petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits

<ul><li>Simple alternative to declawing</li><li>Soft plastic nail caps glue over your cat&#39;s nails</li><li>Easy to apply</li><li>Comfortable for your cat</li><li>Won&#39;t interfere with the normal extension and retraction of his claws</li><li>Offered in sizes for every cat</li></ul>
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Review 1 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Your cat needs these!

PostedNovember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Buda, IL
If you are thinking about declawing your cat, save them and yourself the trouble and get Soft Claws! I came across these a few months ago and I am SOOO glad I tried them! They are the best! All three of my cats have them and I will never use anything else. They are so simple to apply, the cats don't even notice they have them on, and my furniture and my feet (playful little buggers!) are now completely safe from scratches. Aside from it being just way more humane, it's so much cheaper than declawing! I've recommended these to all my friends, and now I am recommending them to all of you...Buy these for your kitties! They'll thank you later :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Marlborough, MA
I have had my kitten for a week now and over that time she has emerged from her scared shell into a very playful kitten. I had hoped (naively) that she would not become a scratcher and that she would instantly bond with her cheap cardboard scratcher... no such luck. A few days after I got her, she began scratching the wall-to-wall carpet in my apartment, my brand new couch and curtains. I began to feel uneasy since I wanted to enjoy this stuff and my apartment and not have to keep my curtains pulled up for the rest of her life. I also feared not getting my security deposit back because they would have to replace the carpet after I moved out. I couldn't sleep well also because she, as many kittens do, gets a sudden energy surge in the middle of the night and starts wreaking havoc. I couldn't relax thinking that she could be ruining all my stuff.
Yesterday I bought Soft Claws and applied them and she doesn't even notice she is wearing them! My blood pressure is a lot lower and I slept well for the first time in a week. My boyfriend and I had a chuckle in the store because we thought that a cat would never let anyone put something like that on her... boy was I wrong. It only took a few minutes to do apply them and once they were on she didn't try to bite them off or anything. Thanks Soft Claws! I love my kitten again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
our cat doesn't mind these at all and it saves the furniture - the colored ones are softer and more pliable to put on than the clear ones, so i recommend them - they go on easily if you have the correct size and the glue dries quickly and doesn't smell - the cat needed no time to get used to them and now she doesn't seem to notice they are on - they fall off easily when the nail looses its sheath during the natural growth cycle - plus they look pretty
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent alternative to declawing!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This works great! Just have a 2nd person to help you install (one to hold, one to clip/glue); some vets will do it for you too. Only drawback is they'll still damage very loosely-woven materials (like braided rugs) because the claw catches and pulls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats hate me, but the woodwork is happy

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
I just put these on my cats for the first time. It's December which means that they have been climbing the Christmas tree and shredding the thermal plastic on the windows, in addition to thier normal woodwork/ furniture/ and carpet damage. They are easy to put on - if you have another person to hold the cat! I would not suggest trying this one alone. I have a short hair and a long hair. The short hair was much easier - the caps just popped right on. The long hair gave me problems becuase you have to find the nail first, then put the cap on, before the cat escapes... Like the title suggests: the cats are very mad at me right now, but they seem to be getting used to the caps really quickly. What I can say is that the caps work. One my of my cats has tried to knead my belly already and it was painless. They are also trying very hard to get the caps off and are failing. I gave the overall rating and quality a 5 becuase this is a great product, but they get a 1 for pet satisfaction becuase the kittes are not happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft Claws are a kitty saver!!!

PostedNovember 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Edwardsville, IL
We never had problems with our older kitty, Bikini. Then came the kitten Play-Doh which was a doll (but liked to climb things- my husband could deal with that). Then came Guess (a gorgeous Ragdoll kitten).... She decided the new leather couch was her friend and needed a good daily scratch!! I couldn't stomach the thought of declawing her and was sooo happy to find these. I have them on both Play-Doh and Guess and haven't had a problem with them since that first day (6 weeks ago!). Guess is fidgety and fought me a little, but I was able to apply all 10 on her within 20 minutes without breaking a sweat. Play-Doh just lay in my lap until I was done. I have told a handful of people about this product as I am very pleased with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these!

PostedOctober 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fairly easy to apply. My cats got used to them almost right away. They cleaned their paws at first almost trying to lick them off but after 2 hours they stopped and all "claws" are still on. My only complaint is that I purchased them from a Petco near my house. The package looked normal. However, when I got home there were 10 "claws" missing and I noticed the package had been "glued back together" (shame on that previous customer!) I learned my lesson and will order online from now on. The Soft Claws really work. Not a scratch on my furniture since. I look forward to seeing how long they last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky mess

PostedJuly 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
I just bought them for my 2 cats and so far so good, but it's a mess trying to get them on! Mi fingers were sticking to each other and getting cat hair stuck to my fingers as well. My hubby had to help me with the cats. I wish it was easier to apply. My fingers were a mess. Cat's are trying to chew it off, let's see how long they last one. While they are on they can't scratch anything so that's wonderful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must for Every Cat Owner

