petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts

Travel with your pet in safety with a Canine Seat BeltThe soft nylon web harness is adjustable and easy to fitIt helps protect your pet in case of an accident or quick stop and prevents him from interrupting you while you're drivingAnd, it doubles as a walking harness!
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Review 1 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
misscleo
This worked very well for my 50 lb lab the first day we brought her home. She could move around a bit, but not too much. Very convenient and easy to use for travel. You just gotta get the dog to sit still long enough to get it on and you're set!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lyndation
from Miami, FL
I have a Schnauzer and in the car he's very impatient so I bought him this and it's great it's safer for him and also for me while I drive....Very nice seatbelt!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

super simple!

PostedAugust 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
311Jex
REALLY easy to put on and it fits my dog nicely. I like how long the seatbelt loop is so that she can sit up if she wants to with out being pulled on. it doesnt completely stop her from stumbling around a little when we turn and stop, but I do feel much safer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too wide for small dog

PostedJune 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
pokeybanana
from North Las Vegas, NV
While the seat belt fit my little chihuahua, the width was too uncomfortable for her. She had no problem being belted in, but it rubbed her despite any adjustments I made. I would recommend this, particularly for medium and large dogs, but I think a seat belt that is smaller in width would fit small dogs better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, love it, LOVE IT

PostedMay 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
DRehfuss
from Birmingham, AL
I have a stick shift. Angel and Jin love to sit in my lap while I drive--at the same time. I was able to do, but it's not the smartest or safest thing to do. I knew I had to so something about it. I tried a hammock, but they quickly learned to jump over it. I finally broke down and bought the seat belts. They are wonderful. They allow enough room to comfortably sit, lie, or stand. Plus, you can attach their leash to the D-ring and you now have a walking harness--very convenient for bathroom breaks during road trips or quick trips to Petco.
My dogs don't fight the belts. They just chill out with their blankets and enjoy the ride.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy on my dog

PostedApril 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mima
from San Diego, Ca.
It is the right belt as well as the right harness for him, I own a Chow Chow mix and was too hard to control him in the car and for walking. I can tell he also enjoys it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedApril 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
imquestor
from Williamsburg VA
I've used this several times with my pug puppy. So far it has kept her restrained without problems. Ginger is a small puppy so getting her clicked into the harness can be a wiggly struggle. I am still learning the proper adjustment of the straps to keep her secure without being too tight. I like the way she nows sits when we drive. If she is tired she has enough freedom to put her head on my knee. We have only tried the harness on short around town trips. I liked this enough to buy one for my daughter who has a three year old pug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aspen Seat Belt not good for hyper dogs

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sapphire24
from Framingham, MA
I don't have any problem with the quality of the belt. However, for me, the belt is a problem as I have a HYPER chihuahua/beagle mix that gets himself tangled up in it in his stress during car rides. My dog is 17 lbs. and I bought a medium and put it in on the smaller adjustment and it fit fine. I recommend this product if you don't have a hyper dog and your dog knows to sit or lay down in the car correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
GraceyS
This pet seatbelt is great for dogs that wonder throughout the car. My dog tries to sit on my lap while I drive, which is very unsafe. After purchasing this seatbelt from petco, he is wonderful in the car. Great for short and long car rides.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kryslyn
from Gibson, TN
I was given this as a christmas present from a friend and its wonderful. I have a cocker spaniel and a boxer and my cocker spaniel loves to ride on my shoulder and since he's now over 14 lbs its a lil difficult for me to let him sit there. i can buckle him up in the back seat of my car and he will sit there and my boxer likes to ride right beside him. I will absolutly recommend this product to anyone that lets their pets ride with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Harness

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
LoveOurObie
from Canyon City, CA
We purchased this for our min pin, Obie in red. It has never let us down and our Obie loves it! It doesn' pull on him or choke him. It's a great buy and it looks good too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves purpose well!

