petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Richard's Organics Pet Calm

Richard's Organics Pet Calm

Calms nervous animalsUse prior to anxiety-causing eventsReduces hyper-activity prior to travel, grooming, introduction to new environments or new people or other petsMay be used every 6 hours, takes about 30 minutes to work
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
14
65 out of 81(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Review 1 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too big a dose

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I can't say if this works, as I couldn't get my dog to open his mouth. One dropper full is required for every 10 pounds. Our dog is 35 pounds, which would require 3 and one-half droppers. I couldn't even get one in. It is supposed to be put directly in the dog's mouth, but since that didn't work, I tried putting it in his water. He sniffed and walked away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product works great for my dogs

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from miami fl
I have 2 schnauzers both are afraid of thunder
storms and one is tress most of time. I tried the product and happy to say I found some help it really clams my babies. Buster, Coco and I would like to thank you for this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

been using for years, works great!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pasadena, MD
I have a rat terrier/chihuahua mix who tends to have a personality leaning towards the anxious side, which we manage with regular exercise. However, she is really scared of thunderstorms and exercise isn't enough. We give her this, and it works every time! She goes from shaking and even the occasional whine to calm and quiet within a half hour of giving it to her. It's great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pontiac, mi
This stuff is amazing! I have a 17 lb Lhasa apso that started having panic attacks (caused my loud noises (thunder and fire works mainly) along with social anxiety being around lots of people or other dogs) after being attacked by a large dog 2 years ago. This stuff works great. For her weight she takes a dropper and a half and she loves it! Doesn't fight me at all and actually sits and waits for it as soon as I take it out of the cupboard. Does not cause her to act strange or "drugged" up like Benedryl does. It is always better to plan ahead when giving the medication if possible (for example, if you know you are going to be going out, having company, or a thunderstorm is coming) but it does also seem to work well for her if I give it to her as soon as a stressful situation starts to occur (like the neighbors start lighting fireworks) I recommend this product to everyone, definitely worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tastes Great And Effective

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern Utah
We gave Richard's Organics Pet Calm to our Pet Felix. It calmed him down almost immediately and it didn't over sedate him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for my pug!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Enola, PA
I was really hoping this would work for my Pugs separation anxiety but sadly it did not. I gave him 3 vials worth and he acted exactly the same! Oh well I guess I should just get him to the vet for medication.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pet Calm

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Pedro, CA
This product has a gradual effect on my rescued Silky Terrier. Gave him loose bowels, maybe I will need to ease up on the dosage. His energy is through the roof. It helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hyper Pomeranian Divo

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Banos, CA
I tried this calming herb for grooming purposes. I tried several times to get a feel for how it affected him. He weighs 14lbs. So I gave him 1ml dropper the first time per the instructions. No affect. Second time I tried 2 ml , no affect. I tried 3 droppers no affect, then went to 4. I didn't want give him any more than that. I gave it time to take affect. He is just to hyper of a personality. Possibly the type of breed he is. don't recommend for this type of personality. I tried!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent product, poor packaging.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, OH
Please keep in mind that this is a holistic product. Much like humans, every dog is different and some are completely unaffected by natural medication. On the other hand, for some dogs it's a miracle worker.
I have a 5 year old pug who spent the first 2 years of her life in a puppy mill. Then, the mill discarded her along with a few others at their nearest shelter. The shelter was full, so she was placed on "the list" .. Meanwhile, they contacted a rescue an hour or two away who took her in. Then I got her.
She has the typical behavior of a puppy mill dog - even three years after getting out. She's a happy, sweet girl but is overly anxious, hyperactive and still not use to physical touch. She doesn't kiss, she isn't affectionate (at least not in the ways dogs normally are) and she is easily triggered and overly stimulated.
She has a hard time relaxing, paces frequently and will run back and forth through my main hallway chasing imaginary cars.
She honestly COULD probably be medicated by a vet, but I'm not a big fan of modern medicine for the most part unless it's absolutely, 100% needed. I always try holistics first.
This product DOES actually work pretty well for my dog. It doesn't calm her completely but it does calm her some. I feel she is able to actually fully relax on this product, which is nice. However, the packaging isn't wonderful. No matter how you manipulate the bottle and dropper, you can only get about .8mL out, despite them recommending a full 1mL dropped (unless your pup is under 10lbs).
Also, considering that my dog has some "autistic" characteristics, having to hold her down to give her this multiple times a day forces her to become even more stressed. So, I consider that another flaw.
I am going to try to put it on her twice daily meals from now on and see what happens.
Overall, I WOULD recommend this to people because the actual product does improve my dogs overall behavior. It's definitely worth a shot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nope Nope Nope

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
If I could actually get the 1-4 droppers full in my Yorkie, maybe it would calm her. Unfortunately, valerian stinks to high heaven, so I can't hide it in food or water. If I hold her and force her to take it, she spits it out, shaking her head to spatter the sticky stinky goo all over. Plus, the process of forcing her to take anything just ratchets the anxiety up to 11. (For her and me both.)
I bought it due to all the positive reviews, so obviously it works for some. But if your pet has a discerning palette, I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does NOT Work for Large Lab/Shep Mix

