petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food

Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food

Gentle on stomachs & skin with 100% complete nutritionPrebiotics for intestinal healthNutrients for healthy skin & coatMade with natural ingredientsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.791 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
5 stars
112
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
125 out of 129(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Review 1 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marlon with irritable bowel enjoys this with no problems!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnimalPoet
from New York City
Marlon, fifteen years old, has irritable bowel syndrome. He is on Flagyl and prednisolone. He likes Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomiach & Skin Adult Cat Food and is able to tolerate it with no problems, when other foods upset his bowels. More than palatable, he enjoys this food, in addition to the wet canned food he tolerates. Finding this food was a boon for Marlon and Marlon's adopted brother, seventeen-year-old Zappy, likes it, too! Good one, Hill's!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't know if this is going to work out...

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
magegirl
from Omaha, NE
My cat had been eating the Science Diet Sensitive Stomach, which I saw you no longer carried.
So I ordered this instead. How big a difference could it be?
Well, my cat is currently sulking. He walks by the bowl, MAYBE takes a bite, then walks off.
We are hoping he will eat it if he gets hungry enough. Do not worry, he won't starve - He weighs 17lbs.
But it is still very distressing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved my cat's tummy trouble

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
SpoiledCatMomma
from New Hampshire
I switched my [now] 2-year-old persian to dry food from raw when I got him from his breeder. I tried a grain-free competitor that was highly advertised (apparently I'm not allowed to mention specifics which I don't get) and after being on it for a month or so he started getting really bad diarrhea. I switched him to Science Diet Sensitive Stomach and the problem almost immediately went away. After awhile, I read some articles stating that cats really need a grain-free diet and foods that list rice as the first few ingredients are not ideal, so I thought I would try [same competitor as before but a different formula, and I was hesitant to do so] because "deboned chicken" was the first ingredient. Just like last time, after about a month or two, the diarrhea started up again. He was never sick once on Science Diet, so I am switching him back, and NEVER switching him again. I learned my lesson. I don't care what's in it as long as he eats it and it doesn't make him sick. This food is a MUST for cats that can't tolerate other food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kibble

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
LaPue
from Clarkston, MI
I know this product is a bit pricey but we have three cats ranging in age from 5 to 16, The two younger ones have 'sensitive' stomachs. We tried all kinds of different brands and formulations including the one recommended by our vet. They were constantly throwing up all over the house and nothing we tried seemed to help until we tried the S.D. Sensitive Stomach cat food. They liked the new food right from the beginning and thankfully it has solved the problem of constantly cleaning up messes. I would highly recommend that anyone with a similar problem give this food a try, It sure beats the alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank goodness for this cat food!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
crittersni
from San Diego
One of my three cats developed diarrhea. Tried medications over a 3 month period with no resolution. Then my vet recommended this food. Problem resolved. I was recently unexpectedly hospitalized. My friend didn't know the big box on the dining room table was from Petco and a repeat delivery of this food. Since the container for cat food was empty, it wss assumed there was no more so fed the cats dog food which resulted in 6 days of diarrhea for my sensitive cat - after only one day of dog food. This happens every time his food gets changed to anything else which is one of the reasons it is set up for repeat delivery. It would be better for him to go hungry rather than be given any other food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
kittymama7797
from Hampton, VA
I have a cat who throws up a lot and this food seems to be the best thing I've found. Good food and my cats all like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food for sensitive stomachs

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
mccl0799
from Moscow, Idaho
I have 2 cats, 1 with a sensitive stomach and 1 that doesn't. I need a food that both would eat but the one with the sensitive stomach wouldn't through up. I tried every food under the sun and finally found this food and from the first day I haven't had any stomach issues and it has been 1 year since I started feeding my cats this food. I wouldn't feed them anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hill's Diet Sensitive Stomach Adult Cat Food

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
evilchristine
from Homer Glen, Il.
Have three healthy cats thriving on this dry cat food
amd Petco.com is a life saver to someone who is handicapped for delivery to my front door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Sensitive Stomach

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Howell
This is the only cat food that sits well in all nine of our cats stomachs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem solved

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MiaKitty
from san francisco
We adopted our young adult cat Mia from the local shelter in late August. Hills's Science diet was the diet of choice from the shelter. Our cat is very healthy with a super glossy coat and shiny eyes. One problem, Mia had a sensitive stomach and vomitted once or twice a week. I ordered Hill's Science sensitive stomach food and mixed it 50/50 with the regular Hill's Science Adult Food. Problem solved! No more tummy issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Sensitive Stomach

