petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(412 Reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 412 reviews
5 stars
248
4 stars
69
3 stars
37
2 stars
22
1 star
36
334 out of 412(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+35points
76of 117voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+36points
74of 112voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+22points
147of 272voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

suggestions

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from great falls, mt
it would be nice if it had a low water shut off switch.
other than that, it works good.
ti would also be nice if you made something like this for my parrot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florence, Al
My cat has had surgery due to torn ACL and Maniscus. She has always drank from the bathroom sink with water running. After surgery she can still get up there but jumping down is causing her to limp. As soon as I put the drinkwell fountain down near her food she immediately started drinking from it. After about a week her limp is almost gone and she no longer gets on the cabinet. She is also drinking more which causes her to eat less. I like this because she is over weight. (17 1/2 pounds) Cats love drinking running water. I would highly recommend this product.
Tom S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Babe's fountain

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles , CA
The fountain is great you just have to remember to keep adding water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This fountain is great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I bought this fountain for my cat just before Christmas. As soon as I set it up he was there checking it out. Within no time he was drinking from it. I was worried that my cat would play in the fountain and make a mess, as he did with his regular water bowl, but he does not. Since he's been drinking from this fountain he no longer expresses the urge to have to beg for water from the bathroom faucets. It's great! I think the only down fall of this fountain is how often the filter is recommended to be changed; which are not sold in our local Petco so I have to order them online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I went for one of the cheaper ones on the market as I wasn't sure our cat would use it and she doesn't but that may be because the motor is quite loud. It may be worth investing in one of the more expensive ones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bainbridge Island, WA
I used to leave water running in the bathroom sink, because the cats would only drink running water. As soon as I set up the fountain, they started using it. The fountain makes it so much better and I don't have dirty paw prints around and in the sink. All three of my cats use it and I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Coldwater, MS
I was so wanting one of these for my cats. I have two and one recently had an UTI... Well so far so good. It's only been up and running for two days but it really caught my cat's attention. Loving it!! Was so easy to get it up and going and I'm hoping cleaning it won't be to hard... Def recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good flow my cat loves

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
The water flows at a good rate, though I haven't been able to adjust it though it supposedly can. The motor is a little noisy but we keep it in a separate room so it doesn't bother me. I didn't realize that they recommend cleaning it (by taking it completely apart) weekly. It will be more like every 2-3 weeks that I can get to that. That being said, my cat does love having flowing water to drink, though he still prefers the faucet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Loretto PA
I purchased my Drinkwell Pet Fountain over 2 years ago. I have 2 cats and a small dog and totally
love my Drinkwell. I clean my drinkwell once a week and find it very easy to disassemble to clean, change the filter and to reassemble. I refill the water anywhere from 1 to 3 times a week and on HOT days, I fill the canister with ice, for nice cold circulating water. I just LOVE my drinkwell and so do my Pets!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VERY difficult to clean

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salem, Ma
Overall, this is a better product than standing water in a bowl. However, it is very difficult to clean, with tiny creases and tunnels that I could only reach with a toothpick or cotton swab. If the manufacturer fixed this issue of allowing one to clean this properly--it would.be a great product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cat is afraid of it

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hopkinton, NH
I read all the reviews and then got this for my cat. I thought it would give her healthier water. She is afraid of this. I think it is because of the load noise it makes. Even friends that came over asked what that noise was. It may be good for a dog but not a cat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat really takes to this fountain!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
My cat was diagnosed with a urinary tract infection and we were told that a good amount of water consumption is important for her. We already had a 5 year old fountain and I figured it was time I replace it. I purchased the Drinkwell, set it up and hoped and prayed it would contribute to her well being. At first she would not go near it, so I set up her old water fountain running next to the new Drinkwell fountain to add some familiarity to the setting. In the meantime, desperate that she would not be drinking any water at all, I resorted to administering water through a syringe while trying to hold her head still! I knew this 'syringe' method was not a viable long term solution. Lo and behold one early morning I noticed her drinking water out of the Drinknwell fountain - definitely preferring it over her old fountain. I now see her drink water regularly and I feel so relieved. Don't get discouraged if at first your cat just looks at it like an arrival from an alien planet. My cat suffers from stress and is easily startled, however, in her own time she was able to conquer her fear and is attracted to drink by the trickling water sounds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fountain

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This is our second Drink Well fountain and I would highly recommend it. Well made, easy to maintain, quiet, and our pets love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps water fresher

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
It seemed really noisy at first, but at the lower setting it is fine. My cats weren't sure what to make of it, but seem to be okay with it now. I can say that the water seems to remain cleaner than the gravity fed one we had before. The only down side is the plug. I wish it was a little longer or that they made one with a different power source. It is nice that you can detach the system without unplugging from the wall to clean. Have only been using for a week, so haven't really had any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Valparaiso, IN
Cat loved it and actually started drinking water from somewhere else than the tub.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - stubborn cat

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamden, CT
The fountain is great - exactly as described. My cat was initially intrigued but has returned to the sink as her favorite watering space. I tried holding out and made it for a few days before I caved in to guilt. I am leaving it running. Periodically she goes over and sniffs. Since the fountain is quiet and I can tell she is still checking it out, I am optimistic she will figure it out. It took a few weeks for her to figure out the scratching post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great idea, poor product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I've had water fountains for my cats before and for my elder cat it was necessary as he'd not go near standing water.
This fountain he liked at first, but only for a few weeks. Guess it didn't matter much then when it broke after only two months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>