petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars

Adjustable nose loop for a custom fitWon't come off over dog's headConverts to a regular collarThe Gentle Leader dog collar offers unsurpasseed quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
135
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
151 out of 160(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Review 1 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is Excellent!

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Cusseta,AL
During our first canine education class ,the instructor suggested that we try a headcollar type of collar and lead for our cocker spaniel.He was acting overly aggressive toward other dogs,and pulling us toward them to the point we lost control of him.We debated the purchase due to the cost,but finally decided to give it a try.After watching the instructional video,we fitted the gentle leader on him,and took him to class.With his gentle leader on,he became,just that,gentle.One attempt was made to pull,and he stopped immediately.Amazing! He is four years old,and nothing else has worked,and the gentle leader did! Needless to say,he finished canine education,and actually gets along with every canine he mets:)
We also tried the gentle leader on our other dogs that wished to pull instead of walk.Instantly they became great walkers.It works so well our 2 year old granddaughter can walk them with no trouble.
We have used the very same collar for several dogs to date,and it has proven to be well worth the investment.
After having the initial debate over to purchase or not,we would pay 10 times as much for the results we have had.We recommond the gentle leader to everyone that needs to become the leader of their pack.Thank you so much for such a wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+50points
53of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is awesome

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, KS
My puppy is an aggressive, excitable, 7-month old doberban. Without the Gente Leader I am unable to walk her either for training or pleasure. She pretty much pulls me wherever she wants to go. While she still has some behavior issues while using the Gentle Leader, at least I am not being dragged down the street. I figure, once she gets past her puppy behaviors in another year or so, we will have fun walking together with either a regular leash or the Gentle Leader. Until then, head halter is the way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leaders are Gentle!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Blue Ridge. Georgia
I purchased three of these and they work great on all three dogs. I am able to control these large dogs without using force or punishment. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great for my Lab

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Littleton, CO
This lead works great for my smaller 65lb Black Lab; he has a block shaped head and a stocky body like the Labs of old. I think this contributes to its effectiveness for him. However, I believe each dog is different. My previous Lab showed more control with a harness. So, great leader for many dogs, but each dog may respond differently to different leaders.
P.S. I use the large for a 65lb dog; the shape of the dog contributes to the size you'll need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kudos!

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix az
The gentle leader was an instant hit! It single handedly turned our walks with our 72 lb chocolate lab from a yank your shoulder out of its socket experience to a nice calm gentle walking experience. Our rescue pup went from being the overly rambunctious dog at the park to a sweet mild manner little girl overnight. You will find that your dog won't be a fan of the gentle leader, and will try to pull it off, but you will see that it is better than any other training collar out on the market.Enjoy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BBJ86

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, Nebraska
I followed the directions on the leader headcollar insert and it works super. I have a 7 1/2 month old GSD and he is not a good walker, is jumping, and weighs 66 pounds. I used the gentle leader headcollar on him this week and I am amazed how well it works. Best results is if you buy a very short lead so the dog is not far away from you for corrections and follow the advice the directions suggested on getting the pup or dog use to wearing the headcollar. Always reward pup or dog for listening, the walk is more fun. As he gets more proficient in walking I will switch him to a longer lead. Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I purchased this product for our 7-month-old GSD mix. She pulls badly on leash and is very dog reactive. From the first time we used this product, we have been thrilled with the results. The pulling is kept to a minimum and I can happily walk my dog again. She also becomes instantly submissive with this on. Where she was lunging and barking at other dogs, she just looks at them and keeps walking in this. Our only issue is chafing but I believe it is user error.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leader is AWESOME

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
we have a 62 pound chow/lab mix who LOVES to pull. No amount of leash training helped especially when he saw a squirrel or other dog. We tried the Gentle Leader collar and after about 10 minutes of "training" in the yard we hit the trails and man what a difference. We have tried a regular collar, a chocker a prong collar and a chest harness, he pulls and chokes in all of them, but with the gentle leader he walks side by side with me. It is amazing..I look forward to many more walks and even farther distances now that we can both enjoy the trip instead of me being dragged down the street.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instant transformation

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ferndale, Mi
I had a coworker recommend this product, and of course was a little skeptical about how effective this collar would be and how safe it is. So, I decided to buy one and give it a shot. It was the best $25 Ive ever spent. My 60lb. lab went from pulling and jetting from place to place to being able to control him with 1 finger. My one complaint is that its design made me a little leery that he'll paw out of it or whatever but, it just needs to be put on correctly and its perfectly safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle Leaders are Lifesavers

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
We had a Gentle Leader for our Black Lab but accidentally left it by the lake on a recent outing. We went weeks without one and experience our lab pulling at us as we walked her, lunging at other dogs as we passed them, resulting in pulling at our shoulders and almost tripping.
Hurray - the new Gentle Leader is a lifesaver and we now have control of her, not her having control of us. I recommend it for anyone with a dog that is strong and overpowers you as you walk or who gets excited when other dogs approach or has tendencies to chase birds, cats or squirrels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This really works!

