petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars

Prong training collars help you control even the most stubborn dogThey're electronically welded for maximum strength, nickel-and chrome-plated for durability, and unconditionally guaranteed against rust, tarnish, or breakage
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
74 out of 83(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Review 41 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Control!

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Best way to have control of your dog. I grew up with dogs that always pulled me. Not with this collar. It works immediately. All those I've recommended this item to have become firm believers.
I was introduced to this collar through a trainer and I couldn't be happier. I never had a dog walk at my side like my two labradors do. My 8 year old can walk the dogs without a problem.
What most people who never used the collar before do not realize is that the prongs are not constantly poking into the dogs neck. They receive a "quick tug and release" or "pop" to correct the pulling and the dog then knows to slow up. It's a great training tool for getting quick results from your dog. I've used it to teach sit, down, heel and come as well. Even though we have big dogs we use the small prongs on ours. I find the large prongs to be to clunky and you don't get the quick correction like you do with the small prongs. You just need to buy extra links.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Training Collars

PostedDecember 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
The Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Training Collar worked 10 times better than i had hoped it would. Right from the start there was a huge difference in our daily walks with our Doberman, instead of him pulling and dragging me all over the place it was actually a nice and comfortable walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pinch collar

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
I wish I knew abot this years ago.. The French pinch collar is kind to the dog as well as controlling to the walker. There is absolutely no pain administered yet full control...especially with a powerful puppy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Training must have

PostedNovember 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This is THE ONLY training collar I would reccommend. I would reccommend, however, making sure that you have someone who knows how to properly use it show you how it is supposed to be used.
I have used it on quite a few dogs and have found it to be a very successful tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great collar!

PostedOctober 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I have a black lab that is 90 pounds and this collar worked amazingly on him. He always walks so nicely EXCEPT for when he gets distracted. If he sees an animal or another dog or a person walking he would become frantic and disobedient. He would tug as hard as he could on his leash attempting to drag me with him and there was nothing I could do to get his attention. This collar changed everything! Now he doesn't try to drag me around when he sees someone or something he wants to approach. It took all of about 5 minutes for him to figure out that he couldn't pull anymore. Amazing! I would suggest this collar to anyone who has a dog that behaves this way. Your dog will become a more gentle walker and you will be able to get his attention with even the slighest little tug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great training collar

PostedOctober 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
I purchased this collar this morning for my boarder collie mix dog. I was torn between this collar and one of those electric zap collars because my dog pulls the entire time I'm walking him, and on a few occasions has pulled out of his regular collar. I needed something to convince him that he had to obey. I decided on this collar after reading reviews that other people's dog obeyed "as soon as they saw the remote". I have a stuborn dog and knew that I'd have to always have the collar on and the remote in my hand otherwise he could possibly ignore me if he didn't feel like obeying.
I am astonished at how well this collar works. In one day of working with him in the collar, when we took our evening walk tonight, he was walking on a loose leash right next to my left leg for most of the walk. I only had to give the leash one swift tug in a 30 min walk to remind him what he was suppose to be doing. I had no doubt the collar would work when I bought it, but I never thought that it would bring about such a change so quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a change

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
This collar was recommended by our puppy trainer. We have a Rottie pup and walking was so difficult, until I bought this collar. WOW! What a difference no pulling, no tugging, no dog choking herself. I am so happy to take Jasmine for a walk now and she has been wonderful in less than a week with this collar. A must for dogs that like to lead you instead of you leading them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much improved

PostedAugust 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Like most of the owners who have reviewed this collar, I was hesitant to use it on our excitable and friendly Lab mix puppy. But she pulled so hard on her canvas leash, she would choke herself and walking her in our busy neighborhood had become exhausting. The very first time we used this collar, she was much easier to walk. She stopped lunging at people and pulling at her leash and stayed close to us. She is still happy and interested in things on the walk, but not to the point where we cant control her. The collar is a little challenging to get on and off, but it is so worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS!

PostedJune 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
My puppy (pitbull mix) is only 6 months old, but is already strong as an ox! She's a very good dog, but gets really excited when she goes for walks. She started pulling so hard that I literally could not walk her without falling over. We got this collar and, that very day, I could walk her with no problem. I hate the reaction I get from other people who seem to think I'm torturing my dog - it DOES NOT HURT HER! We just laugh it off by calling her our junkyard dog when she has it on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good collar

PostedJune 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
We bought this collar for our 65 lb shephard mix, and he is 100% better on the leash, now that we have the collar. It doesn't hurt him, just reminds him how hard he is pulling when he sees a rabbit, etc. The only tricky part is getting the collar on and off - we like to take it off when we're not walking him, and while the links can be taken apart (which is how we do it), it takes strong fingers!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Training Collar!

