petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats

Organic litter made from wheatgrass naturally eliminates odors and ends trackingEconomical to use, Cat Country lasts twice as long as clay or clumping products, with minimal maintenance
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Review 1 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing in Litter

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
MizMo
I just got a new cat after not having one for almost ten years. I, also, have an extremely sensitive nose and was not looking forward to the litter box thing again. I saw the ad for this at Petco and purchased a bag in their brick-and-mortar store.
There was absolutely NO ODOR! I love it! Last night I went back to the same store and they had none! Thankfully they still carry it online! And at an even cheaper price than last time! I have to pay extra for shipping, but feel that this litter is worth it!
MizMo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From toilet to litter box

PostedJune 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
taygete
I had all three of my cats toilet trained but then we moved and I had to use a litter box with them because they would no longer have access to a toilet. This was challenging for me because I have an extremely sensitive nose.
So began my search for the best litter box and more importantly the best litter. I started researching online everything I could, read a lot of reviews, and tried many of the products out there.
I am so glad I didn't see the negative reviews for this product here at the Petco site, or I might never have tried it. I just happened to see this litter at the local Petco, tried it, and that was the end of my several month long search.
My findings:
Tracking: while I also have something for them to step on when they get out of the litter box, and have the opening of the box facing the wall so they have no choice but to step on it and have their paws wiped off, I still was finding litter all over the place prior to using this product. With Cat country there is only a minute amount of tracking.
Smell: nothing will replace daily cleaning of the litter box, and I also scoop out b.m.s the moment I realize they've gone. Neither litter nor filter hides that smell that comes with their going recently. That being said, I found the other litters were not as good at keeping the odor down, and given that I have an exceptionally keen sense of smell, I really appreciate this litter compared to the other litters I tried.
Environmentally I am glad that the kitties and myself do not have to inhale dust, and that there are no chemicals to off gas.
I am also glad to contribute by buying an environmentally earth friendly organic product, though, that said, if it didn't work better than all the others I tried then that wouldn't have gotten me to continue buying it.
Clumping: note that I would not even try clumping litters because of all the health issues that pet groups report. I do find this clumps somewhat well, so that when I clean the b.m.s with a scoop I can scoop a fair amount of the urine as well, but I do agree that one can not get all of the urine out with this method. My money saving solution is to just pour less litter than recommended, and then empty it out fully every night, wipe the bottom of the box, and use fresh litter.
Good luck everyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Litter

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
busgirl65
I don't have cats, but I do have ferrets. Ferrets can't use traditional clay litters so must use a "pellet type" usually. I have used other products, but this one is AMAZING! First, it is 100% natural with no added odors that can irritate thier sensitive lungs noses and skin. Secondly, it almost completely masks the odor which is a blessing with ferrets. The comparative cost is nice too. I will use this product as lon as it is carried in the store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter

PostedNovember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Snowbird
We've tried most all types of cat litter in our attempt to reach a happy compromise of what they will use, what I want them to use, and most important of all---the dust issue. This is the BEST litter we've found, and I will never subject them to another brand after using this for the past several months. Virtually no dust, no odor from what's deposited in it, tracking is minimal with normal box maintenence. I think that anyone that values their cat's health (breathing that litter dust is toxic) will be very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just Does not Work

PostedJuly 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
AnnaT
This was a *huge* disappointment. Late Saturday afternoon I scrubbed out litter box and filled with Cat Country. Sunday night all I dreamed of was a stinky litter box, and Monday morning when I woke up, it was easy to see why. The litter box (in the bathroom) reeked of cat urine. This stuff does not clump at all, so it's impossible to scoop out what kitty has peed on. I'm glad it's worked for some people, but it has not worked at all for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work out

PostedApril 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
MomOfScotty
I didn't give this very long (5 days) before deciding that Scotty was not going to take to using it. Also, this is not really a "scoopable" litter for liquid waste, and he tracked it out of the box much more than the clay types. I don't like the dustiness of the scoopable clays, but he's getting bigger and I also switched to a larger, non-covered litter pan so he doesn't get as dusty. Anyway, sounded good, but did not work out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter I Have Ever Used

PostedMarch 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
MD2010
from Syracuse, NY
I have tried just about every type of cat litter and really love this brand. The crystals clump well but track a lot and the clay gets very messy. The pearls and silica products do NOT absorb cat urine and create a noxious mess with stomach-churning fumes that is unhealthy for both you and your cat. This product eliminated both of those problems, because it creates a natural "mat" of litter at the bottom which, after scooping the top litter out of the way, you just scoop up and can flush down the toilet (b/c this is biodegradable and 100% natural wheatgrass). It is healthy and natural so it's good for the environment, and the large pellets don't track as much as other litters. It doesn't smell AT ALL! And one bag lasts almost 3 months!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Dust Free, NON-Toxic Litter

