petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Cat Flap

PetSafe Cat Flap

Cat flap gives your cat access to any room even when the door is shutPerfect for the garage, laundry, or litter box room dooTransparent flap with magnetic closure is easy to install. Slide lock for denying accessModel CC10-050-11
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Cat Flap
Review 1 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
shortbus08
from Flint, MI
I live in a modular and the doors they have in these places aren't the best quality. I had to really fudge the door to get it to work, but once I got it all together it was perfect. I couldn't attach the back "decorative" piece, but it didn't matter since no one would see it. It stays shut when he comes and goes and my cat likes that he can still see out of it to attack my dog :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
CreightonMiner
from Lively, Ontario
This is a replacement product. Lock got too sloppy on old one and cats were locking themselves out:-). Old one had weatherstripping on it and it finally gave up. No weatherstripping on new one so I will try to add my own. We use this door on a plexiglass insert in a sliding window that gives our cats access to an outdoor enclosed play yard so the weatherstripping is mandatory. Very durable item.
Put the insulation back and I will give you five paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iluvkitties
from NY
This is a great cat flap. I use it to the door to my cats litter box room and it also locks in odors! I love it I've had it for 3 years now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very solidly made and sturdy

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
rebamcbeeba
from MI
We are very pleased with this product. Our cat loves her new door and newfound freedom. Would recommend very highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great door

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda5
Unbelivable price..I got two...quiet door and easy to push, my cats took to this right away no problem. They are aven a little bigger than the product recommends. I got small and they fit no problem and it fit nicely in the panel of my door...very neat looking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lock not good

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
IheartAK
I have this door for my Russian blue, martin. Overall, the door is good. It has a nice size. When it comes to the lock, don't buy this door. First it came off because my cat was smart enough to push the door when it was locked. I put it back on. A raccoon chewed the lock into my house. I bought another door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Flap Door

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
loreli
Easy install with the right tools, looks great, and cats are finding it easy to use.
This was an inexpensive way to solve the problem of allowing our two cats to move through to areas of the house they needed for food and litter and staying out of the way of our family dog they dislike.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loree
from Omaha, NE
this product was easy to install... I didn't even take the doors off the hinges. The cat loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet door

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
billsocal
from victorville, ca
easy to install
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Guapo
Purchased this cat door to use in the sliding side window of a garden window. The cats use a "bridge" to go up to the window. The cat door was fitted into the window by using a piece of plexiglass on the side and using a wooden dowel to keep the window frame tightly pushed against the top of the cat door. The magnet keeps the flap down, thus keeping the cold air out. The lock works well, when needed. The only difference between what I observed in the picture and what arrived at my door is that in the picture it looks as if there is brush style weather stripping around the sides of the flap. This is not present on the flap and I went to the retail store to confirm it does not come with the weather stripping. I bought some and installed it along an indentation in the flap, but the door stopped swinging back and forth freely, so I removed it. Flapper fits well, so not much cold air slips in between the flapper and the frame of the cat door. My use and installation is not the typical or recommended installation, but it is extactly what I wanted and needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
jaspersmom25
This door was easy to put in and works really well. I don't have any problem with the lock; our cat paws at it, but can't get it open. (She is only about 8lbs, though.) The only problem I had with it, was that the back bracket is only held on with double stick tape. It was not holding. I tried a few things, and finally found that a bead of crazy glue around the edge held it in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cat flap

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
htechgoddess
very easy to install and fits perfectly into the previous spot. My cats and I appreciate this very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what was needed

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
dewbill
especially like the magnet catch at the bottom
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
SmartKat
we wanted to be able to shut our laundry room door which is where the litter pan is located. this cat flap was easy to install and the cats had no trouble adapting. i recommend the larger flap even with an average size cat b/c the opening is rather small. we had no choice but to get the large one b/c we have two supersize cats. great product at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Cat Flap

PostedMay 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
jerlee
I was happy to receive this item until I saw that its size was 'small'. I wasn't aware that there was more than one size. There was no indication of size in the product information that I could see. My cats are too big to fit through it. Sorry, I have had to return it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Door

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
CatLady1013
from Louisiana
I purchased this cat door for my laundry room door. I wanted to be able to close off the door to the laundry room since the litter box and cat food are both there. I had no trouble installing this cat door aside from the complications of having a hollow core door from the 80's. The instructions for the door were very helpful as was the paper cutout that allows you to trace a hole the shape of the door opening. I used a jig saw which did the job but was very messy. I would highly recommend taking the door off the hinges and doing this outside. I learned my lesson! However, the door works well. What I did was put duct tape around the inside so that no splinters or anything would scratch the cats as they went through. You can seal it up pretty well and then the door is ready to go. My cats took to it after a few days and I think it is a good value for the money and works well in our home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
fluffy
from Wallingford, CT
My cat, chip, loves to go through this. At first he was a little leary but after 15 min. of watching it at a distance he walked through it so now we can close our work shop door and he can still go to the bathroom.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedJanuary 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
melvis
from tiverton ri
I bought this door so my cats could go downstairs to use the litter box and it was the best thing I could have done for them!!(and me!!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more accidentally locking kitty in den!

PostedNovember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
ownedby2dogs1cat
from Kansas City
My cat loves to hide from the dogs in the den. Until I got this cat flap for the door, she'd just paw at the door knob till someone let her in/out. Even if that meant waking someone up!
I checked out the directions for several cat doors, but most seemed to complicated to mess with. I was a bit leery about using the jigsaw as I hadn't done that before, but just took about 20 minutes to get it all done. I wouldn't get a great grade for staying on the line when I cut, but it worked.
It was a hollow door I cut through, so I duct taped the inside of the hole before putting on the flap.
Kitty took two or three days to go through on her own, but now does so with no trouble. The dogs nose the flap open sometimes but it's too small for them to get their heads in.
I haven't tried the lock and most likely wont. We got it so kitty could go in and out as she pleases.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Cat Flap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Won't lock cat out for long.

PostedFebruary 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
New kitty owner
from Macedon, NY
It only took our new kitten 4 weeks to learn how to unlock the door. Its a nice option if you aren't going to use it to lock your kitty in or out of a room.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.