but they still have a smell from their mouth that I do not enjoy . I tried this and it does help to a point and does make being around them much more comfortable for me. They drank their water without a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful aid for doggy breath!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
lgt6238
from Berwyn, IL
I have used this product for my dog for some time now and can really notice a difference if we missed using it one day. It really helps curb the doggy breath and his teeth are even brighter which is an added plus. It is also nice that it comes in different sizes as the larger one is very economical if you use it regularly like us. We have tried other things for the doggy breath, but so far this one has worked the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dental Fresh - Awesome!

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
kjv1
from Fort Collins, CO
I have tried oher products when I could not fnd this but this is the only one that works. My dogs are both 8 years old and their teeth are very white. My vet is impressed how nice their teeth look on their checkups. Our rescue had very brown teeth when we got her. Her teeth are pearly white now. I won't use anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great tasting dental product

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
islandman
from San Diego, CA
I like this product it dosen't look or taste so soapy and our dog seems to like it in his water bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This REALLY works!

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommyofadoggie
from Deland, FL
I have a hard time brushing my dog's teeth and saw a vet talking about if you can't brush their teeth you should at least put flouride in their water on TV. I found this product and decided to give it a try...boy am I glad I did! The first day I put the full dose into my dog's water but she wouldn't touch it. I know it says it's supposed to be tasteless and odorless, but she could tell a difference. The next day I started out with only 1 Tsp and after a few days she was drinking her normal amount no problem. Since then I have worked up to 3 Tsp (don't really think she needs more than that) and the difference is AMAZING! Her gums are a nice pink color now and don't look swollen at all, almost all of the plaque is gone from her teeth, and her bad breath is much better. She never liked me brushing her teeth but since I have been using this she doesn't even seem to mind that. I highly recommend this product to every dog owner, but I would start with a lower dose and work up to what you're dog needs if they won't drink it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more Doggie breath!

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
SpecksMom
I was skeptical of this product at first, but I decided to give it a try. My dogs breath was ungodly, but after just two days use, was much improved. He has been on Dental Fresh for over a week now and his breath now has no odor! He doesn't mind it in his water and it doesn't seem to have any ill effects on him. As for removing tartar? We will see. :) Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of $$, don't buy!!!!

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
bevh624
Read the reviews on this product, decided it might help the doggie breath. Well I'm not too sure about the effectiveness of this product because my dog won't go near it! I give just a tiny bit (less than a capful) in a bowl full of water. He's afraid to drink it, maybe thinking I'm trying to poison him or something. I take a whiff test for myself, can't blame him because I wouldn't drink this stuff either!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best ever

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
kaiserandrocketsmom
I used this after I got my pups and the vet made positive comments about their dental health . I received the product as a gift and ran out and at the last vet visit I was told that their dental health had declined . I think that is all that needs to be said in favor of this product if the vet noticed it then the stuff must be good. I am glad I finally located the product so I can buy it and continue to use it. I think it is the best invention since sliced bread (no more dog breath) I would recommend it to anyone with a dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
MomofWiggles
I have noticed a significant change in my dog's breath since using Dental Fresh. I will continue to purchase the product. My only question is why does it cost more in the store than when purchasing on the Internet?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works fast

PostedMay 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
hapynyr
from Fort Wayne, In.
Product does what it says and fast acting. I have noticed our female cocker seems to have lost her appetite. I will cut back on dental care to see if it's from this. Otherwise this is a very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breath smells great...

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rembunxious
from Burlington, VT
This product works wonderfully, and a little goes a long way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good Purchase

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Curlygurly
Has done exactly what I was hoping for...freshened my dog's breath!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dental Fresh for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Meh

PostedApril 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
KiskasMom
My husky's teeth improved, not drastically.. and now she's getting the runs nightly. Not so fun. Anybody else experiencing this problem? She's picky, but i've never had digestive problems with her before. Will be diluting it, but for now giving her a break.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>