petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Zoo Med Can O' Crickets

You'll never buy live food againFarm raised crickets are cooked in the can to lock in the natural juicesJust pop the top and you have a fresh and flavorful diet your animals will readily consumeIdeal for reptiles, birds, or fishing
Average Customer Rating:
3.892 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
26 out of 37(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Review 1 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

pretty good

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
ilovedragons
my beardie loves these crickets.And i have a fear of things bouncing and i would never touch them,but it comes with a little spoon!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can O' Crickets

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlueSkyy
from Denver, CO
These crickets are just the right size for my fish, however they sink like stones as soon as I place them on the water's surface. These WILL NOT FLOAT. My fish can't grab them fast enough and they just fall to the bottom. The size is perfect, but they are just too moist. Will be returning them for something different.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdman59
from Marietta,Ohio
These crickets were excellent. juicy , easy to handle, not soaking wet, A good price and were a special treat for my chickens, , they devoured them within seconds, had actual crickets and not just legs and body parts, would buy them again for special treats when needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to feed your bearded dragons

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
GreatBeardedDragon
from California, CA
I got them in the mail and when i opened the can, my two bearded dragons where all excited about eating them. It's a good way to feed them if you don't like to have the live ones. But make sure you do feed them live sometimes as well. Also, if you can, buy calcium to put them on the cooked/live crickets for your bearded dragons
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

these crickets are to big for leopard geckos

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ldawg
from Orofino, Id
I am lizard sitting my brothers adult female leopard gecko, and she would not even touch them. I had to cut them up to get them to be bite size for her, and they just sat in the food dish and dried out. I am sure if they were smaller and fed with tongs she would eat them. These might work great for larger lizards, but i would not suggest them for leopard geckos.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yummy crickets

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
beardie10145
from FL
My bearded dragon, Steve loves these big and juicy crickets, but they do smell a little bad. At least they don't move!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My bearded dragon wouldn't touch them

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vettech88
from Vermont
He even seemed to hate the smell of them. Everytime I tried to offer them, he'd head in the opposite direction. They also molded within just a few days of opening. I'm sticking with live crickets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my leopard gecko's life

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saturnsmom
from central NJ
Our gecko couldn't see (now OK) and had dwindled down to nothing because he only ate food that moved. But when I found these crickets I'd hold them right up to his mouth and eventually he started eating them. He's now regained his sight and it larger and stronger than he's been all the 8 or 9 years we've had him. He won't eat other brands of crickets. This and waxworms helped him so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! No more smelly loud crickets!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
japster327
from Philadelphia, PA
These canned crickets are amazing. FINALLY! I don't have to listen to 500 chirping crickets in my house all the time. As soon as my bearded dragon sees me bring the can into the room she gets so excited. She loves them as much, if not more, than the live crickets. She was never much of a hunter so she really enjoys eating these crickets from the tongs that I picked up at Petco.
I really recommend this product if you're tired of smelly and loud live crickets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great choice

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvalanimals
from Napa, CA
i know this may seem weird but i am afraid of crickets and yes i have a deardie. i bought the can o crickets to try it and my beardie loves them and you get twice as many crickets in the can than you do live ones. i dont mind the can o crickets so much i can actually hand feed him the nice cooked ones so i am going to continue to buy the can o crickets because they have the same nutritional value but they dont jump around and freak me out and make a lot of noise at night. i love the can o crickets. thanks to the people who recommended them to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Eastern Box Turtle loves these crickets!

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
TurtleGirl1
I would defiantly recommend these crickets! He would eat them all the time! A good price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Box turtle loves them

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ladybard
These crickets have the appearance and texture of live or very freshly killed crickets, but will not hop away if it takes your pet a few minutes to notice them :) . They were recommended by my exotic animal vet and are a favorite of my Eastern Box Turtle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ehh

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Turtledude
They got very gross very quickly i didnt really like them but my turtle did just get live instead
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can O' Crickets

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Santor
from Arkansas
My fiddler crabs love these. Easy to dispense.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
MrBuck
I have 5 red eared sliders and they will eat cans of these if I let them. Mealworms too. These products are just what was needed for the turtles. Mine get so excited they flap their legs and get the water all stirred up and then just devour these crickets. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo Med Crickets

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
cronegarnethawk
Very well priced. Can't say much about crickets we feed them to our wild bird we raised. He likes them. Has been eating them since being weaned. They are very convenient & easy to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My eastern box turle does't eat it

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tony1111111111
After only one bit, he won't touch it again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy way to get your reptile healthy crickets

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
DJKitty
from Baltimore, MD
These are great. The only thing I don't like is that the package doesn't clearly state to refrigerate after opening the can, because my dragon won't eat too many crickets per day. They also smell a little strange, but overall it's much better than live crickets. My dragon was a little hesistant at first since he's used to live food, so I gave him a few superworms first, then a few crickets, then a few more worms, so he knows now that the crickets are part of his meal. He seems to really like them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!!!

PostedApril 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Train
I just bought a Leopard Gecko, and instead of live crickets I bought these. She LOVES these crickets. It has gotten to the point that when I crack open the can, she comes running toward it. This is by far the best non living food source out there. A+A+A+!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Can O' Crickets
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No go for me

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aufer
from Philadelphia
My Red Ear Slider just lets these drift around the tank. They are fresh as promised. They do not float. Hopefully its just my turtle being picky. He tried them the first few times. Now I can just toss the rest. Other reptiles/amphibians would love these I'm sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>