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
I used the Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Training Collar on my black lab mix. I was leary of whether or not the collar would hurt my dog. SO...as with all new things I'm not quite sure of, I tried the collar around my own neck to see how it would feel. The collar was very comfortable, placing equal pressure around my entire neck, so I had no problem at all putting this collar around my dog's neck. My dog was instantly transformed from a dog who would pull and pull on the leash to a dog who would go where I wanted to when I wanted to go. This dog collar is essential when training every dog! A+++
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

World o' difference

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
From the moment we first put this collar on our Great Dane pup Maximus, he became a totally different dog. Walking is now a joy - no more pulling or straying from attention. Even meeting strangers is much easier. Great control and training tool...just need a bit of hand strength to get it snapped on and off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like a charm!

PostedMay 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
I just got this prong collar today, and already my standard poodle pup has stopped pulling; in fact, it took only one tug on the end of the leash and it was as though she had new respect for me (okay, it was probably respect for the collar). She is only 3 mos. old, but is getting so big, so fast, and pulls and jumps a lot. I needed this behavior to stop immediately because I have young children. I first tried a Halti collar because I thought it seemed more humane, but it only turned my dog into wild animal as she tried to get it off. This, of course was the exact opposite of what I was trying to achieve. I then tried the prong collar, and it was much more well-received by her, as she is already accustomed to having a collar around her neck. It looks like it would be painful to wear, but it only gives a tight squeeze when the dog pulls on the leash, and hangs loose when the dog isn't pulling. I tried it on my leg before I put it on her - really doesn't hurt! The only drawback is that the prongs are difficult to separate, especially while the dog is wearing the collar, and it is recommended that the collar not be slipped over the head of the dog - it's supposed to be put on and taken off by separating the prongs. This is especially difficult with a wiggly puppy. It would be nice to have a release feature. I am going to try slipping it on with the prongs facing outward, then turning them inward after I get it over her head. Maybe I'll try it on my leg first.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG difference!

PostedApril 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Our 11 month old lab had been pulling ever since she was a puppy, and we recently had a choke collar which just made her pull more! So we decided to purchase a prong collar today, iwasnt too excited about it but it just made a HUGE diffrerence! As soon as we put it on her in the store you just feel so much more in control. We just got back from a walk...I even could jog with her a little bit I could never do that before! It's just an excellent product! If your dog pulls uncontrolably you should DEFINATELY try it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
This training collar works great for my pitbull/lab mix. He is a well built dog that pulls very hard on a leash. With the training collar, I actually have full control of him on walks and when we go to the store/vet. When worn high on his neck, he does not pull one bit. Only draw back is that I know he doesn't like it, it must be very uncomfortable for him. When the leash is loose he does what he can to shake the collar off. I have tried regular collars, choke chains, and harnesses; This is the only thing that works for my dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedMarch 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Whiting, IN
This product has made walking my dog enjoyable again. It trains the dog to understand the boundries of pulling and jumping and it makes them understand if you do this a pinch will happen. It only took twice for her to pull and she was able to put together the consequence if she pulls the collar will pinch. It is the best training tool I have come across recently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prong collars

PostedFebruary 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Pomona, CA
I have two 2 year old Siberian Huskies. Last year I attempted to walk both dogs together daily. After 4 months I ended up in Physical Therapy for shoulder problems. After buying the prong collar both dogs caught on very fast that pulling me around wasn't going to work this time. Now I love walking with them both.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ditto...

PostedDecember 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
mine breaks on a regular basis. I have to keep fixing it. It is really nerve racking when my dog gets loose b/c I don't want anything to happen to him, so I have to keep a second collar on him all the time just in case he gets lost.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended!

PostedDecember 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We resorted to this collar, from a regular choke chain, when our dog (who is 25 lbs. of pure muscle) started lunging at cars on our daily walks. On the very first walk with this collar, she lunged one time (at a cat), but she straightened up immediately. Now, a correction is as simple as a quick snap. I was afraid at one point she was going to pull my shoulder out of its socket. Now, it is such a pleasure to walk with her and I'm not afraid of her getting loose and running straight into a moving vehicle.
From our experience, I highly recommend this collar for anyone who has an enthusiastic dog who is a threat to him/herself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Petmate by Aspen Pet Mighty Link Chain Light Weight Training Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works BUT...

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
from CA
I have two Boston Terrier who, although small, have a tremendous amount of energy. The only thing that has worked in preventing them from pulling and being out of control on walks is this collar. From what I have read, it is also much safer than a choke chain. You can look on the internet and there are articles on that and which indicate that in studies the prong collars did not physically damage the dogs that were studied. Nevertheless, I bough rubber caps for the prongs. What makes the prong collar effective is that the prongs mimic the mother's bite, a correction the dog understands. I have had the collar bust on me a couple times while I was walking my dog. I would thus suggest that you keap a standard collar on your dog when walking just to be safe!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>