PostedOctober 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
CiCis
I purchased a seat belt harness for my 15 lb peekapoo and was so unhappy because she could not move at all. It held her down because of the way it was attached to the seatbelt. I searched until I found the Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belt. This one gave her some room to move, much less restrictive. However, it still pulled down to the seat because of the way it was attached to seatbelt. I found if I attached the loop to the upper portion of the seatbelt with a ropeclimbers type clip, she was able to move but not be pulled down to the seat. However, I am not sure how safe this is since it is not the designed fashion of attachment and my main concern is her safety. We had been in an auto accident prior to purchasing a seatbelt for her and thankfully, she was not seriously injured that time. I will do whatever it takes to keep her safe. Any advise? By the way, she knows she is going for a ride when she sees the harness and eagerly puts it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It kept me sane.

PostedAugust 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Salamander
My puppy would NOT stay seated and almost caused two accidents. I was beyond frustrated! This is very easy to put on and she whined for about 30 seconds, then layed down and went to sleep. I like it better than a crate because it doesn't take up the entire backseat and it wasn't hard to get into my 4-door car. My dog is a Basset Hound, so she's not hyper. I can only recommend this for dogs that are "clingy" and want to be on top of you when they shouldn't be!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safety First

PostedJuly 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
LillysMom
Before I bought this product, I read the reviews. I understand that no one wants to hear their baby cry, but I for one, to not want to have my baby turned into a torpedo in an accident! This product is wonderful. The harness fits snug enough so she can't wriggle free. I was concerned about the size of the harness as puppies grow quite quickly. Lilly has been wearing this harness since I got her 3 months ago and will probably still fit her for a long time to come. This product is durable, resistant, and can even double as a harness to be used with a leash! Pretty handy! I'm not really sure if she is particularly fond of this seat belt, but it keeps her safe and that's all that matters. She can still see out the windows and doesn't cry like she did while she was in her kennel in the back seat. In my opinion, I feel that this is almost safer than a kennel that can flip in the back of the vehicle. At least the seatbelt itself locks up and holds her in place. What a wonderful item!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedMay 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Aspen
I have a small to medium size dog (23 lbs) and the medium size certainly does fit well. Intitially, she seemed very hesitant to wear (but then again she is quite a free spirit and doesn't really like wearing anything). I did also notice that the snapping sounds seemed to hurt her ears when we put the harness on her. I must say, however, that I feel much more comfortable knowing that she is safer there in the seat with her seatbelt on. It would be nice to see this item in different colors. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Awkward

PostedMay 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
johnschr
I bought one for my Huskie mix when she was young. It is very well made and fits her very well as an ordinary harness.
I was never really happy with it though. She gets all twisted up in the car. Imagine that the belt clip forms a corner of a triangle. The 'pull' or separation between the belt's shoulder and lap segments tends to pull the loop down towards the buckle, effectively twiting the top of the harness down to the bottom. The more the dog moves, the worse it gets. This might work well for a very sedate dog, but not MY dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
jen33
from Del Rio, Texas
This is great! I was afraid my puppy wouldn't like it, but he doesn't seem to mind being strapped in with the harness. In fact he actually layed down and went to sleep after about a minute. I take him to work with me everyday, so he rides in the car a lot. It fits him perfect too and he is just a puppy. I got the small one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
emmy
from Union, SC
This is a wonderful harness. We had bought the four paws harness before and were dissatisfied with the fit. This one was almost $10 cheaper and works so much better. My dog loves wearing this just as a harness. The loop is easier to thread seatbelt through it and he loves having the leway to move around a little in the backseat. He loves being able to stand up and look out the window. But it keeps him from sliding around on my leather seats. The only problem i have is with his fit the adjustment straps hang off, he has stepped on them a few times but its nothing tucking them in doesnt fix. Great buy for the money and works so much better than the four paws one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Malteselover
from Kentucky
I love this seatbelt harness, it's so much cheaper than other seatbelts and it works great on my maltese. The smallest one says it will fit 9lb and up,but when I recieved mine Wendy was smaller and it still fit her comfortably when it was adjusted down. The only reason I gave pet satisfaction 4 paws instead of 5 is bc for some reason Wendy is a little frightned of noise the latches make whenever they snap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Canine Seat Belts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

donny loves ride in the car now

PostedAugust 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
onny
from nyc
my donny the puppy loves riding in a car now.. thanks easy to use and soft
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>