petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black

Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black

Replacement lights for Versa-Hoods and Full Hoods, can be used anywhere lighting is needed Features internally-mounted ballasts Instant-start circuits operate on timer or switch-controlled outletBulb includedMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Review 1 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely unacceptable!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
KendiDC
from Washington
I purchased this today from the store. It seemed to be a sealed box. I brought it home and noticed what looked like "crust" around the edges as if it had been USED. Additionally the cord had crust/crud on it and IT DIDN"T WORK when I went to turn it on!!!!!! I am taking this worthless piece of garbage back to the store tomorrow!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it should

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishfan0211
from Delran nj
Nice lighting and comes with bulb which is great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice aquarium light!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
mutterma
from camano island, wa
This light works beautifully! No delay when turning on or off - the switch is simple. This is the perfect sized light for a 24" bulb, and comes with one. The exterior measurement is about 30"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fails easily

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luisdiscus
from Denton TX
I have purchased 2 of these lights and in 3 months the switch fails. I took the first one to the store and was out of warranty and they still exchanged it, great service at store, petco. Im a regular there. The new light failed again 3 months later. I used the bilb somewhere else and it worked. There is no way to get to customer service at manufacturer. There are no instructions on how to repair or trouble shoot. You are stuck unless you are an electrician I guess. I will not buy this product again. The thing here is, tanks are good but this fixture is not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good while it lasted

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChickMum
from Oregon
We bought a whole new hood set that included this light and the light burned out after about 14 months. We bought the replacement light and it only last 10 months. It is not serviceable because there are no replacement parts. You can't just replace the ballast like most household florescent lighting fixtures.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

short life time

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Anaheim, CA
i got the same set of light for second time, both of them burn out after 3 months. light ballast is really bad. stay away from this brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Next time I will replace the ballast!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
crp3
from Round Rock, TX
It works great but the service life is too short. After 2 years I have replaced the bulb once and now the ballast has burned out. I spent the money for a new one but next time I'm going to just replace the ballast for $11.95.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
btdt
from Missouri
Not sure if anyone has experienced a short life on this product but give them 8 months and the ballast blows out. Just like their filters, JUNK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The ballast burnt out after 4 months.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jmann
from Portland, OR
I thought this was a great light but the ballast burnt out after 4 months. It was odd that the bulb had been burned out so quickly but after trying two other brand new bulbs, I realized it was the ballast that had caused the bulb to burn out. The last ballast I had for almost 15 years so in comparison, the Aqueon hood/ballast failed to deliver. I will avoid this brand in the future for sure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT VALUE!!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
stormy51
from Port St Lucie, Florida
This hood light is a GREAT VALUE! It really lights up my 30 Gallon Fish Tank. Love the Togel Switch verses the push button switch. I would Highly recommend this product!! Very well built !!
VERY HAPPY !!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice quality

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MNLabLady
from Silver Bay, MN
Comes with bulb, which is nice. Shipping was rediculously fast for standrad shipping (2 days!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ajonmaui
from Maui, Hawaii
Product arrived quickly and was packaged well. Worked right out of the box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
teddysdad
Was very happy, fit the tank perfectly.Good value and its not a flimsy or cheap looking. Lights up the tank very nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
pkrische
from Kennesaw, GA
Purchased as a replacement light since movers lost original. Working great, came with bulb!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delighted with purchase

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
MiReed
from Fuquay Varina, NC
I purchased a strip light for my 55 gallon fish aquarium a couple of weeks ago. I am very pleased with my purchase it illuminates my aquarium beautifully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
tlocke
look and work great
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
petfan
from TN
This product works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST AQUARIUM LIGHT

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
SnGPerez
from Miami, FL
My wife and I have many fish tanks for breeding and show. Ever since our first tank, we've been using the all-glass aquarium flourescent strip lites. It not only makes my tanks look great but it provides the right lighting for my live plants. This is a great product and I deffinitely reccomend it to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Fluorescent Strip Lights in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good light

PostedMay 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
lillian420
from illinois
Its a good light, makes my fish tank look awsome. Infact i bought another one a few days after i recieved this one for my other tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.