petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

Adjustable nose loop for a custom fitWon't come off over dog's headConverts to a regular collarThe Gentle Leader dog collar offers unsurpasseed quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(148 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
5 stars
127
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
140 out of 148(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Review 1 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is Excellent!

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Walking with Wisdom
from Cusseta,AL
During our first canine education class ,the instructor suggested that we try a headcollar type of collar and lead for our cocker spaniel.He was acting overly aggressive toward other dogs,and pulling us toward them to the point we lost control of him.We debated the purchase due to the cost,but finally decided to give it a try.After watching the instructional video,we fitted the gentle leader on him,and took him to class.With his gentle leader on,he became,just that,gentle.One attempt was made to pull,and he stopped immediately.Amazing! He is four years old,and nothing else has worked,and the gentle leader did! Needless to say,he finished canine education,and actually gets along with every canine he mets:)
We also tried the gentle leader on our other dogs that wished to pull instead of walk.Instantly they became great walkers.It works so well our 2 year old granddaughter can walk them with no trouble.
We have used the very same collar for several dogs to date,and it has proven to be well worth the investment.
After having the initial debate over to purchase or not,we would pay 10 times as much for the results we have had.We recommond the gentle leader to everyone that needs to become the leader of their pack.Thank you so much for such a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+43points
46of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely worth it!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MadiMae
from New York Mills, MN
I bought this head collar after initially purchasing a body harness for my 3 month old black lab mix. She used that body harness as a pulling tool, she looked like a sled dog! This Gentle Leader head collar helped so much! She still pulls some, but I figure after a few more months of working with her and as she gets bigger it should be better too.
Without a doubt, worth the investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Training Tool

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
kckamel
from Mary Esther, FL
My hound/lab mix is extremely strong and has selective hearing. This has been super beneficial in getting his attention while we are walking, training, etc. Although he will still sometimes try to pull, he's figuring out that pulling will no longer work in his favor, and the best part is that I don't have to actually do anything. He's almost training himself! Ours walks used to be miserable, I was basically dragged everywhere, it was embarrassing and painful. I would be angry with him and it was not enjoyable. Now, we can walk together peacefully (at least until a squirrel runs by). He's still young and it still needs work, but this has definitely given us the tools to succeed. I highly recommend to anyone with a high spirited dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
kukupapa
I just tried this out and within about 5 mins our dogs was walking great. she is a puller. shes about 70lbs. so for me she is very hard to walk normally. it took some treats to get her to do it but it worked. I am so glad and could not believe that it worked that quick for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quility lead

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fan13
from Olympia
Many of us purchase items like the Gently Leader Head collar because we have a young dog. Using the leader may help if it wasn’t so difficult to put on young dog in training. In the instructions it is apparent that the manufacturer provides instructions for dogs that may not need the leader because they are older, calm and trained. Our attempt to place the leader on our young dog is met with no luck. I have trained him to sit, stay and lay down. I have spent hours attempting to get him used to the leader. He will take treats through the open lead hole as instructed but when it comes to placing the unit on him forget it. He does the puppy thing and wiggles and fights every step of the way. If the leader was manufactured in a way that was easier to install it sure would go a long way in helping our pup and use out. I do not like the leader, It is cheaply made, The plastic peace that is meant to secure in place the nose strap slips and does not stay in place. The dog reaches up with his paw and pulls the nose peace off of his nose, I will be returning this item, get my money back and look for a better product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't really stop him from pulling

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MuttMom2
I have an 8 month old 60 pound coonhound mix. I was recommended this by the petco trainer because my dog is a constant puller and i had no control and was worried he would yank the leash from my hand. Unfortunately he hated this. He still pulled and it was a constant battle because he would go crazy trying to get it off his face. After a couple months of frustration i decided to try something different. I bought the martha stewart training harness (with the comfort straps - google it as it's not offered at petco i don't think unfortunately) and he doesn't pull hardly at all! And even when he tries, it is no effort whatsoever to control him, and he litterally stops after 2 seconds. It was an immediate difference. Now we both enjoy our walks and it's much safer because i have complete control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for Hyper Pets

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schneeslave
from Duluth, Minnesota
Without the Gentle Leader my dog would seem to be like a feral creature on a leash. With the Gentle Leader she minds well, stays close to me even when other dogs are present, and follows my direction. While she makes it clear she doesn't like the Gentle Leader it makes taking her on a walk manageable and fun for both of us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally enjoying our walks

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ElkhoundLover99
from Washington State
Easy to follow instructions helped us assemble and "install" the head collar. Our dog isn't so pleased with it, but he wants to go on his walks. This allows us to keep him under control. I always worry he'll wrench his neck because he still pulls, so that means I have to really pay attention when I'm walking him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie123456789
from antelope ca
I have been struggling to train my dog to walk, I have trained many dogs before, but she just wouldn't go for walks nicely until now. I was completely astonished and relieved at how instantly it works. She fought it a bit, however, I just kept on walking and she got use to it. I highly recommend this for every dog, even then dogs who are easier to walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best training tool

