petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

Adjustable nose loop for a custom fitWon't come off over dog's headConverts to a regular collarThe Gentle Leader dog collar offers unsurpasseed quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
5 stars
131
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
146 out of 155(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Review 1 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is Excellent!

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Cusseta,AL
During our first canine education class ,the instructor suggested that we try a headcollar type of collar and lead for our cocker spaniel.He was acting overly aggressive toward other dogs,and pulling us toward them to the point we lost control of him.We debated the purchase due to the cost,but finally decided to give it a try.After watching the instructional video,we fitted the gentle leader on him,and took him to class.With his gentle leader on,he became,just that,gentle.One attempt was made to pull,and he stopped immediately.Amazing! He is four years old,and nothing else has worked,and the gentle leader did! Needless to say,he finished canine education,and actually gets along with every canine he mets:)
We also tried the gentle leader on our other dogs that wished to pull instead of walk.Instantly they became great walkers.It works so well our 2 year old granddaughter can walk them with no trouble.
We have used the very same collar for several dogs to date,and it has proven to be well worth the investment.
After having the initial debate over to purchase or not,we would pay 10 times as much for the results we have had.We recommond the gentle leader to everyone that needs to become the leader of their pack.Thank you so much for such a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+46points
49of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I purchased this product for our 7-month-old GSD mix. She pulls badly on leash and is very dog reactive. From the first time we used this product, we have been thrilled with the results. The pulling is kept to a minimum and I can happily walk my dog again. She also becomes instantly submissive with this on. Where she was lunging and barking at other dogs, she just looks at them and keeps walking in this. Our only issue is chafing but I believe it is user error.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is AWESOME

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
we have a 62 pound chow/lab mix who LOVES to pull. No amount of leash training helped especially when he saw a squirrel or other dog. We tried the Gentle Leader collar and after about 10 minutes of "training" in the yard we hit the trails and man what a difference. We have tried a regular collar, a chocker a prong collar and a chest harness, he pulls and chokes in all of them, but with the gentle leader he walks side by side with me. It is amazing..I look forward to many more walks and even farther distances now that we can both enjoy the trip instead of me being dragged down the street.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instant transformation

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ferndale, Mi
I had a coworker recommend this product, and of course was a little skeptical about how effective this collar would be and how safe it is. So, I decided to buy one and give it a shot. It was the best $25 Ive ever spent. My 60lb. lab went from pulling and jetting from place to place to being able to control him with 1 finger. My one complaint is that its design made me a little leery that he'll paw out of it or whatever but, it just needs to be put on correctly and its perfectly safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leaders are Lifesavers

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
We had a Gentle Leader for our Black Lab but accidentally left it by the lake on a recent outing. We went weeks without one and experience our lab pulling at us as we walked her, lunging at other dogs as we passed them, resulting in pulling at our shoulders and almost tripping.
Hurray - the new Gentle Leader is a lifesaver and we now have control of her, not her having control of us. I recommend it for anyone with a dog that is strong and overpowers you as you walk or who gets excited when other dogs approach or has tendencies to chase birds, cats or squirrels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This really works!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mahopac, NY
I love this product... We have a very excitable puppy (2 years) and she gets crazy when we have visitors... jumping, barking, etc... (friendly but overwhelming and very difficult to control). With the gentle leader on, she becomes so calm (it's hard to believe). Only problem is, if left on (which we will do to keep her calm when we have company), she is able to not only get it off her nose, but chews it and breaks it making it no longer useable. So you really must watch. As far as using it for walking, it's great as well... Highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

its ok

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus Ohio
Will not stay on my dogs mouth he is able to easily get it off and won't move with it OK. The latch to tighten around his mouth will not stay.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a great feature

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
The collar is tricky to place correctly, but comes with detailed instructions. It allows instant control of your pet with no discomfort to them. My lab/pit mix just sits and allows me to put it on. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely worth it!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York Mills, MN
I bought this head collar after initially purchasing a body harness for my 3 month old black lab mix. She used that body harness as a pulling tool, she looked like a sled dog! This Gentle Leader head collar helped so much! She still pulls some, but I figure after a few more months of working with her and as she gets bigger it should be better too.
Without a doubt, worth the investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Training Tool

