petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies

Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies

Advantage II flea medication for dogs protects them by killing all flea life stagesPrevents fleas on treated dogs from infesting your homeKills fleas within 12 hours of applicationTreats, prevents & controls lice infestationsSpecial Advantage II flea control formula remains effective after bathing and swimming
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(373 Reviews) 373
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 373 reviews
5 stars
259
4 stars
49
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
41
318 out of 371(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Review 1 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

works solidly, but not 30 days in high flea tic areas

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
happylittleschnauzer
from berkeley, ca
I have a mini schnauzer who is bathed or rinsed every 7-10 days. I typically wash him and then 24-36 hours later I put on flea and tick spot treatment. There are not many options when it comes to tick preventative. This one works, but I have noticed it stops working in about 3-3.5 weeks. It never lasts 30 days. The last week is touch and go. If cats are close to your dog, this is the best you can find I think. There is canine AdvantixII that works a little longer, but is more dangerous to your pet and kills cats. If this products stops working I respond with a second treatment. When it fades in the last week and I see fleas, I just put on the treatment early or give him a Capstar pill to carry him through the last week. One time it stopped working after 2.5 weeks, so I used the natural sentry spotstuff and 1 dose of capstar. That doesn't prevent the ticks, but I just kept him out of tall grass and the woods that month. I also have diatomacious earth that I can put on him like a powder that is natural and keeps bugs off. MOST IMPORTANT thing to do is wash your dog's bed, if you see one flea because sometimes your pet's bed is hatching them and the spot treatment ISworking!!! it takes a few hours for the fleas to drop, but if they keep picking them up -that is often the solution. You can put the diatomacious earth on the bed too to prevent hatching. HINT: if you can catch a flea easily on your pet, the spot treatment is probably still working and slowing them down, you just need to treat the environment - not the dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Advantage USED to work?

PostedApril 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
lizzieod
from Houston
About 5 years ago I had a HUGE flea problem on my German shepherd. It got so bad that not only were they festering on him, they were all over my family, too. I tried everything: the dips, shampoos, the spot-on treatments at the hardware store (which never worked so I assumed all spot-on treatments were similar) and nothing worked. After washing him about once a week and putting bug killer all over the house I wondered why the treatment at the hardware store was only 10 dollars and Advantage was around 50. So I bought it. And BOY that thing MASSACRED the fleas and WORKED. So why did I rate this a 1?
I bought an Australian shepherd with fleas and I had an indoor cat that was getting fleas. When I went to apply Advantage, I know they're not going to vanish in five minutes, so I usually give it about 4 days. 4 days pass. Fleas jumping on me at night, when I'm on the computer, when I'm driving to work. I vacuum my house and reapply Advantage. Still fleas. TO THIS DAY THE FLEAS HAVE NOT DIED. I see them running around in circles and unable to jump, and so I captured a few of these and put them in a clear container. They looked as if they were about to die. Running around in circles, not jumping, twirling around and rolling around. Two days later I see them happily jumping around waiting to get out. DID THEY CHANGE THIS PRODUCT OR ARE THESE FLEAS IMMUNE TO THIS NOW? WHAT IS THIS????
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Advantage is the best!

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tigersmeow
from Hazel Park, Mi
This year we ended up with a terrible infestation of fleas. We tried cheaper foggers and topical treatments and sprays and had no success-in fact the fleas were winning the battle. My cats and dogs were miserable, we were miserable and we were about to call in the professional exterminators. After countless flea bathes, and dragging the flea comb through each animal, I decided to research products. My searching led me to Advantage. I said to my husband that I don't care how much we spend-we need these fleas gone!! So I bought Advantage for 4 dogs and Advantage for 4 cats and applied it to them very easily-no problems at all! And the next day, the only fleas we found were dead ones. That was 2 weeks ago. Now some new fleas are popping up from eggs that were laid before the dosing and we are retreating the animals again, hopefully this time will do it! The box says to retreat after 7 days if infestation is great. I think foggers are a waste of time and energy, but the carpet sprays and vacuuming daily and throwing the contents away seem to help control the problem...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Advantage II = GREAT

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fleaky
from Morgantown, PA
Our vet only sells Vectra... I treated my dog with Vectra every 4 weeks for 4 months straight and my dog always had fleas. When I complained I was told that I was probably applying the drops the wrong way. I had to kindly inform the reception on the other line that I worked for a vet in his office many years ago and I knew exactly what I was doing. Anyway, yesterday my dog was biting, scratching, and crying all at the same time so I immediately drove to your store and bought Advantage II. I applied the drops, and the same exact way I was applying the Vectra drops, at midnight last night (after my dog's last walk since it was pouring rain all day) and by 1 p.m. there were over 30 dead fleas stuck in his hair and over 10 dead fleas in his crate. My dog hasn't scratched at all since early this morning. I'm thrilled that this product worked as well as it did and super fast. Thanks for a great product. I wish it worked for ticks too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thankyouthankyouthankyou

