petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food

Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food

100% complete and balanced diets that are less likely to cause gastrointestinal upsetsNo beef, pork, dairy products, or wheatHelp promote your dog's gastrointestinal health while providing the nutrition he needs
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Review 1 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our dogs love it!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver CO
Apparently very tasty as we mix a small amount with their dry food 2x a day
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I have a GSD who gets very bored with foods and is a picky eater, which sometimes leads to stomach upset. We're on our 2nd case of this and she still loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product for the price--

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newman Lake, Wa
Nature Recipe does my pocketbook good by making this canned food, which is as healthy as the best of them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product is fine

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Venice, Fl
The dog food was fine, but the cans were all dented and one was split open. This apparently happened some time ago as the dog food inside was dry and moldy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food that my dog loves !

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
This product is exactly what I was looking for . I needed something that would be light on my dogs stomach and something she would actually eat ! She has been on this new diet for three weeks and it has been great . I would recommend to anyone looking for a healthy option for your dog .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She Likes It :-)

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
My little Winter has eaten this for quite a while now & she still gets very excited when it's time to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sadie loves this!!

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maine
My 13 year old miniature Schnauzer absolutely loves this food; I buy the chicken flavor and she licks the plate clean. She has a sensitive stomach and this is easy on her digestion. I used to buy her the prescription canned food from the vet, but that can got smaller and more costly. Sadie was my father's dog and I "inherited" her after his passing, so she reminds me of him, and I want her to be around for a long time yet. Will continue to buy this for her, along with a dry version .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Recipe Homestyle canned

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Haslet, Texas
I use the Lamb & Rice formula to feed my two toy dogs. They both like this food therefore they eat better than any other food that I have tried. The older dog has a sensitive stomach and does not tolerate chicken or beef products well but she does't have any issues with this food. Their coat and skin are in great condition and I have been feeding this product for over 3 years so I feel that they are getting everything they need from this product. I would recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Oregon
IMy little guy really likes this food. Very moist which is a plus since he has no teeth anymore. He is 3 weeks away from turning 15 yo and it is of the utmost importance that he gets whatever he needs. Very reasonably priced as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from scott, la
My yorkie has a sensitive stomach and most food for sensitive stomach are fish and he does not like fish.. This is great.. I use both the chicken and lamb! No problems since using this. The only con is sometimes the lamb is very dry. Other than that..I is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I have two dogs and had them on this product before and switch to another brand when the store I had bought from no long carried it. Not a good thing!!
Now I'm back and will never leave this food again. There coats came back so beautiful and they're both bouncing around like pups again. I also give them both the same brand of dry food too. This has been the best consistent product I have found. I have one large breed and one small breed dog and both love it !! I totally recommend ..and will never switch again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pugs with sensitive stomachs love this!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ambridge, PA
I have a pug who has always had a sensitive stomach. I have been trying to find a can dog food that I can mix with her meal for a long time, and this one is perfect - she loves it and it doesn't bother her stomach at all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing.

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
One of my dogs who is now 8 months old has had digestive issues since pretty much day 1. First it was, I thought, stress of a new environment. Then, it was adjusting him from the food the breeder had him on (not so great) to what I feed my other dog (much better, organic, human-grade ingredient dog foods ONLY)
But, no dice, so off to the vet!
Then Louie (A King Charles Cavalier Spaniel) had giardia. Then Coccidia. Then he was put on Sci Die a/d canned food with some Purina topical additive that restores the digestive system. He was great -- for two days.
Then I tried a highly recommended food from a "Caesar Milan"-type animal behavior specialist, didn't work. Then I tried chicken and rice -- he couldn't even digest rice. Raw pumpkin, plain yogurt -- you name it I tried it. I tried another limited ingredient brand -- I think Pinnacle's Holistic Allergen-Free dog food sample bag. It worked! hooray! But, when I bought the full-size bag, the ingredient list was slightly different -- and -- it doesn't work for my poor Louie (or Sir Poopsalot or Lucifer as we 'affectionately' call him when I'm cleaning up doggie diarrea dailey!) . Was going to try Dick Van Patten's Limited Ingredient but when Pinnacle's didn't work I figured Dick Van Patten's wouldn't either; espeically as some reviewers said it was good before they changed the formula.
I read the reviews on this site for this canned food and decided to try this before I took Louie in for bloodwork to figure out if it was an internal organ issue, called the breeder preparing myself for paperwork in order to get them to pay for what I thought would be expensive treatments.
OMG. Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Formula Canned Dog Food I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!
I bought a week's worth to see how Louie would react -- and he's almost NORMAL!! He is responding SO well I am thrilled. He hasn't woken me up the past two nights scratching at his kennel in a panic to get outside and relieve himself.
He loves the food. He is finally gaining weight. Although he was gaining before, he just hit his "grow taller" phase and I could feel his spine through his little back -- even though he's a bundle of energy I could tell the lack of absorbtion in his system was affecting his growth.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
A bajillion stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my yorkie's life

PostedJanuary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
My 8 yr old Yorkie developed digestive problems, not being able to eat, drink or excrete all bodily functions. We found out just before Christmas. We bought him no toys for Christmas because he stopped eating, playing, his abdomen was enlarged and he was in pain.
The x-rays and sonogram said it all ---a tumor on his heart, liver problems and gastro-intestine problems. What a shock. He was dying right before our eyes and we could do nothing to help him.
Most adult dogs function at a toddler-3 yr old level-he is no exception...he is so-o much part of our family, I didn't know what to do. The only thing to do is to let him go-peacefully.
We paid for his injection to put him to sleep, picked out the crematory, paw print and tuft of hair...but took him home to be with him for another week. We put him on a yorkie prayer chain"-called all of our friends and asked them to pray for him, and changed his food to Nature's Recipe-Easy to Digest Chicken, Rice and Barley recipe. We also started giving him Chicken broth. (boiled chicken-the broth from it.), instead of water since he refused to drink anything.
We mixed the Nature's recipe with chicken and carrots and feed him 3 meals a day.....He started eating again...and pooping, and urinating.
and barking, and running around, and wanting to play with his ball. Wow!!!
I just called the vet yesterday and asked for a credit. I don't know how long we have with him, but he seems to be back to "normal", for now. We just cannot believe it.
Many thanks to the Nature's Recipe for creating such a product. I have invested so much money into his other dog food which is a respectable, (expensive) brand, but feel that it was the cause of his problems. If not for Nature's Recipe,..(and prayer) we know that he would not be with us now.
Nature's Recipe is easy to digest, in fact when I was warming it up in the microwave, my husband asked what I was cooking for him it smelled so good., he wanted some..ha ha.
Our dog loves it too!!
Thanks from our puppy and us!!!
The Caldwell family
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Recipe Easy to Digest Homestyle Ground Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy on the Stomach

PostedJanuary 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
from CA
After trying many brands, I was almost ready to make my dogs' (Shih Tzus) food at home. I decided to try Nature's Recipe as it isn't made with wheat, and I'm so glad I stumbled onto it. Almost every other brand presented problems with digestion, especially the most expensive ones like Science Diet and Eukanuba. This brand, however, has given them no problems, which makes them and me much happier. Give it a try - you might be glad you did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.