petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail One

Super Pet CritterTrail One

Fun and colorful hamster cage - also great for gerbil and miceFeatures a unique Petting Zone for interacting with your petFurnished with habitat essentials for your small petHigh-quality one-level small animal cageCompletely compatible with all CritterTrail, Habitrail, and SAM Systems to let you connect into, onto, and all around your pet's home
Average Customer Rating:
3.837 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 221 reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
70
3 stars
27
2 stars
19
1 star
19
161 out of 221(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Cage Ever!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Animal LUVER
from Minnesota
This cage was a worthy purchase. My pet loves it, I love it and best of all it holds up PERFECT!! I purchased this cage about 2.5, 3 years ago when I got my gerbil and the cage still has NO defects! My gerbil runs on the EXTEMELY QUIET wheel all the time, he also loves to chew on the cage's bars and climb them. Just and F.Y.I. the bars won't break at all, the worst that could happen is a bit of non-toxic chipped paint! This Cage is just plainly AWESOME! I recommend it to anyone who reads this passage and if my cage were to break (Yeah Right) then I would get it again. If your looking for THE PERFECT cage... STOP! Because you have found it already!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+109points
119of 129voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SAY NO TO CRITTERTRAILS

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
dwarfhammy
from Washington D.C.
This cage is much too small for any hamster. You would have to buy at least four of these to have the correct amount of space. Hamsters need at least 360 square inch cages. I recommend getting an aquarium or making a bin cage. These are horrible!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great First Cage!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
mandy510
from Hammond, IN
I just got my first hamster about a month ago and he loves this cage! I also bought one of the accessory kits for this cage and he loves that he has more room to explore. The only downfall is I wish the cage was a little bigger. The cage itself is good and very secure. Highly recommend this cage to first time parents!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
grannywhammies
from Fresno, CA
This cage is great. I have 10 dwarf hamsters and I have each one in this cage. It has everything they need, lots of connector ports and it's sturdy and looks good. I would recommend this cage to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to Clean and Good for sleepy hamsters

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
PuppiesandHamsters
from Longview, TX
The wheel is not too noisy and easy to clean. You do not need to buy a hamster ball for cleaning the cage if you get this because the hamster ball runs around $24.99. It has a section on the above level that you can take out and plug so they cannot get out when you travel or clean the cage. The only problem was that the cage top with the last one I had got lose and had a hard time putting together. Otherwise that it is a good cage, enjoy your new hamsters!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect starter habitat

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
tinytarheel
from texas
Got this for my daughters new hamster. Its perfect for him he loved it! We'll be getting the other habitats to connect to this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best cage i have ever had

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ilovepuppys123987
from Minnesota ,MN
easy to clean easy to put to gether LOVE IT !!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cage works great!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Singa
from Boise, Idaho
This cage not only can expand but it has the little area at the top for easy cleaning. My hamster loved to dig through her bedding and it offered her lots of space to do so. The wheel didn't squeak, which was good too! I totally recommend this for first timers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very colorful!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bunnyloverxd
this cage is very colorful and our mice seem to love it. the only downside is we have had some trouble with the water bottle, it does not seem to release water, so we replaced the bottle. Our mice love the space in the ceiling, they cuddle there all day if we let them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic cage

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Redy4Ruby
from Redmond, WA
I had this cage for 3 out of 4 of my hamsters, I had 2 dwarfs and 1 teddy bear hamsters and they both can go up the tubes perfectly. Ruby (the teddy bear hamster) was chunky and could fit in them. The wheel is quiet and good size, and I never heard a thing! You can also add onto this cage, I had a long trail and different tubes! I definitely recommend this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