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
JJJayhawk
from Lawrence, KS
I wanted to treat my dog's flea problem without chemicals, especially after reading the NRDC's report on flea and tick products.
But after cleaning like crazy, bathing the dog weekly, spraying, combing, spreading diatomaceous earth and just plain driving myself bonkers for two months, I tried using Frontline in a fit of desperation. Nothing. There was no noticeable difference.
Then I ordered Advantage from Petco.com. It was just before I went out of town for a weekend (and had to leave my dog with a friend, who also has a dog). Not only did the product arrive in two days (and free shipping? Awesome), but when I returned my dog was flea free (and, more importantly, so was my friend's dog). And he has continued to be flea-free for the last two weeks.
So, thank you! I would recommend Advantage to anyone who has been fighting a losing battle against fleas. It works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ellie2
from NYS
I have used Advantage products for years and have had great success. As any when any flea killing product is used over years the fleas develop a resistance to the chemical and it has to be changed. Advantage II works well as long as you have taken care of any fleas and flea eggs that have accumulated in your home. If you have a problem just Advantage II or any product will not work. Using a vacuum on the floors as well as on and under furniture and the edges of rooms is a start and always empty the vacuum outside right away.
Also remember the product will need to be reapplied sooner if the house has fleas already reproducing in it or if your yard is infested. Never apply until 3 days AFTER a bath or the product will not work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Usefull info for people with bad reviews and what not.

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
KlondikesMommy09
from Port Richey, Fl
If you have a bad flea problem you can use it as often as once a week (read the box!!!!!), until your flea problem gets better, you can move it to every 2 wks, every 3 wks then to once a month. Also I would recommend bathing your pet in dawn dish soap before you put the flea drops on, let soak for around 5 minutes (water and suds will be a dark reddish brown, meaning fleas are being POPPED!) and do NOT wash again until it has fully soaked in (NO more greasy spots on backs). Also I recommend you get some sort of sprayer for like liquid plant food and hook it to your hose, put dawn dish soap in it and spray your yard really good. For people with inside/outside pets or just outside pets it HELPS a lot!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked well

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
volvomom
We used this on our dog after we discovered she had fleas. It worked quickly and seemed to kill everything. However, as soon as we bathed her, it didn't work anymore and we were seeing fleas crawling all over her a day or two later. Even though the company claims it is waterproof, it sure isn't shampoo proof. I now try not to bathe our dog with shampoo more than once a month and brush more often and wash with water in between. We apply this after every bath. It seems to have taken care of the problem. The good thing is that this is gentle enough to reapply every week if needed if the infestation is heavy. It's just too bad that it has to be so expensive. I stock up when it's on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Binkeydog
from Irvine, CA
This product really works!!!. My dog is frequently exposed to other dogs who have fleas and never brings any home. They begin to die immediately upon jumping on my dog. My house has NEVER become invested and I know how bad that can be from experience years ago before this wonderful product was invented. I always know immediately if there are fleas around because they bite me like crazy & my skin reacts quickly so I know there are fleas present. I have not had this problem since using this product. I did try a few other products when a coupon or special offer came along but I either found them not as effective or they made my dog throw up. Advantage is by far the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Working on my dog!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
dupy
from Cali
Strange, i have used Advantage on my cat Chloe with good results for years. When i adopted my dog Willow, i figured Advantage would work on her also. It doesnt, not at all! Within one week, she was itching and scratching, and i saw a flea on her. I tried another application, same bad results, even though it had been only 2 weeks since the first dose. Still fleas. I returned to Petco and got Frontline Plus which worked amazing and lasts 4-6 weeks on my dog. I cannot recommend Advantage for dogs. In reading these reviews, maybe its just my dog, but Advantage didnt work for us. Although i would give Advatage 5 stars for my Cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more scratching!