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I actually found this product and recommended it to a friend before I ever had a cat myself. Before I adopted my cat, I had already purchased a pack to put on him/her (at the time, I didn't have a preference for males or females). I do have to admit that my cat is not too cooperative with the application process, but it's nothing that a towel-clad "cat burrito" can't solve. The actual process of applying them doesn't take long. My only recommendation is not to trim too much of the claw down -- you'll need the surface area for the SoftClaws to fit correctly. Once they're on, they'll stay for quite some time. The natural color offered online is great, but if you're interested in color, you may have to buy them offline your nearest Petco store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A WONDERFUL Product

PostedDecember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, New York
I've been working in a groom salon for a few years now and find that this product is AMAZING!!! When a customer comes in complaining about thier cat scratching up their furniture I do offer this product. I tell them they are able to come back and I'll reapply them, but not one has come back.
I also use them on my two cats. They aren't bothered by them at all. I did find that some stayed on a little longer than had expected, but were easily taken off when I clipped their nails.
But overall I DO recommend this to other people and I DEFINATELY think it's better than declawing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Soft Claws.

PostedOctober 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Califonia
I bought the soft claws for my cat, and all he does is chew and pull them off. He doesn't like them much, and I've been finding them all over my house. He doesn't scratch up the couch anymore, even though he tries. I have to keep putting them back on. I don't know if it's him or just the quilty of this product, but they don't last very long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save A Paw, Don't Declaw! WE Love These!

PostedAugust 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from CA
We have 5 cats that love to shred! I like the CLEAR because you can see if you are correctly applying and using the right size!
I first tried them on my Apple Head Siamese/Hymy, the smartest of the bunch. I have 1 of my kids help me with applications, trimming and baths and just make sure to give some canned cat food after application to help keep their mind of the paws. My Hymymeser did very well for months but when there was a longer gap in between new applications, he got used to having more off than on and tried pulling them off. This caused the new ones to come off faster as he got more determined. (I won't give up)
We put them on the other cats as well but just front paws and all is well.
They all are still able to climb the cat tree (all tho it was commical till they got used to their handicap)
"Don't wait too long before apply new ones!"
I highly recomend these especially when "moving or introducing new pets"! *****
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

colored ones are better

PostedJuly 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
from CA
We
got pink ones from another store and it's much easier to see when one
has fallen off. Petco should sell other colors besides natural on their website. I also recommend having the vet put them on the first
time - makes it much easier when you try it yourself. They're not very
easy to put on but worth it for protecting furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Laramie WY
I love these, I use them on my chihuahua also. They work wonderful!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product for Claws

PostedMay 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
from McComb, MS
I have been using this product on my cat for over a year now. I used to let the vet put them on, but now I put them on. They are easy to apply. My cat is not a cooperative cat. She likes to claw people when she is bothered. They last me about 5 months. This way is better than having her declawed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedApril 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I have been using this product on my cat for over 2 years now. I used to get them from the vet, but now I can get them from Petco! :) They are easy to apply, and they have never given me or my cat trouble (I do have a VERY cooperative cat though). The expense is a lot cheaper than replacing my furniture! Plus, the package last us about six months. That's only a little over $3 a month! My cat can claw to his hearts content, and he wont get in trouble!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

How do you get them off??

PostedMarch 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I purchased your product over 8 weeks ago to prevent my new kitten from scratching my furniture. The soft claws function as they should, however, not all of the soft claws are shedding as the nail grows. There is a gap between the nail and the soft claw (at the top of the nail) which is causing my kitten to get hung up on carpets, rugs, etc. This is not pleasant for the kitten, nor is it pleasant trying to untangle her from the rug as she is in a panicked state. I am ready for the soft claws to come off for good! I am tired of watching my cute little kitten suffer! It's not worth it to save my furniture. I would rather declaw her, as she is an indoor cat!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

User for 5 months +

PostedMarch 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Northern, VA
My cats give me a little struggle when I put their claws on, but when only doing one or 2 paws at a time it is no problem. I got the paws specifically for my new furniture (which still looks great). My girl cat has the problem that the nails don't fall off when they are supposed to. Once nails curled towards her paw and got stuck to her toe pad. You really have to keep count of how long each nail has been on for. The directions say to clip the end off the Soft Claw if they haven't come off on their own in 3-4 weeks. Also, I don't know where the old ones go, they are very hard to find. The only thing left to say is that the glue system has gotten a little messy with a wiggling cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

(No title)

PostedFebruary 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from West Haven Connecticut
this is a great product, but it is very expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats Take Home Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

(No title)

PostedFebruary 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
from West Haven, CT
THIS IS A GREAT IDEA TO STOP YOUR CAT FROM SCRATCHING,BUT I THINK IT'S A LITTLE EXPENSIVE
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>