petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy

Rope and rubber constructionRubber pieces have a raised surface for textureCotton blend rope cleans teeth as dogs gnawGreat for interactive fun
Average Customer Rating:
2.818 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
4 out of 11(36%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Review 1 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok toy...

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
Ok toy for my two guys (a Basset/St. Bernard mix & a Pitt mix). The Pitt destroyed it in a day. :( It seemed like a good idea for a toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Retriever Rope Dog Toy

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
While this lasted a little longer than the stuffing free fox, it got chewed in about 4 days. Just did not stand up to a chewer. He reallhy liked it but it did not last.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I raise service puppies and dogs and have mixed reviews. One of my dogs a 14 month old female LOVED it and played with it all the time and then later another dog a 11 month old female lab tore the little colored plastic parts to pieces within a few days and the rope followed. NOT reccomended for strong chewers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our pup loves this!

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NJ
We have an 11 week old puppy and this is her go to toy! She loves it...we roll or throw it for her and she will chew it for hours! She is a heavy duty chewer already, and this toy has not shown any signs of wear yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

its OK

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from fort worth, tx
I have to show it to my dogs even before they will go after this rope toy. They are getting alittle better with it as time goes on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good teething toy

PostedApril 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have a medium sized dog (dalmatian mix) that loved this toy as a puppy. It took her about 1 year to chew all the rings off and then she lost interest in the toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Simply awful.

PostedApril 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Very poor quality. My dog liked it, but tore it apart in minutes. Should only be given to very weak chewers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My dog loved it, I was disappointed

PostedDecember 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
My lab mix loved this toy, but it lasted only a few minutes. She was able to bend it and chewed the rope through. I agree that it should be suggested for dogs that are not very agressive chewers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great toy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Philidelphia, PA
My Mini Dachshund has destroyed almost every toy she has, even one that is a figure 8 and has two tennis balls at each end that was made of one of the most durable fabrics. But, this toy, to our surprise, has lasted! But, it is not one of her favorite toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lasted a little longer

PostedJune 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, IA
This one lasted a little longer than any other of our dogs toys but, she still destroyed it....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Retriever Rope Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun...for easy chewers

PostedJanuary 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
My dog, Jack, loves chew toys with a combination of rope and durable rubber. I thought this would be a great choice. I must say, he did love it. He would chew it as long as I would let him. Unfortunately, that wasn't very long because the rubber pieces began to break apart. To be fair, Jack has a really strong set of jaws. I think this toy would be better suited for a small-med dog or a dog that didn't chew very hard. If you want a rubber-rope toy that will stand up to any type of chewing, use the Petstages toys.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.