petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(427 Reviews) 426
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 427 reviews
5 stars
256
4 stars
73
3 stars
38
2 stars
23
1 star
37
347 out of 427(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+36points
80of 124voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+38points
79of 120voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
155of 289voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Willington CT
Once I placed this product on the sink where my cat likes to drink from the faucet it worked like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Promotes Drinking

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
Bought for my cat. After getting use to it, my cat has fun while drinking. Could get expensive though if you change the filter every month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kitty fountain ever!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
For several years, we had a larger version of this same fountain for our late beloved old man who, being a very large Russian Blue with only one eye, had issues with depth perception and the like, making bending down to lap water from a calm surface sort of a hit-or-drown situation. So, the running water of the fountain made it a good deal easier for him. I ordered this one for our two little girl Russian Blues (can you tell that we're hooked on that breed?) because we couldn't keep their cute little noses out of the sink and the tub! So, while one dove right in to the adventure of it, taking to the fountain like a duck to water, the other was a little hesitant at first. But then she too got over the initial wariness, and they now get up games of "fling and slap the water", adding a second use for it! I'd definitely recommend to everyone... and I have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach
I am so disappointed with this product. It is impossible to keep clean. Even the plastic parts have nooks and crevices that do not clean either in the dishwasher or by scouring with brush, steel wool or Brillo pads. It's constructed with too many deep crevices which are impossible to reach. And the motor, the motor gets full of white slime which is impossible to remove - so far the only way I have been able to do this is by scrapping with a knife. Every time I clean the fountain I come away with scrapes and cuts on my hands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as described

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sleepy Hollow, NY
This water fountain was very easy to put together, and it works exactly as described. It is very quiet and the water coming out is a good stream. I have three cats and they all used it right away. I kept the old one which is a well type of water holder and they still use that also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Drinking Fountain

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clermont, FL
My cat loves this drinking fountain. He drinks more water than he ever did using a bowl of standing water. Plus vets recommended this type of drinking fountain because flowing or moving water encourages cats and dogs to drink more, which keeps them hydrated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit noisy, but the cat does drink more.

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
The unit sometimes makes more noise than at other times, and will gurgle if water gets low. But, after initial fear, the cat drinks from it now, more than from the standing water dish we used to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoping for better health

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Amana, IA
I got this product to try and get my cats to drink more water throughout the day. I have one cat that gets chronic UTI's and another that was sick and wouldn't drink any water, so it was time to do something different. I bought two fountains (I have 8 cats) and I am adding water to them every day. I wasn't doing that with the regular bowls, so they must be drinking more. The water stays cleaner and they are more willing to drink. I would recommend these to anyone with a cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat loves it, hard to clean

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Texas
My kitty loves this fountain.
The motor needs to be rinsed out with regular cleaning and it is hard for my big fingers to get the motor off. It has lots of little nooks and crannies that need special brushes to get to. Other than that, it's a great fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat Says THANKS!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My cat would always jump on the bathroom counter and want me to turn on the water for her to get a drink from the stream. How she go's to her fountain all the time and laps the water from the waterfall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet fountain

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from riverside ca
My cats love this! I no longer come home to water running from the kitchen faucet - now have their own running water. I'm going to order another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very LOUD water fountain

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alpena, MI
The water fountain has a very loud hum to it. You may want to put it in a room far from "normal" activity. There is also a flow valve that doesn't really work. Move the lever to the left and the water is SUPPOSE to flow slower; right would be faster. I have tried it both ways and there is NO difference in the flow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with this fountain

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
We are very happy with this fountain. We've had it just over a week and our 2 cats like it. We find them drinking from the fountain part, from the bowl and even throwing a front paw in the fountain to lick their paw. Funny!
I cleaned the fountain once so far and it went just as described in owners manual. Easy.
I would buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Love My Fountain

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I wasn't too fond of drinking standing water from a plain old bowl, so my people got me this fountain. I really like it because now I don't have to wait for someone to turn the bathroom faucet on for me. I'm a little concerned that the motor is starting to slow down after about a year and a half, but I'm sure my people will get me another one if this one stops working.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Big Bear Lake
This really works! I didn't think this would make a difference but our little kitty drinks a lot more water now. She bites at the waterfall and prefers to drink from it. We have notices how much more #1 she goes in her litter box and this is what we were hoping to see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

suggestions

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from great falls, mt
it would be nice if it had a low water shut off switch.
other than that, it works good.
ti would also be nice if you made something like this for my parrot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florence, Al
My cat has had surgery due to torn ACL and Maniscus. She has always drank from the bathroom sink with water running. After surgery she can still get up there but jumping down is causing her to limp. As soon as I put the drinkwell fountain down near her food she immediately started drinking from it. After about a week her limp is almost gone and she no longer gets on the cabinet. She is also drinking more which causes her to eat less. I like this because she is over weight. (17 1/2 pounds) Cats love drinking running water. I would highly recommend this product.
Tom S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>