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phx AZ
My Lab/Shepard 8 month mix has anxiety with loud noises - motorcycles, buses, trucks and skateboarders, bicycles on walks. He gets in a zone were he pulls me all the way home, and hides for 30-40 once back in the house. He is "unreachable" during these periods... and is hesitant to go outside next time (could be 4 hours later). When he sees ppl on bikes, other dogs, people - he wants to see them, he starts jumping, twisting and just plain over excited freaking out. I was hoping this would "take the edge off" as a trainer suggested so that I could use simple commands to regain control of the dog's mental state. I have seen no difference. My dog likes the taste of it, I think it smells foul. It is a dropper - and my dog took to it easily. My 55lb dog needs 5.5 droppers of this product. With this size bottle, we would get 10 uses. Again, I did not see any difference, I would not recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pearl City, HI
Wasted my money in buying this! Thought it would help calm my 18 month old Jack Russell mixed puppy's nerves when riding in a car. She still becomes nervous and end up vomiting in the back seat before arriving home! It does relaxes her a little, but not while riding in my car. It was worth a tried anyway!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Did not work one bit on my 6 yr. old boxer who has anxiety separation despite the walks, radio, special chew food & everything done that I've read to do for this. He frequently lays in his kennel when we're home but when we go and shut the door, he gets anxious demonstrated by his anxious breathing, barking when we're gone (he doesn't bark any other time even with strangers coming to the door), & excess saliva. The thunder coat didn't work either but I could return that on the guarantee. Our dog is a rescue who is a great dog in every way, never anxious, walks great, travels well, trains well but doesn't like us to leave even after being with our family 1.5 years and even short periods of time. This product did not even take the edge off his anxiety.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to use

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield, CA
The dosage is one full dropper per 10 pound of dog...so for my dog that's 4! If your dog is calm and well behaved enough to sit for more than one dropper, you DON'T need this. We have tried freezing this much into an ice cube, but it doesn't freeze well so I doubt he's getting the full dose. Either way it's been too much of a hassle to use. We're going to try one that can be added to drinking water instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST ANXIETY SOLUTION EVER!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from new york
THIS IS THE BEST product ever! my dog suffers from SEPARATION ANXIETY, and I TRIED EVERYTHING!! Although I walk my dog prepare him before i leave put music on,shake keys u name it ! NOTHING WILL HELP HIM BE CALM! BUT THIS! IT IS AWESOME HIS MORE CALM, DOESNT chew on his crate cover up, and his 100 LBS+ alaskan malamute! DEFF DEFF TRY IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff works!!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fairview, TX
Our dog, Libby is a nervous wreck, once a thunderstorm or heavy rainstorm begins. She shakes violently all over, pants heavily, etc. She has chewed and scratched up woodwork when she is this anxious.Our family is very happy to recommend Pet Calm. It works in about ten minutes and Libby remains very calm for about three hours. She even appears to like the taste of it. Pet Calm is much more effective than the anti-anxiety medication that our vet gave us. Plus, as I mentioned it starts working much faster than a pill since it is a liquid. We will always buy Pet Calm from now on. This is available in Petco stores or online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Post-Op

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My dog just had surgery to remove a mass. Our vet gave her meds however she was still in a lot of pain. With her e-collar and the stress of the situation, she needed something to help relax. I tried this product hoping it would help, and it did. Between taking her meds, she would whimper so I started to give her a dose of Richard's Organics, and she would relax immediately. I gave it orally vs in her water to have a faster reaction.
If you decide to try this for post-op, make sure you give your dogs meds first bc it seemed to numb my dog's tongue. Making it harder to take her pills. Also, check with your vet first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Effective!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from La Crosse, WI
I used this with my huge rescue dog to help calm him for company coming over, and it worked like a charm! He was still active, but not crazy. All my dogs love the taste of it, so that makes it easy to administer. Looking forward to calmer vet visits and successful pedicures with this miracle juice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't have any effect on my dog

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I recently adopted a new dog and he was suffering from separation anxiety when I left the house. I bought this on a recommendation of a Petco employee. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to do anything to help my little one. I used it for about a week and then ceased. It seemed palatable though, my dog never had an issue taking it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Richard's Organics Pet Calm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Racine WI
I have an 18 year old cat that lost her lifetime companion a year ago and has been going through the grieving process - her way of grieving is to wander the house at night and meow/howl looking for him. Was about at my wits end when I read about this product and decided to try it since it was natural - with her as old as she is I wanted whatever I used to be safe. I give her a 1/4 dropper by mouth at night before bed - she's a little gal, weighs a little less than 6 lbs. - she's quiet all night long - no side effects - I'm so happy I can sleep through the night now I can't tell you - would recommend...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>