petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates

Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates

Pet crates provide safety, security, ventilation and visibility for your pet in a durable wire kennelNo assembly required for these dog crates Ready to unbox and useDead bolt style latches stay secureWashable plastic panLasting black epoxy finishNow with 2-door access!
Average Customer Rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
78 out of 87(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Review 1 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedMay 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach, CA
We just bought our first dog and went into this blind. We bought a cage the day after since we realized he was a puppy in training and needed to be in a confined area during the times we are not around or are too busy. Thank goodness we had time to read the guide that the Precision Great Crate came with. The Crate/Cage itself is a training tool. I was hesitant at first to even think of putting a puppy in a crate, but according to the guide, the dogs actually like it b/c it is like a den. Only after 15 minutes our puppy was fine with the crate. We leave the door open and he goes in there himself when he wants to nap or just relax. They will refuse to use the restroom in there since it is their sleeeping quarters.
Our black crate matches our living room and it is completely see through so our puppy can have an unobstructed view of his environment. We put a blanket in there and it is very cozy. It also has a carrying handle, but we haven't used that yet. The guide that this crate came with is indispensable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
16of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This crate works great

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Martinsburg, WV
The crate withstands a pit bull mix ramming the sides and top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2-door Precision Pet Crate for 90-100 lb dogs

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
We bought this crate for a new German Shepherd puppy that will reach 90-100 lbs. It came in 1 week, new and complete with divider so she can use just part of the crate as she grows. It assembled in minutes, although it pinched my fingertip. We don't use it for traveling just for sleeping at night and confining her when having our carpets cleaned. We love it and recommend it as good value for the price. We also have a MidWest Icrate for our other dogs, and believe the quality to be similar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precision Pet Crates Are THE BEST!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
I can't recommend these crates enough! I have purchased several Precision Pet Crates for my pets in several sizes from small to XL and I will continue to buy this brand in the future. I have owned a lot of crates, in many different designs and this is by far the best! The construction is sturdy. The enamel paint doesn't scratch off. It's folds for fast and easy storage when not in use (and arrives that way, so set up is fast). Having two entrance doors makes it useful for any space. My favorite feature of these crates is the "dead bolt style latch" which is a lift and lock feature on the doors. Every other crate I've seen/owned only has one or two latches to lock the doors and is flimsy and clumsy to operate, especially with the larger size crates. These crates have hooks on the door that lock to the wire frame for more security and they are so easy to use, especially in the larger sizes. Just lift the door slightly, close and drop the hooks on the wire frame. This essentially locks the door, but the latch is still on them to insure crafty pets can't escape. They even come with divider panel, so you can buy a larger crate for your pet to grow into.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value create

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
Works as expected. Assembled easily. Having two doors is very convenient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thin gauge

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
I was disappointed in the gauge/thickness of this crate. Petco's website does not provide this information, so we promptly returned it. The crate itself was fine, but I was looking for something more sturdy that is going to last and look nice for years to come.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Precision 2-Door Crate for Large Dog

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Draper, Utah
Crate arrived and was disappointed in the flimsy construction. Doors difficult to open, close and latch.
I own another crate that is 4x the crate this one is
Shop around for a better constructed crate!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good, and easy to put together

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Franklin Park,IL
I like the product, it took me less than 2 minutes to put it together. the price was good, and I'm glad I got it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington State
I am 100% pleased with my new purchase of this crate, It's the perfect size and has 2 door entry's my furbaby loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only a fair crate - NOT PRECISION!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring, TX
When this crate arrived and I erected it, the end door, which is all crooked, will not close properly. Since it was too much trouble to return it to Petco, I forced the end door closed, permanently, and am using the side door which works properly. My dog doesn't know the difference. So I only gave it two paws.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great product

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
Received the kennel in good shape - easy to put up and love the features
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE precision crates- WORTH EVERY PENNY

