petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight

Ultra-violet light illuminates biological contamination such as urine, feces, and vomit, and makes it visibleSmall, lightweight size and cordless portability make it easy to inspect less accessible areas, such as under beds, behind furniture, closets and cars, where pet accidents occurFree bottle of Stink Free Pet Urine & Odor Remover included
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
9 out of 17(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Review 1 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stink Finder worked for me!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RRozebud
from San Diego, CA
I used it for the first time tonight. I turned off all the lights and if I sweep it about 1 foot off the rug it finds the older spots, they dont glow but are a pale green. What surprised me is when I went through the hall and discovered newer urine spots that glowed bright bright green, almost like a light was on the rug. the spots were dry too. I wasn't even checking the hall, i was on my way to the bedroom when I saw little glowing dots on my rug as if one of the pets was dripping urine a little bit. Well, i followed the dots and it seems that my little dog isn't wiping very good after using her poddy pad & drips down the hallway. I also found quite a few older patches of urine from the cats in the guest bedroom. I really like this light. Now I can try and deodorize the areas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay, but has to be used correctly

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
IHazBadOrinjKitteh
from Denton, TX
This kind of UV light will do the trick of finding where your cat (or less likely your dog) has peed, but to get it to work right you have to get down on the floor, keep the lights off (as little ambient light as possible), and make a sweep with the UV lamp about 1 to 2" from the carpet. Urine will glow light green.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

unable to find spot

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
footracer
from Osage City, Ks
in checking for spot, I can find odor, but can't locate with light. will keep trying
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of time

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Learningcurve
from Rochester NY
After deciding to shop online, pay shipping and wait for the product (the items came promptly, but still would have been faster to go to to the store) I am miffed that the light does not work. The flashlight part lights, the batteries are new but the black light does not light. The first time I tried it, no light whatsoevr. Then I tried it before packing it to go to the store, and there was a glow. So I waited till evening to use it, and again no light whatsoever. Frustrating and useless. I will be returning everything to the local store and buy another product. Luckily Petco says you can return online purchases to a store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The light works but the order remover is useless!

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nene22
from San Ramon, CA
The light is very helpful in finding all those accidents around the house, however the oder remover didn't do anything. I used the whole formula for one spot. left it there for two days came back with the light but the spot was still there and the smell of urine was still lingering.......
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get the big one???

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
1deafdog
This small ultra-violet light that came with the 8 oz. Stink Free odor remover was not what I needed. It did work on smooth surfaces, but not on my multi-colored carpet. The Stink Free gets 5 paws!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
StinkyPee
from Texas
Bought this a couple of months ago after we got a pound puppy who initially had trouble understanding that we only urinate outdoors. Bought it from the store and it came with a small bottle of "Stink Free".
Works great! The best way to easily see the spots is that you must search at night when it is dark out. Turn out all the lights anywhere near the area you are searching. And it lights up great. If it's not dark in the area you're looking, you're going to have to look a lot closer and might not catch all the spots.
Also searched a family member's house, and she was not pleased with the results... Not because it didn't work... because of what we found! Gross!! Surprises left by "guest" pets and human foot prints walking through it... Busted!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very cheaply made

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
redness
hard to get the batteries in made of cheap plastic over priced
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES, it worked.

PostedJune 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
KLK623
from Clarkston, MI
I almost didn't buy this because half the reviews were negative. I decided to try it (I was desperate). Took five minutes for me to really get use to what to look for and how far to hold the light from the floor. Now I have HUNDREDS of glowing spots to treat and a dog that will be wearing a diaper for the rest of his indoor life.
Fabulous product. Very naughty dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work!

PostedNovember 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
whitty36
I tried this to find the hidden urine spots from my male kitten and couldn't find any. The light did not even pick up areas I knew he had gone to the bathroom. This thing is useless. Look elsewhere if you are trying to get rid of pet odor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ewwwww

PostedJune 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
ginners
from New England
Well, not that I wanted to see these spots, but I needed to! Went away for a few days and the dogs lost their "manners" with the doggy sitter.
It picked up several spots, even after we steam cleaned the rug. It does the job well (must be dark and relatively close to the floor) and we were able to treat the spots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product does not work

PostedApril 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
eddiesunshine
Simply stated the light does not illuminate what it claims. I scanned the light over the smelly area-nothing. I scanned the light over fresh urine in my litter box - nothing. I have no comment about the liquid smell-away because I did not use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpful product

PostedNovember 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sugamama
I just purchased this light (w/ a small bottle of Stink Free) from our local PetCo. We just adopted our first kitten and I kept thinking that I was smelling urine somewhere in my bedroom, but unsure where the sent was coming from. Thanks to this little gadget I found two small spots on the carpet right in front of my plug-in air freshener (apparently little Sugarfoot wasn't too impressed with the "tropical rain" scent). My only complaint...it's $7 cheaper on the internet than it was in the store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very practical

PostedSeptember 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
teddylove
This product was not very helpful at all. I had to crawl around on the floor and try to find any spots. The light is not very long so you have to keep waiving it around and it still didn't pick up anything.
I feel like it is better to just use good cleaning products to remove odors. Crawling around on the floor in complete darkness in my opinion not very practical.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tedious but effective

PostedJuly 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
OwnerOfANeuroticCat
from Kenosha, WI
I found this light to be useful...it took a little getting used to and a lot of crawling around on hands and knees, but I managed to find 9 different spots where my cat had peed. I'd chosen the multi-tone, flecked carpet because it "hid" things well, so short of putting my nose to the carpet every 4 inches, I wouldn't have been able to find the areas quite as effectively. My main frustraition with the light is that the tube is only 6" long and you have to hold it 2-3" from the floor (in complete darkness), so it was a pretty tedious task, but I could definitely identify the spots. If you have a big area to investigate, you might want to consider a light with a longer tube (though the long one I saw was almost double the price). The anti-stink cleaner/solution that comes with it is good, too, but really only covered 3 or 4 small patches for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work

PostedJune 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
SnakeCharm
from New Jersey
I got this product hoping it would help me find some hidden sources... but it truely does nothing. Even when I found the source, no thanks to the light, it didn't even glow on my brown carpet. The stink free liquid in a bottle is great!, the light does nothing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stink Free Stink-Finder Ultra-Violet Light & Flashlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works

PostedMay 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Schnauzers' Mom
from Nashville, TN
Have a pet odor in a room that you just can't find the source of? This will help you find it so you can treat it and get rid of it. Dog urine glows under the black light. Having the built-in flash light help keep you from tripping over anything else in the room. The room does have to be totally dark for it to work, though.
I've loaned mine to several friends with the same problem, and they all reguard it as a wonderful little gadget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.