petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco California Kitty Condo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco California Kitty Condo

Extra large platform and non-tip cat condos are designed to give your cat more room to jump and sleepThe natural sisal cat tree gives your cat a place to scratch so that he can remove old claws and helps save your household furniture from ruin
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
3
29 out of 40(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco California Kitty Condo
Review 1 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kitty LOVES this

PostedNovember 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kitty Kat
from Columbus, OH
this item is great for kitty to hide in and sleep on...also gives my kitty a place to scratch..with some redirection from other furniture..this is his primary place to scratch
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wonderful!

PostedNovember 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kitty Lover
from Cincinnati, OH
I have two cats, and they just love this. I did get this for them when they were kittens, but they're bigger now and they still love it and play with it. I do admit, it is easy for them to tip over, but they think it's a new toy when this happens. I would definately recomend this for any cat or kitten owner. In fact, I want to get a second one to put somewhere else in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality control

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
SlavToAnAf
from Philadelphia, PA
Item arrived without any hardware to put it together. I will have to go to the store to return it since it can not be put together without hardware. I will not order online again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fun but unstable

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
GizmoCatsMom
from Ohio
I am pleased, to a point, with this product. It is cute, well made, fun for my cat. Gizmo LOVES the California Kitty Condo, until it falls over. Unfortunately, it is "top heavy". He will jump onto the shelf & than when attempting to jump down, the Condo falls over.
I have attempted to put a heavy object inside, in order to make it more stable. Unfortunately, this means that he is unable to use the bottom part.
In the future, I would look at something that has a bigger/heavier base.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves this!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
catlover2bee
from portland, maine
My cat has been so happy since she received her new piece of furniture. Now she claws up her stuff instead of mine. She uses the top for a lookout and scratch post and snuggles inside the lower part of her Condo to sleep and relax. Glad I bought this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves this

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bbgirl
from Fort Worth, TX
My cat loves this and is constantly scratching on it and laying down on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat Condo

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
jblum
from central Florida
I had to return this cat furniture because it was very unstable. I put it together and placed it by a window. When my small cat tried to get up on it, it fell over. The larger cat didn't even try, although they were both attracted to it by the catnip odor. It's a clever design unfortunately it is top heavy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is good value for the money, but my cats wont touch it

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
pinkneve
from Brooklyn, NY
I was looking for something that would be sturdy, quality material, and also high enough (height) so that my cats could lay comfortably while staring out the window. This product doesnt quite make the height requirement to provide a proper view, but it is surprisingly similar to the pictured item, meaning there are no hidden surprises, you are getting what you pay for. The stand is sturdy enough to hold the cats with ease, but I tried to place a item underneath the base to add that leverage... and that didnt work out well. I would say if it was a bit taller the item would be perfect, but otherwise def worth the price! I have had it for two weeks and my cats are still taking time to get used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My kitten loves it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pets4luv
from Georgia
Great for cats that like to play and hide away. Ours is in front of the window and she sits on the perch looking out and sun bathing! She sleeps inside of it as well! Love it for a small scale kitty tower! (:
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
DebbiFI
from Fox Island, WA
I have 2 new kittens and was looking for items they would use/enjoy. I ordered this online but unfortunately when I got it the piece I was disappointed in the quality. The carpet is cheap and it is not sturdy. It toppled over the first time they tried to use it. I plan to return it asap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent multipurpose item

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ermine
from St. Louis MO
This cat condo is an excellent choice for a small cat condo and is a very good value.
My cats love to scratch on the sisal rope. They also like sleeping inside the base and perching on the top. It is very durable and sturdy.
Additionally, it makes an excellent laptop stand when the cats are not using it. However I do not recommend putting drinks on it, as this may result in spillage if the cats attempt to scratch/climb on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small box

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
NNNNNNNNNN
from San Jose, CA
I like the design and height of this kitty condo. And the price isn't bad. Unfortunately, the lower condo portion of the cat tree is pretty small. My 12 pound cat can't fit inside. If you have small cats, this tree will work fine for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Product

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrooklynBorn55
from Brooklyn NY
Nice product, well made & sturdy. A little smaller then I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small Kitty Condo

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
JBarton
from Indianapolis, IN
I purchased this for my daughter's cats. She recently had a new baby and the kitties were feeling kind of left out. They love this condo. It is small but really efficient and they love the cozy little hide-away and the nice stand on top. They feel like part of the family again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

May be worth the effort

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
SpaceCat
from Baton Rouge, LA
When I bought this condo I was fine with having to assemble it, until I discovered the holes for the screws didn't go all the way through, so I had to carve out holes myself. It took a lot of effort and time, but my kitten seems to enjoy jumping and running around on it. He doesn't really use the scratching post part, I think because it's at an awkward location. Also, he won't go on the top level because it's too wobbly (from having to carve a hole myself). There's probably something better out there that comes already assembled or has holes in it already.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but quality variable

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
abell
I bought 2 of these for our cats. The first one was a cream colored, thick carpet, which was perfect so I ordered a second one. The carpet on the second one was a thinner shaggy carpet that wasn't as nice. The colors are neutral, which I liked. So far, our cats haven't tipped them over as others have reported and they spend a lot of time playing on them. Of course, our cats are average sized (8 and 10 pounds). If you have a bigger cat, I can see where they might be able to tip it over. Overall, I would recommend this product but it's too bad you can't pick the colors/type of carpet that you want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wise Investment

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
iloveluci1027
I got this for my cats this Christmas. They are always scratching at the furniture. So i got this to see if they would scratch at this. To my amazment it worked. They love it. I love that my cats love it and the price was awesome to.. Good purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
russdancer
The item is a good price as the larger ones are expensive. However it is difficult to put together. There are no holes drilled to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Top is wobbly

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
iowahawkeye
At first i liked this product, as our 4 month old kitten seems to sleep in it almost every nite. But i never see him on the top of it, which would give him a "bird's eye" view of outside. I wish i had known the top was so wobbly before i purchased it :((( He seems to like the rope section (i purchased product so he would sharpen his claws on something before we buy new furniture), and i attached 2 small tassles to the top tier to entice him to go to 2nd level more often. I don't think he likes the rope tho as much as he likes his cardboard scratcher. :(((
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco California Kitty Condo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best $30 I spent on my Kitties!

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
TinaB45
from Cosmopolis, WA
My two cats love this Kitty Condo! They both play and sleep in it and on it. Sometimes even try sleeping together. It is the perfect size for them- not too big for the living room either. It is saving my furniture too because they really use it alot =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>