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mahopac, NY
I love this product... We have a very excitable puppy (2 years) and she gets crazy when we have visitors... jumping, barking, etc... (friendly but overwhelming and very difficult to control). With the gentle leader on, she becomes so calm (it's hard to believe). Only problem is, if left on (which we will do to keep her calm when we have company), she is able to not only get it off her nose, but chews it and breaks it making it no longer useable. So you really must watch. As far as using it for walking, it's great as well... Highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

its ok

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus Ohio
Will not stay on my dogs mouth he is able to easily get it off and won't move with it OK. The latch to tighten around his mouth will not stay.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a great feature

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
The collar is tricky to place correctly, but comes with detailed instructions. It allows instant control of your pet with no discomfort to them. My lab/pit mix just sits and allows me to put it on. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely worth it!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York Mills, MN
I bought this head collar after initially purchasing a body harness for my 3 month old black lab mix. She used that body harness as a pulling tool, she looked like a sled dog! This Gentle Leader head collar helped so much! She still pulls some, but I figure after a few more months of working with her and as she gets bigger it should be better too.
Without a doubt, worth the investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Training Tool

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mary Esther, FL
My hound/lab mix is extremely strong and has selective hearing. This has been super beneficial in getting his attention while we are walking, training, etc. Although he will still sometimes try to pull, he's figuring out that pulling will no longer work in his favor, and the best part is that I don't have to actually do anything. He's almost training himself! Ours walks used to be miserable, I was basically dragged everywhere, it was embarrassing and painful. I would be angry with him and it was not enjoyable. Now, we can walk together peacefully (at least until a squirrel runs by). He's still young and it still needs work, but this has definitely given us the tools to succeed. I highly recommend to anyone with a high spirited dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
I just tried this out and within about 5 mins our dogs was walking great. she is a puller. shes about 70lbs. so for me she is very hard to walk normally. it took some treats to get her to do it but it worked. I am so glad and could not believe that it worked that quick for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quility lead

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia
Many of us purchase items like the Gently Leader Head collar because we have a young dog. Using the leader may help if it wasn’t so difficult to put on young dog in training. In the instructions it is apparent that the manufacturer provides instructions for dogs that may not need the leader because they are older, calm and trained. Our attempt to place the leader on our young dog is met with no luck. I have trained him to sit, stay and lay down. I have spent hours attempting to get him used to the leader. He will take treats through the open lead hole as instructed but when it comes to placing the unit on him forget it. He does the puppy thing and wiggles and fights every step of the way. If the leader was manufactured in a way that was easier to install it sure would go a long way in helping our pup and use out. I do not like the leader, It is cheaply made, The plastic peace that is meant to secure in place the nose strap slips and does not stay in place. The dog reaches up with his paw and pulls the nose peace off of his nose, I will be returning this item, get my money back and look for a better product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't really stop him from pulling

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have an 8 month old 60 pound coonhound mix. I was recommended this by the petco trainer because my dog is a constant puller and i had no control and was worried he would yank the leash from my hand. Unfortunately he hated this. He still pulled and it was a constant battle because he would go crazy trying to get it off his face. After a couple months of frustration i decided to try something different. I bought the martha stewart training harness (with the comfort straps - google it as it's not offered at petco i don't think unfortunately) and he doesn't pull hardly at all! And even when he tries, it is no effort whatsoever to control him, and he litterally stops after 2 seconds. It was an immediate difference. Now we both enjoy our walks and it's much safer because i have complete control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for Hyper Pets

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, Minnesota
Without the Gentle Leader my dog would seem to be like a feral creature on a leash. With the Gentle Leader she minds well, stays close to me even when other dogs are present, and follows my direction. While she makes it clear she doesn't like the Gentle Leader it makes taking her on a walk manageable and fun for both of us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Products Black Gentle Leader Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally enjoying our walks

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
Easy to follow instructions helped us assemble and "install" the head collar. Our dog isn't so pleased with it, but he wants to go on his walks. This allows us to keep him under control. I always worry he'll wrench his neck because he still pulls, so that means I have to really pay attention when I'm walking him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>