petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food

Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food

Bearded Dragon Food is a scientifically formulated and tested diet that ensures superior nutrition for bearded dragons and similar omnivorous reptilesColorful nuggets provide animal and vegetable source proteins and fats along with nutrients essential for excellent growth, color, and health
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Review 1 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Beardies Love It

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
AnimalLover14
from IL
I got this for my two baby bearded dragons. A couple of minutes after I put it in their tank, they tried it out & they both love it! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

rex's favorite food!!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beardieboy2000
from Lexington, MA
beardies won't eat this alone In a regular bowl so I put it in a exo terra vivicator vibrating food dish every day and he loves it. It is the main part of his diet. Don't worry he gets greens 3 times a week because the pellets have most of the greens nutrition and he gets carrots once per week and bananas once every 2 weeks. I use the pellets instead of crickets but I still use fresh vets. I recommend this for bear die owners who don't wanna feed live bugs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For my Beardie

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvalanimals
from Napa, CA
My Beardie Zig Zag likes the pellets and so do the crickets. The pellets are easy for my beardie to eat and if you have live crickets they usually go to the pellets and the beardie eats the crickets and a couple pellets. i use can o crickets so i put the crickets on top of the pellets and my beardie eats them as well as the pellets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

everything is changing

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
PaulinaPL
from Chicago, IL
I was given this product, so I decided try it. At the beginning, my littlle dragon didn't want eat this food and he was eating only crickets, but after 1-2 days he tried this food and now he eat it regullary. And he looks very funny bitting these small red bulbs :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good food

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
KillerRex213
from los angeles CA
this fortified dragon food works great!!! at first my dragon didnt eat it so i was worried(naturally) So i mixed it with some veggies (EX. Cilantro, watercrass, kale, sliced carrots. Etc.) eventually both of my dragons started to eat the food like it was crickets. LOL
Tip: Feed to young dragons to get them interested in the food an mix with other foods.
and soak in warm water to make the food soft to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a dry food

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
smoore002
from Rockford, IL
As the previous poster said "it is rare that a bearded dragon to eat kibble type food." I have a juvenile bearded dragon. I put this in a food bowl for him. At first he just looked at it and licked it. Then I started crushing it up and dusting wet veggies with it. This worked extremely well and he loves eating veggies with this on it. He gradually started eating the dried food on its own. I still feed him the recommended balance of veggies and crickets. This also works great as a cricket feeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No matter what, you'll find a use for it

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gale
Very rarely will a bearded dragon eat "kibble" like this. Mine does, though the other four dragons I know in person won't even sniff it.
If your dragon eats it, great. It's a good *supplement* but should never be fed as a staple. Your dragon still needs their greens (collards, turnip, some kale, no lettuces!) and will benefit from eating live food which is dusted with calcium and/or vitamin supplements. It's also a great ingredient in salads which could prompt younger dragons to eat it sooner. Lastly, if your dragon will eat it, it's nice to hold them over if your cricket order is late, or if you have to leave your lizard with a family member who's afraid of crickets! With my own beardie, I usually leave a bowl available for him throughout the day, still feed him about 50 crickets a day, and give it to him with his collards.
If your beardie WON'T eat it (like most) this stuff is wonderful gutload (which is what I used it for until mine "discovered" it). Just grind it up a bit and offer it to the crickets, or moisten it a little. If you go for moistening, be sure to discard the leftovers at the end of the day before it molds! To crush it, just put it in a good, thick freezer bag and crush it with a tenderizing hammer or mallet.
And as another warning: If you leave it in a dish, especially a deep one, they will dig around in it and play with it. If you have a particulate substrate (wood, sand, calci-sand, which you shouldn't anyway!) this poses a danger as when the beardie goes to eat it, they'll assuredly ingest their bedding as well. For those with tile or cage carpet (both of which are excellent for any reptile as they pose no threat of impaction!) just scoop it or vacuum it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Crickets love it!

PostedDecember 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
wheelslvr
I bought this for my bearded dragon and he won't touch it. Funny thing is the crickets that I buy to feed the dragon love it! He ends up getting the nutrition he needs anyway!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lizard

PostedMay 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cedar Rapids
My golden agama (I hope I spelled it right) sort of eats this product. He sometimes likes to play with his food. But he seems to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Bearded Dragon Fortified Daily Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Crickets love to eat it!

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tab92704
from Greensboro, NC
Good gut loader for crickets before you feed them to your beardie! The eat the heck out of it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.