petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richard's Organics Pet Calm

Richard's Organics Pet Calm

Calms nervous animalsUse prior to anxiety-causing eventsReduces hyper-activity prior to travel, grooming, introduction to new environments or new people or other petsMay be used every 6 hours, takes about 30 minutes to work
Average Customer Rating:
4.12 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
13
61 out of 75(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Review 1 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet Calm

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
2Minimees
from San Pedro, CA
This product has a gradual effect on my rescued Silky Terrier. Gave him loose bowels, maybe I will need to ease up on the dosage. His energy is through the roof. It helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hyper Pomeranian Divo

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chula53
from Los Banos, CA
I tried this calming herb for grooming purposes. I tried several times to get a feel for how it affected him. He weighs 14lbs. So I gave him 1ml dropper the first time per the instructions. No affect. Second time I tried 2 ml , no affect. I tried 3 droppers no affect, then went to 4. I didn't want give him any more than that. I gave it time to take affect. He is just to hyper of a personality. Possibly the type of breed he is. don't recommend for this type of personality. I tried!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent product, poor packaging.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
THSx2009
from Cincinnati, OH
Please keep in mind that this is a holistic product. Much like humans, every dog is different and some are completely unaffected by natural medication. On the other hand, for some dogs it's a miracle worker.
I have a 5 year old pug who spent the first 2 years of her life in a puppy mill. Then, the mill discarded her along with a few others at their nearest shelter. The shelter was full, so she was placed on "the list" .. Meanwhile, they contacted a rescue an hour or two away who took her in. Then I got her.
She has the typical behavior of a puppy mill dog - even three years after getting out. She's a happy, sweet girl but is overly anxious, hyperactive and still not use to physical touch. She doesn't kiss, she isn't affectionate (at least not in the ways dogs normally are) and she is easily triggered and overly stimulated.
She has a hard time relaxing, paces frequently and will run back and forth through my main hallway chasing imaginary cars.
She honestly COULD probably be medicated by a vet, but I'm not a big fan of modern medicine for the most part unless it's absolutely, 100% needed. I always try holistics first.
This product DOES actually work pretty well for my dog. It doesn't calm her completely but it does calm her some. I feel she is able to actually fully relax on this product, which is nice. However, the packaging isn't wonderful. No matter how you manipulate the bottle and dropper, you can only get about .8mL out, despite them recommending a full 1mL dropped (unless your pup is under 10lbs).
Also, considering that my dog has some "autistic" characteristics, having to hold her down to give her this multiple times a day forces her to become even more stressed. So, I consider that another flaw.
I am going to try to put it on her twice daily meals from now on and see what happens.
Overall, I WOULD recommend this to people because the actual product does improve my dogs overall behavior. It's definitely worth a shot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope Nope Nope

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trill
from Atlanta, GA
If I could actually get the 1-4 droppers full in my Yorkie, maybe it would calm her. Unfortunately, valerian stinks to high heaven, so I can't hide it in food or water. If I hold her and force her to take it, she spits it out, shaking her head to spatter the sticky stinky goo all over. Plus, the process of forcing her to take anything just ratchets the anxiety up to 11. (For her and me both.)
I bought it due to all the positive reviews, so obviously it works for some. But if your pet has a discerning palette, I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does NOT Work for Large Lab/Shep Mix

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrodytheMutt
from Phx AZ
My Lab/Shepard 8 month mix has anxiety with loud noises - motorcycles, buses, trucks and skateboarders, bicycles on walks. He gets in a zone were he pulls me all the way home, and hides for 30-40 once back in the house. He is "unreachable" during these periods... and is hesitant to go outside next time (could be 4 hours later). When he sees ppl on bikes, other dogs, people - he wants to see them, he starts jumping, twisting and just plain over excited freaking out. I was hoping this would "take the edge off" as a trainer suggested so that I could use simple commands to regain control of the dog's mental state. I have seen no difference. My dog likes the taste of it, I think it smells foul. It is a dropper - and my dog took to it easily. My 55lb dog needs 5.5 droppers of this product. With this size bottle, we would get 10 uses. Again, I did not see any difference, I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Genster
from Pearl City, HI
Wasted my money in buying this! Thought it would help calm my 18 month old Jack Russell mixed puppy's nerves when riding in a car. She still becomes nervous and end up vomiting in the back seat before arriving home! It does relaxes her a little, but not while riding in my car. It was worth a tried anyway!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
artha
from Minnesota
Did not work one bit on my 6 yr. old boxer who has anxiety separation despite the walks, radio, special chew food & everything done that I've read to do for this. He frequently lays in his kennel when we're home but when we go and shut the door, he gets anxious demonstrated by his anxious breathing, barking when we're gone (he doesn't bark any other time even with strangers coming to the door), & excess saliva. The thunder coat didn't work either but I could return that on the guarantee. Our dog is a rescue who is a great dog in every way, never anxious, walks great, travels well, trains well but doesn't like us to leave even after being with our family 1.5 years and even short periods of time. This product did not even take the edge off his anxiety.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to use