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nashga5
from Bartow,FL
I have been using the gentel leader for 8 yrs now. I have a GS lab mix who is Alpha agressive. When we would take her for walks she would try to charge other dogs. We were told about the gentle leader and it has been a Godsend! With the leader on she is a well manner little lady. I now have 2 rottie-mutts who could drag me anywhere they wanted if they were on a regular leash, but they don't. I can walk all three girls together and not have a bit of problems. I recommend this iteam to EVERY dog mom/dad I meet. This is an excellet product...I REFUSE to use a choker chain or pincher collar on my babies, especially with such a wonderful and humane product on the market. It will take time for stubborn strong willed puppies to "get the hang of it", but give them 5-10 minutes a day for several days and give treats and praise and you will be amazed at the difference in you pup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a good training tool

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
juliejill
from New Mexico
This really helps with teaching my dog to walk on her leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
NYCHuskyMom
from New York
The gentle leaders was recommended to me by an associate at petco. I bought two gentle leaders because I have six huskies and they all pull. I took out one of my huskies for a run and the collar broke in half and my husky went running across a busy street! I nearly lost my mind she doesn't listen when her name is called and she was running away so fast I couldn't keep up! It took me 5 minutes to find her I thought she was gone but luckily she was chasing squirrels and I was able to grab her before something worse happened. I am scared to use the gentle leader on the rest of my dogs and will return them all ASAP! Do not use this unless you want to lose your dog! Horrible and poorly made!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent training tool

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
LovesMyRuby
from Arroyo Grande, CA
Our German Shepard Chow Chow Mix was pulling when we walked her. This seemed to be the best training tool for her, it takes some time to get used to but the end result is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catanddogowner
from Ca
Walking my GS (1 1/2yrs old) was something I didn't like doing. I'm small so I had a hard time being in control with him, my husband would have to be the one to walk him. The gentle leader is easy to put on and nice that they are still able to drink and eat. It works great, I am now able to walk the dog and he doesn't pull or drag me. I am able to control him when a car drives by or another dog walks by.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Effective restraint for large dogs

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
RollingThundr
from Boston, MA
This is my second time purchasing the Gentle Leader. My dog doesn't like to wear it, but it is effective. My one nit with this product is that the amount of fabric for the collar is excessive, for the biggest sized dog head that I can imagine. So I decided to cut the excess fabric so that it was not dangling. When I did this, it now means that the collar connector can slip off of the end of the collar. Which it did, and was lost. Hence, the reason that I had to buy a second Gentle Leader.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not for my dog

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laurabun
from OH
This headcollar would probably be great for other dogs, but not mine. She fought it constantly and yes, I'm sure I put it on correctly. Even after wearing it for 14 hours, she would paw at it, rub her head on the ground, anything to try and remove it. While I had her leashed, it worked only fairly well. She's very strong and stubborn (part Boxer) and I don't think I'll be able to get her used to wearing and training with this product. I am going a step further and have ordered a shock collar. I'm not proud that I haven't been able to train her by any other method. But at this point I'm at my wits end. She has torn up our living room twice, jumps on the furniture and completely ignores any attempts to restrain her. So, as I said, this headcollar would probably be great for other dogs and their humans, but not for me and mine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonder

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
RescuePetLuvr
from Clarkston, WA
This is the only product I've found that makes my newly adopted rescue dog not pull while going on walks. Took a couple times for him to get use to it. Like it said, the ones who fight it the most usually need it the most. Treats helped this quickly. Now he walks right beside myself or my children (who ever is holding the leash) like a well mannered dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
dogowner111
from hawaii
my 2 large Catahuola mix puppies (65 lbs & 80 lbs) pull like sled dogs with regular collars. With this head collar, I can avoid road rash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gentle leader:Great training tool

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
doubleBB
With two medium sized dogs, both with bully breeds in them, walking them by myself was no easy task. My older dog can walk very well, however, my 1 year old puppy needed some focus on our walks. The gentle leader is a great tool, that harms the dog less than choke chains, and prong collars,and does not cause as much resistance from the dog as harness. It is sturdy and easy to use when used correctly, and allows anyone to control any size dog, by redirecting the focus on walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Dogs Like Mine

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ala3
from Hilo,HI
I have two dogs. An Australian Shepherd and a Rotweiler Heeler Mix. They both use to pull ahead and by the end of their walk my arm would hurt from trying to constantly pull them back. Once I started to use this collar they quickly learned that pulling ahead would make themselves uncomfortable and they stopped. They didn't like the feeling of the collar on their face at first but they soon adjusted to the feeling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>