petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

Luggage quality, deluxe Sherpa dog carrier for small petsAirline Approved Dog Carrier for underseat useStylish, lightweight design conforms with commercial airline carry-on specificationsParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
76 out of 85(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great travel carrier

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
sturdy, great features; roll down flaps, heavy-duty zippers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
43of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase!

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I purchased this carrier to take on a plane trip. I was nervous about taking my pet on-board , since this was our first trip via plane. This carrier made it so easy! There was absolutely no problems with the carrier size or specifications. It fit under the seat in front of me, with just a little adjusting of the top to slide under. My dog felt safe and secure, and was happy and polite the whole way!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier for cats

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
This carrier is compact and provides a stable carry for our cat. It has nice flaps on the ends that can be pulled down or tied up to shield from wind, sun, or movement. The two entry points also help get the cat in and out of the carrier. We've only had it a few weeks, but so far it is durrable even when we washed the insert.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Juan Capistrano, CA
Used to bring home an 8 wk old German Shepherd puppy that weighed 15 lbs. Puppy was comfortable and able to turn around. We worked with the puppy for a week to get used to the carrier before flying home. Carrier fit under the seats in the small and larger planes. Bag was sturdy and comes with a removable fleece lining that stayed in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
The Sherpa Delta Deluxe had more than enough room for our cat that weighs 10 lbs. It had side pockets to store little goodies which was convenient. We had no difficulty flying from Ohio to California with Delta Airlines and filled out the guaranteed on board pass. It fit under the seat and was not difficult to maneuver. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airy and Lightweight

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, CA
I have not actually used the Sherpa Pet Carrier, but I can tell from just looking at it that it is going to be very comfortable for my cat with its wool-look padded insert that my pet will sit on as we travel. Also, for me, it will be easier to carry, as my old one is made of plastic and is not only rigid, but heavy to carry--with my 9 lb. cat in it.
I also like that parts of it are netted, so it will be easy for my cat to see out and not feel so confined. It offers better air flow because of the netted panels.
I am glad that I chose this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miles above the others

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield, CA
I returned the "standard" (16" long) Sherpa carrier because it cramped our 11# Maltese too much, but this Delta Air Lines Deluxe carrier is sooooo much of an improvement that it is worth the extra money - both roomy and with privacy flaps to boot!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product has great features

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Travelers Rest, SC
Product is ideal for carrying a cat to the vet.
Very good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
Overall this is a good quality pet carrier. Wished the shoulder strap was longer so the carrier hangs lower on my hips. Additionally only one small zipper compartment to carry accessories for my pet which isn't enough. Would have been 5 stars otherwise
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Picture much nicer than the product

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from LI, New York
I have no criticism of the quality of construction, but in the picture on the web site, this product is shown with a rich dark brown verging on black color.
In the flesh, the carrier looks really cheesy. It is made from a fabric which is flat black and not very attractive.
I have yet to use the carrier to transport my pet. I will post after having done this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great New Find

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
I have two cats, and both hate getting in carriers. I recently bought the Sherpa Delta Deluxe Pet Carriers in preparation for a trip out of state by air. I followed the recommendation of letting the kitties get used to them. Well, I am finding them hanging out in the carriers, and even let me carry them around. Granted we have not flown yet, but at least my cats are comfortable in the carriers. They have never voluntarily gotten into the old carriers in 8 years. (Did try leaving them around too). I would recommend this carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet carrier

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chandler AZ
Carrier was nice, but too large for flying on Allegiant Airlines. Had to return to store and get another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat enjoys it!

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
My cat is 11 lbs and this is the perfect size. After some initial reluctance, she sat in it silently in the car on our recent trip to the vet, and when we got home she even laid in it a while just to relax! My only complaint is that she can't see out of it - there are a few mesh parts and you can roll up the front for her to see, but it isn't much. I'm sure this is useful for plane travel, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delta approved

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lakeland FL
Ideal for carry-on pets. My cat is about 16 lbs and she would fit in comfortably. Please sedate your pets...your vet can help....animals can be traumatized by the noise and confusion of airports. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
15of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pet carrier - for small pets

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
We really like this carrier - it has great room for our small pets and is easy to carry either by the handles or the over-the-shoulder-strap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Carrier

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from LAS VEGAS NV
The carrier is made of high quality material. It has ample ventilation and viewing are for the dog to be comfortable. A nice "sheepskin" type bottom for the carrier. Also good handles to carry the carrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Carrier

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I bought this carrier specifically for flights home to New York. I was told by several airlines that I shouldn't have any problems using it, and it even comes with a brochure for Quaker Pet Group's Guaranteed On-Board travel program. I won't be flying with it until December, but I have already used it to take my little 9 pound cat, Chief, out of the house. It has plenty of flaps and mesh for adequate ventilation, and it has a soft lining for the bottom. It's very well made, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of space, soft pad, no complaints!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I recently moved my mini dachshund across the country from California to New York. It was his first flight and I was very nervous. He is about 12lbs and fit in this carrier perfectly with room for a couple of toys and a small blanket. The bag fit under the seat just fine. The pad at the bottom was soft and he was able to sleep and relax. I appreciated the ability to roll-up the flaps on the front and back so he could see out and also the top flap so I could pet him during the flight. My only issues was that the zippers are very stiff and feel like they could break if I pull quickly or too hard, but all in all great bag and he was very relaxed on this long flight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pet carrier

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My 11-pound chihuahua mix had never flown before and he seemed comfortable. The carrier isn't bulky, it fit well under a Southwest seat and it was easy to get him in and out quickly for security. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sherpa Delta Air Lines Deluxe Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Bichon's safe place

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
This carrier was perfect for my Bichon Frise when we traveled to Dallas. I was able to slide the carrier under the seat in front of me. She slept the entire plane ride and she slept in the carrier as she relaxed during the day. It is definitely her safe place and I recommend it for sure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>