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
mellimel
from Tukwila "land where the Hazelnuts grow",WA
I have been using this brand of cat litter for years. It's made of all natural wheat grass pellets. I have 3 indoor kitties, and everyone comments on how they can't smell the litter boxes in my small apartment. I keep up on cleaning the boxes daily, which makes a big difference. Several people have asked me what kind of cat litter I use, because of the fact that there is no cat odor left lingering behind. This litter does not produce "dust clouds" like so many other brands, and it is non-toxic, so it is a healthy choice for both you and your kitty(s). You could also use this litter for other animals as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
mypets
I love this. Best of all I've tried for my guinea pigs. No smell. Lasts forever. I like the corn product too..may mix them. But on it's own, this is the best of all the corn/wheat/paper/litters I've used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst purchase ever!

PostedDecember 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
sooz
from Florida
I have been using Natures Miracle for about 6 months now and have been extremely happy with it in almost all respects.....except for the fact that one of my cats isn't crazy about the fine texture. So after reading reviews I decided to give Cat Country a try hoping the heavier consistancy would please all. BIG mistake on my part!! It has dust. No good for kitties lungs. What it does is gets pellets all over the floor, even tho I have a cat mat in front of the litter box. Of course it is loaded with the pellets as well. Talk about difficult to scoop.....this is the WORST at that. The solids get lost in the pellets, plus the urine dissolves so you can't scoop it up, it just stinks it up. Other litters control odor much better. The only plus....my one cat doesn't dislike it as much as the finer granule types. I have no alternative but to trash this trash. I even tried mixing it like others have suggested with my other litter, Natures Miracle. Now I have the pleasure of cleaning up sand as well as pellets. After spending $20 on a bag, I can say this was money thrown down the toilet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedNovember 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I started using the wheatgrass litter in a couple of boxes. The rest of the boxes are corn litter. My cats are adjusting to it very well. I love the fresh smell and the lack of cat box odors. It does not clump and I have to carefully separate the used litter from the clean litter, but it is not a big deal. I don't see any dust. The corn litter eventually breaks up to a powder, but it still is not as dusty as other kinds of litter. I will try a mixture of corn and wheatgrass as other reviewers have recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Bunnies!

PostedOctober 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
NJPE
This litter is especially good for bunnies since it's natural and they like to chew on everything. Also, it seems to do a good job in keeping odor in check.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stinks!

PostedAugust 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
bonbon
doesnt clump, doesnt absorb odor..
it smells so badly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS STUFF WORKS!

PostedJune 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
amber2130
I love it! It's better then all the other stuff out there. What I really love is that I don't step in kitty litter. What I also love is that there is so far NO smells coming from it.
I love the price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than paper pellet

PostedNovember 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
cmwei
from Oakland, CA
My litter adventures began when I decided to foster 3 kittens. I have tried clay, wheat, paper pellets, corn and now Cat Country! Clay was getting stuck on their noses and paws (and thus I was worried they would eat it). Wheat is better but doesn't clump that well. Paper pellets were too hard and too long so the kitties didn't like the feel. Worlds Best Cat Litter (corn) mixed with Cat Country seems to work the best. Cat Country pellets are small and earth friendly. The corn provides the consistency they like (more sand like). Though it does cost more, I think it is worth it. Less tracking, more earth friendly, safe for kittens, and most importantly they like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mix and Match

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
pjwriter
from Wilmington, NC
I have 3 cats with a variety of litter box likes and dislikes. My very finicky Maine Coon loves this litter but the only negative I found was trying to scoop the urine - it tended to not clump too well. My solution was to sprinkle a couple inches of The World's Best Cat Litter (made from corn) on the bottom and add an inch of this litter on top. Works like a charm - both products are flushable, smell fresh, and don't spread litter dust all over. With daily cleaning and adding new every few days, I can keep a clean box easily for two weeks or longer. So even though the combination may seem expensive, I think you save in the long run!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cat Country Organic Wheatgrass Litter for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG the BEST

PostedFebruary 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
flycats
from California
I thought I had found the best cat litter with the recycled newspaper pellets. WRONG! This stuff rocks! It smells good, it has a semi-clumping feature(easier to scoop) and the cats prefer it to the newspaper litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.