petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit

API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit

Fast, accurate and easy-to-use kit contains two dropper bottles, test solutions, easy-to-read instructions, color chart and glass tube with lid for 130 tests for ammonia level from 0 to 8 ppm
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Review 1 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't think it works

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
HannaBanana
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I bought this when I was first starting my fish tank and I measured 0 ppm. I never do water changes but my test kit always tells me I have 0 ppm. I have never seen the color of the test kit change to anything except the yellow which is why I don't think this product works. My tank doesn't clean itself but somehow I always have 0 ppm of ammonia.I tested a jar of water where I keep old dirty filtration cartridges and it is still yellow ( 0ppm)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Check The Expiration Dates!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
saboken
from johnstown pa
Check The The Expiration Dates on all their API Test kits I have a year to use this!!!!! I purchaced the same from another online seller and have 5 years till it expires this is not the first time! I purchaced a master kit that went bad in 6 months!!!! some still work past the expiration date but most give you a negative reading when your levels are high! I purchaced this needing a refill but will not use it before it;s not longer accurate!!! I OPENED EVERY BOX THEY HAD and they were all 2-3 year old stock!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
phineasandferbsmom
from Mason CIty, IA
This product is awesome!!! Very easy to use. Just fill the tube to the line with water, add eight drops from each tester bottle, and then 5 minutes later you have your results. I bought this product because I set up a new tank for a betta and was worried about how the ammonia levels were doing. I am so glad I came across this simple, easy to use ammonia test kit. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ammonia Test Kit

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mitch55235
from Duluth, MN
Pretty simple to use kit. Add the drops and wait 5 minutes. Fairly reliable results. Decent value for your money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems accurate to me

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
LvMyPuffer
from Portland, OR
a must have for aquarium owners. good value for 800 tests.
i wish the 5 in 1 test strips were this cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dipstick or Liquid?

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
doughboy0486
from Portland, Texas
I have used both. Yes, the dipstick will give you quicker results, but the liquid testing will give you better and more accurate results. I have 3 aquariums and 1 pond and I like accurate results for my fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Missing Item

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esan
Well I set up a new aquarium and needed something to test for ammonia. So I purchased the kit online to save some money. Once it arrived I open the kit and noticed that the test tube that was suppose to come with the kit was missing. I am currently using an old baby syringe, as I try and find a place where I can buy a test tube.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great testing kit

PostedFebruary 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
DanF
from CA
Much like their pH test kit, this one uses a tube and test solution. Simply add 5ml of water into the tube, then use the two solutions, shake, and wait five minutes. Easy to do and accurate. The color chart is easy to read, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Freshwater/Saltwater Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedNovember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Exaybachay
This test is easy to do and easy to read. The colors are clear and distinct. There is enough of the solution to last for years of weekly testing, and it is inexpensive compared to other products that measure ammonia. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.