petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safe Paws Ice Melter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Safe Paws Ice Melter

Finally! An ice melter your pets can walk on. 100% salt free formula is guaranteed safe for pets and children. And, it works! Effective to two degrees (F). Won't damage concrete, lawns, plants, floors, asphalt, or shoes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Review 1 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Three Goldens

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
fromjack2rosalie
from Cedar Falls, IA
I read about Safe Paw on Petco.com and decided to try it as I worried about our golden's feet. I bought a "jug" of it at the Waterloo, Iowa, Petco store and it was exactly as advertised. My local veterinarians' office is not able to buy it (Dr. John says) so we drive 30 miles round trip to Petco. I like to have things "on hand" but found I was unable to buy Safe Paw in the summer, so contacted the corporate office who contacted my store and now I can stock up in the summertime when there is not such a rush to buy it. In the winter customers try to beat each other to stock up. Though I have just bought Safe Paw in jugs before, the last time I was able to get the "big bucket" and refilled my several empty jugs. I feel so comfortable having this product at hand at the back door to sprinkle in as many places as necessary to keep Rosalie's feet safe. It does not seem to track into the house, nor do any damage to my boots. A side benefit is the sidewalk is safe for the school children on their way to the elementary school 2 blocks from our house. Thank you so much for this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Puddles
from Washington
I have used "Safe Paws" as my primary de-icer for years. I feel confident that my pets are safe and so is the area I am de-icing. The product really works! Great De-Icer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wicked good

PostedJanuary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
maschpunks
Best ever! The guarantee on the package is true! Nothing in my house has been damaged, my dogs have not gotten sick or had any problems with their pads, the concrete and the cement and mortor have not been damaged, all plant life also fine! This stuff is hard to find and sells out quickly!!!! Get it in bulk if you can. The bad reveiws I have seen, few that they are, seem to revolve around the slush. As with any kind of ice melter...YOU HAVE TO REMOVE THE SLUSH, OR IT WILL REFREEZE. My family and I love this product and it is all we buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safe paws ice melter

PostedFebruary 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
28Lives
from Norwood, PA
This is a great product. It helps keep people safe by melting the ice on the sidewalks, and it keeps animals safe because it is less toxic than rock salt. Another great benefit of Safe Paws is that it is tinted green, making it very easy to see when sprinkling it over snow and ice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Bullies love it!

PostedJanuary 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
BullDogMom
from PA
I am the proud mom of 3 English Bulldogs! Those of us who know bullies know that the snow tends to get high for them quickly. When I found this product I had to try it. Being a Vet technician I have seen the results of normal rock salt on tiny pet paws, however living in pa has made shoveling a difficult task. I tried this product and love it. My bulldogs are happy also that the snow and ice remain minimal now.
Thank you for caring about my dogs and their tiny paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

slushy paws

PostedNovember 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
poodledad
from boone, nc
unless i knew what the secret to melting snow and not sticking to my pups paws to lick, i will walk my babies over any chemicals. when it melts snow it turns to mush, and like mud it gets on your shoes or paws. cinders or cat litter or even mulch is cheaper and so cheap and safe. i would rather spoil my babies with cute shoes and keep their paws dry. my neigbor used it.. an expensive waste. i let her waste her money. she aggreed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ONLY Ice Melt My Dog Approves Of

PostedFebruary 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jessica & Gina
from Fair Haven, MI
It didn't take me long to find this product to use on my sidewalk and steps. Gina, my Terrier mix is now 10 years old. But when I first found her at the Animal Shelter and went through our first Winter together, I was using fine salt and rock salt and she always would baby her feet and lick them constantly inside the house. So, when I seen this product in the Pet Store, figured I would give it a try. This ice melt works great AND its doesn't bother Gina's paws at all. I use this for the sidewalk and steps only because it is quite expensive, plus she only has access to were I use it. So, if your doggie has issues like mine did, do not hesistate to try it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe Paw

PostedDecember 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Deb G
from Edgewater NJ
works just as well as any other available product and I trust it on my walks and patio with my small dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

(No title)

PostedDecember 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dog owner
from Rochester, NY
This product really works and I fully trust that it is not harmful to my dogs' feet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Paws all around

PostedDecember 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Zoo Rach
from Delaware
We have 2 cats and a dog and 2 kids. This is such a great product. Everyone stays safe with this non-toxic ice melter. It works great and we will use it everytime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe Product

PostedDecember 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dog Lover
from Enola, PA
I have been looking for a safe ice melting product that works and have finally found it with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOWBE THE NOSE-KNOWS BEST!

PostedDecember 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
shmoo's mama
from Fair Oaks,IN
TOWBE GIVES HIS "BLUE-SNOW" 4PAWZ UP 4SAFETY & ALL-WHISKERS UP 4MELTING BURIED NOSES!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No more sore paws

PostedDecember 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
Vizsla freak
from Montrose,MN
Just like it advertises, this is 100% ok for your dog to walk on. Now it does'nt melt the ice as well as the salt stuff, but good enough that you can chip the rest away with ease. For me & my 12 paw's that I worry about the extra 10 min it took to chip the rest was no big deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Customer

PostedDecember 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
T-JAG'S Australian Shepherds
from Michigan City, IN
I love that this works fast and is safe for my animals & the wildlife as well. I am buying this again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep your pet safe

PostedDecember 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Presley's Mom
from Brookfield, CT
I love this product because it melts the ice and snow and keeps my animal safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to promises

PostedDecember 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
OnlyDogs
from Indianapolis, Indiana
This product is fantastic! With previous ice melt products I noticed that my dog was biting and licking her paws when she came back inside. With Safe Paws she doesn't even notice the ice melt. It melts ice, is pet friendly and unlike traditional salt melt, it is blue, which makes it easy to see where I've put it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safety First!

PostedDecember 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
FurMummy
from Idaho
This product exemplifies the old adage "Safety First" for both the pet and their owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Safe Paws Ice Melter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! A Pet Friendly De-Icer

PostedNovember 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Puppy Paws Rest Easy This Winter
from Lynnwood, WA
Hooray! A Pet Friendly De-Icer! I work at a local animal shelter and part of our dog walking trail goes through an asphalt parking lot...this works fine during most of the year but in the winter months this lot becomes a skating rink that is doused in rock salt and sand...not good for puppy paws! Not only am I excited to purchase this product for use this year at work, but for my own personal use at home! Even if it works half as well as rock salt and sand, knowing it is environment and pet safe and friendly is well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.