petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(383 Reviews) 382
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 383 reviews
5 stars
237
4 stars
62
3 stars
33
2 stars
20
1 star
31
313 out of 383(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
CookieCat
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+24points
58of 92voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tarr's Momma
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+22points
55of 88voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christy
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+16points
116of 216voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very noisy

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Soprino
from SF Bay Area
One of my cats loves to drink from a dripping faucet, so I mainly bought this for him, and he does like it. It is so noisy though that I can't leave it running overnight, and depending on what I'm doing in the house I often unplug it if I'm listening to music or watching a DVD because it's so loud.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally rejected by my Cat

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gully
from Sag Harbor, NY
Noisy - and my cat continues to prefer the kitchen sink faucet - sadly this water fountain was a total waste.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet water fountain

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JC222
from Utah
My cats love it, so of course we love it too! It is a great alternative to running water from the faucet daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Fountan

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
PBGJNG
from New Rochelle
My older cat was constantly wanting me to turn on the bathroom sink so I thought the fountain would be a better alternative. When I first got it she was not sure about using it. My younger cat was a bit braver and drank from it. Once she saw that they both loved it very much. My older cat no longer asks to have the bathroom sink turned on (which is so much better for me especially during the middle of the night)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco watering dish

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sxj21
from Atlanta GA
This product only worked for about a week
And then the motor broke. This is the 2nd time this has happened.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitty used it

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Knittycat1
I had this unit for about 5 years with no problems until I got a dog & it no problems until the dog got brave enough to copy kitty and started drinking it, which offended my kitty to have to drink something contaminated with dog slobber and she wouldn't touch it again. I'm looking at it again since I have new cats now with urinary issues.
I don't know if they recommend this or not, but I used to put the unit in the dishwasher: everything but the actual motor (I used to break down the motor plastic parts & even put them in the dishwasher). I can't remember how often I put it in the dishwasher maybe 1x every 2 weeks? You probably could just wipe it out with damp cloth to make sure it doesn't get that red water slime too but I'm lazy.
My cat actually liked another brand one better (she was my little love and had 2, plus I had more $ since she was pre-dog), she didn't really care for the pouring drip and liked the one better with the running water without the drip feature, with the pretty blue water reservoir, but this got my vote for being easier to clean & assemble. She used both. I never thought about this until I am writing the review, but after she stopped using these I had to start giving her subcutaneous fluids for chronic renal failure. Hmm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble, simple to use

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crazy4catz
from Conncecticut
Bought this after much research to replace another brand that leaked and did not work well. No regrets so far, One of our 3 cats only liked to drink from the sink or if we put an ice cube in his water dish and he loves this fountain. He drinks from the stream of water, and the other 2 prefer to lap the water up from the large fountain bowl. It is relatively quiet, easy to clean, and doesn't take up too much space. There is a lever to adjust the flow of water into the bowl, a feature I like. I top it up daily to keep my cats happy. I'm pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fountain works well

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
PhrednFred
from Romulus, NY
Works as advertised. Our cat really likes drinking from this fountain. Since boy cats need to drink plenty of water, and he prefers running water (spoiled cat!), we bought this so we wouldn't have to keep turning on the bathroom water. Would suggest adding a motion sensor so the fountain doesn't have to be on constantly. We've put ours on a timer, but that doesn't always coincide with our cat's thirst!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

mixed blessing

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
petmama4
from Nashville, TN
I have no trouble disassembling this water fountain EXCEPT for getting the motor out. I find that area cramped and the fit of the motor is too tight for me to easily turn it with one finger. They must have designed this for people with extremely strong but slender fingers.
I have 3 cats and 1 dog and have to refill this thing several times a day. If I do not do so, it makes a horrid noise. I can't tell you how many times I've gotten out of bed to refill it just so I could sleep.
Also, I wish the filter was washable. With that many animals, it catches a lot of stuff.
On the good side, my animals really like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Fountain

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
bobbyd
from NC
This product is great. My youngest cat LOVES to drink from the faucet, so this was the perfect thing for her. The older cat is now drinking from the Drinkwell Fountain as it runs out of the spout. They both LOVE IT!! I think this also helps them keep hydrated and drink more water. I would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdoreMyCat
from Indianapolis, IN
My cat would only drink from the faucet and didn't want anything to do with the water in his bowl. I did some research and stumbled upon this fountain. It has worked well and my cat seems to like it. After reading the directions, I was a little concerned about cleaning the actual pump (you have to take it apart), but it wasn't difficult at all. I purchased the cleaning kit and I like that, also. I'm happy that my cat likes it and no more forgetting to turn off the faucets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
joshiphine
from Mt. Vernon wash.
My cat always drank from the tub faucet. But still was not getting the water she needed. I got the drink well fountain and she was not to sure about it. I had to close the bathroom door from her trying to drink from the tub. She wanted to play with the fountain at first but would not drink from it. It took till the next morning and she drank from it and did not stop. I think she will really like this fountain I am really happy with this fountain. It is not loud like some reviews said. I can hear the water flow out of the fountain but that is it. I would tell others about this fountain
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My dog drinks more water

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sweendog
from Columbus, OH
I bought the Drinkwell Pet fountain because when I would fill my dogs water bowl he liked to drink from the pitcher. I have noticed that he is drinking more water. I think that the sound of the running water is appealing to him and he loves drinking from the stream. The pump is noisier than I had expected. It vibrates and makes a loud humming noise. I was able to fix this with a little manipulation. Overall I would recommend this and it is a perfect size for my 12lb YorkiePoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the Idea

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mattika
from Rochester, NH
One cat doesn't mind it - but the skid-dish one (who doesn't like odd noises) is pretty scared of it. I've only seen her drink from it once when it was off and she very timidly walked up to it. So we have been unplugging during day (we don't like stuff plugged in anyway).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
luckblackie
from laramie,WY
This is wonderful for a cat that thinks they need to drink out of a facet! However, one of my cats thinks he needs to pull off the top and carry away. So it is a hunt and find for the top- maybe a latch or a less curious cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good! But hard to clean...

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
miscELENAous
from Los Angeles, CA
I originally bought this fountain almost two years ago My kitty loves it! The fountain works fine, and has lasted longer than I expected!
The only things that bother me about this fountain are:
1.) It's very hard to clean. There are lots of nooks and crannies that you can't easily get to, in order to clean it thoroughly. Some areas are completely hidden (behind the little level that sucks the water in to be filtered) so you can't clean them at all, and some are almost impossible to reach. I've learned to use hot water to flush the system out. I don't know if I've totally gone too OCD, but it will take me about 20 minutes to get the water flowing without little floaties coming out of the nooks of the unit.
2.) It hums louder than I'd prefer it to. It's not obnoxious, but it's noticeable!
All in all, it's pretty reliable and the kitty loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great. Easy to use. Just add water and plug it in!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
crsm
from illinois
I bought two of these one for my cat and one for my Mom's cat. It took my cat a couple of days before she would drink out of it but my Mom's cat went right over to it the first 5 minutes we turned it on. They both seem to really like it and it keeps the water nice and fresh. It does have a filter though and they recomend you change them once a week. It only comes with one filter. They are about $8.00 for a pack of 3 (cheaper if you buy more) I think if you use bottled water and change the water often enough you may not have to change the filters so frequently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>