petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter

Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter

Wheat enzymes naturally eliminate odorWheat starches clump firmly for easy scoopingLow dust, less trackingNo chemicals or fragrancesSafe and non-toxic for kittens & catsBiodegradable, certified flushable
Average Customer Rating:
3.956 / 5
4
 / 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 113 reviews
5 stars
65
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
14
82 out of 113(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 41 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sticks to Litter Box

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Atlanta, GA
I use the Omega Paw Litter box and the SW Scoop will stick like glue to the bottom of this litter box, even with 3 inches of litter. Also, the ammonia odor is very powerful in the litter box. I like this litter because I can flush it down the toilet bowl, but once the bag is used up, I will try another flushable litter. I have a second litter box with the clumping feline pine litter and it does not give off ammonia fumes. I would suggest that the Swheat Scoop company design a litter box specifically for their litter. Even though I would rather use the Swheat Scoop, I will have to change because for me the Swheat does not work with the Omega Paw Litter Box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet!

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nevina
from Sacramento, CA
I love this stuff! It has a nice smell, no dust, it clumps great & flushes easily. My cat likes it & the box NEVER smells bad. All that PLUS it's environmentally friendly -it just doesn't get any better than this! Excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
SeaW
from VA
I've been looking for an alternative to clay and have tried several environmentally friendly options. Either the tracking was terrible or the odor control was poor.
I gave this a try and it's the best ever! A visitor commented that you wouldn't know this was a "cat house" (She HATES cat smells!)
I don't have to sweep up tracked litter everyday. My cat loves it. AND flushable!
The clumps are less solid, but I use a litter box liner, so it's not an issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Take the Stink out of Cat Boxes!!

PostedMay 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
thesilverangel13
from Fort Smith, AR
Great stuff, and best of all it's flushable- safe for septic tanks and sewer systems!! Yay! With a little baking soda, this stuff works wonders! And best of all, they make it in multi-cat formula!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swheat is SWEET

PostedApril 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hamilton999
I adopted Arthur who was a stray with a sensitive stomach. I had to try many different brands of litter to find the one that worked best (odor and clumping) and was most cost effective. This is the one! Not only is it easy to use but it clumps very well and flushes!! I can quickly clean the litter box (which I keep next to the toilet). I had to go back to regular clay litter once (because of a snow storm) and couldn't believe the amount of dust and the grey, ugly color. Arthur actually sneezed when he went into the litter box! I also noticed that there was as much tracking with the clay litter as this litter. I quickly got on line and ordered two large bags of Swheat Scoop to ensure I didn't run out again.!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for some cats

PostedFebruary 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
PrincessKitteh
from Northern Virginia
I settled on this litter after going through several scoopable varieties that left my whole house smelling like a litter box. I also found that since I keep the litter in one of our bathrooms, it is very easy to pull the box up to the toilet and scoop directly in. I even keep a dust pan nearby and clean the stray litter off the floor and into the toilet. I have two cats, and the stuff does fantastic. Sometimes I get an ammonia smell, but that is usually because I have neglected to scoop off the bottom of the pan. Occasionally the litter doesn't flush completely, but if I let it sit a few minutes it goes down.
I have one caveat. I tried this litter with a previous cat I owned. She always peed profusely in the same corner of the litter box, so it didn't really help me with her (I ended up with a mound of clumped litter if I didn't scoop every day or so). I had to go with the desecant crystal/pearl type litter for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedDecember 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Moonchyldcrab82
from Philadelphia, PA
Like many concerned cat owners, I decided to not use clay litters when I adopted my 2 cats in May. Since then I've tried Swheat Scoop (wheat) , Feline Pine (pine) , and Yesterday's News (newspaper). And by FAR Swheat Scoop is the winner. I have two cats that share one litter box (I live in a small apartment) and with Swheat scoop I didn't have a problem with odor. It clumped much better than I expected and did not stick to the bottom of the pan too bad.
Something to be aware of...some pets (esp. cats and dogs) like to eat this litter, even after it's been soiled.
Also, to people that have had bug problems...it may be where you're buying it from and not necessarily a factory problem. I buy my Swheat Scoop from the same store (out of habit). Perhaps the store or stores you are frequenting are not storing the litter properly. Just a thought...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the greatest

PostedNovember 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
kokopellithebetta
Okay, so for a bit this litter was good. But now, no matter how many times I clean it or add new litter, the smell is disgusting! It is so rank of cat urine, even after I clean it. So for now I keep the bathroom fan on and clean it whenever the cat urinates, and add baking soda. There are a few good things though, the cat never comes out with a clay-scent, it's flushable, and it doesn't track all over the place. But still, I can't stand the smell.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Swheat scoop

PostedNovember 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Baileykitten
from Des Moines, Iowa
Gets points for clumping hard, being environmentally friendly and flushing easily. Does not cover the smell one single bit. Smells up the whole apartment with one 12 week old kitten.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUG / Moth Invasion

