petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer

Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer

Measure the salinity of your marine or reef tank quickly and accurately while also monitoring water temperature with our dual-purpose Hydrometer/ThermometerFeatures easy-to-read markings along with safe zone indicators
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Review 1 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hydrometer- BAD

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
KulasSD
from San Diego, CA
Idea is good but the Hydrometer is useless. All I see was a green marker that does not function; Returned the following day. It did not even come with a suction cup.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hydrometer

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
AIMRob
from Los Angeles, CA
Very accurate hydrometer, only con was being glass... Took a fall and shattered. Buying another on my next trip to Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hydrometer

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoeG75
from San Juan, PR
This hydrometer is accurate enough for my purposes and reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
OldYeller
from CO
I find this hydrometer easy to use and read. It is just as accurate as my others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best Hydrometer period

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
reefkeeper
Most people that have trouble with this style of hydrometer have too small of tanks to use, or don't realized that everything (pumps and filters) need to be turned off.
I have checked the accuracy of this product by measuring its properties against a set salt value on quantity of salt to water ratio. This is the best, and most accurate hydrometer money can buy. Avoid those overpriced ones with moving parts (because of that) they have a tendency to be inaccurate.
sometimes, the simple tried and true, lab style glass meters can't be beat. I won't use plastic ones with moving parts, ever. My reef is too expensive, so this glass hydrometer is all I use.
Happy reef keeping:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Brackish Tanks!

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
spazdoglee
from Sparks, NV
Most SG meters don't go low enough. I have used these hydrometers for years for my brackish tanks to keep it within the 1.001 - 1.008 range as needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Product

PostedApril 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
GeoV
from New York
This thing wouldnt even budge i had to put it in boiling water so it could move and it still wouldnt. Super INACCURATE doesnt even make sense in the measurements
Do Not buy!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Aquarium Hydrometer with Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
William
from MI
Terribly inaccurate and very difficult to read. The difference between this and the actual specific gravity can spell death for your fish and invertebrates. Do your fish a favor and spring out for a more expensive (and accurate) model.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.