petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter

Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter

When you have more cats, you need more powerScoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter delivers maximum clumping and better odor controlWith extra Odor Guard protection to prevent the growth of odor-causing bacteria in the litter box
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
33 out of 44(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Cat Litter for my Superb Cat!

PostedMay 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Alex's Mom
from Phoenix, AZ
I started using Scoop Away over four years ago quite by accident when I became a cat owner for the first time. I found this product on sale, so snatched it up, not knowing the first thing about cat care or cat litter. Since then, I have tried numerous other brands of litter, and none of them, no matter what the cost or claims, have come close to the odor control and clumping of Scoop Away. Nobody ever smells the litter box, Alex is a happy kitty, and I am a happy Mom! I recommend this product without hesitation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best clumping litter I've found

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JamiePappas
from Boston, MA
Best clumping litter available that I've found. The clumps form solidly and you don't have to be super careful when scooping to keep them from breaking up like with some other clumping litters.
The smell of this litter is nice and the dust is average for a clumping litter.
We tried some of the new "lighter weight" litters that have recently come on the market, but have returned to ScoopAway because it clumps the best and isn't as dusty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way too dusty!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharlestownCats
I don't recommend this litter. When I first tried it, I fell in love with it because it's great at hiding odors. With proper scooping, it lasts much longer than other litters before it needs to be completely replaced. BUT...
Don't buy it! The litter is so dusty that your entire house will have a layer of litter film over it, with that horrible fake perfumy scent. Regular dusting doesn't help because the dust gets into the tiniest nooks in your home (and makes your upholstered furniture smell like dusty perfume, too). I had to throw out and replace all my window blinds because even with regular vacuuming, the dust film and smell wouldn't go.
It's too bad because the litter really works well. It's just terrible for your home, and I can only imagine what it does for human and feline lungs!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scoop Away cat litter

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
oklk
from oklahoma
It is so hard to fight the litter box odor with 4 cats, but with Scoop Away scented litter/multi cats formula, the odor is almost knocked out. The smell I do detect is from the cat that doesn't "cover". The scent of this litter is fresh and light. Thanks Scoop Away!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

scoop away cat litter

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
amer71
from allentown,pa
I HAVECV 2 CATS AND SCOOP AWAY REALLY WORKS.I BEEN USING FOR YEARS.I REALLY,REALLY LOVE SCOOP AWAY CAT LITTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS BETTER THEN OTHER BRANDS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing cat litter!

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
MrsGaspard
from Atlanta, GA
I absolutly love this stuff! Me and my husband were getting SO frustrated with our wonderful, yet picky cat Galahad. He could not stand to go potty in a smelly cat box. If his brother Luther went in to go right before he did, he wouldn't do it. Instead, he would go in the bathtub! So, after much hassle with the guy, we found this litter. And boy is it a God send. I don't care how many times they use this litter, it NEVER smells! And, Galahad approves. ^_^ I don't want to buy any other brand! Our household favorite is the Scoop Away with crystals. Smells just like soap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful Product.

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
GaggingOnCatLitterDust
Positive: It clumps very well and is easy to scoop. I originally bought it for the price and the size.
Negative: This is NOT 99% dust free. The dust flies EVERYWHERE when I scoop and the scent of the commercial perfume they use is overwhelming and literally sticks in the back of my throat and in my sinuses if I don't hold a rag over my face. It leaves my cats with a horrible chemical scent. It's was also the majority of the dust in my computer when I cleaned it out recently. The smell was unmistakable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will not buy anything else

PostedSeptember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
LoyalCustomer
I picked up this type of litter about four years ago because it was on sale. Since then, I've tried several other brands that were on sale thinking that litter is all the same. I was wrong. I would not buy any other type again. I have two cats and a recent addition of a kitten. All three use the same box and there is only one in the house. We built a cat tree where the base encloses the largest litter box I could find. I typically clean the box every two to three days. The litter box is in my entry to the house and you don't smell it at all. (unless I've been bad about cleaning, you can't blame the litter for that!) What I really like is that it clumps REALLY well. This allows the litter to last longer between complete changeouts, which saves me money.
Anytime I go for litter, I look for the "CLUMPS TIGHT!" on the outside and know I'm getting the best stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter - doesn't smell

PostedMay 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
SweetKatz
I have used Scoop Away for years and love it. I've tried other products that may have been cheaper, but I could smell the litter box everywhere. I don't have that problem with Scoop Away. I have 5 cats and try to scoop 2x per day. It clumps well and the box stays as clean I keep it. The only thing that I do not like about the product is that it is dusty, so I when I empty and refill the box, I do it outside to minimize dust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
spazsmom
from Boston, MA
I have 5 cats & this is the best litter for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice !

