petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand

Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand

100% natural, premium marine substrateContains natural live marine bacteria to quickly stabilize tankRemoves nitrogenous waste and restores natural organic balanceMaintains proper pH
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Review 1 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This sand looks great in my tank and serves its purpose. I would recommend rinsing it before adding to your water because the water stayed cloudy for 3 days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live sand

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
I love this stuff, I wouldn't use any other sand to start a tank. I've been using this for every tank I've started . Iam mad you cant find this product in the store an it's no longer online. I hope you sale this again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent sand!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Once upon a time I lived by the beach and was able to get my own live sand. So naturally I was happy to find Bioactiv sand ready to use. I purchased a 20 pound bag of .5-1.7mm grain size and used about 15 pounds of it in a Biocube 14. Petco sent me a fresh bag (yes it has a shelf life and an expiration date stamped to it).
After placing the live rock and sand, I slowly added water trying not to agitate the sand particles. Do not wash the sand! Open the bag and pour it straight in. Yes it will be cloudy. It took about a day for it to settle. Within a few hours I could already see water clarity improving.
Instant cycle? Perhaps, or a very very short one. I always get zero ammonia/nitrite on tests. A month later I have healthy corals and fish. Couldnt be happier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must Have Item For Starters

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
Just starting out my salt water tank, this product was highly recommend. I enjoyed the ease of use, simple directions, and no brainier approach to this product. It is critical that you get the correct start, this product guarantees you get that right start Live sand has everything your new tank does not. Only suggestion would be to have it in a short bucket, then you can reseal, or store the unused portion for later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is very nice fine sand

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Overall this is a very good product.but without a good filter to remove the fine partials it will take days to settle which I am sure that is the case with most sand products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant cycling

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY, NY
This sand is awesome it provides beneficial bacteria, have all the bacteria to get your tank ready!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Puerto Rico
The sand sit well on the botom, look nice, very easy to use. Just one thing is that I was especting more little shell on it, but otherwise I love it.
Will recomended to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reef Sand Is The Way To Go!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I was setting up a new 100 Gallon FOWLR tank and I wanted a sand that would look good and be beneficial to the tank as well. The claim is made for instant cycling with this sand and as far as I can tell it really has done the job. If you're looking for a sand to add decorative value and be beneficial for the health of your tank then this is the sand for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Plano, TX
Highly recommend! Pairs especially well with the BioCube 14.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good start

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from CO
The live sand and rock that I started my tank with helped to cycle quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geat Product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
I used this product with about 4 bags of substrate to cover my 55 gallon tank. I used it so that the living things in the sand would populate my live rock, which it did. Overall I would recommend this product. It worked well with my tank. And when i turn my 20 gallon tank into salt i will use this. The only problem i have with this product is that it is a lot more expensive than substrate. So if you have a larger tank then this might not be good for you, if you are trying to save money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No better no worse

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Spring. TX
Its ok, the instant cycling is not for real as my tank is cycling now with high nitrates and diatoms/brown algae so don't believe that. It may speed it up...I guess but as far as sands go, this is just as good as any other so I score it a 3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Start

PostedMay 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Yukon, OK
I never really used live sand until a few years ago. It really speeds up the cycling and keeps your rank paremeters stable. Do not forget to add cured lived rock also!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

PostedNovember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I bought this for testing in a small 10 gallon salt tank. Half the tank is bare bottom and the other side (divided) is 4" of this sand. At first I had an algae bloom now nothing and I have corals living, thriving, in this tank for fun....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it but be careful

PostedMay 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
This is a great product! You need to keep an eye on it though when starting a new aquarium. You still might get a slight ammonia reading as I did and others I have talked to. It should go down within a couple days but just keep an eye on it.
I added about 5 cups of it to an established tank and had a faint reading for about 24 hours.
The less liquid you use from the bag the less cloudy your tank will be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
I tried the sand and it was awesome! I have it in my 45 gallon with 24 neons 11 black neons 5 chinesse algae eaters and 2 rainbow fish. It is a really good product and is an amazing sight to see.
If your new to sand its actually really easy to clean just take your gravel vack and hold it an inch or two above sand and your done.
Just a fact but algae eaters, plectoes, catfish, sharks, and a few others all can die over time by gravel but its proven that sand lets them live longer.
A really good product I loved I hope you do to.
Happy aquariuming
I would recommend this to a friend!
-16points
2of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Meridian. Ms
I love this product . I am new with this produce it make my tank looks real I have allways used rock , so I tryed the sand and my fish love it and it just makes my tank looks better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Live Aragonite Reef Sand

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Griffin, GA
The best product on the market in my opinion. I have used it for a couple of years now and it immediately solved my problems. It can be put in and as soon as it settles, the fish can be added. It maintains the ph level perfectly and really helps stabilize the biological level. It is an awesome product! Don't waste your time and money on anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for nano reefs

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from NC
This live sand is amazing! I have been keeping reef tanks for several years now and still have three. Typically, I would use dead sand and and add bacteria, however, this stuff comes with the microorganisms your tank needs already in it. There is still a cycling period as is expected with any salt-water tank, but the process is greatly sped up. It creates a great buffer very quickly. I would definitely suggest this to anyone setting up a nano reef or any aquarium for that matter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Ocean Bio-Activ Live Aragonite Reef Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good!

PostedAugust 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
I put this stuff in my tank just under a year ago, I still have my original fish and hermit crabs. I did run my tank for quite some time with some live rock before adding my fish. So its claim that you can immediately add fish should be taken with a grain of salt. Also there is some talk on this product that something sitting on shelf could not possibly still have living organisms and good bacteria. But either way, I still highly recommend it. Better to get a nice jump start.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>