petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System

Help stop excessive barkingSafe and humaneHarmless, effective static correction Sensitive to both sound and vibration18 levels of correctionModel PDBC-300
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
20 out of 28(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job, for a very stubborn dog.

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Does work, but my dog also knows when I pick up the collar, he will quit for a minute or two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 PAWS!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
I've had this collar for about 6 months. I have two Bichons and they bark at everything that moves. I'm buying a second one now. I've read all the reviews and find some of then misleading or not enough information provided to base a purchase on... for a first time buyer. FIRST, the collar has to be adjusted to fit the dog snug. I does not have to choke them but it does NOT need to move freely if you try to move it. Some of the reviews say it moves from side to side... it should not do that and it won't work if it does. SECOND, test the collar! Not on you ;) ... but install the batteries and scrape the contact points across a tile floor or rough surface to see if it works. If it beeps with the static, then you're ready to start testing it on the dog. A little shock is not going to kill them but a barking dog will cause my neighbors to become homicidal. It's a win win! I only use the collar when we go on walks, have the front door open and they can see everything. They learn so fast! When I put them in the crates, I'll lay the collar in front of the crate so they can see it and it stops the excessive whining at night for my "pit wannabes". One of my bichons is extremely hyper and this helps calm her a lot. It's like a xanax!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from buffalo, NY
I am so pleased with the bark collar. Within two hours after first putting it on my dog, she had the hang of it. It has been so quiet that I no longer have to worry about getting kicked out of my apartment complex due to her excessive barking! I would definetly recommend this to anyone looking to curb their dogs' barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from vancouver wa
I rescued a beagle/terrior/chihuahua a few years ago when she was only 6 months old. She was in a bad situation and was abused. After we adopted her she had a tendency to bark at everything. We first tried using the citronella spray collar after a year of using it and having no positive results we ordered this product. At first she was startled by it but she quickly stopped barking. After a few months it got to a point where even without the collar on she was reluctant to bark. We now live in a quiet happy home where our dog doesnt bark every time the littlest noise happens. I would definitely recommend this collar. It really was a life saver and we love it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Heard this works well

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kenosha WI
I heard this product works well, but my dog has long hair. Didn't really faze her, unless these products won't work at all with her. Have a friend who highly recommended it so I thought I would try it. I think it would work great depending on the dog and the hair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The #1 Bark Collar- EVER!

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from California
We have a tenacious Mini Dachsund who will bark at ANYTHING! We tried other collars, and none compares to this. Since she was tiny, we set it on the 1st small bolt, we put her outside and she was unphased. I skipped the 2nd bolt, and went straight to the 3rd. It will get them by the 3rd bark it seems. She has adjusted well to how softly she can make a noise. It's GREAT when people come over, and it also STOPS them from escalating when wanting to go after people off-leash. They wont bark and chase people when wearing it. Our dog is 10, and I would search to the ends of the earth for another!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked wonders

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ashburn, VA
I was very impressed with how quickly this electronic collar stopped my 3 year old border collie from barking -- I live in an apartment and was becoming concerned that my dogs barking was bothering my neighbors -- I know that border collies are quick learners and that proved to be the case with this collar -- I put it on her 5 days ago and she hasn't barked once since -- one afternoon I removed the collar to test her and she only wimpered once when she saw a dog walking by our 1st floor porch - it is a truly spectacular device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Houston and Aspen
FINALLY something that works! I have tried absolutely everything to get my Malti-poo to stop barking hysterically whenever I leave the house. He has extreme separation anxiety; neighbors complain. I've tried scolding, locking him up, multiple screaming sonic machines, and the citronella collar ... NOTHING worked, he'd just continue barking through the unpleasantness. The shock collar was a last resort. I may have erred and had it set too high as I had to quickly calm and quiet him ... but he hasn't barked since! Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
from LIttle Rock, Arkansas
My small dog of 15 pounds stopped barking after 2 shocks. Before, she barked non-stop at everything. But, this collar trained her immediately, and she didn't even have to wear it anymore. If she forgot, all we had to do is say was "barking collar", and she stopped and laid down quietly. It has been four months since we bought the barking collar. Tonight was the first time that we had to put it on her again for barking at the visitor who rang the doorbell. She immediately stopped barking. It didn't even have batteries, but she didn't even try to bark with it on. Buying batteries now. This collar is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
This product not only did not phase my pet but it is way over priced. i put it on after reading the instructions and nothing. after 2 days I took it off.
petco.com usually has great products but this one is the pits.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
10of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth The Aggravation

