petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

Cat water fountain filters and aerates continuously moving water to keep it fresher than standing water in a bowlSatisfies your pet's natural desire for moving waterIdeal for cats who drink from dripping faucets or are prone to urinary tract or kidney diseasesSelf-contained cat drinking fountain with adjustable flow rate6 cup capacity - no overflow in case of a power outageFeatures a charcoal filter to absorb unwanted odors and tastesAlso suitable for small dogs
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(392 Reviews) 391
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 392 reviews
5 stars
239
4 stars
64
3 stars
35
2 stars
20
1 star
34
319 out of 392(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YES! YES! YES!

PostedApril 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
CookieCat
from Texas
This is our second drinking fountain. We sold another brand of drinking fountain we had bought previously in a garage sale because it was too cumbersome to set up.
The Drinkwell comes preassembled. Just pop the filter in and add water and plug it in. The white one has a blue tinge to it and is made of good quality plastic. AND it has an ample large drinking resevoir. It's easy to adjust the water flow.
My cats have been frisky and playful since they got their drinkwell. I love it! I cant wait to grow some hydroponic grass in their drinking well too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+29points
64of 99voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product - My Cat Loves It!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tarr's Momma
from Minnesota
My kitty likes to lap at the running water in the bathroom sink; so I figured I'd buy him his own bowl that he could drink from without getting into trouble for being on the counter.
I did a lot of research before selecting a water fountain for my cat b
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+29points
62of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christy
from Fayetteville, AR
I am a veterinarian and a proud cat owner. A lot of cats are prone to kidney and bladder problems so one of the most important things you can do to keep your cat healthy is to increase its water comsumption. Most cats prefer to drink running water so this
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+22points
130of 238voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Winsalaco
from York, pa
Very simple set up. It has nice capacity and good flow. Some reviewers commented that it is noisy. But the volume comes from the water flow, not from the motor as in other models. This has a quiet motor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loud motor

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
sbkeller
from little rock, AR
The machine is so loud that my bengal and siamese are terrified of this water fountain. The fountain is in my laundry room and at night the fountain can be heard in the bedroom. The settings in water pressure is almost the same from the lowest to the highest.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow start, but cats LOVE it

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
depepsi
from Aurora, CO
I have 3 cats. When I first plugged in the fountain, only one would drink from it. I unplugged it, and still the other two would not touch it - they kept going to the tub to catch drips. I put a small bowl of water next to the unplugged fountain to get the cats used to drinking near the new object. After a week, I removed the bowl of water, but kept the unplugged fountain full of fresh water. The third week, I plugged the fountain back in, and the cats are drinking, and loving it. Not all cats will take to the fountain right off, so ease them into it by stages. The cats are indoor cats, and now they are drinking more than ever.
I'm happy I got this for my furbabies. It's quiet, and easy to clean, and the reservoir is a great feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drinks Well

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatManD0
from Salt Lake City
I was hesitant at first to but a drinking fountain for my cats, but after doing more research about the potential issues that cats face with standing water I decided that this would be a worthwhile buy. It's nice that I know that the cats will have cool clean water always available. One of my cats likes to drink from sinks, so now she has her own drinking fountain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One cat likes it the other is scared of it.

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
catloverinKS
from manhattan, KS
Our vet recommended getting this. One of our cats loves it the other cat is scared of it. It does make a buzzing type sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cats loved it but..

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
marcotiger
from chester county PA
even though I cleaned it & replaced filters, it stopped working within 2 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for my cats

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
NumSus
from Joplin,MO
My cats always wanted to drink from the faucet in the kitchen. So.... since they like the flowing water I looked for this product. Needless to say, they are very happy with it. They no longer jump into the sink hoping I'd turn on the faucet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jsdude10
from Florida
I bought this in store to encourage my 15 year old cat to drink more. She immediately loved and I have noticed a difference in her health.
After a month, the fountain began to leak. A lot! I had to fill the bowl twice a day to keep it running. I contacted Drinkwell and they provided me a new one. Which started leaking as soon as it was plugged in. I am still using the bowl until I can get a new one. I would not recommend this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

High Maintenance Water Fountain

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
PtpSteve
from Irvine, CA
I've had this water fountain for about a year now. There is a filter which somewhat filters the water before it reenters the water dish. But the problem is that there is no filtering before the pump. Therefore, the water dish and pump require frequent cleaning, including dis-assembly of the the pump. If the water intake area and pump are not kept clean, the water dish starts making (more) noise and the water flow is greatly reduced. This fountain is fairly noisy normally. So if you live in a relatively small apartment, it may be annoying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very noisy

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Soprino
from SF Bay Area
One of my cats loves to drink from a dripping faucet, so I mainly bought this for him, and he does like it. It is so noisy though that I can't leave it running overnight, and depending on what I'm doing in the house I often unplug it if I'm listening to music or watching a DVD because it's so loud.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally rejected by my Cat

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gully
from Sag Harbor, NY
Noisy - and my cat continues to prefer the kitchen sink faucet - sadly this water fountain was a total waste.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet water fountain

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
JC222
from Utah
My cats love it, so of course we love it too! It is a great alternative to running water from the faucet daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drinkwell Fountan

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
PBGJNG
from New Rochelle
My older cat was constantly wanting me to turn on the bathroom sink so I thought the fountain would be a better alternative. When I first got it she was not sure about using it. My younger cat was a bit braver and drank from it. Once she saw that they both loved it very much. My older cat no longer asks to have the bathroom sink turned on (which is so much better for me especially during the middle of the night)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco watering dish

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sxj21
from Atlanta GA
This product only worked for about a week
And then the motor broke. This is the 2nd time this has happened.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitty used it

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Knittycat1
I had this unit for about 5 years with no problems until I got a dog & it no problems until the dog got brave enough to copy kitty and started drinking it, which offended my kitty to have to drink something contaminated with dog slobber and she wouldn't touch it again. I'm looking at it again since I have new cats now with urinary issues.
I don't know if they recommend this or not, but I used to put the unit in the dishwasher: everything but the actual motor (I used to break down the motor plastic parts & even put them in the dishwasher). I can't remember how often I put it in the dishwasher maybe 1x every 2 weeks? You probably could just wipe it out with damp cloth to make sure it doesn't get that red water slime too but I'm lazy.
My cat actually liked another brand one better (she was my little love and had 2, plus I had more $ since she was pre-dog), she didn't really care for the pouring drip and liked the one better with the running water without the drip feature, with the pretty blue water reservoir, but this got my vote for being easier to clean & assemble. She used both. I never thought about this until I am writing the review, but after she stopped using these I had to start giving her subcutaneous fluids for chronic renal failure. Hmm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble, simple to use

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crazy4catz
from Conncecticut
Bought this after much research to replace another brand that leaked and did not work well. No regrets so far, One of our 3 cats only liked to drink from the sink or if we put an ice cube in his water dish and he loves this fountain. He drinks from the stream of water, and the other 2 prefer to lap the water up from the large fountain bowl. It is relatively quiet, easy to clean, and doesn't take up too much space. There is a lever to adjust the flow of water into the bowl, a feature I like. I top it up daily to keep my cats happy. I'm pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pet Fountain for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fountain works well

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
PhrednFred
from Romulus, NY
Works as advertised. Our cat really likes drinking from this fountain. Since boy cats need to drink plenty of water, and he prefers running water (spoiled cat!), we bought this so we wouldn't have to keep turning on the bathroom water. Would suggest adding a motion sensor so the fountain doesn't have to be on constantly. We've put ours on a timer, but that doesn't always coincide with our cat's thirst!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>