petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food

Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food

Gentle on stomachs & skin with 100% complete nutritionPrebiotics for intestinal healthNutrients for healthy skin & coatMade with natural ingredientsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(143 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
5 stars
120
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
134 out of 141(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a Mircle!!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
BronsonsMom
from San Antonio, Texas
When we got our pitbull puppy, he was only 5 wks old. From the very beginning, he had problems with digestion. As soon as he would eat, he would start having diarrhea that would continue for hours and end with him vomiting. At first, I thought it was because he was so young, but as he got older, it became obvious we had a bigger problem. I felt so sorry for him (and my carpet!) everytime he had an accident he would cry and look so ashamed. The vet suggested we try switching his food. To make a long story short, we tried six different brands and finally (after about 6 mos) found this Sensitive Stomach formula. He is now nine months old and has had NO problems since he started this diet!!! I am so grateful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Racefan3
from St.Lous,MO
My dog has a shinier coat and eats better. I would recommend this to a friend. Expensive but worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tmk222
from Galveston Texas
Our dog was having stomach issues and skin sensitivity. He started having accidents on our new carpet too! Got this product, he loves the taste and gets so excited when it's time to eat. No more problems and you can tell he feels better! You can also get coupons in store or at the science diet website. We highly recommend this dog food and just wish we would have known about it sooner!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
AtlasAndKorra
This was an ok product BEFORE Hill's decided to combine both the Sensitive Skin and Sensitive Stomach formulas. Since the switch, my poor dogs have suffered through so much aggravation.
First, I had no idea the formulas were being combined so imagine my surprise when I went to purchase a bag of my dog's normal food, Sensitive Skin, only to find this garbage in its place. "Ok fine" I thought and decided to give it a try. I didn't have much of their current food left so I had to make the food transition rather rapidly. They handled that well, loose stools for less than a week and they were good to go.
Over the next few months however, I have witnessed my poor babies being driven absolutely insane by endlessly itchy skin, and now their coats are dull and lifeless. My male is so plagued by itchy skin that he has bitten himself raw in several places and now how to wear a cone 24/7 until he is healed. At first I thought it was fleas so I combed them over head to toe and gave them a flea bath. I sprayed my apartment with a flea killer that has worked wonders for me in the past. Still the biting persisted. My next thought was maybe they were itching because it's hot and they are shedding. I purchased a undercoat brush and while the brush did a marvelous job of removing their undercoat, they still bit and chewed at their skin. Next I thought perhaps they just had dry skin due to the weather change and proceeded to bathe them and spray them down with soothing conditioning spritzes designed to relieve dry itchy skin. While a temporary relief, my babies were back at it minutes later. Conclusion: it was the food doing this to them again.
The only other time my dogs were plagued by itchy skin this terribly is when I had them on Beneful....then I did my research and discovered the horrors behind that food and switched them over to Hill's. What a great change that was...
I'm switching my dogs over to something more wholesome. Garbage from a dumpster would be better for them than this god awful excuse for a "vet recommended" product.
Do yourselves and your beloved dogs a favor and stay away from this "food"!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have used for years!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
mysmallhurd
from Aurora, Texas
I have been using this for my 3 dogs for years. I have a dog that has stomach problems. She is now 11 years old and this is the only dog food that works for her. My daughter is an RVT and she recommends this now all the time for her client, who have dogs with stomach problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gi problems

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
moose101
from CA
Moose throws up with all other brands. Tried all other types of food and brands - nothing works except this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for My Vomiting Dogs

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tricky123
from NC
This is the only food that keeps my 2 dogs from vomiting. Small dogs are more prone to vomiting. They don't eat people food so I need a good quality dog food. That's been Science Diet Sensitive Stomach for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible, especially for your dog's health.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
carieclean
from canton, nj
Dogs should not have grains in their diet whatsoever. It makes them itchy, causes a lot of skin problems, makes them stink, and causes a number of discomforts to your dog. DO NOT FEED THEM THIS FOOD IF YOU LOVE YOUR DOG.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Dog loved it!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lzuiker
from Centennial, CO
We were having problems with our dog's digestion and someone suggested a sensitive stomach dog food. We tried this kind and we've been very happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No tummy upsets

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubbalady2
from Chicago, IL
Science Diet has been my dog food of choice for over 30 years. I started to use it to as I paper trained my first dogs for small compact stools. My current dogs have very sensitive stomachs. SD sensitive stomach works well for them. Our vet use this food for all boarding dogs because it seems to cause fewer upset
stomachs. Pricey but work it to me and the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Some of my favorite things:)

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
WorfRules
from Home
Wow!
Amazing is an understatement, says my German Shepherd to all his friends and family:).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My sensitve shepherd mix can eat it

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
CyndiB
from Wooster, OH
My dog has a very sensitive stomach, so bad in fact that other quality dog food will cause her to have bloody diarrhea. She can't handle quick switches and most times she can't handle any switch from her Kibbles n Bits. I've wanted to switch her to something healthier for a while but haven't been able to. Then I decided to take a chance on Science Diet and we've had no issues at all. I started off slow, but after only a couple days she was eating 100% Science Diet Sensitive Stomach food with no issues, and she loves it! I've never seen her clean her bowl like she does now. She races to her bowl, when before she would sometimes leave some behind.
A great product for dogs with really sensitive stomachs :) Will be buying from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hdblue
from Boston, MA
My dog has constant problems with diarrhea and has a very sensitive stomach. I started using Science Diet Sensitive Stomach and while yes it costs more, my dog love it more then any other food I ever tried and never has a problem with his stomach.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product helped my Schnauzer

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bogeysmom
from Hellertown, PA
I am SO happy I found Science Diet Sensitive Stomach. My Miniature Schnauzer was constantly having stomach problems and gastritis. Since switching his food to Science Diet Sensitive Stomach, he hasn't had any problems and we're both much happier! I strongly recommend this food for any dogs who have frequent stomach problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ThreePups
from Boston, MA
I started feeding my dog science diet sensitive stomach when he was having stomach issues. I had great success with the food and he seemed to really like it. Now all three of my dogs eat it! They all love it and it really seems to keep their tummies in check!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing.

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mireille
from Boston, MA
my German Shepard had constant diaheria. He couldn't eat anything but white rice and hamburg without getting sick and even that was touch and go. He lost a ton of weight, was constantly dehydrated and we spent thousands at the vet on blood tests, bowel x rays, sonograms, etc. Finally I got sick of it, and fed him boiled rice and hamburg for two weeks and then started blending this food in. And now he's perfect. No watery stool or anything. He put on weight and he's back to his normal self. Amazing food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for senior dogs

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grouchie
from Ontario,California
My Akita is over 13yrs old. She has been incontinent @ times which were runny stools. Switch to sensitive stomach, now has normal stool, and has made cleaning accidents less messy and much easier to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
OdintheDobe
from Wrentham
My Dobe had loose stools, this helped a lot. He likes it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hills Science Diet for Sensitive Stomach

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
BellaCallie
from Peculiar, Missosuri
After having some problems with one of our Boston Terriers having a very sensitive stomach we bought this brand and have had very good luck. It is so easy to order the 30 pound bags from Petco and have them shipped right to our door. I would recommend this dog food for anyone with a dog that has trouble keeping their food down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like magic

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iluvmycavalier
from north carolina
No matter what I tried my poor Cavalier pup was having diarrhea and/or very soft stools and didn't like most of the choices of food put in front of him. Although he is barely over 5 mos old the vet said it was okay to give him the sensitive stomach formula for adults. He LOVES it and for the first time in his life is having solid stools!! A miracle!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>