petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter

Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter

Wheat enzymes naturally eliminate odorWheat starches clump firmly for easy scoopingLow dust, less trackingNo chemicals or fragrancesSafe and non-toxic for kittens & catsBiodegradable, certified flushable
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
16
86 out of 119(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 41 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swheat Scoop

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Sugar Hill, GA
This is the best cat litter I have ever used. It's flushable, and it doesn't leave a stinky odor like most cat litters do. I was using Arm & Hammer before, but after a couple of days using A&H, there was always a stinky urine smell. Swheat Scoop doesn't leave any odor. I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did I do something wrong?

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
I tried this because clay litter usually turns into a gluey paste when my cat urinates and sticks to the walls of the box. This does clump well enough without binding to the litter box, but the unholy smell that was created when the wheat and urine mixed together. YIKES! My cat didn't like it either. She would hesitate to go to the bathroom and the day she peed out of the box I definitely knew she hated it as well.
Others love it so I'm wondering if it's my cat's urine or something I did wrong. I've only used it for a week and have already had to throw all the litter from one box out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected.

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
I bought the 40lb version of this cat litter. It was my first time using it, and I had read the good reviews on this site. However, I really did not like the litter for a couple reasons. I stopped using clay litter because of how dusty it is. This litter was almost as dusty as clay litter when I was pouring it into the litter tray. Even at 1-2 inches from the tray bottom it produced quite a bit of dust. It also had no smell whatsoever, and did not seem to cover up smells well. My other problem is with how it clumped. Cat urine and seemed to turn this clay into something like glue. It was very hard to scrape off the bottom of the litter tray!
If you have more than one cat, I would not recommend this cat litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swheat Scoop

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Man this is so much better for my cats lungs and for my lungs! Regular clumping litter is dusty and even a tiny bit will clump in your cats lungs and yours, with the moisture in your lungs...not good! I have Asthma, and I am feeling so much better since I stopped using the regular clay clumping stuff (fresh step and ALL the others Ive tried over the past 10 years with 4 cats!)Also our apartment is so much easier to clean now! I cant believe how much cat litter contributed to the dust all over the apartment! So disgusting! And to think my poor babies were INSIDE the box kicking that stuff around and breathing it in! This will keep them healthier AND, keep the Vet bills low! As well as my hospital bills for my Asthma!
Using clumping clay litter is inhumane to your cats and you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your $

PostedSeptember 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
I had been using Nature's Miracle Clumping Cat Litter for about a year with no problems when my husband found Swheat Litter on sale and decided to give it a try. The 1st day we could already smell the urine in the box (after scooping) from the door like it had been sitting there for over 3 days. It did not clump very well and there was no odor control whatsoever. If you happen to only be able to scoop your litter box once a day prepare yourself for an unpleasant muddy situation. We have 2 cats and 2 separate litter boxes so overcrowding was not the problem. I had to change the bags every other day, scooping 3 times a day and still could smell the urine from when walking into the room. After this I'm definitely going back to Nature's Miracle Clumping Litter (made of corn cobs, so it's also evironmentally friendly, has a wonderful pine smell that really covers up the urine and you can even forget to clean for a whole day w/ no problems, and best of all: it clumps so well that you save lots of money on bags and litter itself since you barely need to replace the whole litter in the box).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sticks to Litter Box

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
I use the Omega Paw Litter box and the SW Scoop will stick like glue to the bottom of this litter box, even with 3 inches of litter. Also, the ammonia odor is very powerful in the litter box. I like this litter because I can flush it down the toilet bowl, but once the bag is used up, I will try another flushable litter. I have a second litter box with the clumping feline pine litter and it does not give off ammonia fumes. I would suggest that the Swheat Scoop company design a litter box specifically for their litter. Even though I would rather use the Swheat Scoop, I will have to change because for me the Swheat does not work with the Omega Paw Litter Box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet!

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I love this stuff! It has a nice smell, no dust, it clumps great & flushes easily. My cat likes it & the box NEVER smells bad. All that PLUS it's environmentally friendly -it just doesn't get any better than this! Excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from VA
I've been looking for an alternative to clay and have tried several environmentally friendly options. Either the tracking was terrible or the odor control was poor.
I gave this a try and it's the best ever! A visitor commented that you wouldn't know this was a "cat house" (She HATES cat smells!)
I don't have to sweep up tracked litter everyday. My cat loves it. AND flushable!
The clumps are less solid, but I use a litter box liner, so it's not an issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Take the Stink out of Cat Boxes!!