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I have two of this size (one door model). I have had these things for ohhh, 10 years...I raised three rotty's in them and kept various rescues of all animal kinds in them until I could get them off to rescue people over the years. They did duty in the barn area for poultry for most of the last 6 years and got messed on all over the place, were damp in the winter and were used like tables with a board on top.
Ended up with another rescue that might stay...looked at em all poultry encrusted and dusty and cobwebby and shook my head thinking they're done. They have been through the wringer the last 6 years. I realized I really don't have the money to buy new so decided to try to clean them up as a futile attempt to not have to buy more. I had to at least try.
2 hours ,a bucket of warm soapy water, a scrubby , washcloth and a hose later...OMG. They cleaned up GREAT. The handles of the latches were slightly slightly rusty here or there where the black coating flaked off (about the only place it has flaked off and then only small spots), the metal tubes that connects the panels together a little dull, pitted and slightly rusty here or there and that is IT! They still work just fine and they look award winning good considering where they have been. If not for the latches and the connector pieces they could pass as gently used items despite what they have been through.
So essentially, if you want a solid, quality crate that is priced reasonably and WORTH every darn penny....go with precision crates. One precision crate could very likely last you all of your adult life if you stayed with the same size dog. As it is now we have the two x lrgs, 1 mediumish, and 2 for 30 lbs or less dogs.
And because I am so impressed with what I have,....I'm going to be buying this X-lrg 2 door version to fit in a spot where a single door crate won't work in my house.
Remember- Don't throw away an extra crate that is in working order, donate it to someone who can't afford a crate or find a rescue group that needs it (crates are good for lots of different animals).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Design and sharp metal corners

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I thought this crate was the same as the one I already owned (I needed a second to keep at my boyfriend's house so that I didn't have to transport the one I already had so often). Well, I'm not sure how I messed that up but am very bummed that I did not realize this one was different b/c this one is NOT as good. It feels flimsy and has WAY too many hooks all over the place during breakdown/setup. The metal has sharp edges and to make it all the more insulting the manufacturer puts an unnecessary (and permanent) metal plaque on the front to promote their brand name. I don't need the brand name plastered on the front of my dogs crate and the edges are so sharp I covered them with cloth tape on the off chance my dog puts his paw or nose/mouth near enough to get cut.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn,NY
This os the ONLY dog crate I have used for the past 20 years ... Extremely durable and looooooong lasting . I have pitbulls and have used this product for ALLL of them when house training. They love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this cage for my Labrador puppy 2 years ago and loved it. The top door, allows you to pick up the pup/puppies without worrying about letting the other pups out & the side door allows you to put the cage the other way Or stack stuff on top of the cage and use the side door instead. Love the cage and would recommend it to any dog owner or breeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This large crate has 2 door enterance

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Suburb of Detroit, MI.
My dog likes the side door enterance better than the end enterance. I am returning this crate because it is way too big for my male 60 lbs. Eng. Springer Spaniel.
48" x 30".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Late, lost, frustrated

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Champaign IL
I have one of these crates I really like. But....I reordered this one about 3 weeks ago and still haven't received my crate. I've spend a couple of days on the phone trying to get help and am frustrated. My rapidly growing pup needs this crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salem, OR
I looked a long time for just the right crate for our new puppy and found this was the best product AND the best price. Arrived on time and even my picky husband loves it. Especially like the divider so that we can make the crate smaller for our puppy and it can grow with her. HIghly recommend it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect new puppy crate!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
Just got our crate a week ago and it was very easy to put together and really nice. I really like that it has the 2 doors so it can be placed in a room easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision Pet 2-Door Great Crates
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I wish the crate doors were reversible so you could change them to swing out the opposite way, if needed. Easy to assemble, good for our pooch that doesn't bang around inside. We put a large blanket over it, and she loves to rest inside. She's 70 lbs and fits perfectly. We got a more plush pad for the bottom, because the one that comes recommended with it was too thin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>