petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain

Veterinarian and trainer recommendedAdds oxygen, filters water, cools naturally, reduces bacteria, and encourages your pet to drinkTwo free replaceable charcoal filters for removing impuritiesAC adaptor plugs into standard household outletSilent, free flowing filtered water
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 / 5
4
 / 
5
(295 Reviews) 295
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 295 reviews
5 stars
153
4 stars
70
3 stars
24
2 stars
28
1 star
20
232 out of 295(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Review 1 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Marks!!

PostedJune 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product after we adopted George. After having only female cats for quite awhile and losing one to cancer, the Vet reminded me that male cats do need to be even more encouraged to drink alot of water because of their tendancy towards urinary tract infections simply because of their structure. George (we believe) came from a home where he had developed the habit of drinking from a toilet rather than a water bowl, so we needed to try to switch him around. We were also wondering how Mocha (our female) would adapt.
THIS WORKED BEAUTIFULLY!!!
Both cats LOVED it within hours of turning it on!! Both prefer to drink from the top of the fountain where the water runs down rather than the pool. NO problem with them getting enough water in their system as they both drink out of this alot -- I think Moe is also drinking more than she used to. While George is still facinated with any running water, at least he's only drinking out of his fountain rather than other avenues.
With the 108 oz model, I really only have to clean/refill once a week. I find it easy to clean and maintain. I do agree that you do need to lift out the pump and clean the hair out of it regularly (something you don't tumble to when you first get the product, but very necessary.) It's very quiet (only gets a little noisy as an early warning system that it's running low on water), and no splashing at all. When you refill, it takes a couple of minutes for the pump to prime and the water to start flowing again, and the kids love it so much, I get 'the look' for those two minutes when they think I broke it and it's not working right anymore!
I would recommend to others and buy again in a heartbeat! I wish I would have stumbled over this years ago!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+12points
21of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean water and fun for your cat

PostedDecember 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
from West Orange, NJ
I was worried that my 2 cats would be freaked out by the water bowl, but bought it with high hopes. Not only do they get clean, fresh water, but they love to watch the water flow down the arch. They stand there mesmerized and drink a LOT more water than they ever did. Easy for you to clean but watch for hair clumps in the motor-my long haired guys clogged it up and it took me a while to realize why the water wasn't running as well as it used to. Easy to take apart and reassemble and easy to fill up daily. Highly reccommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cats love it

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Akron, Ohio
I bought this to replace the 10 year old water dish of the same brand. It is a bit louder than the old model and the water flows around the dish faster. But none of that seems to bother my cats. If they are happy, I am happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petmate Water Bowl

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from The Woodlands, Tx
This is the worst water fountain I have ever had. I have already replaced the motor two times and now I have to buy another one! I would not recommend this product to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dog Loves It!!!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Branson, MO
This is a wonderful water bowl and my little puppy just loves it!!! I love that I don't have to fill it so often and that it is constant fresh water for him and it is completely silent except the low sound of the water flowing which helps him sleep. Buy it, it's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cat fountain! (Must clean regularly)

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southeast Georgia
Our cats love this fountain for a source of "live" (running) water to drink. And they drink a LOT, which is great, but requires keeping and eye on the water tank to refill it once, sometimes twice a day. The water flow is gentle and the pump is quiet. It's a great cat fountain!
But the fountain requires weekly cleaning because, in addition to cat hair getting in the open bowl, a nasty, slimy "gunk" builds up on the plastic surfaces and throughout the fountain, even in the pump. (We even use filtered water.) So, weekly cleaning is necessary, which means emptying the fountain, taking it completely apart, including even the pump, and washing with soap and warm water, rinsing, drying with paper towels, putting it back together, and refilling. It sounds complicated, but it's not really. Even taking the pump apart is simple.
I usually can do this in less than ten minutes, or about as long as making an omelette. It's just part of the necessary maintenance. BUT THIS FOUNTAIN IS MUCH BETTER than just a bowl of water. Oh, btw, we have ten cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slow Flow

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bushkill, PA
It took my cats a while to go for it but they eventually did. This is the first free flowing water system I have ever used. So I have nothing to compare it to. In my opinion I think the flow should be stronger to attract the cats and to circulate the water in the bowl better. Overall I am satisfied with it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as well as previous owned model...