PostedMay 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fort Smith, AR
Great stuff, and best of all it's flushable- safe for septic tanks and sewer systems!! Yay! With a little baking soda, this stuff works wonders! And best of all, they make it in multi-cat formula!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Swheat is SWEET

PostedApril 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
I adopted Arthur who was a stray with a sensitive stomach. I had to try many different brands of litter to find the one that worked best (odor and clumping) and was most cost effective. This is the one! Not only is it easy to use but it clumps very well and flushes!! I can quickly clean the litter box (which I keep next to the toilet). I had to go back to regular clay litter once (because of a snow storm) and couldn't believe the amount of dust and the grey, ugly color. Arthur actually sneezed when he went into the litter box! I also noticed that there was as much tracking with the clay litter as this litter. I quickly got on line and ordered two large bags of Swheat Scoop to ensure I didn't run out again.!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for some cats

PostedFebruary 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Northern Virginia
I settled on this litter after going through several scoopable varieties that left my whole house smelling like a litter box. I also found that since I keep the litter in one of our bathrooms, it is very easy to pull the box up to the toilet and scoop directly in. I even keep a dust pan nearby and clean the stray litter off the floor and into the toilet. I have two cats, and the stuff does fantastic. Sometimes I get an ammonia smell, but that is usually because I have neglected to scoop off the bottom of the pan. Occasionally the litter doesn't flush completely, but if I let it sit a few minutes it goes down.
I have one caveat. I tried this litter with a previous cat I owned. She always peed profusely in the same corner of the litter box, so it didn't really help me with her (I ended up with a mound of clumped litter if I didn't scoop every day or so). I had to go with the desecant crystal/pearl type litter for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedDecember 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Like many concerned cat owners, I decided to not use clay litters when I adopted my 2 cats in May. Since then I've tried Swheat Scoop (wheat) , Feline Pine (pine) , and Yesterday's News (newspaper). And by FAR Swheat Scoop is the winner. I have two cats that share one litter box (I live in a small apartment) and with Swheat scoop I didn't have a problem with odor. It clumped much better than I expected and did not stick to the bottom of the pan too bad.
Something to be aware of...some pets (esp. cats and dogs) like to eat this litter, even after it's been soiled.
Also, to people that have had bug problems...it may be where you're buying it from and not necessarily a factory problem. I buy my Swheat Scoop from the same store (out of habit). Perhaps the store or stores you are frequenting are not storing the litter properly. Just a thought...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the greatest

PostedNovember 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Okay, so for a bit this litter was good. But now, no matter how many times I clean it or add new litter, the smell is disgusting! It is so rank of cat urine, even after I clean it. So for now I keep the bathroom fan on and clean it whenever the cat urinates, and add baking soda. There are a few good things though, the cat never comes out with a clay-scent, it's flushable, and it doesn't track all over the place. But still, I can't stand the smell.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Swheat scoop

PostedNovember 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, Iowa
Gets points for clumping hard, being environmentally friendly and flushing easily. Does not cover the smell one single bit. Smells up the whole apartment with one 12 week old kitten.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUG / Moth Invasion

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from chicago, IL
We want to use a natural litter. We tried pine and didn't like it. Too lightweight. So we tried Swheat Scoop. Big Mistake!!! Now we have lots of gnat like bugs flying around in our finished basement. I did some research and have found many other complaints on the internet about these brownish colored gnats coming out of this litter. Yuck... do yourself a favor and spare yourself from a gnat invasion and DON'T buy this litter!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be better

PostedOctober 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Overall, I used this for a few months before the Arm & Hammer Essentials came out. I don't like the dust of clumping litter and my cat had bad bathroom habits and doesn't cover his business very well. This is lighter than clumping so it covered much better, but also since its lighter it tracks quite a bit. Also, there was very little odor control and I found cleaning the urine was unpleasant as it would break apart mid-scoop sometimes and bad odors would escape and just make it more unpleasant. If you want to try this type of litter, go for the Essentials instead, or try the multi-cat formula.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase ever

PostedOctober 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Haymarket, Va.
Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter is a joke it cost to much money and it does not clump hard. It definitely does not control Oder "DO NOT BUY IT".
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Swheat Scoop-Bugs /Moths

PostedOctober 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have been using this product for a few years and just encountered something distrubing. I had 3 unopened boxes of Swheat Scoop and went to use the first box, opened it and saw things crawling in it...they where moths... I quickly put the box in a plastic bag and opend the second... I looked closely at the litter I poured in the pan and there where tiny black bugs crawling in this one...finally opened and poured some out from my third box and yes, those black bugs where in there.... I tossed them outside and I am know looking for a different brand... I don't know what happened to this brand ...It was good at one time...Please if you use it...
Just look closely ....you may see things living in the litter...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedSeptember 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
This wheat litter is so much better than the clay. There is no powder flying around. Although there is some oder, I find that if you use baking soda with this product, you can go for a few days before you get an oder again. I have two cats and they love it. So do I. Works great with baking soda.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Swheat Scoop Natural Wheat Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUGS, BUGS, BUGS

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from CA
I tried and tried to like this product, as I despise the clay based toxicity of most kitty litters, but there is one "con" that outweighs every "pro": BUGS. The first time I noticed what I believe are called wheat weevils, I threw away the litter in the pans and the fresh litter sealed in an airtight container, and cleaned EVERYTHING. I purchased new Swheat Scoop and, weeks later, past what should have been the next egg hatching cycle, I found what looked like millions of the bugs in a fresh box. They clearly are Trojan Horsing themselves into my life via the factory. I CANNOT get rid of them. I am having to have an exterminator come to my house and the company says I have to throw away all the grains in my home on top of it all. I have switched to a non-food based litter. I know that the invasion of these bugs is wholly due to chance, but I would like to warn those considering the purchase of Swheat Scoop: there IS a chance these bugs will move in and they will do everything in their power to stay.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>