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mary Esther, FL
My hound/lab mix is extremely strong and has selective hearing. This has been super beneficial in getting his attention while we are walking, training, etc. Although he will still sometimes try to pull, he's figuring out that pulling will no longer work in his favor, and the best part is that I don't have to actually do anything. He's almost training himself! Ours walks used to be miserable, I was basically dragged everywhere, it was embarrassing and painful. I would be angry with him and it was not enjoyable. Now, we can walk together peacefully (at least until a squirrel runs by). He's still young and it still needs work, but this has definitely given us the tools to succeed. I highly recommend to anyone with a high spirited dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
I just tried this out and within about 5 mins our dogs was walking great. she is a puller. shes about 70lbs. so for me she is very hard to walk normally. it took some treats to get her to do it but it worked. I am so glad and could not believe that it worked that quick for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quility lead

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia
Many of us purchase items like the Gently Leader Head collar because we have a young dog. Using the leader may help if it wasn’t so difficult to put on young dog in training. In the instructions it is apparent that the manufacturer provides instructions for dogs that may not need the leader because they are older, calm and trained. Our attempt to place the leader on our young dog is met with no luck. I have trained him to sit, stay and lay down. I have spent hours attempting to get him used to the leader. He will take treats through the open lead hole as instructed but when it comes to placing the unit on him forget it. He does the puppy thing and wiggles and fights every step of the way. If the leader was manufactured in a way that was easier to install it sure would go a long way in helping our pup and use out. I do not like the leader, It is cheaply made, The plastic peace that is meant to secure in place the nose strap slips and does not stay in place. The dog reaches up with his paw and pulls the nose peace off of his nose, I will be returning this item, get my money back and look for a better product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't really stop him from pulling

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have an 8 month old 60 pound coonhound mix. I was recommended this by the petco trainer because my dog is a constant puller and i had no control and was worried he would yank the leash from my hand. Unfortunately he hated this. He still pulled and it was a constant battle because he would go crazy trying to get it off his face. After a couple months of frustration i decided to try something different. I bought the martha stewart training harness (with the comfort straps - google it as it's not offered at petco i don't think unfortunately) and he doesn't pull hardly at all! And even when he tries, it is no effort whatsoever to control him, and he litterally stops after 2 seconds. It was an immediate difference. Now we both enjoy our walks and it's much safer because i have complete control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for Hyper Pets

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, Minnesota
Without the Gentle Leader my dog would seem to be like a feral creature on a leash. With the Gentle Leader she minds well, stays close to me even when other dogs are present, and follows my direction. While she makes it clear she doesn't like the Gentle Leader it makes taking her on a walk manageable and fun for both of us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally enjoying our walks

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
Easy to follow instructions helped us assemble and "install" the head collar. Our dog isn't so pleased with it, but he wants to go on his walks. This allows us to keep him under control. I always worry he'll wrench his neck because he still pulls, so that means I have to really pay attention when I'm walking him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from antelope ca
I have been struggling to train my dog to walk, I have trained many dogs before, but she just wouldn't go for walks nicely until now. I was completely astonished and relieved at how instantly it works. She fought it a bit, however, I just kept on walking and she got use to it. I highly recommend this for every dog, even then dogs who are easier to walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best training tool

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bartow,FL
I have been using the gentel leader for 8 yrs now. I have a GS lab mix who is Alpha agressive. When we would take her for walks she would try to charge other dogs. We were told about the gentle leader and it has been a Godsend! With the leader on she is a well manner little lady. I now have 2 rottie-mutts who could drag me anywhere they wanted if they were on a regular leash, but they don't. I can walk all three girls together and not have a bit of problems. I recommend this iteam to EVERY dog mom/dad I meet. This is an excellet product...I REFUSE to use a choker chain or pincher collar on my babies, especially with such a wonderful and humane product on the market. It will take time for stubborn strong willed puppies to "get the hang of it", but give them 5-10 minutes a day for several days and give treats and praise and you will be amazed at the difference in you pup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good training tool

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
This really helps with teaching my dog to walk on her leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
The gentle leaders was recommended to me by an associate at petco. I bought two gentle leaders because I have six huskies and they all pull. I took out one of my huskies for a run and the collar broke in half and my husky went running across a busy street! I nearly lost my mind she doesn't listen when her name is called and she was running away so fast I couldn't keep up! It took me 5 minutes to find her I thought she was gone but luckily she was chasing squirrels and I was able to grab her before something worse happened. I am scared to use the gentle leader on the rest of my dogs and will return them all ASAP! Do not use this unless you want to lose your dog! Horrible and poorly made!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent training tool

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arroyo Grande, CA
Our German Shepard Chow Chow Mix was pulling when we walked her. This seemed to be the best training tool for her, it takes some time to get used to but the end result is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>