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
I owned a previous version of this fountain and, although this one works just as well, it lacks an on/off switch (you have to unplug it when not in use) and a flow control lever. Also, the hum coming from the pump can get irritating at times (the previous one was so quiet, I had to check often to make sure it was on) but my cats like it and use it so, overall, I'm satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I got this after my vet had mentioned that the pet fountains encourage cats to drink more water. My vet was absolutely correct! It took my kittens about a week to get used to it, but now they love it. They are always drinking out of this thing. It is not very loud at all - just a very quiet hum so it doesn't bother me one bit. The slope eliminates the sound of falling water. Adding water is simple. I try to clean mine out every 6-9 days, just to make sure the water is nice and clean for my babies. Cleaning it out is really simple and only takes about 5-10 minutes. Great buy. Very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adequate but not Terrific

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, NJ
I have had one of these pet fountains for a little over a year - it does work and my cat definitely does drink from it. HOWEVER: there is minimal "aeration" of the water - it is a pain to disassemble and then reassemble - my last identical version had to be pitched because the little curved piece of plastic fell apart, rendering the fountain inoperable. The only reason I bought another is because I had spent a considerable sum on extra filters. It is adequate - and the reservoir is great if I'm away overnight - but I can't heartily endorse it, and would not buy this model again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love this!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gordo, Alabama
This has been the best purchase I have ever made for my cats. They love to drink water from this. It fascinates them and encourages them to drink more water. I fill it up twice a day and they love to take part in that too! Thank you for such a great item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea, bad quality

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, MN
I ended up buying 2 of these. The first one had a loud filter so I returned it and bought another one. The second one quit working after a week and a half so I returned that one too and did not purchase another one. My cats loved the fountain but unfortunately it did not last very long. When the second one was working the filter was quiet - it sounded like an aquarium filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I've been using the Fountain for 13 years (with two cats) and it continues to run on! Both cats have loved it, and so do I. It does need cleaning about weekly, but I have it down to a system so it takes just a few minutes. I'll definitely replace it when its age catches up with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Normal, IL
Ordered this one to replace one I had that the pump broke and I couldn't find a replacment pump to fit. This one is actually twice the size of my original one but I am very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very hard to clean.

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
My cat, like most, loves it. The filter is just before the waterfall. The bowl get the cat hair in it and goes right into the pump. Within a few days the water slows down, and thus begins the 1 hour cleanning. Parts are big and don't fit in my small sink. If only there was a pre filter before the pump I would not have to clean so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Difficult to keep clean

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Galax VA
I had two of these for my cats. I owned them for several years and was never happy with how hard it was to get scum and mold out of the interior of this fountain. It has LOTS of corners and crevices that are nearly impossible to clean. Be prepared to buy a bunch of various brushes like baby bottle brushes and/or the brushes for human hydration packs like hikers carry. I retired mine due to cleaning problems. Today there are much easier to clean stainless steel fountains that have no corners. I now have a teardrop shaped one that is a two minute clean up job. Its a shame Petmate hasn't redesigned these to make them easier to clean.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lasts a LONG time!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, IL
I bought one of these 10 years ago for a finicky cat that I had. She would only drink from the bathroom sink. Needless to say, I was tired of the high water bill! So I bought one of these (it's blue). She loved it! She has long since passed away, and our new kitties have used it since then.
Well, 10 years later, I'm buying a new one. I'll probably buy this same one again since the last one worked for so long. My kitties love it and look pretty upset with their old fashioned water dish. Once your cats have one of these, you can't dare go back to the old water dish LOL
I cleaned mine once a week by pouring bleach in with some hot water and letting run (out of the cats' reach) for about 15-20 minutes. I then let it rinse for about the same amount of time. When you clean it, take the filter out and run it without the filter. If you have hard water, run vinegar in it instead of bleach once a week.
We love this fountain and so do the kitties! A little bit of maintenance and yours will last you 10 years too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves it

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Rocky watched us put it together and fill it. He sniffed it and left it. But......when I (supposedly) wasn't watching he snuck back and started drinking. Been using it ever since. We had had one before for three cats. Gave it away but got another cat. So......this is very easy to clean, always fresh moving water. Had only just heard recently cats don't like their water source near their food. Perhaps that is why Rocky preferred using the dogs water buckets(when they weren't watching) instead of his own water. Now I feel better about his getting enough water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good, but they burn out

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mississippi
I have two of these fountains. Although the cats like them, the pumps burn out. I have had the fountains for two years. One is still using the original pump. The other one has gone through two. I don't know why one is burning up pumps and the other one isn't. I clean them both regularly and replace the filters every few weeks in both of them. Since the pumps are expensive and cost nearly what the entire fountain costs, I plan on getting a different brand of fountain to replace the one that has just quit, then replace the other one when it quits. Hopefully I will be able to keep the new ones going because the cats do drink more water now and I can monitor how much water they are drinking more easliy. One of my male cats used to have a lot of urinary tract issues, but since they have been using the fountains, those issues have been minimal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow 108 oz. Purifying Pet Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I should have bought this sooner

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
I have three cats and am constantly refilling the water bowl. I bought this because of the large water reservoir, but I am really surprised that now the cats drink even more water! I was concerned that it might be loud or messy (it is basically an aquarium pump). There is a slight hum, but it is very quiet. I set the entire unit on a small towel on our wood floor, and so far it has worked extremely well. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>