petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(399 Reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 399 reviews
5 stars
241
4 stars
66
3 stars
37
2 stars
20
1 star
35
324 out of 399(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+31points
67of 103voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+28points
65of 102voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+24points
137of 250voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps water fresher

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
It seemed really noisy at first, but at the lower setting it is fine. My cats weren't sure what to make of it, but seem to be okay with it now. I can say that the water seems to remain cleaner than the gravity fed one we had before. The only down side is the plug. I wish it was a little longer or that they made one with a different power source. It is nice that you can detach the system without unplugging from the wall to clean. Have only been using for a week, so haven't really had any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Valparaiso, IN
Cat loved it and actually started drinking water from somewhere else than the tub.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - stubborn cat

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamden, CT
The fountain is great - exactly as described. My cat was initially intrigued but has returned to the sink as her favorite watering space. I tried holding out and made it for a few days before I caved in to guilt. I am leaving it running. Periodically she goes over and sniffs. Since the fountain is quiet and I can tell she is still checking it out, I am optimistic she will figure it out. It took a few weeks for her to figure out the scratching post!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

great idea, poor product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I've had water fountains for my cats before and for my elder cat it was necessary as he'd not go near standing water.
This fountain he liked at first, but only for a few weeks. Guess it didn't matter much then when it broke after only two months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Seems like it will be good one day

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I can't get my cats to use this yet. They still insist on drinking from the faucet. I'm hopeful they will warm up to it soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Setup

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
My cats love this fountain but we need to get attached water reservoir for extra water capacity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

vary loud for a small home

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from seattle washingtom
I have a small home and it's to loud. Not the motor, it's very quiet but the stream of water falling on the unit and into the water bowl. No matter how the water flow was adjusted or the amount or water height in the bowl, it makes us old folks want to race to the bathroom! Sounds like I'm having a plumbing leak in the house. Of course it's louder at night. My cat didn't have a chance to use it as it was back in the box it came in. But if I had it in a larger environment the unit would be great. It worked perfectly and I can see it would keep my cat out of the sink.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from York, pa
Very simple set up. It has nice capacity and good flow. Some reviewers commented that it is noisy. But the volume comes from the water flow, not from the motor as in other models. This has a quiet motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loud motor

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from little rock, AR
The machine is so loud that my bengal and siamese are terrified of this water fountain. The fountain is in my laundry room and at night the fountain can be heard in the bedroom. The settings in water pressure is almost the same from the lowest to the highest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow start, but cats LOVE it

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, CO
I have 3 cats. When I first plugged in the fountain, only one would drink from it. I unplugged it, and still the other two would not touch it - they kept going to the tub to catch drips. I put a small bowl of water next to the unplugged fountain to get the cats used to drinking near the new object. After a week, I removed the bowl of water, but kept the unplugged fountain full of fresh water. The third week, I plugged the fountain back in, and the cats are drinking, and loving it. Not all cats will take to the fountain right off, so ease them into it by stages. The cats are indoor cats, and now they are drinking more than ever.
I'm happy I got this for my furbabies. It's quiet, and easy to clean, and the reservoir is a great feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drinks Well

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City
I was hesitant at first to but a drinking fountain for my cats, but after doing more research about the potential issues that cats face with standing water I decided that this would be a worthwhile buy. It's nice that I know that the cats will have cool clean water always available. One of my cats likes to drink from sinks, so now she has her own drinking fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One cat likes it the other is scared of it.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from manhattan, KS
Our vet recommended getting this. One of our cats loves it the other cat is scared of it. It does make a buzzing type sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cats loved it but..

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chester county PA
even though I cleaned it & replaced filters, it stopped working within 2 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for my cats

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Joplin,MO
My cats always wanted to drink from the faucet in the kitchen. So.... since they like the flowing water I looked for this product. Needless to say, they are very happy with it. They no longer jump into the sink hoping I'd turn on the faucet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I bought this in store to encourage my 15 year old cat to drink more. She immediately loved and I have noticed a difference in her health.
After a month, the fountain began to leak. A lot! I had to fill the bowl twice a day to keep it running. I contacted Drinkwell and they provided me a new one. Which started leaking as soon as it was plugged in. I am still using the bowl until I can get a new one. I would not recommend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

High Maintenance Water Fountain

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
I've had this water fountain for about a year now. There is a filter which somewhat filters the water before it reenters the water dish. But the problem is that there is no filtering before the pump. Therefore, the water dish and pump require frequent cleaning, including dis-assembly of the the pump. If the water intake area and pump are not kept clean, the water dish starts making (more) noise and the water flow is greatly reduced. This fountain is fairly noisy normally. So if you live in a relatively small apartment, it may be annoying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very noisy

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SF Bay Area
One of my cats loves to drink from a dripping faucet, so I mainly bought this for him, and he does like it. It is so noisy though that I can't leave it running overnight, and depending on what I'm doing in the house I often unplug it if I'm listening to music or watching a DVD because it's so loud.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>