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
lunatone21
from Fairfield, CA
The dosage is one full dropper per 10 pound of dog...so for my dog that's 4! If your dog is calm and well behaved enough to sit for more than one dropper, you DON'T need this. We have tried freezing this much into an ice cube, but it doesn't freeze well so I doubt he's getting the full dose. Either way it's been too much of a hassle to use. We're going to try one that can be added to drinking water instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST ANXIETY SOLUTION EVER!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
lukoo
from new york
THIS IS THE BEST product ever! my dog suffers from SEPARATION ANXIETY, and I TRIED EVERYTHING!! Although I walk my dog prepare him before i leave put music on,shake keys u name it ! NOTHING WILL HELP HIM BE CALM! BUT THIS! IT IS AWESOME HIS MORE CALM, DOESNT chew on his crate cover up, and his 100 LBS+ alaskan malamute! DEFF DEFF TRY IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff works!!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
JackieI
from Fairview, TX
Our dog, Libby is a nervous wreck, once a thunderstorm or heavy rainstorm begins. She shakes violently all over, pants heavily, etc. She has chewed and scratched up woodwork when she is this anxious.Our family is very happy to recommend Pet Calm. It works in about ten minutes and Libby remains very calm for about three hours. She even appears to like the taste of it. Pet Calm is much more effective than the anti-anxiety medication that our vet gave us. Plus, as I mentioned it starts working much faster than a pill since it is a liquid. We will always buy Pet Calm from now on. This is available in Petco stores or online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Post-Op

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoulFighter24
from Los Angeles, CA
My dog just had surgery to remove a mass. Our vet gave her meds however she was still in a lot of pain. With her e-collar and the stress of the situation, she needed something to help relax. I tried this product hoping it would help, and it did. Between taking her meds, she would whimper so I started to give her a dose of Richard's Organics, and she would relax immediately. I gave it orally vs in her water to have a faster reaction.
If you decide to try this for post-op, make sure you give your dogs meds first bc it seemed to numb my dog's tongue. Making it harder to take her pills. Also, check with your vet first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Effective!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dogs4Me2
from La Crosse, WI
I used this with my huge rescue dog to help calm him for company coming over, and it worked like a charm! He was still active, but not crazy. All my dogs love the taste of it, so that makes it easy to administer. Looking forward to calmer vet visits and successful pedicures with this miracle juice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't have any effect on my dog

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
gramercygal
from New York, NY
I recently adopted a new dog and he was suffering from separation anxiety when I left the house. I bought this on a recommendation of a Petco employee. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to do anything to help my little one. I used it for about a week and then ceased. It seemed palatable though, my dog never had an issue taking it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Clovergirl
from Racine WI
I have an 18 year old cat that lost her lifetime companion a year ago and has been going through the grieving process - her way of grieving is to wander the house at night and meow/howl looking for him. Was about at my wits end when I read about this product and decided to try it since it was natural - with her as old as she is I wanted whatever I used to be safe. I give her a 1/4 dropper by mouth at night before bed - she's a little gal, weighs a little less than 6 lbs. - she's quiet all night long - no side effects - I'm so happy I can sleep through the night now I can't tell you - would recommend...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this product

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
debby9705
from virginia
this product works very well and have no problems have our baby take the product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful stuff

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anomymouse
from CA
This calmed my tantruming spaniel right down. It didn't make him sleepy, it just took the edge off and allowed him to settle down. This stuff is a god send. I will definitely use when we have company over, travel, during fireworks, and other times when he tends to get overly worked up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is AMAZING!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
GoldenJac
from Minnesota
This product has been an absolute lifesaver. I tried it on a whim, hoping to find something to help my golden retriever with her vet visit anxiety, but I never imagined it would work this well. After several rounds of ear and eye infections, my dog dreads the vet. I would have to carry her through the doors (which at 70 lbs that's not all too easy), and she fought me the whole way. Then she'd shake uncontrollably the whole time we were there. I felt awful for her. I gave her one dose of this stuff about 30 minutes before her last vet check-up, and I could not believe how calm she was. She still stared at the door the whole time, but she didn't resist coming inside or shake or anything. She even wagged her tail when the vet tech came in. I'll be using this for every vet and groomer appointment in our future. I'm so thankful to have found it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too soon to tell...

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
mangomadness
from New Jersey
My dog, Benji, LOVES the taste of this product. He seems slightly calmer after taking it, but nothing substantial or miraculous. The product has helped with grooming and with introductions to new people. I will continue to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Liziesdogs
from Pittsburgh, PA
I'd tried a more "brand name" natural product for calming my lab mix, and it worked well. When I ran out, the store didn't have it in stock, but PetCalm was next to the open space. It was much less expensive, and it works wonderfully for the anxious times in both my dogs' lives. It works in just a few minutes when a thunder storm pops up, and it lasts hours when they are going to be left home alone. The dosing guidelines are too much for my dogs. 1ml if enough for my 70 pounder, which makes it more of a price bargain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Richard's Organics Pet Calm

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
pokeyvette
from Pocatello, ID
With 5 dogs, stress can travel fast. So when thunderstorms threaten or someone needs a bath, this is what we grab. A few squirts down the throat and happy puppies. We have to hide this from one because she will chew the top off and suck it dry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>