petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys

Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys

Surface of cat scratching post is 100% scratchableTwo replaceable feather toys for added fun (Petco EZ-Snap Refills sold separately)Cat scratcher is essential for your cat’s health and happinessNeutral color fits with most existing décors
Average Customer Rating:
3.68 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
38 out of 50(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Review 1 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome little scratching post!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
JmPgh
from Pittsburgh
My adult female cat loves this scratching post. The price was great at under $10, so we decided to give it a try since there wasn't much to lose. Our cat took to it right away and scratches on it after every meal. She also loves the feather toys -- it's a great design because those feathers are attached with strong elastic bands so kitty thinks she's playing tug-of-war with it. It's funny to watch. The only reason I did not give this great little unit a "five" rating is because the base needs to be secured somehow or it will tip over if kitty gets too playful around it. Placing it in a corner helps keep it upright.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size & value...

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brucie2u
from Kansas City
Great for smaller cats, mine likes taller ones better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

scratching post

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
kittycrew
from North Wales, pa
Kitties like this. They play with the feathers. They look so serious when using this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyCalvin
from Indianapolis, IN
I was surprised by the quality of this inexpensive scratching post. My kitten has not shown a lot of interest in the feather toys but the post itself is very sturdy and the carpet is of better than expected quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SOFA CARPET SAVER

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunshine411
from florida
I took in a feral momma and her 2 babies almost 3 years ago. She is a wonderful girl but took a little time for her to adjust to home life. The only thing bad she ever did was scratch my carpet and caught her 2 times trying out the sofa. We had to try different scratching posts. She loves the carpeted posts the best and we have 2 with carpet and one sisel for her enjoyment. They do need to be replaced on a regular basis but it is far cheaper than replacing your furniture. Plus, she is so happy!! Scratching is a natural thing for them to do so do try to find one your cat will enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cat Toy

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Clarkie182
from Boston, MA
I bought this unit on sale for 1/2 off. Cat loves it plays with it several times a day! Only issue is the attached feathers do not last....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pretty nice, especially for the price

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bearfly
from cleveland, OH
got this $10 free shipping during price cut, compared to around 20 or so at other places, replacing my kitty's paper scratch, hoping it be more durable, he loves this so much, often plays with the little hangings on it, thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scratch Post a hit

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
AVPet
from MN
My older cat took right to it. I've been using cheaper made scratch posts that don't last a long time before the cat works it over pretty good.
Petco's has a much higher quality carpet material that even covers the top of the post. The cat has been using it for about 2 weeks and I have not seen any carpet pieces pulled out or any other kind of wear damage on the post.
The Petco scratch post's base is a single piece of wood that comes attached so there is no assembly. My previous posts have had a folded base, in which one broke and had difficulty standing up and had to be replaced. These cheaper two piece posts had to be assembled before use.
As far as the feather toys, they don't do much for my cat. He has just ignored them to this point. A younger cat might be more interested. The toys look fine and seem to be made well.
Overall I'm really glad I bought this post. It's really a good quality one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Post

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katylynne
from St Martinville, Louisiana
Excellent toy for multiple cats, keeps them entertained for hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product didn't hold up to the kittens

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
2many4leggedkids
from Casper, WY
I purchased this product to teach my three kittens what is okay to scratch on. Unfortunately, within 2 weeks the carpeting is coming off and has strings hanging where the carpet has been shredded. The feathers are gone as well. I am trimming the strings to keep the kittens from eating them. This might be an okay product for adults but kittens distroyed it quickly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

He likes the feather more I think.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Boyflipper
from San Diego, CA
My cat Likes the feathers more than the scratching post I think. He does use it but it does seem to tip sometimes. I use it as a secondary scratching post but when he stands up to scratch on it he knocks it over sometimes. Maybe the bottom could be made better to help it be stable:-).. He loves the feathers so I guess it was worth it at 1/2 off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good price

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
petlover111
Cats use this regularly. I like that attached toys can be switched out. Sale price was a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product upset me

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Knyx29
from West haven,ct
I order the scratcher and it didn't come with the feathers it shows also it wasn't sown on the top it was torn so all I saw was the wood
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scratch post with feather toys

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatsMeow09
from Selden, NY
Wonderful product my cat loves it and used it right away. Exactally as pictured. I will buy this scratcher again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cat doesn't use

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bbgirl
from Fort Worth, TX
My cat does not use this product to scratch on. I wanted something that was sturdy and was not going to be destroyed in less than 5 minutes. The only thing he liked about this product was the feathers. Once he accomplished his goal of taking the feathers off, he hasn't played or scratched on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

too lightweight for large cat

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
planocat
from plano, tx
This is a good product but you need to anchor it down if you have a large cat. My (large) cat knocks it over easily and then heads for the hills. She likes the attached feather toys. Try the curved scratcher for large cats or the rectangle cardboard scratcher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good scratcher, feathers dead

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeadeyeDH
from CT
My kitty loves this scratching post, he always uses it HOWEVER the feathers (which he loved) were destroyed about half an hour after getting it. He absolutely ripped them to shreds. I have detached the strings that held the feathers and now he just uses this as his favorite scratcher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good toy

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pearlsmom1
from GA
We have had this nearly two weeks. I was skeptical as I didn't want to pay a small fortune on a scratching post that didn't get used, so thought I would try this one. Pearl loves it, but the carpet isn't very good quality as the pieces keep coming off. I guess you get what you pay for. I can't see 'holes' where carpet is missing yet but keep finding the little carpet hair that has been scratched off. She loved the feathers - and has already torn one off. Good for the price. Glad I have it - hope it will save our coffee table. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok as a first scratch for kitten

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cschanel88
from New York, NY
Bought this for a 6 months old kitten. She liked it at first, however the feather pieces came down pretty quickly. Even though i can reattach them, it's still annoying how easily they come off. After a few days, Cleo lost interest n I notice its mainly cuz her nails keep getting stuck there. IT's an average product. I wouldn't really recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Scratch Post with Feather Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If at first

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pokemontrainer
from Elk Grove
When i first introduced Rapidash to this she wouldn't do anything beside rub herself on it. And after accidentally pulling off one of the feather's i was beginning to think I'd wasted my money but she actually enjoys it more without the one feather. She pulls on the elastic and then scratches up a storm. Plus it's nice and compact so I can put it anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>