petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge

Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge

Accurately measures humidity inside reptiles habitatLarge, easy to read dialMounts to any smooth surface
Average Customer Rating:
2.769 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
7 out of 13(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Review 1 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from USA
This is a product that is cheap and gets the job done. It isn't always 100% accurate; the readings are off a bit at times, but for the price, it cannot be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please don't buy this for a snake.

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I went to check on our baby cornsnakes this morning and found one of them glued to the back of this humidity gauge. It had fell off and the snake went across it and got stuck. It was a horrible and scary experience for both of us and I could see his pain when I was trying to slowly pull him off without ripping his body apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient and Effective

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
It was simple to attach and it is easy to read. It gives an accurate reading of the humidity in the habitat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheap Junk. Two out of the four i bought don't even work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not totally reliable...

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portsmouth, NH
I bought this to put in my Chinese Water Dragon's cage, which needs tropical humidity levels. After misting the tank and dividing the tank so half of the ground surface was water and the other half land (this is a 30 gallon tank) the gauge read humidity in between desert and moderate. Slightly worried I covered half of the cage cover with a wet towel and plexiglass over it which has always worked to keep moisture in for me in the past, and when I did that, the gauge went even lower into desert! I tried other tricks I knew and got some internet advice. The gauge did not move upward until I sprayed it with water.
The reason I didn't give it one star is because it is very cheap money wise and appears to have worked for some people...but I would look for something more reliable...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Simi Valley, CA
this humidity gauge is very precise - works perfectly just as expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wildly inaccurate, needs calibration

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from PA
I purchased this for use in an orchid terrarium that needs specific high humidity at all times. Prior to installation it was checked for accuracy with the salt test and gave a reading of 24% LOWER than accurate.
Cannot be calibrated without cutting off the back and adjusting the entire system by hand.
Since this was a backup gauge for my tank, that is exactly what I did.
Save your money and get a digital or higher quality hygrometer - or you can do what I did if you have a dermal tool and don't mind wasting a day calibrating a sub-$5 gauge.
Will be checked for accuracy again in 6 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the most precise but gets the job done

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Just like the title says "Not the most precise but gets the job done" Honestly, for the price you can't beat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great :)

PostedAugust 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
this thing works so well. i just got a new set up for a green tree frog that i am going to buy and i filled it with damped beaked moss and the humidity reading went up steadily as it's supposed to do and it is very easy to read and doesn't get stuck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool in my book

PostedAugust 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Until my crested gecko grows up some more, I will have him housed in an Exo Terra Faunarium. I am using this to moniter his humidity. It does it's purpose and is cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

OMG dont waste your money

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Round Rock,TX
On this piece of junk! it's is so far from accurate! I would say go ahead and spend a little more on a good one that you wont have to replace any time soon!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedSeptember 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
This little thing isn't worth the plastic it is made of, gauge was all over the place, and was rarely correct. I was worrying about my Ball Python's humidity in his tank, took steps that I knew would fix the problem, but gauge was still all over the place. Bought a digital hygrometer and everything was actually fine. Lesson: DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY, TIME OR FRUSTRATION ON THIS PRODUCT! BUY A DIGITAL!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Reptile Habitat Humidity Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does what you need

PostedApril 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
from IL
It's not anything flashy but this hygrometer will work just fine. I had some issues with the humidity inside my 10 gallon area for my hermit crab and after I placed in a few sponges I noticed the gauge change rather quickly. If you need something simple but decent go for this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.