PostedJune 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought the PetSafe Bark Control Collar for my two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. I shaved the fur over their voice boxes, as recommended. I attached the collars tightly as instructed, without choking my dogs, but the product doesn't work. I checked the battery which was working properly. The problem is that the collars still slide around my dogs' necks, and the prongs don't stay in the position where they can do any good. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work

PostedApril 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have a Great Pyrenees that is very noisy, and this product didn't faze him. If not for the fact that I found a collar that worked on him, I would have thought this collar failed because he's just a stubborn Pyrenees. But, after five tries, I did find a SportDog collar that worked on him, which leads me to the conclusion this one just wasn't effective. Given the reviews, this collar has worked for some people, but it didn't work for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DOG TRAINING PRODUCT

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
The PetSafe Deluxe Bark control training system is THE BEST I have ever purchased! I had pruchased other devices from the local (Hawaii) pet stores and they were trash.. PETCO has the best products! Our dog barking has gone and we now ENJOY having him around us in the house. We had him in the house before but would always bark and disturb our neighbors. This device quickly "taught Koa" about excessive barking. GREAT PRODUCT, GREAT STORE!! THANK YOU FOR COMING TO HAWAII!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great results!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
After trying the sonic correction collar i am finally satisfied. I have the collar on the lowest setting and it sent my dog the message to stop his annoying barking. It worked the first day that i brought it home and he has not barked since. Even when he's roaming abouts outdoors....no barking!! I would definitely tell people to try this collar.
I gave it 4 out of 5 paws because the collar seems to move to the side at times. But as long as it sopped the barking i could care less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do NOT buy this item

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
We bought this bark collar because our neighbor left a note on our door telling up that our dog was barking while we were at work and she couldn't stand it anymore.... So we went to Petco and bought the Deluxe Bark Collar. The first one we brought home didn't even turn on... We sent that one back and got a new one. We put it on our cocker spaniel today and he didn't even notice it! He would shake his neck and the collar would go off to the side... If the collar doesn't sit right on the vocal cords it doesn't work. I don't think that it was working every time he barked either. This collar really doesn't work!!! Don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not last!!

PostedMarch 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
I was very dissapointed in the product. I purchased this to keep my dog from barking when we would leave her on the balcony of our apts. I do have to say that it did train her in a week BUT it didnt work after that. A month later we bought an English Bulldog who would also bark so we pulled the 70 something dollar training aid out the drawer and the thing didnt work. We thought maybe the battery went out and bought repalcements (close to $10). Still nothing. Now we've spent close to $100 for a product that couldnt last over a month!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works good but

PostedJanuary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
It won't stay in the neck area it always goes to the side. I have German Shepard and it is tight on his neck but after I put it on him he always has it on the side so I have to keep it on high for it to work 2 barks then it makes him stop.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase EVER!

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
My wife and I got to the point of pulling our hair out to get our long hair German Shepard "Rhabbi" to stay quiet. There are MANY cats around our property and he would go outside and just run in circles barking the entire time he was out. I do have respect for my neighbors and ran out and got this collar. It took 3 HARD shocks that had him yelping and jumping around before he finally got the picture and since then if it is on his neck he is silent... This thing worked amazing and I HIGHLY suggest purchasing it if you cannot keep your pooch quiet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
We purchased this product because we wanted to train our puppy not to bark/whine in his crate. Every morning when the dog would hear us get up, he would start whimpering and barking. The first time the dog barked with the collar on, it did not work. The beep went off, but I don't think a shock was administered. I called customer service after multiple failed attempts with the collar. Customer service suggested it was not on the dog tight enough and not on the vocal cords. I readjusted the collar and finallly it did work. The dog stopped barking for a moment. With the next bark/whimper the collar failed to go off again. I would not recommend this collar. It did not work with my dog. It was definitely not consistant. Basically, it only administered one shock that my dog felt. I am now looking for a remote controlled shock collar. I just hate that I wasted my money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Deluxe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well made product... didn't work for OUR needs...

PostedOctober 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Overland Park, KS
Polar is our Siberian Husky. She rarely barks, but howls VERY loudly when excited. We purchased this product hoping it would help with her wailing. It didn't detect even her loudest wails as a bark. More than likely, I'm the only person who failed to make this distinction, but if not, I hope this helps! :-D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>