petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens

Convenient spot treatment for fast acting, long-lasting control of fleas and ticksPrevents reinfestationKills newly emerged adult fleas before they lay eggsControls fleas which may cause flea allergy dermatitisKills all stages of ticks
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
14 out of 22(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

(No title)

PostedNovember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Frontline Fan
from Poplar Bluff, Missouri
I have used Frontline for at least 6 years and am very pleased with the product. I have never had a problem with fleas or ticks on any of my cats or my dogs. I like how Frontline works on both pests, (fleas and ticks.) I will continue to be a Frontline customer as long as I have pets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My kitty still has flees....

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
LolaO
from Hollywood, fl
This product did NOT completely work and its almost time to reapply. I use a flea comb on my kitty each night and I'm still finding 5-6 fleas and she is an inside kitty. I've even spray my home, my search continues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product and Shipping

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
pmoff9999
Have been using this product for two years with great results. Although you can never have a totally tick free outdoor cat, this product gets you as close to zero as possible. (see other comments for shipping review)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
reeper
from kissimmee, fl
not happy with purchase
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
cindyray
I had a flea problem with my cats even though they are indoor only. I tried some holistic (not from Petco) products which did not work at all. I was concerned about what to get & how it would affect my cats so spoke with a Petco associate who was very helpful. The Frontline for Cats & Kittens came really fast with free shipping and within one day no fleas! This is a great product, my cats are happy & so am I! (Fleas are not happy)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Frontline PLUS is BETTER Purchase!

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
suzzan
from Richland, MO
I have 4 dogs and 5 cats that go outdoors during the day and we live rural with a lot of woods and brush, which my cats love.
Frontline Plus HAS all the benefits of Frontline Top Spot with 1 extra ingredient, (S)-methoprene.
Frontline Plus not only kills adult fleas, but ALSO breaks the flea life cycle by killing their eggs and larvae, preventing re-infestation!!
Personally I think it's worth the extra money to prevent instead of constantly treating.
Easy to apply, and it WORKS!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dancy22
I have used top Spot for many yrs on cats & Dogs. I have no complaints. When they came out with the Plus I tried it. My Yorkie was allergic to the the new added ingredient. Thank you Frontline for continuing the Original Top Spot so My Yorkie can be free of fleas just like her siblings. I have never found the need to go to the stronger version for complete coverage of my many cats & dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does The Job Fast

PostedJune 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beartx
Simply apply and fleas are gone within one day
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PURCHASE EVER

PostedMay 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
4leafclover
This is a good purchase as it's easy, gets rid of fleas and ticks brought into the house by our cat and it got here in record time. Ver, very good. It prevents pet and you from getting lyme disease and it kills the pests. Costs way more if you buy it from your veterinarian.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, but . . .

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
riri1124
I had purchased Frontline Plus in the past - made a mistake and bought Top Spot this last time. Doesn't work nearly as well for my cats w/tick control. I won't make that mistake again!
I'd say Top Spot is a good product but Plus is an excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
MollySpotty
from Roseville, California
This product has worked just fine for our cats. We don't think the Frontline Plus variety offers additional benefit. Our cats go outside all year, day and night, and fleas vanish the day after applying Frontline Top Spot. Subsequently, no flea dirt for at least a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my boys

PostedJune 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
HooversDad
from St. Petersburg, Florida
Besides Hoover, I have Lovey & Sweet Pea(thought he was a she when we first got him and by the time we figured out his true identity, it was too late to change his name so he's stuck. Besides, he's a snuggler anyway) The boys get their share of fleas and in as Avantage doesn't make flea treatments for cats, I go with what I know. It works people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair product

PostedAugust 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
josie7
from Plantsville CT
Have used this and other products on my cats. This product is easy to apply however not always effective on killing all the fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
crafty
from Hauppauge, New York
Since I used the product I noticed that my kittens aren't scratching much al all. I would recommend this product. The price was good too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The differnce between spot and Plus

PostedDecember 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
kayaker5
This sale seemed like a really good deal so I wanted to know the difference between frontline spot and frontline plus. According to Frontline's website:
Frontline Top Spot:
All the benefits of FRONTLINE Spray in a convenient topical application
Recommended for:
• Dog and cat owners who want long-lasting, fast-acting flea and tick control
• Dog and cat owners who prefer convenient topical application
• Routine control of flea allergy dermatitis
Frontline Plus:
All the benefits of FRONTLINE Top Spot with an extra ingredient,
(S)-methoprene. Not only kills adult fleas, but also breaks the flea life cycle by killing their eggs and larvae, preventing re-infestation
Recommended for:
• Dog and cat owners who want the most complete flea and tick control available
Personally I think it's worth the extra money to prevent instead of constantly treating for adult fleas. Top Spot was their original once a month topical product that went on the market in 1997. Plus went on the market in 2000.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

be aware

PostedOctober 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
sixcatz
By my own fault I ordered Frontline TopSpot thinking I was ordering Frontline Plus.I should have known something was different when I saw the color of the product:BLUE not the usual green.However I still applied it to my cats.There was a difference right away about their behavior after applying:they were much calmer.HMM,I thought this change is good.But then I noticed there was still a lot of scratching and licking going on and I felt there was some kind of difference.So I called CS at Frontline and I was given the info that confirmed my suspicion that this was not the product I thought I had ordered.I called Petco.com and the gal was helpful in making the return to the Petco store in my city.I have not done this yet,but I'm hoping it will be painless.Just so you know the difference.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not so good

PostedSeptember 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
enwife
This is the second time I have tried this prouduct, silly me for wasting the money twice. Used it on both cats and I was re flea bathing in two days. Will be going back to Advantage!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What went wrong?

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
whit
from Vancouver, WA
this product hasn't work for me and my cats. I've boughten it twice. The first time it seemed to work fine, but the second time it didn't work at all. I feel diapointed it's always worked with past pets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get the Frontline Plus

PostedMay 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
from Alabama
The Plus version seemed to work much better for just a few bucks more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FRONTLINE Top Spot for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedMay 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Momof2kidsand2cats
from Dallas, GA
This product works very thoroughly. I use this exclusively for flea prevention on mostly indoor cats. The only thing I don't like is the greasy spot that lasts for 1-2 days on their back. Make sure you get it high enough so they can't lick it...it tastes nasty!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>