petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue

Allows your pet greater freedom while still being under your supervision The patented handle allows you to easily control the length of the leash while reducing arm strainComes with a rugged body design and an anti-wear cord ring
Average Customer Rating:
2.539 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
13
8 out of 26(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Review 1 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walkabout Leash

PostedMay 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I have had my walkabout leash for a year now. I am extemely happy with it. I have a small dog who loves to run around and play outside. This leash gives him the freedom to run and roam, but when I want to keep him nearby I can lock it so he can only go so far. This leash has never given me any problems and I have not needed to replace it. I am getting another dog next month and I would definitely buy him a walkabout leash too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Retractable Leash

PostedApril 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NC
This is my 2nd purchase of this leash. Everyone says my puppy is to big for a retractable but I don't have any problem controlling my 110 pound 16 month old with this leash. Love the locking feature. This one is going in his travel bag so I'll always be ready to hit the road w/ my faithful compainon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke in 3 days

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
I'm very disappointed in this product. My dog (56 lb. yellow lab) was in the yard and pulled it to its full extension, and the leash locked and will not retract at all. I should not have "cheaped out" and bought this discounted product. It was a total waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality leash, would buy again

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Alameda, CA
This is my second Aspen retractable leash. The first my big dog chewed through, and so I bought another. I got the blue one this time since the black/gray was sold out. I have to say I like the other color better, but the blue just took some getting used to. And I'm a Cal fan, so it works :) Great leash, great internet price! Definitely better than buying in stores...saved almost $10 and got free shipping! Good luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quit working in less than a week

PostedJanuary 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
My little 7 pound dog pulled the leach all the way out very slowly and it still got stuck and would not retrieve when given slack. After putting it down, it slowly reeled itself in over the next 30 minutes. The third time in happened, it never would reel in. Screws are non standard and used to make it impossible to repair. Stupid waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great leash

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
This retractable leash has been the best. My boyfriend got when his white german shepard mix was very young (she was not quite two when we got together) and VERY active. She is now 11 years old and we don't have to leash her at home and have used the leash on my two year old active husky and my sons year and a half red bone coon hound. The only reason we have to now get a new one is because of human error.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leash-Walkabout - Blue

PostedJuly 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Edmonton AB
We were happy with the leash until it suddenly quite operating after about 1 year. The leash is quit expensive and we expected to get a lot more use out of it. Our dog is only 15 pounds and not very active so the leash did not break from being abused. Sorry can not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth purchasing

PostedMay 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
With the locking trigger in the handle, it is nearly impossible to wear gloves and not activate the lock, with mittens it is impossible. Plus, the one we had only lasted a few months before it quit working.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy a different brand

PostedFebruary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I have been disappointed with this from day 1. As you can see from the picture the leash is flat woven nylon rather than a cord. The problem I have is that when the leash retracts itself it folds over ... and then its stuck and I have to pull the line out to unstick it so that it can keep retracting... but by this point there is slack in my leash which is now tangled around my dogs legs. Arrrgh.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very annoying to use

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
I'm a dog-walker in the NYC area, and I've used this leash with one of my clients' dog. I really did not like using it. It's bigger and bulkier than other retractable leashes. Plus, when walking a dog, if you press down the button to stop the dog from going forward (without locking it), you can't let go of the button if there's tension in the leash (i.e. if the dog is pulling at the end of the leash). This is very annoying because when using retractable leashes, dogs tend to want to go to the end of the leash, as far as they can. Get a different brand!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will Replace Product!

PostedDecember 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Alberta, CANADA
The Aspen Pet WalkAbout has been a disaster from the day I bought it... rubber grip handle started to peel right away, the stop button broke, the string jammed constantly, AND last night the spring went on it.... I sent a "Consumer Concern" email to the "Contact Us" address at their website and they responded immediately offering to replace my unit for FREE! I was impressed.... I am going to give this company another try and hope that their R & D department will come up with solutions to the quality issues we have all encountered!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Leash for Comfort

PostedOctober 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
I've been using retractable leashes for different size dogs, such as: Dalmations, Labs, Great Danes, and Whippets. This is the only brand that doesn't make my knuckles raw. I love it and have never had a problem. The Flexi leashes are in a bin in a closet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walkabout

PostedOctober 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
I have 2 dogs - a Westie and a Cairn - 17 lbs each. These leashes are excellent. When they get excited, I can easily "reel" them in and lock them in at whatever distance from me that I want. The device fits my hand perfectly and the controls are placed at what I think is instinctively correct. I have tried the flexi leash and just threw them away - they are too small and the controls are in the wrong place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buy 3 to have 1 that'll work

PostedOctober 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
My 55 lb Golden Calvin ran to the end of the leash at a pretty good clip. The jerk at the end of the cord destroyed the leash inside. I DID manage to get it apart using a jewelers screwdriver to spin the very odd triangle-head screws. The tiny plastic axle inside broke off. This is a 110 lb leash that needs to be a lot tougher. I have three of these. One okay, one broken and one that hangs up if I lock it when it's extended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly made

PostedJanuary 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Ashburn, VA
I owned it for several months and it stopped retracting. It is impossible to try to fix since the screws heads are extremely uncommon. I am a contractor and can not get it open. The stopping trigger would frequently stick and the rubber grip peeled. It looks great and is comfortable, but is not built to last. Buy the other brand, Flexi, it may not look as good but it surely lasts longer. I had a Flexi prior to this one that lasted just over 10 years. I had to fix it once or twice, but at least I could. I emailed a complaint to Aspen Pet. I'll let you know if they respond.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash

PostedOctober 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Littleton, Colorado
This lease snapped apart only on its second use. If you own a Siberian Husky or similar breed DO NOT BUY!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

So much for lifetime warranty

PostedOctober 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from The South
While our leash lasted a bit longer than some, our puppy did manage to break it within a few weeks of getting it. The metal surrounding the clasp broke into pieces which is terrifying when you have a dog that would run for miles without stopping. We purchased the leash for "dogs up to 44 pounds" and our 3 month old puppy isn't any more than 20 at the moment.
The premise of the leash is wonderful but the quality of the product is horrible.
Wish I had seen the other reviews before buying it at Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedAugust 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from halifax
Should read far from the last leash you will ever buy. Even the screws have an impossible head so you cannot repair it. Utterly ridiculous lash.. String snapped too easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy Unless 4 Looks!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FLorida
I have a 18 lb. Spaniel who is always tugging at the leash so I bought this retractable version since it said it "lasts a lifetime." The THIRD time I take him out with it, only a day after I bought it, the string breaks right where it attached to the handle. So much for quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Walkabout Retractable Leash in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality - breaks easily

PostedApril 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I would never buy this product again - It breaks very quickly and then the retractable cord doesnt work and neither does the locking mechanism. Ihave a small dog and Ive had to replace this leash constantly - The first 2 I bought broke within a month - I tried one more and that one hasnt even made it past 6 months. It is not meant to last and then creates big problems when it malfunctions and youre out and need to get your dog back with aleash that doesnt work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>