PostedNovember 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
seastar
When I got my 2 kittens, I wasn't sure what type of litter to purchase. I tried one and the odor was terrible when the kittens used their litter box. I tried this brand and am very happy with it and so are the kittens. It has a pleasant scent and is not tracked all over the house like the blue crystals in the other brand. Will stay with this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my worst mistake

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
BiancaE
Normally i use fresh step litter, but i decided i wanted to try something new. BIG MISTAKE. i scoop the litter EVERY SINGLE DAY and yet 4 days after changing the litter I was able to smell the litter throughout the whole house. Usually when i use fresh step i don't have to completely change the litter for 2 weeks, but not with this one it didn't even last a whole week. Even my cat noticed the difference. the second i opened the new litter my cat was ready to jump in the container and go in it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
ks1824
This litter is so great that i actually want to scoop my cats litter, i don't mind it at all. my friend recommended to me because i tried many other clumping cat litters and they didn't work for me because they smelled and had to be changed as quickly as regular clay cat litters. since using this litter i have not smelled urine or any foul smells from the litter box, it does have a bit of a perfume smell but i like it, and i noticed when being around my cats that they do smell like the perfume smell from the liter. but i do have to say i its a pleasant smell and its allot better than them smelling like the clay cat litter or like urine. also when comparing the mess from litters.... this litter i can barely notice.. before i would notice balls of clay all over my apartment. now its very minimal so i don't know why anyone would complain about a mess because we all know with animals, that is something we expect when we adopt them. we cant expect some mercal to happen where we don't have to clean or take care of an animal. when using this product it minimized the mess at least 80 percent which is more than i could ask for. i don't have to vacuumed half the time that i use to with the old clay and clumping cat litter i used, i would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litter That I Have Ever Purchased

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Quinnie
After trying several litter products, I really believed that there was not any litter that would be able to keep a fresh smell and be easy to clump up when I empty the litter box. I had two cats and one just passed some time ago (so now I have one), but I remember before I purchased Scoop Away Litter, both of my cats litter boxes would smell horrible and be an easy mess to make in the litter while trying to empty. So one day while shopping at Petco I saw the Scoop Away product and thought to myself, hey let me try this out and see how it goes. Ever since then my cat's litter box has had a fresh smell and looks neat after I empty it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I can't use this product

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
KrisEsq
from San Francisco, CA
After trying a more expensive brand of multi-cat clumping litter, I thought I'd try something a little more cost effective. I also like that this product comes in a canister so I can use a scoop instead of lifting a whole box. Boy, what a mistake.
It's so dusty that it both makes me and my cats sneeze. They only sneeze when I first scoop in more litter as a fine dust fills the bathroom air, but it irritates my nose for much longer than that. It runs and I sneeze, and the irritation returns whenever my kitties come up to me right after using their box or if I'm in the bathroom as/after the cats have used the box. For a while I thought that perhaps I've finally come to the point where I can't control my cat allergies through good grooming and housekeeping, but then I realized it's just the new litter. I have to immediately stop using this product. If it's irritating me so much, I can only wonder what it's doing to my kitties (although they don't seem to mind it at all).
Also, it's not that good at clumping #1. They always fall apart, often into pieces that are too small to scoop up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've used many litters, and this one's the best!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
CMLk9luva
from Gainesville, Florida
I am always fostering kittens (who can have quite smelly bathroom habits), and this litter is my top choice! It has a clean, yet not overpowering, scent, and clumps very tight. It is important for it to clump tight, so you're not leaving bits of urine-covered litter behind after scooping. Also, cats can be quite picky with their litter, and I haven't had a cat reject it yet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the best.

PostedNovember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
amazinggrace
from Whitehouse Station, NJ
I have 1 cat and 2 litter boxes. I've used one to try different kinds of litter and the other has Scoop Away. I prefer the Scoop Away, but wanted to give my cat the option of getting the one he preferred. Well, it was unanimous, both my cat and I prefer Scoop Away. I'm not sure why he likes it, but I like the tight clumping, the aroma is pleasing and there's no "cat odor".
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it was okay

PostedNovember 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
marse
from Wisconsin
This is what I used before i used the new fresh step stuff. This stuff was okay, maybe a little better than most at covering odor but it's not the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fabulous product

PostedOctober 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
nyckitties
smells good. absorbs odor (much better than brand we used before). kitties adjusted to it fine. we couldnt be happier with this litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Scoop Away Multi-Cat Formula Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Candice
This is the best cat litter I have ever tried by far. Smells great, clumps well, doesn't leave dust or track litter. Eliminates odors for a long time which is great if you don't change your litter box every single week!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>