petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units

Quick, easy, and disposable replacement filtration units for Small World FiltersTop quality zeolites eliminate the number one fish killer--ammonia--and the top quality carbon removes harmful gases and odorsClear up unsightly discoloration and maintain proper water conditions
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Review 1 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
rnr52
from Rochester, NY
This filter works well for my small aquarium without taking up a lot of space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wasteful

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ames1111
from Grand Rapids, MI
Disappointed when I could not change the fill and carbon myself. I thought it was a wasteful product. Did no keep my 5 gallon tank clean. Too weak.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for 1 gallon tank!

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mcm33
from Ohio
This product is great for my 1 gallon critter keeper that I'm keeping my water snail in. The filter does a good job of keeping the water crytal clear. The filter its self is a little noisy but I like the sound of the bubbles coming out! I would recommend this product to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my 3 gallon

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trevenant
from Orlando, Fl
Water stays Crystal clear!!!!!!!!
My betta doesnt mind it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
EmilyLovesHerBulldog
from San Diego, CA
This is perfect for smaller tanks! It is the only filter I will ever use, it cleans really well, and refilling the cartridge is super easy, it only takes a matter of seconds. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stadtroller
from St. Louis, MO
I've used this filtration system in a 5gal tank, with 1 Betta and 1 CAE, gravel, driftwood, and live plants (Java Fern and Java Moss) for a little over a year now.
It does a great job, my water quality NEVER tests poor, and I only do changes every 3-4 weeks to remove excess detritus from the bottom, and because my water turns brackish from the tannins in the driftwood. Otherwise I never see any cloudiness or particulates in the water.
The CAE likes to attach itself to the side, I assume to feast on the tasty bits drawn around it. He seems to be thriving, along with the Betta.
The foam part of the filter starts to look clogg-ey after 5 weeks or so and I just pop a new one in during a water change.
The filters are cheap, and are always in-stock at the store. Frequently on sale also!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter for small tanks

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
JmCc
from PacNW
I picked up a PennPlax Small World filter/aerator to use as a second filter in my 5 gallon tank. I try to keep two filters running to minimize tank shock when changing the filter material. The one feature that initially annoyed me with the small world units was the fact that I had no way to remove the carbon when I needed to add meds for a new fish. But, after looking at the situation, I realized that I could pop out a few of the plastic strips at the top of the unit and the carbon could be poured out without damaging the rest of the filtration unit. When I'm done with the meds, I'll pop in a new unit, and it will be good as new. Great price - great solution - great size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn Plax Products

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
cocacolalady
I have to agree, that this is a awsome item for the small tank . But trying to get replacements ,,, it ain't easy. You'd think with such a great product they would keep more handy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set up for a Betta Tank

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
I have used this product in a number of my tanks 5 gallons and under,for Betta's,Aquatic frogs,etc.
For as little as the actual product is,it really does keep the tanks in good condition.The best part about this set up is,
a) Easy to find
b)cost friendly
c)easy to replace the filter cartridges.Penn Plex sells a pair of these together,and when I see them ,I grab a few sets.
Their slim measurements make them great for the smaller tank set-ups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

never fails

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky2008
from New York, ny
I have a large tank and any time I need to put sick or weak fish in a quarantine tank, which is almost never, these filters help me the most. They never disappoint me and the fish love them because they are submersible and there is no need for an aerator.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Ozone Park, New York
I am currently using this filter in my 2.5 gallon aquarium. It works really well and you can see that it's working since you'll see the dirt getting trapped on it's filter media. I would recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for Goldfish!

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
nessa16
from Fort Collins, CO
I have this filter system for my goldfish and it works great. The filter only needs to be changed every month or so just like any other water filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Small World Replacement Filtration Units
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from North Carolina
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.