petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

Luggage quality, deluxe Sherpa dog carrier for small petsAirline Approved Dog Carrier for underseat useStylish, lightweight design conforms with commercial airline carry-on specificationsParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
73 out of 82(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great travel carrier

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
missx
sturdy, great features; roll down flaps, heavy-duty zippers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
39of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
ward
from ohio
The Sherpa Delta Deluxe had more than enough room for our cat that weighs 10 lbs. It had side pockets to store little goodies which was convenient. We had no difficulty flying from Ohio to California with Delta Airlines and filled out the guaranteed on board pass. It fit under the seat and was not difficult to maneuver. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airy and Lightweight

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
CLS62
from Santa Rosa, CA
I have not actually used the Sherpa Pet Carrier, but I can tell from just looking at it that it is going to be very comfortable for my cat with its wool-look padded insert that my pet will sit on as we travel. Also, for me, it will be easier to carry, as my old one is made of plastic and is not only rigid, but heavy to carry--with my 9 lb. cat in it.
I also like that parts of it are netted, so it will be easy for my cat to see out and not feel so confined. It offers better air flow because of the netted panels.
I am glad that I chose this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miles above the others

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
sherwrnear
from Fairfield, CA
I returned the "standard" (16" long) Sherpa carrier because it cramped our 11# Maltese too much, but this Delta Air Lines Deluxe carrier is sooooo much of an improvement that it is worth the extra money - both roomy and with privacy flaps to boot!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product has great features

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveStar
from Travelers Rest, SC
Product is ideal for carrying a cat to the vet.
Very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
NickyBoy
from Brooklyn, NY
Overall this is a good quality pet carrier. Wished the shoulder strap was longer so the carrier hangs lower on my hips. Additionally only one small zipper compartment to carry accessories for my pet which isn't enough. Would have been 5 stars otherwise
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Picture much nicer than the product

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
winstonlechat
from LI, New York
I have no criticism of the quality of construction, but in the picture on the web site, this product is shown with a rich dark brown verging on black color.
In the flesh, the carrier looks really cheesy. It is made from a fabric which is flat black and not very attractive.
I have yet to use the carrier to transport my pet. I will post after having done this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great New Find

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
flyingkitties
from MA
I have two cats, and both hate getting in carriers. I recently bought the Sherpa Delta Deluxe Pet Carriers in preparation for a trip out of state by air. I followed the recommendation of letting the kitties get used to them. Well, I am finding them hanging out in the carriers, and even let me carry them around. Granted we have not flown yet, but at least my cats are comfortable in the carriers. They have never voluntarily gotten into the old carriers in 8 years. (Did try leaving them around too). I would recommend this carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet carrier

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jedc
from Chandler AZ
Carrier was nice, but too large for flying on Allegiant Airlines. Had to return to store and get another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat enjoys it!

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
afredorap
from Nashville, TN
My cat is 11 lbs and this is the perfect size. After some initial reluctance, she sat in it silently in the car on our recent trip to the vet, and when we got home she even laid in it a while just to relax! My only complaint is that she can't see out of it - there are a few mesh parts and you can roll up the front for her to see, but it isn't much. I'm sure this is useful for plane travel, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delta approved

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
everdreaminn
from Lakeland FL
Ideal for carry-on pets. My cat is about 16 lbs and she would fit in comfortably. Please sedate your pets...your vet can help....animals can be traumatized by the noise and confusion of airports. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
13of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pet carrier - for small pets

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
TeBob
from Oregon
We really like this carrier - it has great room for our small pets and is easy to carry either by the handles or the over-the-shoulder-strap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Carrier

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MUSHLV
from LAS VEGAS NV
The carrier is made of high quality material. It has ample ventilation and viewing are for the dog to be comfortable. A nice "sheepskin" type bottom for the carrier. Also good handles to carry the carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Carrier

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ILoveMyChief
from Raleigh, NC
I bought this carrier specifically for flights home to New York. I was told by several airlines that I shouldn't have any problems using it, and it even comes with a brochure for Quaker Pet Group's Guaranteed On-Board travel program. I won't be flying with it until December, but I have already used it to take my little 9 pound cat, Chief, out of the house. It has plenty of flaps and mesh for adequate ventilation, and it has a soft lining for the bottom. It's very well made, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of space, soft pad, no complaints!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MiniDachshundMom
from New York, NY
I recently moved my mini dachshund across the country from California to New York. It was his first flight and I was very nervous. He is about 12lbs and fit in this carrier perfectly with room for a couple of toys and a small blanket. The bag fit under the seat just fine. The pad at the bottom was soft and he was able to sleep and relax. I appreciated the ability to roll-up the flaps on the front and back so he could see out and also the top flap so I could pet him during the flight. My only issues was that the zippers are very stiff and feel like they could break if I pull quickly or too hard, but all in all great bag and he was very relaxed on this long flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pet carrier

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
platosrepublic
from Los Angeles
My 11-pound chihuahua mix had never flown before and he seemed comfortable. The carrier isn't bulky, it fit well under a Southwest seat and it was easy to get him in and out quickly for security. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Bichon's safe place

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sasha2012
from Nashville, TN
This carrier was perfect for my Bichon Frise when we traveled to Dallas. I was able to slide the carrier under the seat in front of me. She slept the entire plane ride and she slept in the carrier as she relaxed during the day. It is definitely her safe place and I recommend it for sure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
petlover488
from TXS
Great looking bags, really compact and easy to care. Comfortable for dogs and over all perfect fly carriers. My two dogs love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aeromoza
from Atlanta, GA
Safest and always guaranteed to be “AIRLINE APPROVED” this Pet Carrier is for airline travel, car travel in the passenger area and my dog loves the comfortable area and that he can look at us while traveling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CA trip

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tgy66
from Fairfield County Connecticut
This carrier weighs 3.5 lbs. and was perfect for my 15 lb. Bichon Friese's first airplane trip on Virgin America (Airbus) to California. You are allowed 20 lbs (dog & carrier weight). Although the dimensions of the carrier were slightly different than the airline stated It fit perfectly under the seat. She was very comfortable and actually could turn around in it. The zipper top was great for petting her if I felt the need. The straps made it very easy to carry the bag. The serpa liner was very inviting for the dog. While in CA she even went to her carrier on a number of occasions to nap. I definitely would recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
26of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>