petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(419 Reviews) 418
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 419 reviews
5 stars
252
4 stars
70
3 stars
38
2 stars
23
1 star
36
340 out of 419(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+33points
77of 121voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+35points
75of 115voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+18points
149of 280voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cat loves it, hard to clean

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Texas
My kitty loves this fountain.
The motor needs to be rinsed out with regular cleaning and it is hard for my big fingers to get the motor off. It has lots of little nooks and crannies that need special brushes to get to. Other than that, it's a great fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat Says THANKS!

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My cat would always jump on the bathroom counter and want me to turn on the water for her to get a drink from the stream. How she go's to her fountain all the time and laps the water from the waterfall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet fountain

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from riverside ca
My cats love this! I no longer come home to water running from the kitchen faucet - now have their own running water. I'm going to order another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very LOUD water fountain

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alpena, MI
The water fountain has a very loud hum to it. You may want to put it in a room far from "normal" activity. There is also a flow valve that doesn't really work. Move the lever to the left and the water is SUPPOSE to flow slower; right would be faster. I have tried it both ways and there is NO difference in the flow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with this fountain

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
We are very happy with this fountain. We've had it just over a week and our 2 cats like it. We find them drinking from the fountain part, from the bowl and even throwing a front paw in the fountain to lick their paw. Funny!
I cleaned the fountain once so far and it went just as described in owners manual. Easy.
I would buy this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I Love My Fountain

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I wasn't too fond of drinking standing water from a plain old bowl, so my people got me this fountain. I really like it because now I don't have to wait for someone to turn the bathroom faucet on for me. I'm a little concerned that the motor is starting to slow down after about a year and a half, but I'm sure my people will get me another one if this one stops working.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Big Bear Lake
This really works! I didn't think this would make a difference but our little kitty drinks a lot more water now. She bites at the waterfall and prefers to drink from it. We have notices how much more #1 she goes in her litter box and this is what we were hoping to see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

suggestions

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from great falls, mt
it would be nice if it had a low water shut off switch.
other than that, it works good.
ti would also be nice if you made something like this for my parrot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florence, Al
My cat has had surgery due to torn ACL and Maniscus. She has always drank from the bathroom sink with water running. After surgery she can still get up there but jumping down is causing her to limp. As soon as I put the drinkwell fountain down near her food she immediately started drinking from it. After about a week her limp is almost gone and she no longer gets on the cabinet. She is also drinking more which causes her to eat less. I like this because she is over weight. (17 1/2 pounds) Cats love drinking running water. I would highly recommend this product.
Tom S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Babe's fountain

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles , CA
The fountain is great you just have to remember to keep adding water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This fountain is great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I bought this fountain for my cat just before Christmas. As soon as I set it up he was there checking it out. Within no time he was drinking from it. I was worried that my cat would play in the fountain and make a mess, as he did with his regular water bowl, but he does not. Since he's been drinking from this fountain he no longer expresses the urge to have to beg for water from the bathroom faucets. It's great! I think the only down fall of this fountain is how often the filter is recommended to be changed; which are not sold in our local Petco so I have to order them online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I went for one of the cheaper ones on the market as I wasn't sure our cat would use it and she doesn't but that may be because the motor is quite loud. It may be worth investing in one of the more expensive ones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bainbridge Island, WA
I used to leave water running in the bathroom sink, because the cats would only drink running water. As soon as I set up the fountain, they started using it. The fountain makes it so much better and I don't have dirty paw prints around and in the sink. All three of my cats use it and I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coldwater, MS
I was so wanting one of these for my cats. I have two and one recently had an UTI... Well so far so good. It's only been up and running for two days but it really caught my cat's attention. Loving it!! Was so easy to get it up and going and I'm hoping cleaning it won't be to hard... Def recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good flow my cat loves

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
The water flows at a good rate, though I haven't been able to adjust it though it supposedly can. The motor is a little noisy but we keep it in a separate room so it doesn't bother me. I didn't realize that they recommend cleaning it (by taking it completely apart) weekly. It will be more like every 2-3 weeks that I can get to that. That being said, my cat does love having flowing water to drink, though he still prefers the faucet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Loretto PA
I purchased my Drinkwell Pet Fountain over 2 years ago. I have 2 cats and a small dog and totally
love my Drinkwell. I clean my drinkwell once a week and find it very easy to disassemble to clean, change the filter and to reassemble. I refill the water anywhere from 1 to 3 times a week and on HOT days, I fill the canister with ice, for nice cold circulating water. I just LOVE my drinkwell and so do my Pets!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VERY difficult to clean

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salem, Ma
Overall, this is a better product than standing water in a bowl. However, it is very difficult to clean, with tiny creases and tunnels that I could only reach with a toothpick or cotton swab. If the manufacturer fixed this issue of allowing one to clean this properly--it would.be a great product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>