petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Seachem Prime

Seachem Prime

Complete and concentrated conditioner for fresh and salt water removes chlorine, chloramine, and ammoniaDetoxifies nitrite and nitrate and provides a protective slime coat for your fishUse at start-up and whenever adding or replacing water
Average Customer Rating:
4.972 / 5
5
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 36(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Seachem Prime
Review 1 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best of the best

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
malawilake
from new orleans
Thats all I been using for years, me for as setting up a freshwater tank...the same week the tank ready to go...if you have a ammonia spike, this product will save your tank..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

greatest product for water

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
aaron2m1
from Ada,ok
I've used this product for years, used many others ,others have do's & don'ts. this stuff works fast without all the do's & don'ts, a capful for 55gal tank ,2 drops for a gal,waiting was the past. Use this stuff folks , all your worries are over,cant mess it up.just go for it! I recommend buying the small bottle & the large bottle to fill the small bottle , Just wish itdid something for the PH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Conditioner

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
DeepSeaReef
from Anaheim, CA
This is the best water conditioner out on the market in my opinion. It does a great job of reducing ammonia and is also good for cycling your new tank as well. Safe and effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
bobdobaleana
Does what it's supposed to do. Removes chlorine and helps replenish slime coat on fish. Good stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
oneway88jr
from Powhatan, VA
It conditions the water very quickly as does not affect an established tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Supplement while cycling a new tank

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
elliotulysses
from Detroit
Combine this with stability and "new tank syndrome" is hardly an issue.
It is also a long lasting, great working water conditioner, making it easy to make your tap water safe when doing water changes.
They also have a great support team that will answer you via email within a day or two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water conditioner

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReefManMike
I have used Seachem prime for years in my saltwater tank. It is very good at removing Ammonia from your tank. I little goes a long way. It smells a bit like sulfur but otherwise I like it and recommend it as a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle Ammo Cure

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
rspoe
from Des Moines, IA
As far as I'm concerned this stuff is a miracle worker. I've been battling ammonia for the past two months in my freshwater tank. My fish were eating fine and showed no sign of sickness but anytime I tested the water, it'd show up off the charts. I tried other treatments and conditioners, water changes, pretty much everything but it would always test high. One capful of this stuff and it took it brought the ammonia back to measurable levels, one more capful and it's to 0 ppm 3 days later. Absolutely amazing, very potent, and couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ONLY one I will buy.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
OrandaMom
from Allendale, MI
This stuff was recommended to me by just about every goldfish-keeping forum I went on. Goldfish are very messy critters, and therefore create a ton of ammonia. This stuff is extremely difficult to overdose, and it is the best stuff to use if you have messy fish. It's saved my fish from nitrite poisoning and ammonia poisoning in the past and will definitely be in my cupboard for a very very long time to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
This stuff goes a long way compared to other products due to its concentration. I have been using it for years now and have healthy, happy fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved My Fish!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
YESMOMILIKEFISH
from NE US
I have used a few different conditioners for the aquarium, but it was not until I found Seachem Prim that I was really impressed. When the ammonia or nitrites get too high, Prime keeps them at bay making the water better for the fish, yet it does not disturb the biological filter! I had to use Prime when my tank had not quite finished cycling yet and it immediately put the water in balance and my biological filter kicked in as if nothing had interrupted it at all. It works instantly and although it has a bit of a sulfur smell it works so well, I don't mind.
I have had fish lost during such a spike in my tanks before and this time I didn't lose a single one. I have been using Prime ever since with great results in four tanks. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
petcodogtrainer
from Oklahoma
Simply the best, there is nothing like this product out there. Whenever I am at work and people ask me what to get for conditioner, its always this...that is if we are not sold out! This has always been the perfect conditioner, dont get your nose to close to the bottle though! ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved many a fish's life

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lambobble
from Omaha, NE
Prime is unbelievable stuff. I am no scientist, but from my own experience, and reading various forums around the web, Prime does an excellent job of:
-Removing chlorine and chloramines
-Detoxifying nitrite and ammonia
-Helping to build the slime coat of fish
First off, it is ultra-concentrated. You measure it by the DROP as opposed to the teaspoon/lidful. It does smell sulfuric sometimes, but that is normal.
I used Prime to successfully save a tank full of African Cichlids when their tank was accidentally put into New Tank Syndrome from a well-meaning owner who removed all the plants, decorations, and rocks, scrubbed them in tap water, and changed the filter, all in one sitting. Whoops. The owner accidentally removed ALL the beneficial bacteria from the tank doing this, putting the tank into an ammonia and nitrite spiral. Adding Prime everyday, along with daily water changes, detoxified the ammonia and nitrite, helped the tank cycle, and saved the life of about 10 beautiful African cichlids!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good, but smelly!

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PewPewPew
from New York, NY
This is a great product. At only 2 drops/ gallon, it is also cost effective.
Can be a little smelly, similar to sulfur. Totally worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its great!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
brian7
from cleveland
To make a long story short i had trouble cycling my tank. I had nitrite problems. I overdosed my tank with prime like it states, it made nitrites non-toxic. and shortly after they started to decrease. great water conditioner also (what its actually meant for)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only water conditioner you'll ever need

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
RanchuGirl
from Eastern Michigan
all purpose conditioner, used to use many other bottle to get the same effect. Would reccomend to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best out there!!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrSmackDown
from MIAMI, FL
I was using a different product before prime and it was not getting the job done. After reading so many good reviews i decided to buy it and it was the best decision since the setup of my aquarium. It took 2 weeks to work because my aquarium was in very bad condition but now is the only stuff i use and everything is in great condition. Your fish will thank you, switch today!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CONDITIONER TO USE!!!!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrFish1212
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this conditioner since I bought my first tank and I must say that this is the best and most effective stuff on the market. It also doesn't require a lot to get the job done. I highly recommend buying this and I gurantee this will be the only conditioner you'll want to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
LvMyPuffer
from Portland, OR
I have used this stuff for over 10 years. Excellent value per gallon treated too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seachem Prime
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stuff

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
patinnc
from forest city nc
i love this stuff i've been using for freshwater for years and then i got into saltwater fish and it's even better in there i have happy healthy fish because of it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>