petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders

Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders

Multi-purpose plastic floating tank with removable center dividerUse as an isolation tank, breeding tank, or betta display tankKeeps fry safe below, while mother births above
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Review 1 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lee's Multipurpose 3 way breeders

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland
Great price. I used this to put my betta in my 55 gal tank. The betta has been happier than ever!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very useful!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
So far, I've floated this thing in my 10-gallon tank to introduce my betta to his new tankmates with the divider and grate in. I kept him in the breeder the longest with the divider and bottom grate removed after I got the other tankmates settled. It's very useful for situations like these, especially since he had some territorial issues with my ADFs. Right now, I have a few red cherry shrimp in the breeder, cleaning some of my plants. It's a good investment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for keeping small animals

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
i use it to keep a 1 inch pistol shrimp with 2 1 inch rocks. works perfect. floats. stays put. crystal clear view. made of acrylic. has narrow vents all along both sides (the width of a small fish food pellet)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tank

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I placed my platy in here and she had the fry. They went to the bottom of the tank under the cover. I removed her and kept them in there. Works perfectly. So worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Newbie guppy breeder

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kailua, HI
It seems alright - I tried it out and it was easy enough to use and didn't seem to freak out my fish. I have not had any births in my tanks recently to actually see the full extent of how this will work. It has got to be better than catching all the new born fry by net so no other fish eat them. Seems like a great addition to my fish supplies for me. I have purchased quite a few aquarium products from Lee's and trust this manufacture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good design, should be larger

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
This breeder has been very helpful for me. I am breeding guppies, and highly bred guppies often have aggression problems. I almost continually have someone in 'timeout'.
I agree with many other people-- the slats are large. However, if they were any smaller, the babies wouldn't fit. You should be monitoring your fish as the birthing time approaches, so this honestly shouldn't be a problem. Also, this is not intended as a permanent home for your fry. I recommend having this in a fry tank, so after the parent has given birth, the fry can simply swim out into the big wide world :).
Probably my favorite feature is that you can take out the divider and the slatted divider. This provides a larger area for timeouts or sick fish (I would NOT recommend keeping a contagious sick fish in here, just ones that have fungus or something like that. Always isolate in a SEPARATE tank any fish that has ich, parasites, or any other contagious disease.)
You will need to siphon up uneaten food on the bottom of this, because there is no water flow in here. You can put a bubbler in here, but that would just circulate the water around inside, not necessarily take waste out. Besides, why would you want that waste in your main aquarium?
You should also probably take out the solid divider, since even for guppies, one side is simply too small. If a fish is in a tiny position, they will feel trapped, get stressed, and possibly abort their brood. Please don't try to keep two fish in this breeder.
Overall, I think that this is a good product that needs more space (as with a lot of Lee's products). I hope that his has been helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

breeder

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from no where and every where
i had just bought this the next day after buying my fish and it was just in the knack of time as well that evening she had the babies it worked beautiful mom came and woke me up no fry have become fish food i'm very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works great for fry fish but

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arizona, Phoenix
If you are trying to make female fish pregnant its a big NO as soon as you put male and female fish in this breeder after only 2 min. male fish gets aggressive and starts hurting female i tried it with different types of fishes and it happens every time and as soon as you let them out male continually starts chasing female. I just don't get it? Can someone give me any suggestion on how to successfully do this? I have two beautiful Platies and my question is how to get their fry? Any Ideas ?
I would recommend this to a friend!
-23points
3of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
slits are to big and baby fry can swim back up and get eaten by the mother if you don't get her out as soon as she has the babies...I lost my last fry (platy) to the mom :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely!