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
PensFan87
from Burns Harbor, IN
My male cat just turned 9 yrs old and was recently diagnosed with pancreatitis after several days of throwing up and not eating. After his symptoms were alleviated through a combination of medications and IV fluids, my vet suggested switching his food from another brand's indoor formula to Science Diet Sensitive Stomach. While no one seems to know what causes pancreatitis or how to prevent flare-ups, this food seems to help keep the flare-ups to a minimum and has also reduced how often he throws up. I also have a female cat who I have switched to this food, and both seem to really like the taste. Although this food is about 3 times as expensive as my old brand, the cost is definitely worth the benefits.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to help

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
kikn
We have an older cat who was having a problem with frequent vomiting. This food has helped reduce this problem. Still some vomiting but not nearly as much as before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Sensitive Stomach Works!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
KatzNDogz
from Walled Lake, MI
We have found excellent results with the Science Diet Sensitive Stomach cat food. We have seven cats - 6 of them are on the SS cat food and one of our 'kids' is required to have a special diet of the I/D food. We have had our cats on this for years and saw a remarkable difference when using this food where there were less incidents of throwing up the food. Highly recocommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sensitive stomach adult cat food

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from APO AE 09630
Excellent product, excellent price, free shipping on volume purchases, Petco is a valuable resource for pet owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Science Diet Sensitive Stomach

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Furcoat
from Cave Junction, Or
I have 4 bobtails and it took me along time to find a product that would not give them diarrhea....this product is Science Diet Sensitive Stomach.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
heatherb77
from Buffalo, NY
As the background to this, one of my four cats has had a digestive problem since we rescued him 4 years ago. he would leave little droppings all over the house. We could hear him using his litter box downstairs in the basement when we were upstairs. It was horrible and we felt awful but the meds from the vet weren't doing the trick, not to mention they were pricey and our cat is a ninja who doesn't like to get pilled AT ALL. so it wasn't a practical solution for us. we had him on Iams - the pink bag for digestive issues. it did nothing. we went to a natural pet store by us and tried three different "natural" products - didn't work. We tried giving him drops - helped a small amount but he was STILL leaking a few times a week.
we have a 1 year old and a baby on the way - and cleaning up after him daily and even finding where he left these wet droppings was getting to be a challenge - we had called the vet about putting him down, despite him being 5 yrs old.
On a whim, a week before we were going to put him down, we tried a small bag of science diet sensitive stomach. just because we passed it in the aisle. it took 3-4 days - but after that .. NOTHING. it's been 3 weeks and we haven't seen ANY droppings. The little box seems to indicate that all waste is now solid. It's AMAZING! I have heard some bad things about the composition of this food - i have to say, this food saved my cats life! I highly recommend to anyone having this problem with their cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product worked well for my cat

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
BH1963
from Maryland
I was feeding my male cat a national brand of cat food and he started with a UTI. After several visits to the Vet and several types of medications and the cat spitting up the cat food and losing weight the Vet has us try this food and he has kept it down and gained weight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked well for my cat, even if the nutrition wasn't there 100%

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
dLightFull
from California
Although this food isn't as "natural" and "wholesome" as I would like it to be - the fact is that every cat is different - and therefore, so are their needs. This food actually worked for my cat, and it stopped her from throwing up after switching from her original food. In any case, in the search of something more natural - I tried switching to the Halo sensitive stomach formula - and it actually caused my cat to start throwing up again, so I might have to switch back to the Hill's sensitive stomach if I can't find a more natural alternative.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work, POOR quality

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
CatLover33
from Austin, TX
Like most of the other reviewers I have a cat with a throwing up problem as well. After trying a few premium brands I decided to try it based purely on the good reviews on this site. As I read the ingredients it became clear that you're paying a lot of money for a bag of corn. My cat has had this issue for over a year and I tried this food out of sheer desperation. Not only did it not stop my troubled cat's vomiting, my other cat (who has NO problems with food) started walking around howling at night and getting into my roommate's dog's food and treats! Turns out he was starving because guess what, this food has little to nutritional value. It is nothing but fillers. Luckily I got my money back from Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hill's Science Diet Sensitive Stomach & Skin Adult Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
MeezerMomTo3
from Rocky Mount, MO
My youngest siamese would throw up once or twice a week on the other food I was feeding him, but it's been 9 days since he started on this food, and he hasn't thrown up once ... knock on wood! And my other 2 siamese like it, so they probably will all be eating this food when their current food is gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>