petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Neura Meats Canned Dog Food

No other protein source nourishes and satisfies your dog like real meat! Neura Meats contains 95% meat or meat and brown rice, unique among premium dog foods. No by-products, no corn and no white rice. Your dog will love the robust, meaty taste!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Review 1 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for a Finicky Dog

PostedJune 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tyler's Pal
from Williston Park, NY
My dog Tyler is very fussy about what he will eat and I am very particular about what I will feed him. The Whole Dog Journal has recommended Neura 95% Meats as a wholesome food with that contains pure muscle meats with filler or chemicals. They only will recommend the highest quality foods. Based on their recommendations, I tried feeding it to Tyler about three years ago with excellent results. He loved it and has been eating it ever since. His coat took on a shining glow and he has been in excellent health and proper weight ever since we started using Neura products. He especially likes the beef and lamb & brown rice varieties (which, unfortunately, Petco seems to have discontinued). I highly recommend this line of quality products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best we've tried!

PostedAugust 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
SeniorBabies
from Tampa, FL
I'm an advocate of raw feeding, especially since I have elderly Chinese Cresteds who are known for their skin problems. One was so allergic to everything that she was almost constantly scratching herself. I tried different foods, raw, canned, dry, home-made, and nothing helped. But when I looked at the ingredients in the Neura canned foods, I thought it was worth a try. I'm amazed. No more scratching! What's more, everyone loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Susan
from Houston, TX
This is an excellent food. Just what my dog needs. Lots of meat, a little rice or no rice, low fiber. Very easy to digest. After months of allergy shots, antihistimines, hypo-allergenic, prescription and limited ingredient foods, I started him on Neura and his allergies have disappeared. He's an agility dog and this food gives him the energy he needs to compete. He also has a beautiful healthy coat. I would like to see Petco carry the complete product line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Blondie60
from San Diego CA
When you open the can you can tell it is a quality dog food
my 5 dogs LOVE it. It is also priced reasonably
I really hope Petco continues to sell this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Craig Saeed

PostedJune 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
The Cleaner
from Atlanta, GA
I tried this brand for my one year old and it makes her stomach upset. We have tried different flavors and the lamb and brown rice, or lamb with anything does not work well for dogs. I would not recommend this brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMay 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
beagledog
from Grafton,ma
I work in a kennel and we feed this to any of the dogs that have sensitive, or upset stomachs. Even if its a terrible case of vomiting from stress or new food this usually clears it up, because its real meat not biproduct like most dogfoods. highly recomended
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

grain-free AND reasonably priced!

PostedDecember 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
keesermom
from NH
My dog cannot tolerate any grains at all, suffering severe digestive upsets when consuming grain products, and the duck-and-potato foods are much too rich/fattening. Most grain-free dog foods are terribly expensive because the manufacturer cannot use cheaper carbos to eke out the expensive meats. The Neura Lamb and Chicken formulae are grain-free (the Beef is NOT) and half the price of many other grain-free dog foods even though it is 95% meat. My vet and I like that they are such simple foods, without long lists of ingredients - meat, broth (water), flaxseed, natural thickening agent, vitamins/minerals - we supplement it with garlic and fish oil. My dog tolerates it very well but more importantly he loves it, unlike some of the glops we've purchased for him!
Neura 95 is on Whole Dog Journal's annual list of the best wet dog foods (see the January 2006 issue).
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Neura Meats Canned Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet recommended for diabetic Rottweiler

PostedNovember 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Owner of an exceptional Rottweiler
from Westport, CT
My vet recommended Neura canned meats when my 8 year-old Rottweiler named Tank was diagnosed with diabetes. At 95% beef and fewer additives, it's as close to cooking beef for him myself without the hassle. The most important part is that my dog loves it and comes running when it's time to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.