petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food

Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food

Nourishes your cat's complete well-being by taking a whole body approachGluten FreeOptimal balance of proteins and key ingredientsSupports the needs of your cat through all life stagesDelicious and healthy
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
96 out of 101(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Review 1 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Happy Customer

PostedDecember 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Horn Lake, MS
Great food! My three cats absolutely love it and get very excited and hyperactive when they see me bring a new bag home. I've been using it for 2 months. I feed less of it than my previous brand (the serving sizes are smaller), and my kitties are thriving. Coats have improved a great deal. They are thicker and softer and shinier and the color is more vibrant, almost with an iridescent shimmer on my tortoiseshell and solid black cats. My Persian's ears do not have as much waxy buildup as before. Shedding has decreased. Cats seem to have more energy. Litter box odor is a mixed bag. Urine odor is MUCH less strong, but stool odor has increased, perhaps due to the higher meat protein concentration. However, stools are smaller and firmer than on the old food. Overall, I'm very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing food

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
My cats are specific on what they will eat and I want to give them a food I feel good about buying. Out of all the brands I have tried, I will continue to buy this one. I have noticed an overall improvement in their fur, body fat and energy. This brand is worth every penny and I will continue to feed my cats natural balance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't be FOOLED-this is NOT the original formula

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is NOT the original formula and is significantly different from the original. I have been feeding the original to my cats for several years and this is the second time they have changed the recipe. The original had real chicken as its first ingredient and included other whole meats along with the meal-type ingredients. Then they changed the first ingredient to chicken meal but still included real chicken as the second ingredient. Now there is only "meal" and no whole meat. They have cheapened the formula but not the price. I will never buy this new product again and intend to express my great disappointment to the company. My cats have done well on the old formula and I will find another brand's equivalent rather than feed them an inferior product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Food Has Been Changed, Rice Now 2nd Ingredient

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NV
This is NOT the original Ultra cat food. The first ingredient is chicken meal, 2nd is RICE now instead of chicken. Write, call or email the company & DEMAND they bring back the ORIGINAL formula.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GRRRR

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York NY
I have always ordered the Original Ultra bag, but they just blindsided me and send me the new "improved" formula. My cats hate it!! They hate the salmon taste. They prefer the chicken formula. I just wasted a ton of money on this new version. I wish they would have sent an email to tell me the formula was changing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philipsburg, PA
I have used this brand for years. The smaller size is great for traveling with one cat. It is great it can be shipped right to my home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kitten likes it!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from san jose
My kitten prefers this dry food to another good brand, so I'm happy with the purchase. I'm new to having a cat, so I can't comment much on how this is doing for his fur, health, etc. versus other dry food brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MY TWO CATS LOVE IT

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago,IL
My boys were out of dry food and I bought this new brand. At first I thought I should mix the new one with the previous one to let them familiar with the flavor. But finally I decided to gave them one bite to try. It turned out that they loved it and could not stop meowing to me to ask for more. Even for the picky one. Thank you for such a good product. It is not that easy to find a dry food that can satisfy both two cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing coat health

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TN
We've fed Natural Balance Ultra to our cats for about 15 years now, during which time we've rescued a number of Persians and Himalayans. When we began, it was the only food available that had no corn, and we had two cats with corn allergies. It improved their health as well as giving them tangle-free, glossy coats. With our long-hairs, we've had the same results, seeing their coats go from rough texture and extensive matting when we adopted them, to silky gorgeousness in 2 to 4 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
My cats like this food, but they tend to be fussy about other healthy alternatives. We've tried most of the flavors but this is their favorite. I started using this food when one of my cats had a food allergy, and this was part of our attempt to get her healthy. Very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cat food

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ontario, Canada
This is pretty good food that cats seem to love (My kitten is a picky eater and she loves this stuff!)... I just gave it a 4 star because I'm still searching for the perfect grain-free food (this one is not grain-free)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally quality food my cats love

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have been trying for the past 2 years to find a high-quality dry food that my picky cats will eat. They turned their nose up at everything expensive and only wanted cheap purina stuff. Well I got a sample of this and tried it out thinking my cats would hate it too, but they gobbled it up. I am now on my second full bag and they get excited for it every time. The only bad thing is that one of my cats likes it TOO much and has gained a little bit of weight on this formula. I may change to the indoor formula and see if that helps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The favorite food

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I only buy premium, preferably grain-free food, but this is always their favorite food. If I offer another brand, no matter how expensive, they always look at me as if to say, "Well, where is the good stuff?!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAT/KITTEN FOOD!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Islip, NY
I HAVE 3 CATS, ONE IS GOING ON 4, ONE IS 11 MONTHS AND ONE IS 6 MONTHS AND THEY LOVE, LOVE THIS FOOD!! HAPPENED TO BUY ON A WHIM AND AM SO SO HAPPY THEY LOVE THIS, AND ITS SOO GOOD FOR THEM!! THE MGR OF PETCO BY ME WAS AMAZING , HE EXPLAINED THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THIS AND SUPER MARKET BRANDS! !HE ORIGINALLY SUGGESTED MERRICK, BUT THEY DIDNT REALLY LIKE, SO ON A WHIM MY MOM SAW THIS AND WE TRIED!! THEY ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!! IT IS MORE EXPENSIVE BUT SO WORTH IT!!! THEY EAT LESS, LOOK SO MUCH MORE VIBRANT AND AS LONG AS THEY LOVE IT, I LOVE IT!! I FEEL SO CONTENT, AND ITS SO EASY BECAUSE ITS FOR BOTH KITTEN AND CAT!! NOW I MUST CONVINCE MOM AN DAD TO BUY FOR THEIR 5 CATS!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food, Quick Delivery

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My cat loves this Natural Balance food (haven't tried any other varieties though, I'm sticking with what works). Shipping was surprisingly quick. Will definitely buy again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy looking coat

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Cats love it, there coats are healthy and shiny, they have good vet check ups twice a year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans, La
When bringing home my 8 week old Ragdoll kitten we transitioned her from her old food to Natural Balance in about a week. 6 months later she has the most beautiful coat, excellent vet checkups and this food was also easy on her system. Its also formulated for all lifestages so this was great. I also have to mention that she loves the food. A great food at a reasonable price for such a premium food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from san diego,ca.
My 2 cats have been on this food for 3 years now, and they still love it' Its got such great vegetarian ingredients for them so it keeps them very healthy,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this food, but my cats love it more!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, Florida
I've tried so many different cat foods, but this one is by far the best. It is healthy and my cats love it. When I buy other food, it goes right through my cats and they have to eat a lot more to get full. This food keeps my cats balanced, healthy, and regular. My cats are happy, and so am I! The natural balance treats are great too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Balance Original Ultra Whole Body Health Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still looking for their favorite

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
My cats ate this food, but it wasn't their favorite. I can't seem to get them to like food that's good for them! They like cheapy foods like Friskies the best! But I'll keep trying!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>