More Trouble Than It's Worth.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
WinrYYuzU
from San Antonio, Texas
I bought this cage for my 3rd hamster, Edward, when I was a freshman in high school. At first I loved the cage! It was colorful and cute and she loved climbing the tubes and going up to the loft. I also bought some expansions that Ed loved. But I soon realized that the water bottle was too low, and the wheel tilted down and poor Ed had a hard time staying in it. So I had to replace them, which was a cheap and simple fix. Then I realized that the doors for the tubes wouldn't connect right and they were loose. So I had to tape them. Then when I went to clean it, one of the clips that holds the plastic roof to the wire broke off. And then, to make matters worse, the little latch on the top of the cage for the loft broke, so I had to keep that tapped down too. And to top that all off, while assembly wasn't too hard, the loft was quickly stuffed full of bedding which not only stunk if not cleaned at least three times a week, but plugged the only few air holes in it.
To be honest, I could of gotten a defective cage....But I still wouldn't recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Pet Critter Trail

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
PetsRock101
from New York
This product is worth the money. It is very sturdy and I love the colors!!! Your small friend will thank you!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

looks nice, but flimsy

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
gkeller
from Ogden, UT
I replaced the full plastic cage with this one because the other was cracked in many places and I thought this would be more sturdy. The wheel does not attach to the wire very securely which makes it bow down. And it is VERY noisy. So much for the whisper quiet. The plastic also just seems very thin and I'm very worried of breaking it as it gets snapped on and off to clean. And even though the base is deep, I still get bedding everywhere on the table it sits on. We'll see how it lasts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little cage

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
HaleyComet
from Ohio
This is a great cage, but save your money when considering getting any other habitrail attatchement tubes. They just don't work, and aren't used-by our mouse at least. The cage is easy to put together, and take apart and clean. The extra comparment up top aka the bedroom- is useful. Our mouse sleeps up there, and when it is time to clean the cage, we take out the compartment with him in it, plug it, and clean the cage. We don't have to stress him out trying to catch him and remove him to get it cleaned- which is good, because he bites!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveMyMini
from Connecticut
My dwarf hamster Minnie, doesn't use this cage much, we attached it with a tube to her other tube. She doesn't use the curved tube and she doesn't like heights, when we put her in the top part she freaked out. It's also hard to open and grab her when I want her. Not a great design!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hamster cage!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cerra
from Waterville, Maine
This was very easy to put together and very safe. I have three cats and they can't get in, nor can the hamster get out. Everything goes together really well and my hamster loves her cage. My hamster is a little fattie, so the yellow tubing on the side is a little snug, but I was thinking maybe it's supposed to be that way so she doesn't slide down it too fast? I don't know, but she climbs up and down it well, so that seems okay. My cats are always sticking their noses at the cage and the hamster will sniff them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My mouse escaped.

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
jinxykins
from Maryland
Seriously, I've been chasing my mouse around my room ever since I got home from work two hours ago. My guess is that where the spring loaded latch is, there's a slightly large opening that she may have squeezed through.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good.

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
RIPpickles
from Indiana
This cage was PERFECT For my Gerbil. She always had room to play and loved sleeping in the upper tower.(which is removable!) And liked to play around at the bottom part of the cage. It did the job and the colors made it fun to look at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing and inescapable

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angieboo21
from Duluth minnesota
I love the spring on the door so it's harder for the pet to escape. It was easy to put together and the perfect size
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, not great.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
MouseFwend
from Cambridge, MA
The cage was easy to assemble and there were no problems getting things where they were supposed to go. I love the lightness of it for when I need to move it to clean it. However there are a few issues. First, my 3-4 week old mouse found her way out within 3 minutes of putting her in it. The latch mechanism in the door leaves 2 spaces large enough for her to easily slip through. I had to use pipe cleaners to weave a barrier into the spaces. The 2nd issue was the water bottle. The ball was too tight or something and she couldn't get any water from it. I replaced it with a small Petco one. The 3rd issue was the wheel. I don't know if it was to hard to turn but she would only use it for no more than 5 seconds so I replaced that with a Petco mesh one and she's using that often. That all being said, I'm getting either an expansion or a second one to connect them and give her even more room to run around in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>