petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap

PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap

Quiet cat flap gives your cat access to any room even when the door is shutIt's perfect for the garage, laundry, or litter box room doorTransparent flap is easy to installModel P1-4W-11
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not that great for doors

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Missinasworld
from Spring Hill, FL
It says that it can be used in a door that is up to 2" thick, this is not true unless you have a solid core door or want to do a lot of modification. It does NOT come with a pattern to help cut the door, the back park sticks on with stickers, there is a large gap between the flap and the inside part of the cat door allowing bugs and what not to come in and out. This door would probably be ok if it was used in a cabinet or other THIN place, but not for a door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it! Highly recommended!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shellista
from Memphis, TN
We got this to install in the door of a walk-in closet that we made into the cat's litterbox room. Pretty easy to install (my hubby did it in no time at all!). Not especially quiet; you can definitely hear it when the cat goes in and out, but it's not THAT bad. I don't use the locking function; I don't have any reason to lock the cat in or out of the room. No problems with it coming apart and it's been in the door since 2004.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petsafe cat door

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
4persiancats
from oregon
I installed the cat door for access to a litter box. My cats got the hang of it real fast. Unfortunately 2 of the 3 cats using the door got their paws stuck in the door when they pushed it open with their paw. (and tried to pull it out) One of them is a young kitten and he totally freaked out and fell and rolled around with his paw still stuck in the door. He was okay but we ended up removing the flap and just using the frame. That will work fine for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK.

PostedNovember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
NoahNOliversMOM
This cat door is just OK. It works well, in that it does it's job. I bought the small one and it was totally fine for our two average sized cats. It is NOT quiet though. That doesn't bother me much really, since I have 2 kids under 2 so our house is always noisy anyways. haha. But yes, I can hear the cats going through it from the other room. Also, my cats have figured it out! It goes from our kitchen to basement door. At night we lock them in the (finished & warm, with food and water) basement since they are more like dogs and will rip apart the house at night. Anyways, I would lock it so they could go down but not back up. Well, we discovered that our cats use their paw to swing it up and then quickly shove their heads through to catch it, and then get in! ALSO, yesterday our cat banged into it repeatedly when it was completely locked and busted the locking mechanism of the plastic!! So now it won't lock at all and we have to get a new one. SO, apparently the plastic isn't very strong. Or my cat has super-cat strength and a hard head! Which I suppose is highly likely. These cats are more like mini-tigers! Like I said before, they are really more like dogs in every way, which is very strange. ANYWAYS, yes, this cat door is alright. I suppose if you have an older cat that is more mellow it wouldn't be an issue at all (ours are just a year old).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flap Qaulity Door

PostedJune 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
catowner5
Flap door is of questionable quality. The plastic swivel pins on the flap door broke and the manufactured would not replace the door. Problem similar to one mentioned in another review of this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good flap

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
catsmeows
from North Reading, MA
Good cat flap. I use it on an indoor door so I remove the plastic flap altogether. It's neat and tidy looking, not too big, and now I can put the litter box in the closet and not have to leave the door open!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

has limitations

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
pianolady
from Washington, DC
For the price this is OK, but it does not stand up well to daily locking and unlocking. Considering the cost of installing, get the higher priced flaps.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not all that quiet, breaks easily

PostedFebruary 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
CatMom8
I have used this door between an indoor and outdoor cat area. I already had to replace it once because it broke (the flap itself--near one of the pins which holds it in place and lets it swing) and now my 2nd one has broken as well. I don't know if it's because it gets brittle when exposed to cold air--if this product shouldn't be used outdoors, they should let customers know. Also, they claim this door is "quiet"--I would say it's anything but. I can EASILY hear whenever one of my cats is going through it, especially when at a run. And like the other reviewer said, the locking mechanism is a joke. My cats have easliy pushed it open when it was supposed to be locked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Locking mechanism is a joke!

PostedOctober 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
fairymyst
from Oregon
My cat took about 1 minute with this door and she pats it with her paw just enough to lift the door up and clear the little locking pins that BARELY even come up!
I contacted the company to see if they could replace the faulty product. Instead they responded by telling me that if I wanted to lock my cat in then I should just purchase a different product that uses a seperate closing cover! Its funny that they claim on the description that you can lock this cover but then won't stand by that statement once you buy it and it won't do its job!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.