petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads

Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads

Soft cotton web lead that's built to lastDog training lead features ample loop handle and heavy duty metal hardware
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 27(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Review 1 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pay the extra money for a higher quality product

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
SnowWhite114
from Haverhill, MA
I was excited for this leash to arrive so that I could continue recall training with my new pup. The very first time I used this leash, my dog snapped it...twice. Now, this leash is rated for large dogs up to 88 lbs. I have a 6 month old, 30 pound Australian Shepherd and he broke the leash within a half hour after I removed it from the box. This leash seemed like a great deal, but it is worth investing more money in a higher quality product. I will be returning this for a refund as soon as possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Training aid

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mbharvey
from Southern UT
This is a great training aid for any size dog. Not recommended for use in tying dogs up outside for long periods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leisure and Training Aid

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Asoko, NY
These leads are very convenient. They allow my dogs to have a bit of freedom when they are at parks where dogs must be leashed at all times. They also help with CKG training as well with the recall test item and the leaving the pet task.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Surprisingly Sturdy

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilyson
from Bothell, WA
My bf and I were aware that this leash was not strictly for outdoor use, but after a panel of our fence got knocked down in a windstorm when our dog was a baby, we used the training lead so he could still wander around and explore the yard relatively freely (the yard is pretty small, so 30 ft got him around most of it).
The first one lasted a year before beginning to fray about two feet from where it hooks on to the collar. For some reason, the replacement we got did not last nearly as long, fraying at the same place as the first and tearing off there within 3 months. I guess there's some structural weakness at that spot?
We didn't use it for training like we thought we would (to train the command "come") because primarily for me, it was a bit too long and too unwieldy to rope the dog in before he forgot the command he'd been given in the first place.
Bottom line: surprisingly sturdy, but I wouldn't use it as a long-term outdoor solution, and it's a bit long for training recall.
Disclaimer: I know my dog is not responsible for the disintegration of the leash, because he's never fully unsupervised, and, more to the point, I am in possession of the rest of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secure Feeling

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
greenleaf101
from Port Saint Lucie, FL
An excellent well made product. Clasp is heavy duty and so is the quality of the lead itself. Great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great training lead

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
rosiepantz
from Austin, TX
I am a volunteer dog trainer, and I love this lead for recall training and loose leash walking. I use the 20' length, which is long enough to stay loose as you call the dog back to you for treats, and allows the dog to learn to walk at your side for treats without having to pull and engage the opposition reflex as a shorter leash would allow. Since it's cotton, it's soft on your hands, and it's also machine washable if it gets dirty from dragging on the ground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
BillChgo
from Chicago, IL
This long lead is great, though it requires a little handling expertise. I think this is a much safer alternative to the string type lead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Thin

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizard1
from Fargo, ND
The lead was much thinner than expected. It's about half the thickness of what we currently have. Concerned it will break if a squirrel runs by my big dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

15 foot longe

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cburkhar
from San Diego county
Perfect for training a dog to pay attention to you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
PatinTN
This is the 2nd training lead I have bought. Just wanted a spare. These long training leads were recommended by a dog trainer for us. They are great! Gives you the needed control of your animal but allows the animal to have some freedom to roam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Control

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
BuckeyeLabLover
I bought the 30 foot lead for my rescue lab and he loves it. It gives me the control I need and the freedom he wants. When walking near other dogs, I easily wrap the leash around my hand to keep him close then unwind it to give him the ability to wander. Ordering it on-line was quick and easy. Thanks PETCO!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good long lead

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
NKJK627
We use this for training and to let the dogs have a little more lead to roam around and play since we don't have a fenced area to let them play in. I would have liked to the material to be 3/4" or 1" wide though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Training Lead

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChicagoDogMom
We used this lead as a tool for our dog's outdoor obedience class. It was a great crutch for practicing "stay" and "come" when we were mostly (but not completely) confident in her skills. I would recommend some kind of cord wrapping device for keeping in untangled when you're not using it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

quality reflects price

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
WeeWoo
good but expected it to be thicker. I would not use this on my boxer but used it for my doxie. I just feel like its width is not enough to support a larger stronger dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality training lead

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
polishprince
Well made cotton lead. Large clasp is easy to use. Overall, a durable, quality product at a good sale price (but the $7.99 shipping charge was WAY too high).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Playtime !!

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
taterbugg59
from Rochester, NY
I use this lead for my two 65 pound dogs for a great playtime where they are not able to run free. The lead is stong and does not easily tangle. It became wet when we played in the snow, and it dried quickly without becoming stiff. Both my dogs know the sight of the "play leash" and know that they are going to have a good time playing out, while I know that they are safe and legal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Training!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
MorganLC
from Dayton, OH
I got this leash to work on obedience commands with our rescued Boxer at longer distances. It's perfect for training, giving you a long distance to work on recall with your dog, or if you just like having your dog run out ahead/around to get a better workout while you walk leisurely. It's a strong enough lead rope without being too bulky and heavy. It could even be used for playing fetch in areas where leashes are mandatory.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
JackieG
from Owings Mills, MD
This lead is a good weight and is excellent value for money. My dog, Farley, gets a good run and always likes a nice lie down with his teddy when he gets home! Delivery was very quick and efficient. I thoroughly recommend this lead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Light-Weight. Not for Tie Out

PostedSeptember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
OCWeimyMom
from Orange County, CA
I am disappointed that the 30' lead is so light-weight and flimsy. I was hoping to use it as a tie-out for my dogs in the front yard while I'm doing yard work, but my 8 month old weimy could easily chew through this material in one loosely supervised outing, and I'm afraid my 100# Lab could snap it if he took off after a squirrel or cat. However, it's probably fine for its advertised purpose of training a "stay" or a "come", and the light weight is probably a plus for tucking away into a back-pack or cabinet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Heavy Duty Training Leads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HUGE Leash

PostedJanuary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mom2Sadie
from Lake Ridge, VA
This leash is huge... I knew that it was going to be 30', but I didn't realize just how big 30' feet is when you actually see it. It is a great leash and it is nice to have to allow my beagle/hound mix run around in the field near our house. We like to go to the dog park, but it is not close to our house. So, we use this leash to let her run out some of the energy. Great leash!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>