petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums

Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums

Create a delicate wall of bubblesIncreases oxygenation and circulationEnhances look and quality of water in your aqaurium
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
10 out of 17(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Review 1 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

junk

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
pisces320
from cleveland
soaked bar for 1hr per directions. Alot of bubbles on 1st 6" of bar,almost none in middle and a few on last 6" of bar. Pump is plenty powerful. It seems that it's the luck of the draw when you buy these cheap bars. It is ok and I will keep it for the $7 that I paid for it. Would not recommend...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Complaints

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
in7love7
from Lafayette, IN
I bought this in 18" and it is quite big for my 50 gallon but gets the job done. I use this for an hour at night after my co2 cycle and works great. I soaked it for about 20 minutes and ran it with the air pump. The whole stick releases o2.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a Wall of Bubbles

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snicky
from New York, NY
As others have mentioned, the bar releases bubbles in sections, no matter the soaking. I left it in water overnight and still got sections that released bubbles and some that didn't.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soak it First. It works Great.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MacGayver
from San Jose, CA
Read the directions! Soak. Soak. Soak. Every bubble bar out there needs to be soaked first. I rinsed the bar with Tap water and aquarium salt. I soaked in the the tank for an hour, not connected. It works great. The bubbles are uniform across the entire bar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gets worse with use...

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
atjis
from Alaska
I soaked my 18" bar for more than an hour as instructed. The bar only let out bubbles for the first three inches, a spot about 10 inches in, and then at the very far end. I figured with some ingenuity, I could reduce the airflow from the areas that were letting through too much air and did so with decent success, creating most of a curtain of bubbles after an extra hour's creativity. After a week though, the bubbles got less and less until they only came out in huge bubbles from a singular (apparently weak) spot at the very start of the bar. Definitely going for a different brand for my replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Follow directions before use

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shortcut1958
from Lockport, New York
Thank you to the reviewer who wrote about soaking the bubble bar for a full hour before adding to the tank with the air pump. I thought my bar was a dud, with just a few bubble paths, even after a full day. After I read the review to soak it, I removed it from the tank, soaked for a full hour, replaced it in the tank, and what do you know?! A full wall of bubbles throughout the bar! Really cool! I dont know why it needs to soak before adding the air, but it makes a HUGE difference in the performance of the bar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
dcfbl4
from Antioch,Ca.
I was looking to purchase a Bubble Bar for my sister's fish tank because I have one in my tank and it works great. I have 3 rows of steady bubbles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality, Great for Larger Tanks

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
HeAvY7331
from Whiteman AFB, MO
I hope everyone knows that you have to soak these things for an hour for them to work properly regaurdless of size and type. Judging from some of the reviews I would say some of these people did not do just that. Because I have the 14" one and it works wonderfully and looks great in my 55 gallon. It provides a very nice wall of bubbles and is great for your fish too. LOVE IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is BAD!!! DO NOT BUY!

PostedJune 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lor24
from Elmhurst, IL
I guess you get what you pay for! We did exactly what it says to do which really isn't much. Although it shouldn't be that difficult, it doesn't work at all. NO BUBBLES AT ALL! Petco needs to take this off the market and fix it and then return it to the market. I will pay more for something if it works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wheatens1
from Chilly Upstate NY
After trying two different air pumps both rated for 80 gallon tanks I decided it was the bar that was causing the problem and not the pumps. If you want a 18 inch bar that only throws bubbles for the first 3 inches than this is the item for you. Don't buy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, Not Great

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Oxchampion
from Aquariumville CT
The bubble bar does not uniformly let out bubbles from all places, but it is otherwise what i needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dud

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
AquaGuy
Waste. Piece of junk. There are better ones you can buy. My air-pump is plenty big enough and this thing makes very little amount of bubbles.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for big aquariiums

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
eugene
from california,ca
this airstone is perfect for a 10 gallon aquarium it oxegenates the water realy well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them!

PostedJune 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
I have these in most of the sizes that they come in and I love them.Not only do they add something pleasing to the eye,they also help with aerating the tanks.
My Bristlenose Pleco babies love hanging out on the sides of the bars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tips for better results

PostedFebruary 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
mattamick
from Boonville, MO
First off, to the person that had problems with clogging. I can only assume that the stone was getting clogged with allege, unless you have debris coming through your air lines, but I don’t think so. Because this is a pores stone, there’s lots (literally thousands) of places for allege to grow…IF… you have the stones exposed to light. The secrete is simple… ALL air stones should be buried under the rock. This will keep them in the dark where the allege can’t grow. I made this mistake once and destroyed two air stones. Since then, I have had no more problems in over three years. I have 12 of these air stone bars and all are clog free.
There’s another good reason to bury the air stones. If the stone isn’t covered, it will create a fine mist of very tiny bubbles. Not only do I find these to be an eye sore, but the tiny bubbles seem to make a bigger mess than lager, slower moving bubbles. The tiny bubbles seems to jump out of the water just like the bubbles from soda (not the foam) when poured into a glass. They splatter water everywhere and deposit minerals on your hood and the back of the tank. I recommend having at least one or two inches of rock on top of the air stones to create better looking bubbles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Replace monthly

PostedMay 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
ramman86
I have had two of these in about 2 and a hlaf months. The problem i find is that they get cloged after that period of time. The best thing i have found is to use a needle and an old piece of air hose, punch a bunch of holes in it and plug up the end. that has been working for months on end now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Bubble Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bubble Bar, a Must Have!

PostedMarch 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tom7
from Stoneham, Ma
Ive had my 18 inch Aquatic Gardens Bubble bar for nearly 1 Hour now, and I have to tell you its great. My platy really enjoys it and so do my swordtails. Not to mention that my pleco rides it like sea biscuit. And the African Dwarf frogs dont know what to make of it yet. But Im sure soon they'll be riding it too. The bubble bar is the ultimate addition to any tank....Truly a must have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.