petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.141 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(434 Reviews) 433
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 434 reviews
5 stars
260
4 stars
74
3 stars
39
2 stars
23
1 star
38
352 out of 434(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+35points
83of 131voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+41points
85of 129voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+22points
162of 302voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK fountain

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
Pro: easy to assembly, take apart, and clean.
Con: The knob that controls water speed on mine does not work very well but we kept it because the cat didn't seem to mind the permanently set speed on high plus we got this on sale...
There is nothing special about this fountain, it just does its job of providing filtered water. Many people say its loud but I completely disagree. We placed ours in the living room, with the bedroom on the same floor a few feet away, we cannot hear it. However, when the bowl starts getting low on water it makes a much louder annoying sound that can be heard in every room. BUT this can easily be avoided by refilling the bowl with a cup or two of water!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Original Drinkwell fountain

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
This fountain is perfect for my three large cats. Delivery was quick & ordering was easy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My cat dont like it

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
It's easy to accumulate dust on the bottom. My cat just dont like it. She only drink from it when it's not working.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Fountain for Cats

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Austin, Texas
Just recently purchased this fountain and my kitten loves it. My larger cat is still scared of it but hopefully he will come around. Only regret I have is not ordering the fountain cleaners since it is a little on the difficult to reach some spots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedAugust 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WA
My cat had one for 3 yrs. & then it started leaking so this is a replacement. In 3 yrs. they have made improvements like it's easier to take out the pump. Now it has suction cups instead of you having to pull & lift the old one & that's where it started leaking. My cat loves drinking out of it & it's better than standing water b/c it puts in oxygen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too wet

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
my cat splashed all the water out again and again. Much fun, but too messy. I will be returning this item
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Water Fountain

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
My cats drink more water, and with one of them having UTI's, it helps keep her urine output.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Willington CT
Once I placed this product on the sink where my cat likes to drink from the faucet it worked like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Promotes Drinking

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
Bought for my cat. After getting use to it, my cat has fun while drinking. Could get expensive though if you change the filter every month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kitty fountain ever!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita, Ca.
For several years, we had a larger version of this same fountain for our late beloved old man who, being a very large Russian Blue with only one eye, had issues with depth perception and the like, making bending down to lap water from a calm surface sort of a hit-or-drown situation. So, the running water of the fountain made it a good deal easier for him. I ordered this one for our two little girl Russian Blues (can you tell that we're hooked on that breed?) because we couldn't keep their cute little noses out of the sink and the tub! So, while one dove right in to the adventure of it, taking to the fountain like a duck to water, the other was a little hesitant at first. But then she too got over the initial wariness, and they now get up games of "fling and slap the water", adding a second use for it! I'd definitely recommend to everyone... and I have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach
I am so disappointed with this product. It is impossible to keep clean. Even the plastic parts have nooks and crevices that do not clean either in the dishwasher or by scouring with brush, steel wool or Brillo pads. It's constructed with too many deep crevices which are impossible to reach. And the motor, the motor gets full of white slime which is impossible to remove - so far the only way I have been able to do this is by scrapping with a knife. Every time I clean the fountain I come away with scrapes and cuts on my hands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as described

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sleepy Hollow, NY
This water fountain was very easy to put together, and it works exactly as described. It is very quiet and the water coming out is a good stream. I have three cats and they all used it right away. I kept the old one which is a well type of water holder and they still use that also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Drinking Fountain

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Clermont, FL
My cat loves this drinking fountain. He drinks more water than he ever did using a bowl of standing water. Plus vets recommended this type of drinking fountain because flowing or moving water encourages cats and dogs to drink more, which keeps them hydrated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit noisy, but the cat does drink more.

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
The unit sometimes makes more noise than at other times, and will gurgle if water gets low. But, after initial fear, the cat drinks from it now, more than from the standing water dish we used to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hoping for better health

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Amana, IA
I got this product to try and get my cats to drink more water throughout the day. I have one cat that gets chronic UTI's and another that was sick and wouldn't drink any water, so it was time to do something different. I bought two fountains (I have 8 cats) and I am adding water to them every day. I wasn't doing that with the regular bowls, so they must be drinking more. The water stays cleaner and they are more willing to drink. I would recommend these to anyone with a cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat loves it, hard to clean

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Texas
My kitty loves this fountain.
The motor needs to be rinsed out with regular cleaning and it is hard for my big fingers to get the motor off. It has lots of little nooks and crannies that need special brushes to get to. Other than that, it's a great fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat Says THANKS!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My cat would always jump on the bathroom counter and want me to turn on the water for her to get a drink from the stream. How she go's to her fountain all the time and laps the water from the waterfall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>