petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway

Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway

The ideal environment for your hermit crab, complete with everything to help keep your pet happy and healthy Easy-to-clean plastic home with great ventilation Includes sea sponge, plastic plant, gravel, hermit hut, reversible background, and a hermit crab food sampleMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.323 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
8
21 out of 31(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Review 1 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I only recommend this as a travel tank

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrsjunglegirl
from San Francisco CA
I would only recommend this product if you travel from the pet store or to the vet's office
Now this is not a great starter home for hermit crabs, Hermit crabs at least need 10 gallons, If Lee's at least made this tank bigger and without gravel then I would be willing to add more stars for this product
Also Hermit Crabs need humidity and heat, Don't think this plastic carrier will hold heat. It won't
Overall two stars because this so called starter kit can be used as a travel cage when you first purchase your hermit crabs or at least for vet visits
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Miss1awsome1
from California
I think this product is great! I love all the things it comes with! The only problem I had was that the hermet crab food sample was not there!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hermit crab abuse!

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zeeowa
from Chandler, AZ
I own 8 Coenobita Clypeatus common name purple pincher hermit crabs, and I am an expert. And I tell you, this is the WORST care ever! 1 crab needs at LEAST a 10 gal tank. No painted shells, salt and fresh water DEEP tubs with air pumps, quickrite playsand and Eco earth 5:1 ratio. Humidity and heat IS required. Plus NO painted shells. This is the proper care:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont by!!!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jayjay123
This is way to small and dosent keep heat and/or humidity in. for every 2 hermit crabs you have you need a 10 gallon tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+21points
28of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mauimamma
from Mission Viejo ca
My daughter purchased this "home" for two hermit crabs she purchased at the same time for our grandson. It is entirely too small to even lay out what comes with it, let alone allow the hermit crabs any walking around room. I went back to the store and bought a 10 gallon aquarium and now the crabs are as happy as...well, crabs. 
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
28of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is great and DOES in fact have enough room!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
hermitluver
from Plymouth, MI
I have two medium sized hermit crabs who love their habitat! I could easily fit the food saltwater freshwater extra shells and climbing vine that they needed with room to spare! If you have found that you can't fit everything it may mean that you have too many things! A hermit crab is not like a human it doesn't need to be spoiled. I think this is a great way to save money and a great easy to use habitat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
26of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is one of there best hermy products

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hermy1234
from Indio, CA
it is outstanding. perfect for starters and has alot of good stuff for starters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good isolation tank

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
frund
from new york
this tank would be good for a molting crab and since a molting crab does not move there would be enough space this would be a horrible habitat
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
20of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its awesome!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
jocelyn1
Personally I loved this product because it was easy to clean,has A LOT of space for your pet and my last pet Momo used to LOVE this product too. He used to somehow climb on top of the little house and go back down and also liked to play with the little palm thing it was so cute! The only thing i didn't like about this product was that the door on the lid was so small my had didn't fit, and the little door kept falling of so when ever i wanted to play with Momo I had to take off all of the lid. Overall i would recommend this product. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
35of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crabby2
This crabitat is too small, even for one crab. Not enough room in it to put all of the things they need. Also, the opening at the top is too small to get your hand into to change water, etc. Spend your money on a bigger tank right off the bat instead of wasting your money on this one like I did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
16of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT GOOD!

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hermitcrablover12
from norton MA
good for one small hermit crab. i suggest getting the hermit crab starter kit and the petco 10 gallon glass aquriam.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not suitable for long-term home

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
jorjor
from Los Angeles,CA
This habitat is WAAY to small. And plastic is also not reccomended as it doesn't hold in enough humidity! Reviewers have said their crabs lived long lives of one year. A hermit crab's ushual lifespan is 10 years or so. So it's really nothing .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HAVE TO GET ANOTHER!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
petlover84
from Snohomish,WA
OMG when i got this for my hermit crab he loved it there is plenty of space!! So my hermit crab lived a happy life (Squirt August 18,2007-August15,2008)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome

PostedAugust 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mackatak
from Cherry Hill, NJ
my crabs dont come out in the day much but at night they clack around and you can here them banging on the cage and partying, they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT SUITABLE

PostedJune 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Uhhh
This "crabitat" is not suitable for a permanent home for hermies. The plastic will not hold the humidity very well, and is too small. The smallest a crabitat should be is 10 gallons. I would only use this as a ISO, but nothing more
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Found other uses

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
This is actually not a good set up at all for Hermit Crabs.Crabs need more room,a proper container to maintain the correct humidity and heat,etc.
I am not fond of this product at all for the crabs,but I rated it decent because we have used this container many times to catch lightning bugs,etc
I would recommend it for other uses than what it is being sold as,because it is a sturdy container.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cage is great but is too small.

PostedJune 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
HermiesrUs19943
from Hershey, PA
I bought this cage for my new hermit crab and I bought him as a jumbo sized! The cage is good for a small or medium sized hermy. So I love the product but I don't recommend this for a LARGE hermit crab. So that is why I am giving it such a high rating. And that was my fault, so beware of the larger hermies!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good but not good enough

PostedMay 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
123BrandiMarie
from South Amboy, NJ
Well... let me first say I had bought this product as an isolation tank only. To use this product for a permant habatiat for your pets would not be suitable. Because,
* This tank is too small to use as a permant home
* Gravle alone is not a suitable substrate for your pets
* It does not have a tempature or humidity gauge
The hut is not cardboard, but is made of plastic. I would not recomend this to be used even for one hermit crab for any longer than 1-2 weeks. I hope this review was helpful to someone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent "Getaway"

PostedApril 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Snellville,GA
I love this hut, i just brought two hermit crabs, and this is the second "habitat" they have lived in. The hut is not cardboard like previously stated, it is actually very durable plastic, and my Hermit crabs love the hut. They never come out it until the night time. The items it came with are great, but i would suggest buying some Hermit soil for as little as $2.99. The bad thing about the hut is that it is sort of little, and as i learned after i brought the hut and set it up is that its not ideal for temperature. Other than that i love it, and so do the hermit crabs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lee's Hermit Crab Hideaway
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally inadequate!

PostedNovember 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lyss
The container is far too small for even one crab, gravel is not an appropriate substrate for hermit crabs, the "ventilation" will likely make it impossible to maintain a proper level of humidity and someone mentioned that the hidey is made of cardboard so pretty much useless.
On top of this, there are so many things missing including gauges for heat and humidity, two bowls for water (one for dechlorinated, one for salt) and a food dish, a proper place to hide away, etc.
This should only be considered if in desperate need of a travel carrier for a short period of time, otherwise it is not worth your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>