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maxandmorrismom
from chicago, IL
We want to use a natural litter. We tried pine and didn't like it. Too lightweight. So we tried Swheat Scoop. Big Mistake!!! Now we have lots of gnat like bugs flying around in our finished basement. I did some research and have found many other complaints on the internet about these brownish colored gnats coming out of this litter. Yuck... do yourself a favor and spare yourself from a gnat invasion and DON'T buy this litter!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

PostedOctober 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
rb123
Overall, I used this for a few months before the Arm & Hammer Essentials came out. I don't like the dust of clumping litter and my cat had bad bathroom habits and doesn't cover his business very well. This is lighter than clumping so it covered much better, but also since its lighter it tracks quite a bit. Also, there was very little odor control and I found cleaning the urine was unpleasant as it would break apart mid-scoop sometimes and bad odors would escape and just make it more unpleasant. If you want to try this type of litter, go for the Essentials instead, or try the multi-cat formula.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase ever

PostedOctober 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
bigboy492
from Haymarket, Va.
Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter is a joke it cost to much money and it does not clump hard. It definitely does not control Oder "DO NOT BUY IT".
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Swheat Scoop-Bugs /Moths

PostedOctober 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
MrNa
I have been using this product for a few years and just encountered something distrubing. I had 3 unopened boxes of Swheat Scoop and went to use the first box, opened it and saw things crawling in it...they where moths... I quickly put the box in a plastic bag and opend the second... I looked closely at the litter I poured in the pan and there where tiny black bugs crawling in this one...finally opened and poured some out from my third box and yes, those black bugs where in there.... I tossed them outside and I am know looking for a different brand... I don't know what happened to this brand ...It was good at one time...Please if you use it...
Just look closely ....you may see things living in the litter...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedSeptember 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
teddibear
This wheat litter is so much better than the clay. There is no powder flying around. Although there is some oder, I find that if you use baking soda with this product, you can go for a few days before you get an oder again. I have two cats and they love it. So do I. Works great with baking soda.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUGS, BUGS, BUGS

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
NaturalLitterLover
from CA
I tried and tried to like this product, as I despise the clay based toxicity of most kitty litters, but there is one "con" that outweighs every "pro": BUGS. The first time I noticed what I believe are called wheat weevils, I threw away the litter in the pans and the fresh litter sealed in an airtight container, and cleaned EVERYTHING. I purchased new Swheat Scoop and, weeks later, past what should have been the next egg hatching cycle, I found what looked like millions of the bugs in a fresh box. They clearly are Trojan Horsing themselves into my life via the factory. I CANNOT get rid of them. I am having to have an exterminator come to my house and the company says I have to throw away all the grains in my home on top of it all. I have switched to a non-food based litter. I know that the invasion of these bugs is wholly due to chance, but I would like to warn those considering the purchase of Swheat Scoop: there IS a chance these bugs will move in and they will do everything in their power to stay.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Going back to my old litter

PostedAugust 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
shoegal
from Orange County
I tried this litter because I wanted one that would clump (unlike my previous pine pellet litter) and that was flushable. I liked it at first, even though there was a little bit of tracking. But I soon realized that even after I flushed my kitten's "dirty work" there was a lingering smell. The litter seems to hang on to every little bit of odor, and it's this strange sweet (but not a good sweet) smell; almost rancid. It's decent, but because I have a small apartment, I don't want any odors carrying into all the rooms. I will be switching back to my pine litter, which I think is actually flushable, too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved our Sanity

PostedAugust 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Knikki
from Houston, TX
My husband and I have used Swheat Scoop religiously since I discovered it at the local Petco during my search to find a non-toxic litter, flushable leitter. Our finicky male cat is very partial to sweat scoop(not smelly like charcoal litter and not "fluffy" like pine) and we've avoided urine smells and stains, "surprises," and a sick dog since using the product. Urine smell is very well controlled(helpful in a small apartment) and even our pet sitting service agrees it is extremely flushable and has little/no dust. Thank you for carrying this product, it is a must try even for cats and kittens who have difficulty with switching litters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved product

PostedJuly 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Agosto
from Washington
This is an updated to an improved Swheat Scoop product. Some customers were sharing that the product did not clump firm or it was sticking at the bottom of the tray. That has all changed.
As of March 08' Sweat Scoop has eliminated those concerns. So, thanks to those customers that reported a less than 100% satisfaction. We do listen! Swheat Scoop is still 100% natural.
Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Litter

PostedJune 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Crash
from Kaneohe, HI
This is, far and away, the best litter I have ever used. It's odor control is amazing, there's no mess like that caused by the clay litters, the cats love it, and the litter itself actually smells great.
I HIGHLY recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

None around the house

PostedMay 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Figaro1993
from Walnut Creek, CA
I'm giving this product 5 stars because so far, I DO find it to be the best cat litter. My problem had been other litters that were too fine or too rocky, either one got all over the house from pet paws, even worse, on the bed! With Swheat Scoop, I don't have that problem at ALL! And, the smells, if any or much more tollerable. One minor item.....I seem to go through it quicker, but I wouldn't want anything else. I'm online to find a bigger bag size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>