petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway

Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway

The ideal environment for your hermit crab, complete with everything to help keep your pet happy and healthy Easy-to-clean plastic home with great ventilation Includes sea sponge, plastic plant, gravel, hermit hut, reversible background, and a hermit crab food sample
Average Customer Rating:
3.393 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
7
19 out of 28(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Review 1 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont by!!!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jayjay123
This is way to small and dosent keep heat and/or humidity in. for every 2 hermit crabs you have you need a 10 gallon tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mauimamma
from Mission Viejo ca
My daughter purchased this "home" for two hermit crabs she purchased at the same time for our grandson. It is entirely too small to even lay out what comes with it, let alone allow the hermit crabs any walking around room. I went back to the store and bought a 10 gallon aquarium and now the crabs are as happy as...well, crabs. 
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is great and DOES in fact have enough room!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
hermitluver
from Plymouth, MI
I have two medium sized hermit crabs who love their habitat! I could easily fit the food saltwater freshwater extra shells and climbing vine that they needed with room to spare! If you have found that you can't fit everything it may mean that you have too many things! A hermit crab is not like a human it doesn't need to be spoiled. I think this is a great way to save money and a great easy to use habitat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
22of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is one of there best hermy products

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hermy1234
from Indio, CA
it is outstanding. perfect for starters and has alot of good stuff for starters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good isolation tank

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
frund
from new york
this tank would be good for a molting crab and since a molting crab does not move there would be enough space this would be a horrible habitat
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
20of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its awesome!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
jocelyn1
Personally I loved this product because it was easy to clean,has A LOT of space for your pet and my last pet Momo used to LOVE this product too. He used to somehow climb on top of the little house and go back down and also liked to play with the little palm thing it was so cute! The only thing i didn't like about this product was that the door on the lid was so small my had didn't fit, and the little door kept falling of so when ever i wanted to play with Momo I had to take off all of the lid. Overall i would recommend this product. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
35of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crabby2
This crabitat is too small, even for one crab. Not enough room in it to put all of the things they need. Also, the opening at the top is too small to get your hand into to change water, etc. Spend your money on a bigger tank right off the bat instead of wasting your money on this one like I did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
15of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT GOOD!

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hermitcrablover12
from norton MA
good for one small hermit crab. i suggest getting the hermit crab starter kit and the petco 10 gallon glass aquriam.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not suitable for long-term home

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
jorjor
from Los Angeles,CA
This habitat is WAAY to small. And plastic is also not reccomended as it doesn't hold in enough humidity! Reviewers have said their crabs lived long lives of one year. A hermit crab's ushual lifespan is 10 years or so. So it's really nothing .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HAVE TO GET ANOTHER!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
petlover84
from Snohomish,WA
OMG when i got this for my hermit crab he loved it there is plenty of space!! So my hermit crab lived a happy life (Squirt August 18,2007-August15,2008)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome

PostedAugust 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mackatak
from Cherry Hill, NJ
my crabs dont come out in the day much but at night they clack around and you can here them banging on the cage and partying, they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT SUITABLE

PostedJune 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Uhhh
This "crabitat" is not suitable for a permanent home for hermies. The plastic will not hold the humidity very well, and is too small. The smallest a crabitat should be is 10 gallons. I would only use this as a ISO, but nothing more
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Found other uses

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
This is actually not a good set up at all for Hermit Crabs.Crabs need more room,a proper container to maintain the correct humidity and heat,etc.
I am not fond of this product at all for the crabs,but I rated it decent because we have used this container many times to catch lightning bugs,etc
I would recommend it for other uses than what it is being sold as,because it is a sturdy container.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cage is great but is too small.

PostedJune 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
HermiesrUs19943
from Hershey, PA
I bought this cage for my new hermit crab and I bought him as a jumbo sized! The cage is good for a small or medium sized hermy. So I love the product but I don't recommend this for a LARGE hermit crab. So that is why I am giving it such a high rating. And that was my fault, so beware of the larger hermies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good but not good enough

PostedMay 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
123BrandiMarie
from South Amboy, NJ
Well... let me first say I had bought this product as an isolation tank only. To use this product for a permant habatiat for your pets would not be suitable. Because,
* This tank is too small to use as a permant home
* Gravle alone is not a suitable substrate for your pets
* It does not have a tempature or humidity gauge
The hut is not cardboard, but is made of plastic. I would not recomend this to be used even for one hermit crab for any longer than 1-2 weeks. I hope this review was helpful to someone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent "Getaway"

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Snellville,GA
I love this hut, i just brought two hermit crabs, and this is the second "habitat" they have lived in. The hut is not cardboard like previously stated, it is actually very durable plastic, and my Hermit crabs love the hut. They never come out it until the night time. The items it came with are great, but i would suggest buying some Hermit soil for as little as $2.99. The bad thing about the hut is that it is sort of little, and as i learned after i brought the hut and set it up is that its not ideal for temperature. Other than that i love it, and so do the hermit crabs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally inadequate!

PostedNovember 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lyss
The container is far too small for even one crab, gravel is not an appropriate substrate for hermit crabs, the "ventilation" will likely make it impossible to maintain a proper level of humidity and someone mentioned that the hidey is made of cardboard so pretty much useless.
On top of this, there are so many things missing including gauges for heat and humidity, two bowls for water (one for dechlorinated, one for salt) and a food dish, a proper place to hide away, etc.
This should only be considered if in desperate need of a travel carrier for a short period of time, otherwise it is not worth your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not too well!

PostedNovember 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
hermitcrablvr
Well i bouught this for my 4 crabs and then they kept escping, and it wasny wasrm enough, AND the little hut that came with it was cardboard! But now i have a 29 gallon glass tank for petco, and now they are craxy bout it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good

PostedSeptember 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
animalsrock
this is a good product. the only things you will need to buy is some food, food and water bowls,and some more gravel. my hermit crab loves the hut. he always climbs up the plant and the sponge lasts for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad purchase

PostedSeptember 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Landhermie110293
I thought this was good. That is until I found out that I needed so many other things for my hermit crabs that this kit doesn't have. Just a waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>