PostedMay 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
ChiChi86
I have two dogs- a lab mutt (Ty) and a teacup chihuahua (Bella Boo). When Ty came down with tape worms, I realized they were both WAY over due for flea treatment (did you know dogs get tapeworms from eating fleas? I sure didn't!) After treating the two of them for worms, I purchased Advantage for them both. Ty's itching stopped COMPLETELY about three days after treatment. A success! As for Bella, I think she may have been allergic to this particular brand, as she continued itching up a storm, but not a bug could be found on her. I've ended up to switch brands for her. But Ty, an avid outdoor dog still thrives on Advantage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! Something that works!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ohiopetowner
I have been using Frontline for 11 years and never had a problem. Usually I only need to treat my pets once or twice a year. As soon as I would see a flea, I would apply Frontline and be worry-free. But, like others, Frontline stopped working. I put it on, and the fleas multiplied. So, I was in search of a new product. Based on the reviews, I tried Advantage II. What a relief! My dogs and cats have stopped scratching all day and night. The only flea I've found was a dead one. Thank you, Advantage II, for giving me back my sanity and saving my pets from those nasty little insects!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Advantage Flea for dogs

PostedMay 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rescued pet keeper
from Egg Harbor Twsp., NJ
I have purchased this product previously and have found it to be the most reliable flea prevention around. I use this product on both of my dogs. My male, chihuahua mix, Buddy is 12 pounds and can use any flea prevention. However, my female chihuahua, Midnight is only 6 pounds. Most preventitives do not come in a dosage for under 10 pounds and would over medicate my little girl. This is the true reason why I buy Advantage. Advantage is a product that I know works and the dosage is safe for my two smallest babies. I trust Advantage to provide the best prevention in flea control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my 5lb Chihuahua/ Poodle mix

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dreamday843
I have a 5lb Chihuahua/ Poodle mix who was severely allergic to Frontline. She suffered with fleas all last year because of it and I was still seeing a flea or two a day up until purchasing this product a couple weeks ago. I decided to try this and it worked fantastically. No reactions whatsoever and I haven't seen a flea since I put it on. I applied it between the shoulder blades and it absorbed relatively quickly without getting on her long hair and there was no oily residue. A little smell but that went away after a couple days. Thanks for a well priced, effective product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOODBYE FLEAS!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
ANAX
from Georgia
I 'have' tried other brands but for my girls this works best. Easy to apply. Does stop working a day or two before 30 days so I try to reorder or purchase before 28 days has past. However, the day it is applied any fleas on them from being outdoors will vanish. I never have a flea problem in my home! I just REALLY wish the heartworm meds could be purchased without a Vet. Since heartworm treatment is standard for "all dogs", it should be over the counter as well.
I would definitely, absolutely, without hesitation, buy the 'Advantage Multi' from Petco if it were available.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product worked wonderful....

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
SouthMommy
from Florida
I have used a more expensive brand on my pets for years. I recently moved South and the need to budget became more real. I've never had fleas, but the warm weather in April brought fleas quickly. I not only knew this was unhealthy for my pet, I could't stand watching her bite all over. I purchased Advantage for her and within 48 hours she was pretty much flea free and not biting. Now she is completely happy and I will never pay the high amount for the other brand again. This product saved me good money and my dog still has her hair. Thanks
P.S No ticks seen her either!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Wonderful!!!

PostedDecember 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fizzel
I think this product is GREAT!!! I have a little Dachshund, who was miserable with his flea situation. My dog was just not himself, normally he is playful and full of energy but his flea problem was so bad all he did was sleep and itch. I had tried several other products that did nothing for him. I bought the advantage and ran home to put it on him. I put it on him at around 10:00pm, and when I woke up in the morning I could not see a single flea on him. I was soooo happy!!! This product is wonderful; I will never use another flea product on my little man!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Advantage Flea and Tick Control

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
doctorknow
from Orlando FL
I have used Advantage over several other brands for quite some time now. I find it very effective, especially for fleas. Ticks usually die on the dog and become dry and crusted and eventually fall off. Ticks will not be prevented from biting the dog but will suffer an early demise. Fleas on the other hand are absolutely controlled. Advantage is a bit higher in price than other brands but I have found it more effective than other brands and longer lasting. It definately lasts a month when used properly with dosage per weight of dog. Other brands fade faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works wonders!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveMeSomeCats
from Laguna Niguel, CA
I purchased this item for my sister's dog which was the unfortunate victim of an overly active flea season. She was initially using Frontline because of the tick protection, but her poor dog was being eaten alive by fleas. She had been using Frontline every two weeks, along with powders and sprays, but to no avail.
I ordered Advantage for her and it not only arrived quickly, but the price at Petco was the best hands down. Within half a day of using this product, her dog was flea free and able to enjoy life again. She will never use anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Advantage II Once-A-Month Topical Flea Treatment for Dogs & Puppies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Works

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
petslover
from Oakland, CA
I have been trying alot of flea treament products and this really works. My dog has short hair so i coudl really see the fleas some times. I use to have to give my dog two or three baths a week, now that I use advantage I only give him a bath once a week or ever other week. My dog still itches or he just really likes it when i scratch his back. My dog didn't even know i put it on him. It's easy to use and my vet really recommend this product. It's a really great price too compared to what my vet was going to charge and other online pet stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>