petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food

Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food

Science Diet dog food supplies 100% complete nutritionDry dog food is gentle on stomachs and skinPrebiotics for intestinal healthNutrients for healthy skin and coatMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(186 Reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 186 reviews
5 stars
156
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
176 out of 184(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a Mircle!!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
When we got our pitbull puppy, he was only 5 wks old. From the very beginning, he had problems with digestion. As soon as he would eat, he would start having diarrhea that would continue for hours and end with him vomiting. At first, I thought it was because he was so young, but as he got older, it became obvious we had a bigger problem. I felt so sorry for him (and my carpet!) everytime he had an accident he would cry and look so ashamed. The vet suggested we try switching his food. To make a long story short, we tried six different brands and finally (after about 6 mos) found this Sensitive Stomach formula. He is now nine months old and has had NO problems since he started this diet!!! I am so grateful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mcallen
It works-- it removes the smell by dog release due to her sensitivity from environment . She does not scratch when eating this food
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Dog Food

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bethlehem, PA
My dog was having many issues with her stool being runny, so our vet recommended a food switch. We tried a few other brands and we ended up on Science Diet. I cannot believe I didn't try it sooner! Her stool is formed and she is happy as can be! Our three other dogs love it too. I love Science Diet and what it did for our dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my 1.5 y/o pup

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
My 1.5 year old German Shepherd was already eating this brand of food when I adopted him 2 months ago. He has a sensitive stomach so this has worked well for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't help

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Morristown, nj
I had previously had my dog on a prescription diet dog food from the same manufacture for my dog's stomach issues, but switched to this product which is less expensive. Her loose stool immediately returned.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Senisitve Skin and Tummy

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MN
Fabulous food for Cooper. His coat was a mess and ears were goopy a lot. Lot of ear infections. We have tried so many different formulas. Came across this particular formula and gave it a try. His coat is gorgeous, no goopy ears, and ear infections seem to be history. Stools much less but very normal. We love the bigger chunks. It slows him down while eating. He seems to be full on less food. Love the bigger 30# bag. This seems to be popular with others because this formula seems to be sold out compared to other formulas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rescue Pup loves it!

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from IL
a few weeks ago I adopted a rescue puggle. The foster parents gave me the food they had him on & said they had been struggling for months to get him to have regular poops. they said they were always runny/never solid. I had to take him to the vet for an ear infection they had been ignoring/did not notice & I mentioned his tummy troubles. They gave me the purina packets to add to his food but those did nothing. frustrated I switched to this food hoping it would help his leathery ears & his tummy & it seems to be doing the trick! less scratching over all & solid poops 2 times a day!!! Hazahh!!! I love this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kokomo, In
Two summers ago my Cocker Spaniel had gotten so sick she would only eat chicken/rice and even that was sporatic. Tried thee different brands (high $ stuff) with no success then I went to sensative stomach. She kept it down, gained her weight back & even her coat showed improvment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product much needed

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new orleans
thanks for this product, without it don't know what I would do!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Switched our GSP to this product a few weeks ago and seen results the first week!! Always had a hard time keeping weight on her and she has some digestive issues I would have to put her on meds. Since starting to use this food, I have not had to put her on meds and she is doing wonderful! Plus I got a great coupon and free shipping thru Petco and another company I use!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

at last.....

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Myers, Fl
Finally found a dry dog food he enjoys eating and most importantly he stopped his constant scratching and licking....his other foods must have been the problem! What a relief for both of us!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent !!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lothian, MD
I have a two year old pit bull that I rescued. I noticed that she was constantly itching her backside and licking her paws and thought that maybe she had fleas. Her itching continued even after a flea bath and treatments for fleas. This being my first time with a pit bull, I did not realize that they had skin allergies and sensitivities. I have always used science diet food and switched to this brand because it is grain free and helps with skin allergies. The itching has been minimal since switching to this brand of food and is still sitting well in her stomach. I am going to continue with this brand and type of food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
Was buying the expensive food from the Vet. The Vet stopped stocking the food making it special order only. Checked out the ingredients on the bag and they were spot (pun) on to this product. They seem to like the taste and I get to keep the $20.00 savings in my wallet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, FL
I have a Boxer who has a very sensitive stomach. Every other food I had bought for him would make him throw up. It looked like he was just eating his food whole rather than chewing it. I came a across this and he hasn't thrown up since. It's also bigger pieces of food so it forces him to chew it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great.

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St.Lous,MO
My dog has a shinier coat and eats better. I would recommend this to a friend. Expensive but worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Galveston Texas
Our dog was having stomach issues and skin sensitivity. He started having accidents on our new carpet too! Got this product, he loves the taste and gets so excited when it's time to eat. No more problems and you can tell he feels better! You can also get coupons in store or at the science diet website. We highly recommend this dog food and just wish we would have known about it sooner!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
This was an ok product BEFORE Hill's decided to combine both the Sensitive Skin and Sensitive Stomach formulas. Since the switch, my poor dogs have suffered through so much aggravation.
First, I had no idea the formulas were being combined so imagine my surprise when I went to purchase a bag of my dog's normal food, Sensitive Skin, only to find this garbage in its place. "Ok fine" I thought and decided to give it a try. I didn't have much of their current food left so I had to make the food transition rather rapidly. They handled that well, loose stools for less than a week and they were good to go.
Over the next few months however, I have witnessed my poor babies being driven absolutely insane by endlessly itchy skin, and now their coats are dull and lifeless. My male is so plagued by itchy skin that he has bitten himself raw in several places and now how to wear a cone 24/7 until he is healed. At first I thought it was fleas so I combed them over head to toe and gave them a flea bath. I sprayed my apartment with a flea killer that has worked wonders for me in the past. Still the biting persisted. My next thought was maybe they were itching because it's hot and they are shedding. I purchased a undercoat brush and while the brush did a marvelous job of removing their undercoat, they still bit and chewed at their skin. Next I thought perhaps they just had dry skin due to the weather change and proceeded to bathe them and spray them down with soothing conditioning spritzes designed to relieve dry itchy skin. While a temporary relief, my babies were back at it minutes later. Conclusion: it was the food doing this to them again.
The only other time my dogs were plagued by itchy skin this terribly is when I had them on Beneful....then I did my research and discovered the horrors behind that food and switched them over to Hill's. What a great change that was...
I'm switching my dogs over to something more wholesome. Garbage from a dumpster would be better for them than this god awful excuse for a "vet recommended" product.
Do yourselves and your beloved dogs a favor and stay away from this "food"!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have used for years!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, Texas
I have been using this for my 3 dogs for years. I have a dog that has stomach problems. She is now 11 years old and this is the only dog food that works for her. My daughter is an RVT and she recommends this now all the time for her client, who have dogs with stomach problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gi problems

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
Moose throws up with all other brands. Tried all other types of food and brands - nothing works except this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for My Vomiting Dogs

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC
This is the only food that keeps my 2 dogs from vomiting. Small dogs are more prone to vomiting. They don't eat people food so I need a good quality dog food. That's been Science Diet Sensitive Stomach for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>