petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System

Light up your fish's life with Miracle Beam lightscapingSuper bright high-output underwater lights create dramatic color schemes in your aquariumFor use with the Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System and/or the Miracle Beam Aquarium Laser System
Average Customer Rating:
3.368 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
14 out of 19(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Review 1 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BUY

PostedMay 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Rocklin, CA
My set burned out in 3 days. Bought another. Burned out in 5 days. Bought another. Burned out in 3 days. Gave up. POORLY MADE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not great

PostedMay 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Got the light kit today. Easy straightforward hook-up. Worked and looked great for the first two minutes, then the lights just cut out. Didn't even put the lights in the water, attached them to the outside of the tank to shine the lights into tank. Checked all the connections, all tight. Went to unplug the transformer, lights went back on, then just as suddenly off again. Can't recommend this set up, just too inconsistent and unpredictable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product Is Great

PostedApril 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
I'm on my second set, it's too bad the products are on closeout. I've enjoyed my first set for nearly 5 years. I never had a problem with the first set. Only 1 light has stopped working for me in 5 years. Overall, the product works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Se Of Lights!!!

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New Bedford, MA
This is a great set of lights... They are very easy to set up... Too Bad They're On Closeout... To Get More Lights, You Have To Search Around In Different Petco Stores...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont Buy

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
i brought this and didnt last 24hrs 1 light went dead and other went dim,took it bach to the store with no problem
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice system, junk module

PostedJanuary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
I was excited when my order came today, the system works and the modules that came with it has bright lights. I ordered also another module and the light of that is so dim, it looks like there is no light at all, not really dead but a little light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice lights

PostedMay 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
After reading the reviews from not only this website, but other sites as well, I decided to try the lights anyway. I suspected that the housing for the lights are not as airtight as it should be, so I placed them on the outside of the tank. So far, two months of continuously being on, the lights are still working. One of the lights I bought, the purple one, was never as bright as the others, but it still looks nice. When all the other lights are turned off, these lights give the tank a cool, otherworldly look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item

PostedMarch 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Read the reviews, guess I was a lucky one, I have had this lighting system for over 4 years and was still using it till I sold my aquarium. I am setting up another aquarium and will be buying these lights again. Will let you know how they turn out. I also had a laser lighthouse they make for over 3 years, but that you had to clean all the time cause the mirror would get diry and stop spinning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat product

PostedSeptember 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Phila PA
Really produces interesting lighting and shadows , especially at night with hood turned off. Only problem I have is that the suction cups that hold the lights do not stick to glass surface very well. If they are in the gravel, they can be moved easily and that moves the focus of the beam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beautiful lighting...

PostedAugust 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from PDX, Oregon
These lights make your aquarium looks very cool. But just one month after installing the lights in my aquarium they burned out! Supposedly it works for over 25,000 hours? ha. I must have used them for about 10 hours. I purchased more bulbs because I really liked the lights, but sure enough, they burned out after two weeks! Very poor quality. And the description is misleading...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks Great, Don't Last!

PostedJune 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming
This product makes an aquarium look wonderful. I put these in my 75 gallon tank and got great comments. The only bad thing is that neither set lasted but a week or so. I won't throw my money away by buying these again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looked really cool!

PostedApril 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I just had the included green and blue light and they looked cool. For about 2 weeks... Then they dimmed... And then they went out... The lights were positioned inside the tank and the box the lights plugged into was mounted on the wall and never got wet. I am considering another set and mounting the lights outside of the tank because they really do provide an unique lighting effect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best way to Install

PostedMarch 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Tampa
I bought my first set about 6 weeks ago and the next day one of the lights went dim. Then another one a week later. I repositioned all the lights on the outside of the tank and it works great. The wires are more out of the way, the lights work perfectly and are easier to position. Also, I learned to put the control box away from the tank. Mine got wet on the outside of the tank and was ruined. Ny new one is on the wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
from San Bruno, CA 94066
This has enhanced the appearance of my aquarium more than any other item I have bought. The lighting is amazing. I have two pointed at plants, one at the bubbles and another at the driftwood in my aquarium. As mentioned in a review before mine. The shadows the fish and the bubbles make on the walls are really cool. I find myself watching the shadows almost as much as the fish. I agree with the other reviews, I think the fish do enjoy swimming through the lights at night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedJanuary 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I am a member of the NCAS and this product is great. simple setup and the look is great... going to have to try different colors but the original blue and green look great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

water scape lighting

PostedJanuary 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from hermitage,tn.
would like to replace bulbs for my lighting system but not available, not planning to buy a whole set. again.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

(No title)

PostedDecember 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
from anamosa iowa
i love my lights but they keep buring out before their time. I'll buy again because i love the way they illuminate my tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different looking tank

PostedDecember 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I first got the kit with the blue and green lights, I also bought one extra blue. I loved the effect it gave my tank so much I ran out and and bought another green and white. Sure gave my tank a very unsual nice look compaired to the bright overhead light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Miracle Beam Hi-Lite Underwater Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very happy

PostedNovember 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Hutington,NY
They work very well, they are very bright, I have them aimed at my bubbles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.