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
I love this piece! I saw it on youtube while watching guppies giving birth so i know what to expect and this is just fabulous only a few have escaped. Which is okay because i can only handle so many at a time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth it multu-purose breeders

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from worcester. ma
i was install in my aquarium for sword tail's pregnant finally new born baby too many! so nicely see sword tail is mother come out back normal community fish leave in breeders until grew baby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gold barbs for lunch

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Slits in sides are WAY too big for gold barb fry. They all swam out and became lunch for the adult fish. Design is useless for breeding gold barbs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't fit me

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Good job to separate the egg from parents (3" black moore) during egg laying season. However the gap are too large for the fry (not the egg). My fry escape from the breeder box after hatched. Logically, it's good for larger egg/fry, but larger egg/fry means larger goldfish parent in size. In this case, the breeder box may become too small to put two goldfishs during egg laying. Other then that, this product should function as it stated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
We were new to the world of fish, and were unaware that platies had live births UNTIL we saw some baby fish swimming around one day! And then we had a "Circle of Life" moment when we watched Momma Fish gobble up one of the baby fish! YIKES! Off to Petco to buy this product!
I can't tell when Mommy Fish is due, so I also have breeding grass. When we notice Mommy is no longer preggers, we look in the breeding grass and then the fry go in the nursery until they are ready to swim with the big boys. My kids love seeing the babies up close, and I have had no problems with the fry escaping. Great product for babies or to separate fish from the main tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

well worth the money

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product worked great for me, my molly fry never escaped and it looks nice in the aquarium unlike some other breeders that are very bulky and unattractive, the only downside is that the lid is difficult to open sometimes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Breeding/Hospital Tank!

PostedJune 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this when my swordtail gave birth without me even knowing she was going to have babies! I ran up to the store and bought this, removed the grate the babies fall through and the seperator, and used this to house my baby fry until they were big enough to live in the main tank. I also used this when my molly was sick and she got a chance to rejuvinate and heal without other fish constantly bothering her. The top is good if you have jumping fish (such as swordtails) but not neccasary. Best Breeder I Ever Used!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedFebruary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Titusville, FL
As in some other reviewers, I had trouble with the fry getting out through the sides. 1.)So before the one female would give birth again I put a double folded (the size of the side folded over again), bridal lace over the insides of the breeder tank. 2.)Then I sewed the bottoms to the breeder tank, and hung of the other ends, and put rubber bands over the sides- so they could all stay in place (where rubber bands couldn't reach, that is where the thread came in). I even put a much finer materal on the insides to keep the fry from going through the holes of the bridal material. If you have trouble with this product then try to experiment with material like I did, you'll find this product to work for you even through it's flaws. Yes, the fry get out or eaten by the mother when the fry swim up but that is life. I have guppies that breed and have babies alot, so when I lose some I will have others. I would recommend this product to everyone, with additional information to keep fry from getting out and getting eaten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great idea with design flaws

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
I used this for my Mickey Mouse Platy fish. My fish had about 100 fry, and they seemed to fall through the grates as designed. Although, some fish did swim to the top level of the breeder tank. The design flaw: the fry could get through the slits on the sides into the big tank. The lid sits on to top, but it is a little ackward to feed the fish inside the breeder tank. I left the lid off. The mother was able to jump back into the big tank after giving birth, but I found a catfish in the breeder tank this morning. It seems to be cleaning the tank, and the baby fry don't seem to mind the company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GGGRRREEEAAATTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
I think that this is a GREAT PRODUCT!!!! it is so helpful. Also I like it because it makes it so I dont have to suffer getting my dead fish bones out from the bottom of my cage. And you can keep bettas on one side and regular fish on the other. Anyway I would recomend this to ANYONE that loves fish as much as I do..........
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lee's Multi-Purpose 3-Way Breeders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good but not great

PostedOctober 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought two of the medium breeders. One fish was pregnant at night and the next morning she wasn't and no fry were to be found. So much for falling through the grate and being saved. I have used the breeder without the grate for some fry that were born in the tank and I saved them before they were eaten. But even after 2-1/2 weeks and the fry are about 1/2 inch long it is not uncommon to find one swimming in the main tank. So back they go in the breeder and I know I am putting the top on tight but they still can escape. Better than nothing but not as advertised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>