petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink

The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink

Martingale dog collar provides greater control over your petGreat for narrow-headed dogs like sighthoundsLimited pinch closure prevents the collar from becoming too tightSoft yet strong nylon martingale collar can be worn at all times
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Review 1 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Collar

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
This is the 3rd "The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink " that I've bought, I get one every Christmas for my pit/boxer/rottweiler mix. Her neck is bigger than her head and she can easily back out of normal collars, in the past we used nylon slip collars but I always felt bad about it. The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars are a great combination of a regular collar and a slip collar. You can adjust it so it's perfect for normal wear but then when she's on a leash it tightens just tight enough to stay on and no chance of backing out of it. Plus it's pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The collar didn't release immediately

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
I was disappointed that the collar didn't release immediately after I pulled a dog I was walking. I had to manually release the collar so that it wasn't still tight around the dogs neck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good collar great price

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
The collar works properly. Once set to size, it doesn't slip. Martingales are great for my dog, as she has long fur. The Martingale doesn't rub off the fur, yet allows me good control if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good collars

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Canton, MI
I bought these collars (I bought two) because I walk my two dogs (85lb and 45lb) together every day. I needed more control of them especially if they saw something like a squirrel. These collars have helped the problem. They are about an inch wide and are better quality than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

grrrip X*tra Control Collars

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Berry Creek, CA.
We have used these collars for 3yrs and love them. We have a 145pd Great Daine and need to know "We" have the control. Not once has she ever slipped out of her Grrrip X-tra control collar, like other nylon web collars we've used, and we find them as effective as a "choker" type collar but without the possibility of causing pain or injury like the chain chokers might. We give the Grrrip X-tra control collars a 5 star rating because the are dependable,effective, strong, durable, comfortable for both human & canine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love their leashes, can't get this thing

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from PA back woods
As a great fan of the Grrip leashes, I thought this would be great to try to stay one step ahead of my dog, Bella. She strangles herself on the Mortengale(??) collar. Regular choke chains have no affect on her. The pinch collar demands her respect, but I wanted something a little more user friendly and unmonstrous looking. I bought the size for 18-30'' as she is about 22'' around, with a giant dewlap. I can't adjust this snug enough to keep it on her. If I use the smallest setting possible, she still manages to pull slack into it and slipped it right off. Somebody have any suggestions? (The dog with the idiot proof master is not an option.) If I can get it to function properly, I'm sure it would work great and I adore that it comes in girlie pink.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safest Collar out there!!!

PostedNovember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I use these collars and martingale collars on all of my dogs and foster dogs. They have definitely saved my dogs from getting away from me. Dogs cannot get out of these collars if they are adjusted and measured correctly to fit their neck.
I will not use regular collars anymore! These are the safest collars out there!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

PostedJuly 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Michigan Center, MI
This is a well made quality collar. I foster puppy mill females, most fight the collar real bad. These collars are perfect, because they can not back out of them. And the collar is not harming their throat in any way. Thank you so much. Always good doing business with you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most useful collar ever

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Battle Creek, MI
All five of the dogs in our family "slip" their collars any time you grab it or when leashed. These are the first collar other than a chain choke collar that they do not loose. I have not had a problem with quality or otherwise with these collars. We love them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longest lasting collar to date

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from SE Tx
Around here, we have LARGE dogs...3 great danes, a lab/aussie and a collieX to be exact. This is the ONLY collar to date that has lasted in this house more than 6 mnths...I think now that I see they are on sale EVERYONE is about to get one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Nylon

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
I purchased this collar and then exchanged it after it began to fray and unravel. The replacement started to come unwound even faster than the first. I do not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't know how we lived without them

PostedMarch 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
I love these collars. They are durable, and they are perfect for dogs who are off leash (nice handle), as a limited choke collar, and for dogs who tend to try to back out of their collar. Plus they hang loosely enough when not being pulled to not rub a dog with sensitive skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont do it!!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Columbia Missouri
I can't believe that Petco would sell an item before testing it? Or that maybe mine is malfunctioning...but it loosens itself and falls off often....it also does not have a good look. I like the idea, put I feel it is a poor quality item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this works

PostedJanuary 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
I Have a Pitbull and she's very strong!! She drags me and goes crazy when she see's other animals which made it a pain to walk her!!We even used the choke(chain)collar on her for years!And it would strangle her until she was gasping for air! when we bought the grip collar the first time I used it, made the difference now she walks at my side!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Collar!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I got my mutt from a shetler nd the shelter ave us this collar. I have had my dog about 3 months now. It is perfect for training her too! Best collar! We take our dog to the woods alot and some old collars of ours have fallen off, but his collar won't come off!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
This collar ia great. Simialr to a chain collar but not as harsh on your dogs neck. With just a quick pull of this collar and your dog will react but not from pain. Great when training your dog to walk sit and lie down!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only collar I buy

PostedJanuary 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Macedon NY
I have used this collar on all four of my dogs and I won't use any other. The soft nylon is comfortable enough for them to wear all the time, it is easy to put on and take off (because it will cinch when needed I can keep the collars extremely loose and it comes off easily overhead), and it holds up extremely well. Not the least bit flimsy and I have never had one break or even fray much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only collar to buy

PostedDecember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Wilkes-Barre, PA
This is the only collar to buy for your dog, especially if you have a slightly stubborn large breed dog. This is the only style collar I have bought for my dogs since I purchased one about 6 years ago. It is a safe way to train your dog correction while walking. Keeps them from slipping out of their collar, without choking them. It is excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Grrrip X-tra Control Collars in Pink
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Dog Collar

PostedNovember 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Niles, MI
We have an energetic, younger Great Pyrenees (approx. 90lbs) who requires a stronge collar (no plastic parts). This collar provides control without extreme choking. It is fully adjustable to fit the needs of your dog. Long hair can become tangled in the rings but it is the most humane and durable control collar we have found.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.